GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

X-Men Destiny

In the action-RPG X-Men Destiny, you control the fate of a new mutant in the X-Men universe. Every choice has a consequence, as your destiny is determined through the decisions you make as you advance through the game. Play as one of three new characters in X-Men lore, each one of whom must come to terms with his or her unique background and powerful mutant identity while uncovering the truth behind an epic event that threatens to tear apart the tenuous peace between humanity and mutant kind. Evolve and customize your core mutant powers with an opportunity to earn and equip "X-genes" to expand and alter your power base. Choose which path to take in key moments that impact your story and how other characters respond to you. Fight alongside and against famous mutants from the X-Men comics, including Wolverine, Cyclops, Emma Frost and more. Will you choose to follow the teachings of the X-Men to unite mutants and humans, or will you usher in a new age of mutant domination with Magneto's Brotherhood? YOU decide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
2
7 out of 2330%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X-Men Destiny
Review 1 for X-Men Destiny
wolverine
Posted on:7/26/11
timmy2k11
Location: il
is this the pic of the wolverine fan suit or is it a diffrrent x-men look at the pic carefully
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thryst14
 
Please wait while more information about thryst14 is loaded.
Additional information about thryst14 could not be loaded.
wolverine
Posted 9/14/11
its Adrian in the wolverine fan suit
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for X-Men Destiny
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/11
nixon151
Location: Buffalo, NY
The X-Men are by far the best of the best and to come out with this game is very disappointing, it is way to short and the options you are offered for characters is poor too. Total customizble characters and a storyline that didnt last one day would have made this all a little better. I can deal with the graphics and the fighting abilities but it was a very lame game. You didnt even pick a said until the last mission which was to just beat up Hodge and his sentinals. The idea was there but the effort fell very very very short. 2 thumps down, its sad to see Marvel and Activison come out with this garbage.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Men Destiny
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
chonkee
Location: Maryland
I thought this game was going to be far better than what it actually was. I think they could have made a huge improvement all around. I hated how short the game was and how linear it was as well. The faction type and choices made little difference and once you beat it you could just go back and make the opposite choice and it still didn't change much.
I hated the way you went back in to find things when you replayed a mission you were sent back to the main menu and had to reload the character over again. I found the overall combat system to be worthless in terms of mutant powers you could technically not use them at all and still be able to finish the game.
Overall i would not recommend this game to anyone and would advise people to wait to buy it until it's like $9.99 used.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Men Destiny
Worth It?
Posted on:8/19/11
SuperNinjaReject
Location: Princeton, TX
As soon as i saw this, I wanted it. Although now that I take the time and read, I realize there are only 3 playable characters. In my opinion that takes away from making a new mutant. It seems as though there are 2 sides, 3 characters, which makes 6 storylines?? It doesn't seem like there will be many options. I do hope the game exceeds my expectations. Just gotta wait and see.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dealeo
louisville Ky
 
