GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

X-Men Destiny

In the action-RPG X-Men Destiny, you control the fate of a new mutant in the X-Men universe. Every choice has a consequence, as your destiny is determined through the decisions you make as you advance through the game. Play as one of three new characters in X-Men lore, each one of whom must come to terms with his or her unique background and powerful mutant identity while uncovering the truth behind an epic event that threatens to tear apart the tenuous peace between humanity and mutant kind. Evolve and customize your core mutant powers with an opportunity to earn and equip "X-genes" to expand and alter your power base. Choose which path to take in key moments that impact your story and how other characters respond to you. Fight alongside and against famous mutants from the X-Men comics, including Wolverine, Cyclops, Emma Frost and more. Will you choose to follow the teachings of the X-Men to unite mutants and humans, or will you usher in a new age of mutant domination with Magneto's Brotherhood? YOU decide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
2
7 out of 2330%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X-Men Destiny
Review 1 for X-Men Destiny
Terrible, DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
TonyStarkDfw
I got this game as a freebie due to a coupon and I still feel like I overpaid. I've read other reviews elsewhere that make reference to the fact that the feel of the game is if though it was released unfinished. I think that about sums it up. This game is terrible and as a huge X-Men fan, this is very disappointing due to the fact that the story has so much potential. It would have been better if they had released nothing at all then associate anyone with this debacle. And it is a debacle. Beyond inconsistencies, timing issues, etc., I played as the energy projection character who apparently can't hit anything right in front of them or more than 10 feet away. And for a 4 gig install, I expect much, much better graphics. I'd say they were around PS2 worthy. It feels flimsy, unprofessional and unworthy of the Marvel brand. Stay away from this game. You were warned.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for X-Men Destiny
Not terrible as I had been led to suspect
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/13
FoamPeddler
I'm not going to lie and say that I'm blown away by how amazing this game is. But, it's far more enjoyable that I expected. I assumed it was going to be unplayable by all of the horrible critic reviews. But, I'm having a good time with it along with my 7 year old son. It's fun to mix and match the X-gene powers and see what new combos we can come up with next. Honestly, I'd give it around a 6.75 out of 10 if I had that detailed of a scale available. But, I feel 7 is close enough.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for X-Men Destiny
Your Destiny is Way Too Short
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
lobothesacred3
=========
Story
=========
You play as a new mutant that has your powers awakened when Magneto apparently attacks a rally about peace between mutants and normal humans. Your quickly drawn into the intrigue around this attack and can either take missions from the x-men or the brotherhood.
On the downside the story is rather short so the amount of depth and intrigue to be had is rather limited. In fact, this game can easily be beaten in a single afternoon.
=========
Gameplay
=========
X-Men Destiny is a rather straight-forward beat-em up with little to offer outside of simplistic button mashing pleasure and a simple upgrade system.
The boss fights are interesting, but the game only features a few actual boss fights with most bosses actually being mini-bosses that will pop-up in later stages ad nauseum.
=========
Graphics
=========
Graphically the game is alright I guess, but a lot of the character models are over used and considering how short this game is it could have at least provided a more diverse cast of opponents to face-down. The game also suffers if you play as the girl character since her face will constantly poke through that scar she wears in the various in-game cut scenes.
=========
Sound
=========
I honestly can't remember if there was background music in this game or not and just beat it an hour ago. So, if it is there it is extremely forgettable. And, to add to the sound problems sometimes the characters seem to have massive drops in terms of being audible. This game offers a rather poor presentation overall and could have really benefited from the inclusion of the intro song from the original cartoon series.
=========
Lasting Appeal
=========
The game does offer a few story paths and power paths that you could play with, but I don't find either option to be all that appealing to be honest.
