GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MX vs ATV: Alive

Own the competition as you wrestle for position with tightly contested racing in the fifth iteration of the MX vs ATV franchise. Feel the realism of the revolutionary real-world physics engine which has defined the racing genre. Live the sport as Alive captures the spectacle of motocross and the essence of competitive racing while providing the best riders and gear from the latest manufacturers.
Average Customer Rating:
5.318
5.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
11 out of 2250%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MX vs ATV: Alive
Review 1 for MX vs ATV: Alive
I don't know!
Posted on:1/31/11
thatguy22
Location: Rochester, MN
I have looked at this game and from what I am seeing reflex is better. All the pictures look funny. I will just have to wait and see.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theTFred1887
 
Please wait while more information about theTFred1887 is loaded.
Additional information about theTFred1887 could not be loaded.
Question?
Posted 4/17/11
I hope chad reed is in this game, i hated that he wasn't in reflex. Hes the best!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for MX vs ATV: Alive
ehh...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/11
RiceKrispie
Location: El Paso, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really exited for this game to come out, because I really like reflex and was hoping the game play would be very similar. Well not so much, I feel THQ went one step forward with reflex and two steps backwards for alive. The warm up track that would appear while loading in untamed and reflex is gone as well as every other vehicle other than dirtbikes and atv's. The bikes in the game feel similar to how they felt in untamed instead of reflex and there is only three different types of riding in this one, Nationals, Short Track (Short National Track), and Free Ride. There also is no career, what the game does is have you race to get XP points which help you unlock more tracks and vehicles. Overall, I am not impressed with this game and would probably tell you to save your money and buy reflex instead if you already haven't because I can honestly say I don't consider this game that fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MX vs ATV: Alive
MX vs ATV Alive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
KP17
Location: Location is *cough* location.. ahh forget it
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've had a PS3 for a while and have many games on it. One day I felt like playing ATV Offroad Fury 4 for PS2 and I also watched the X Games. This inspired me to get this game. PROS: The graphics and gameplay are awesome. The sound is very good as well. The stunt modifier and the right stick work so well together and you can tweak out your whips just like the pros. (Not even trying to sound cheesy). CONS: Trophies in this game are extremely easy to get. I mean seriously, I have 40% completion with trophies and I've had the game for 7 DAYS! But it kind of is a good thing at times yet sad. Also, there is no career mode, which I would've expected with the last game in the series. What made me a bit angry is that Travis Pastrana isn't an included character. Lastly, it can get boring after maybe 3 to 4 to 5 hours of gameplay. THE VERDICT: Since this game is $20 and the last game in the series, consider buying it because it is plainly AWESOME!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
Ghostface526
Location: New York NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is game is amazing. But there are some flaws. i give it a 10 because the gameplay and graphics are very good and sound. The customization is kind of confusing at first but is actually really good u can make ur guy very unique. Maps are desent, but my favorite by far is Mx vs Atv Unleashed. If they make a new Mx vs ATV Unleashed and make it exactly the same just better graphics and everything it would be amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MX vs ATV: Alive
better than reflex, but flaws still present
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/11
weters
Location: palm sp
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A polished reflex. Alive does have better graphics and a better deterioration system than reflex however, the actual game itself isnt there yet. However, maybe with the Dlc this game can come to life. i also felt that the riders posithing on the bike looks awkward and unrealistic half the time hes sitting down . Other that that it is a very fun game to play
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thatguy22
Rochester, MN
 
Please wait while more information about thatguy22 is loaded.
Additional information about thatguy22 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
I agree
Posted 5/12/11
I think the game will get better once we can play online. I am also excited for the motocross compound. I think this might give the game a boost.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for MX vs ATV: Alive
This Game Looks "AWESOME"
Posted on:4/14/11
Millszeee
Location: Erie, Pa
I can't wait for this game to come out it looks awesome. I love play the old Mx vs Atv games they are so fun to play. The new game seems to be even better than the old ones and a DLC bonus helps too.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Better than the reviews state!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
Eski75
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First let me say that this is my first MX game so I have nothing to compare it too. However I have over 15yrs of real riding experiance and can tell you this game seems pretty realistic. I've seen this game has been getting hammered by reviews, but I still chose this game over the others due to its realistic feel. I was undecided on which MX to purchase since so many people have different reviews on all the games.
The free roam maps are a blast and remind me of really riding at the quarries or sand pits. The only downfalls of the game are lack of bikes, (no 250-500 two-strokes). There are a lot of tracks, you just have to gain experiance points to unlock them. Earning experiance points is super easy! Riding on the free roam sand dunes will build up your points fast.
There are tons of rider mods (even change the name on back of your jersey) as well as bike mods. Again, you have to put in some playtime in order to enjoy all the bike mods and riding apparel. The racing is sweet! The other AI riders will actually crash at times in spectacular fashion. I often get a laugh as the #1 hits a barrier and I take first place. Racing in the first person view is pretty cool. Awesome view when launching off a jump.
Then after your tired of racing and free roam you can find your favorite jump and perform tricks and try to smash records. I have played free roam online and it is pretty neat seeing other riders launching of a huge dune. I have yet to try online racing though.
So, If you have real riding experiance or have not played any other MX games, I would advised getting this one. One Youtube review stated that this game plays differently then Reflex, so if you have played Reflex you have to clear your head and start fresh.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MX vs ATV: Alive
this is a true review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
midnightclubmadman
Location: boston,MA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I chose this game because i have the other mx games and they are a blast... This is just like the real game i have 12 years of riding quads dirt bikes and go carts under my belt and i feel this is as close as it can get... The freeride maps are really fun and so are the races and it doesnt get any more realistic than this but i would recomend dirt 3 or midnight club los angelas complete edition over this any day.... all and all great game though....:^)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Never been a MX fan but...
Posted on:5/5/11
BPatches701
Location: Alton,IL
This actually looks pretty good I might rent it. I've always loved the ATV Offroad Fury games but I think after 4 they fell in popularity so I haven't had a atv game since ATV OF4 on PS2. This game MIGHT change that if it isn't too arcade like. My problem with 99% of new offroad games is there is no challenge you can turn without drifting or braking at all it takes 0 skill. Pure is a good example of a game that's way too easy which was a big disappointment because I was looking for a realistic atv game with upgradeable parts and pure was it till I saw the goofy physics. I want realism, leave the cartoon physics to the grade schoolers with their boost meters and stunt gauges.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Yelland
Cornwall
 