Please wait while more information about dealeo is loaded.
Additional information about dealeo could not be loaded.
x-men future
Posted 12/22/12
i was hopeing to create my own character and create my own abilitys from all the x-men character abilities. Live my story you get to chose your own path and create your own team or u can join the x-men or brother hood. that what i was looking for something like mixing skyrim, infamous, uncharted, world of war craft and x-men into one. that will be the best x-men game. take your own stand or follow magneto or prof x.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for X-Men Destiny
Sounds Cool
Posted on:12/31/10
MarioC
Well, I love X-Men and I love RPGs, so I think this looks pretty promising. I always look forward to these games. And I wonder what the new mutants are. I don't know... you can never be sure with these superhero games anymore, you know?
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Men Destiny
Good but not worth $60
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/11
TheGamingGuru
Location: Redlands, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was excited for this game. But now after playing it I realize it is definitely NOT worth buying unless you are a hardcore X-Men fan. The story is about 4 hours long and no matter if you choose the brotherhood or X-Men there is very little difference. I thought it was going to be choices like if you even help the Brotherhood a little you can't go X-Men. The alliance factor in the pause menu means nothing at all. And in the end you, as a regular mutant who has just recently found your powers, take out the person who killed Professor X? That is ridiculous. I enjoyed playing the game but after getting all 50 achievements in less than 24 hours I realized you should not buy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Men Destiny
So Bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/11
Wufang
Location: Miami, Fl
If only this game was as good as the previews made it seem to be. I'll start off by saying the story was horrible. The game solely relies on the wow factor of seeing you're favorite characters enter the story but this is quickly reversed by the horrible voice acting. A lot of the characters personalities are nothing like they are in the comics. The cut scenes are riddled with glitches. The bad guys are generic and annoying. When the game wants to increase the difficulty they just add in some extra generic bad guys. There are about 5 different generic and maybe 3 unique bad guys. This game took me 6 hours to beat. Waste of money and time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Men Destiny
Your Destiny is Way Too Short
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
lobothesacred3
=========
Story
=========
You play as a new mutant that has your powers awakened when Magneto apparently attacks a rally about peace between mutants and normal humans. Your quickly drawn into the intrigue around this attack and can either take missions from the x-men or the brotherhood.
On the downside the story is rather short so the amount of depth and intrigue to be had is rather limited. In fact, this game can easily be beaten in a single afternoon.
=========
Gameplay
=========
X-Men Destiny is a rather straight-forward beat-em up with little to offer outside of simplistic button mashing pleasure and a simple upgrade system.
The boss fights are interesting, but the game only features a few actual boss fights with most bosses actually being mini-bosses that will pop-up in later stages ad nauseum.
=========
Graphics
=========
Graphically the game is alright I guess, but a lot of the character models are over used and considering how short this game is it could have at least provided a more diverse cast of opponents to face-down. The game also suffers if you play as the girl character since her face will constantly poke through that scar she wears in the various in-game cut scenes.
=========
Sound
=========
I honestly can't remember if there was background music in this game or not and just beat it an hour ago. So, if it is there it is extremely forgettable. And, to add to the sound problems sometimes the characters seem to have massive drops in terms of being audible. This game offers a rather poor presentation overall and could have really benefited from the inclusion of the intro song from the original cartoon series.
=========
Lasting Appeal
=========
The game does offer a few story paths and power paths that you could play with, but I don't find either option to be all that appealing to be honest.
=========
Scores
=========
Story: 7
Gameplay: 8
Graphics: 5
Sound: 2
Lasting Appeal: 5
Overall: 5.83
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X-Men Destiny
Really good! Could still be better. WAY too short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/11
Hazard89
Location: Murrieta, CA
It's fun ripping through people with a power of your choice, no doubt, but I felt what this game did in game gameplay, it came up short in story and length. The game was too short. I haven't even had it 24 hours and I finished the game on normal. And it wasn't in one continuous play. The power upgrading is awesome, and all the X-genes make customizing your powers pretty fun. I'm reckless, so I went with density and full on offensive powers. It's definately fun, but I don't think it's worth $60. If you wanna try it, I'd recommend waiting for the price to drop.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Men Destiny
Terrible, DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
TonyStarkDfw
I got this game as a freebie due to a coupon and I still feel like I overpaid. I've read other reviews elsewhere that make reference to the fact that the feel of the game is if though it was released unfinished. I think that about sums it up. This game is terrible and as a huge X-Men fan, this is very disappointing due to the fact that the story has so much potential. It would have been better if they had released nothing at all then associate anyone with this debacle. And it is a debacle. Beyond inconsistencies, timing issues, etc., I played as the energy projection character who apparently can't hit anything right in front of them or more than 10 feet away. And for a 4 gig install, I expect much, much better graphics. I'd say they were around PS2 worthy. It feels flimsy, unprofessional and unworthy of the Marvel brand. Stay away from this game. You were warned.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for X-Men Destiny
Could be good
Posted on:12/27/10
ajax0014
This game has major potential, but as of right now no one really knows much about it. The trailers just tell you that you are going to be one of 3 new mutants, or all 3, and then you get to choose your destiny. I don't know exactly where this game is going, but I guess they wanted a new x-men game not based on a movie and needed a storyline. And from the history of other mutants this puts a turn on things, making it an interesting game. I'm definitely going to get it, I just might wait to get a pre-owned version though.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X-Men Destiny
Confused with continuity.
Posted on:6/9/11
CaptPicard
Location: Glendale, WI
I love the X-Men comics. This game is being written by one of the writers of X-Men Legacy and has been stated to be in some sort of continuity with that comic. But for over a year now Magneto has been part of the X-Men; defending the X-men nation, bringing back kitty pride, even striking up a relationship with Rogue. The description is either not official or very misleading as it says that you will have to choose between Xavier's side or Magneto's. I hope they talk more about the continuity in later interviews.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jake12222
ireland il
 