=========
Scores
=========
Story: 7
Gameplay: 8
Graphics: 5
Sound: 2
Lasting Appeal: 5
Overall: 5.83
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Men Destiny
Nah
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
TheViralSamurai99
Location: Mountain Home AFB, ID
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
So I was super excited for this game when I first heard about it, create your own mutant, choose your own powers, multiple storylines. Got it as an early Christmas present, played through one characters storyline, thought it'd be different, better, if I played through a different one. No. Exactly the same except for the character specific cutscenes. Just not okay. Plus power evolution is only by cutscene. You can improve your powers that you start out with, but in order to actually get more powers you have to play the game through one character multiple times to get all of them. Not much story development in the stock cutscenes either. It's pretty much a repetitive "go there, punch/blast/throw this, find them" game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for X-Men Destiny
Not the best...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
saphire212diva
Marvel tried really hard with this game, and kind of failed. I will admit this was a big step forward for them in the X-Men field, but the poor quality and run-around nature make the game hard to enjoy. The "Factions" thing is pretty much a joke. No matter which side you choose, Emma Frost still leads you around the help the X-Men, and the battles are still all the same. The inability to skip the character prologues when playing through the game again is really annoying,and the little pop-up boxes to "help" you are beyond aggravating. The concept was good, but the game fell very flat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for X-Men Destiny
Not Worth It
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
FrostKing
Location: La Salle
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you really wanted a good casual game, don't even bother picking up this game as your doing the same things over and over again. The gameplay is quite boring as all your constantly doing is pressing the X or Triangle button over and over again. You could beat all 3 difficulty settings in under 6 hours if they allowed you to skip the cutscenes but you can't. The only good thing about this game it that it's really easy to get all the trophies.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 7 for X-Men Destiny
Amazing...that they are still selling it for $50
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
mattatonic
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After the Ultimate Alliance games, my hopes were high for this game. Sadly, it didn't deliver. This game would have been better developed as its own IP without doing it around such a beloved group like the XMen. I feel like the restrictions of the gameplay don't mix well with the mutant lore, and it's likely that those two things worked together to tear apart what could have been an interesting concept on its own. Not sure what went down in development (you know they must have realized this was a smoking pile of excrement as it went out the door with a thud) but I couldn't recommend this as anything more than a rental.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for X-Men Destiny
Not a good game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
petdragon
Location: Columbia, SC
Just a quick review since my other one never got posted. GOt this game when it first came out and its boring.... end of story. Repetitive enemis, movesets, etc. Faction doesn't even matter until the end of the game and the game itself doesn't make much sense... (Example: Getting all the sets of a suit to get that hero's'villian's powers. Now we have a no name mutant with pyro's powers, juggernaut's powers, magneto's powers, etc. Could we ATTEMPT to make this more realistic?)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Men Destiny
Extremely Repetative
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
Taekwondoman10
This game really disappointed me. X-men are definitely my absolute favorite group of comic book heroes, and yet this game was one of the worst I've personally played. The concept had tons of potential, the voice acting sounded quite good, and the story itself was solid (to be honest, marvel should have adapted this into they're comic books) but it all stops there. The game is extremely repetitive, very limiting, not at all challenging, and did i mention repetitive. Playing this game is just a huge drag.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Men Destiny
Please Make Another Xmen Game That Doesnt Suck
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/12
AJ25
Location: Palmer Park, MD
this game is unacceptable for any xmen fans. U make a game that u put just three unknown people and give them limited customization. When this game came out u were probably thinking u probably get to make your own xman with a wide variety of super powers to choose from but that was not the case. If u are bored and need a game to play make sure u dont pick this up u will be highly dissapointed.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X-Men Destiny
Not good
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
ElleG
Location: Johnstown, CO
This game has really poor graphics, and the characters tend to repeat the same motions insesently. The extreamly limited customization is quite anoying. It doesn't even really matter what side you chose, you still have accses to 90% of the chalenges. And the game is supposed to be set in San Francisco, yet the game is almost completely flat! The anoyingly unavoidable seemingly random conversations with canon characters is really stupid at times.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Men Destiny
GOOD FOR RENTING NOT FOR KEEPING!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
Jdogduck
Location: syracuse ut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is great is a great game but it has like no gameplay you can play it for like a week at the most and then its dumb and boring if you want this game RENT IT do not buy it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X-Men Destiny
Unacceptable
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/11
Poetry88
Location: johnston sc
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
when will Game makers make a superhuman or mutant game where you are able to create your own superhero and have the ablity to have a great story line and graphics are so cool that it makes your feel like your watching a movie of the great stan lee.....