Please wait while more information about jake12222 is loaded.
Additional information about jake12222 could not be loaded.
preorder
Posted 7/14/11
if you preorder from gamestop you get havok fansuit with x-gene
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for X-Men Destiny
Looks good, but......
Posted on:9/5/11
vegna871
Subpar graphics aside, I'm liking the way this game appears to be shaping up. looks like the combat is pretty decent, and I like that you can draw on the powers of classic X-Men characters. I'm quite curious about which X-Men are going to show up (for example, I know you can use Surge's powers, but will she actually appear in the game?) The only thing I dislike about this game is that the girl is the only player character that looks..... well, finished. The football player guy looks stupid and his default costume is really plain, and the other guy has a really awkward face (kinda like Toad with stubble). Still, I generally love anything to do with X-Men, so I'll be picking this up for sure.
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X-Men Destiny
Finally able to make your own mutant.
Posted on:7/16/11
1Pac
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I haven't really been a fan of X-Men games since Mutant Apocalypse on the SNES, but this game looks promising. I mean, being able to create your own mutant is something that should have been done LONG ago. I guess it sucks that you won't be able to customize the appearance of your character, but I don't really care since you will be able to choose your own power (I presume). Definitely choosing the chick >.< haha
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X-Men Destiny
Not customizable enough.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
UpgradeJ
Location: Union City, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is really good, but with the emphasis on customization this game claims to allow you, it should have gone a little further. You get to choose which side you align with, but why not start out as a loner and then have your choices influence which side holds an interest in you. The game lets you choose your "ability type" which meant either energy projection, body enhancement, ect... However when you pick your power rather than mastering it and learning new skills, (like mastering fire projection to learn fire manipulation) you are given a choice in how you want to "improve" your ability, like turning your energy projection (light beams) power into lightning or ice projection. With all that said, I like this game. It is very fun to play and has pretty good replay value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X-Men Destiny
Just Rent Not Buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
jalengenius410
It was a good game, but not worth paying sixty dollars for. Just rent the game if its just a storyline just rent it cause you can't do anything afterwards
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X-Men Destiny
Excited!!
Posted on:6/10/11
SuperHeroHypeX
Location: Virginia
I'm really excited about this game, but on the other hand, I agree with "gus04" I would've much rather have gotten the choice to choose from an X-Men character orignally from the comics or been able to create my own character from scratch (Apperance, Powers, ect.). But I am not knocking this game in anyway! I'm still totally stoked and can only begin to imagine how these stories will all unfold...CAN'T WAIT :) Oh and BTW I hope out of the new mutants there will be one like "Beast" Or "Nightcrawler", Now there not my favs but someone with an apperance that stands out....I'm just saying...
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Genius13
 
Please wait while more information about Genius13 is loaded.
Additional information about Genius13 could not be loaded.
Rock awesome
Posted 9/25/11
This game lets you finally be the hero =y choosing a density be an xmen with either density control shadow matter and energy projectile I've already pre ordered the havok bonus specialty and i cant wait to get it this tuesday
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for X-Men Destiny
All up in you views!
Posted on:7/10/11
Yune
Location: Florida
I found out about this game bout a year ago. It was suppose to come out in september in 11 but I believe it's been bumped to my b-day last day of 11. I have alot of info bout this, first you start off with a choice of three characters, aimi, and 2 other guys who's names are not confirmed. You get powers throughout the game by talking to npcs. I was surprised with the character choices for the npcs, Pixie makes her first video game appearance in this game.I don't know what power you get from her but Im happy since pixie is my favorite x-men. You all probably have no clue who pixie is well than your not a true xmen fan. Well this game is getting a bit of bad rep already but don't give up on it yet! I'm Yune goddess gettin all up in yo views! -snap-
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X-Men Destiny
Not good
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
ElleG
Location: Johnstown, CO
This game has really poor graphics, and the characters tend to repeat the same motions insesently. The extreamly limited customization is quite anoying. It doesn't even really matter what side you chose, you still have accses to 90% of the chalenges. And the game is supposed to be set in San Francisco, yet the game is almost completely flat! The anoyingly unavoidable seemingly random conversations with canon characters is really stupid at times.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X-Men Destiny
Disappointing, but OK.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/11
greatone87
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
First off the game is way too short and the story is very lame. The game-play reminds me of Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 with not many choices for moves and combos. The customization is okay but having to pause the game and switch abilities to suit the situation was annoying to me. Seeing all the different X-men characters was fun but that is the real highlight of the game. If you want to try it out, rent it or wait for the price to drop.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>