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
InMyEyes
Houston, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about InMyEyes is loaded.
Additional information about InMyEyes could not be loaded.
ugh i know
Posted 12/11/11
i understand the frustation but its hard to make a all round characters plot to wee your in full control like if you make a girl and the cut scene say "look at that boy over there" yea know
Customer Avatar
Jordanduhh
 
Please wait while more information about Jordanduhh is loaded.
Additional information about Jordanduhh could not be loaded.
Um..
Posted 11/7/11
They have. First one that I know of was called City of Heroes/Villians. Now there's DC Universe Online. Do a little research. :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for X-Men Destiny
Not customizable enough.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
UpgradeJ
Location: Union City, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is really good, but with the emphasis on customization this game claims to allow you, it should have gone a little further. You get to choose which side you align with, but why not start out as a loner and then have your choices influence which side holds an interest in you. The game lets you choose your "ability type" which meant either energy projection, body enhancement, ect... However when you pick your power rather than mastering it and learning new skills, (like mastering fire projection to learn fire manipulation) you are given a choice in how you want to "improve" your ability, like turning your energy projection (light beams) power into lightning or ice projection. With all that said, I like this game. It is very fun to play and has pretty good replay value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Men Destiny
Just Rent Not Buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
jalengenius410
It was a good game, but not worth paying sixty dollars for. Just rent the game if its just a storyline just rent it cause you can't do anything afterwards
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Men Destiny
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
chonkee
Location: Maryland
I thought this game was going to be far better than what it actually was. I think they could have made a huge improvement all around. I hated how short the game was and how linear it was as well. The faction type and choices made little difference and once you beat it you could just go back and make the opposite choice and it still didn't change much.
I hated the way you went back in to find things when you replayed a mission you were sent back to the main menu and had to reload the character over again. I found the overall combat system to be worthless in terms of mutant powers you could technically not use them at all and still be able to finish the game.
Overall i would not recommend this game to anyone and would advise people to wait to buy it until it's like $9.99 used.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Men Destiny
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/11
nixon151
Location: Buffalo, NY
The X-Men are by far the best of the best and to come out with this game is very disappointing, it is way to short and the options you are offered for characters is poor too. Total customizble characters and a storyline that didnt last one day would have made this all a little better. I can deal with the graphics and the fighting abilities but it was a very lame game. You didnt even pick a said until the last mission which was to just beat up Hodge and his sentinals. The idea was there but the effort fell very very very short. 2 thumps down, its sad to see Marvel and Activison come out with this garbage.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X-Men Destiny
Good but not worth $60
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/11
TheGamingGuru
Location: Redlands, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was excited for this game. But now after playing it I realize it is definitely NOT worth buying unless you are a hardcore X-Men fan. The story is about 4 hours long and no matter if you choose the brotherhood or X-Men there is very little difference. I thought it was going to be choices like if you even help the Brotherhood a little you can't go X-Men. The alliance factor in the pause menu means nothing at all. And in the end you, as a regular mutant who has just recently found your powers, take out the person who killed Professor X? That is ridiculous. I enjoyed playing the game but after getting all 50 achievements in less than 24 hours I realized you should not buy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Men Destiny
Disappointing, but OK.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/11
greatone87
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
First off the game is way too short and the story is very lame. The game-play reminds me of Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 with not many choices for moves and combos. The customization is okay but having to pause the game and switch abilities to suit the situation was annoying to me. Seeing all the different X-men characters was fun but that is the real highlight of the game. If you want to try it out, rent it or wait for the price to drop.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Men Destiny
This game is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/11
HEAROFAN
Location: Bourbonnais
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just started playing it and i am likeing every min if it some of the hidden item are hard to find and i played it froze in one of the challenges. but all and all i really like it and can't wait to see what happen when the guy is all leveled up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>