Please wait while more information about Yelland is loaded.
Additional information about Yelland could not be loaded.
The Stewart's Compound
Posted 5/8/11
Will I get the compound free if i pre-order anywhere?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Worst game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
rushfreak
Location: Texas, TX
When I saw the TV commercial for this game it looked really cool. But when I bought and played this game it stunk. When you start you only have 2 outdoor tracks. You can customize your dirt bike or ATV the bad thing is that you only have a choice of changing the color of the handle bars. What I was really looking forward to was playing as a professional rider (Chad Reed) but you can't on ALIVE like you can on Unleashed. Also there is no supercross what the heck is up with that and the free play has no jumps. If you are a fan of Reflex or Unleashed I highly recommend that you do not get this game and keep playing Reflex and Unleashed. What a waste of $40. If you think i am wrong about this game get the pre-owned game so you do not make the same mistake I did.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MX vs ATV: Alive
UPDATES
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
Outlaw991
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game gets extremly boring after the first 15 minutes, graphics and gameplay are amazing. No supercross and you can only race 3 tracks until you level up. No career mode. However there will be an update to get real bikes, more tracks and supercross as soon as the PS store is available. I only know this because I used to race with one of the pro atva racers in the game, and he has a copy of the game with everything unlocked in it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Sick
Posted on:4/22/11
BlackMagic12
Location: Bergen, NY
This is hopefully gonna be the best Mx vs. Atv yet. I have owned every single one. Mx vs. atv reflex was really good and i enjoy it, especially witht he DLC track packs. Now on the new alive you have my favorite rider"s compound avaliable to buy?! That is where im gonna spend most of my time playing, plus you can buy name brand Yamahas on PSN which is pretty cool wish they would get hondas
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Buy Reflex Instead
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
TJ03
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Alive sucks. Its a waste of your money. You get maybe 15 tracks, no Supercross or Freestyle. THQ put to much time into getting big riders names in the game that they forgot to make the game worth playing. Save your money and buy Reflex if you dont have it, because Alive seems like a PS2 game compared to the older Reflex.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MX vs ATV: Alive
This game was terrible!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
gaiklm10
Location: NK
I bought this game when i returned another game at Gamestop because i thought it would be pretty cool. When i got home and started to play it i was wrong. Everything about this game is bad. The sound, the graphics, and the gameplay as well. Why couldn't THQ make this game like reflex or Mx vs Atv unleashed!?!?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Just not what i expected
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/11
Rocketboy
it is an ok game, i just had much high expectations. they did a good job with the track deformation and making the controls better but the game itself just isnt all that fun like they use to be, like unleashed and untamed. i love the dual stick control but i think that thq is trying too hard and killing the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MX vs ATV: Alive
"LAME"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/11
Loki5150
Location: Montana
This game "SUCKS"! I hope that THQ gets the hint about this nonsense... This game has gone backwards as far as graphics, levels of the old games like untamed and unleashed. Now trying to get the codes for the JS compound to work is ridiculous! I wish I had never
bought this game .
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Better then reflex.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/11
thatguy22
Location: Rochester, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I believe that this game is good. I would recommend this to somebody IF you like off road racing. I think this game is good but the rider looks funny when he is riding the bike.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MX vs ATV: Alive
This game epic best ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
Vaughndo
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Theres great grapics great sound great stages super good bikes
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/11
Fusion127
Location: sc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got it the day it came out. It is way better than reflex.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Loki5150
Montana
 
Please wait while more information about Loki5150 is loaded.
Additional information about Loki5150 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/6/11
This is not even close to being as good as reflex! The graphics suck and you can't open levels that you can in reflex and now the codes for the JS compound don't work! SUPER LAME!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Free Stewart Compound Code Doesnt work
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
TJ03
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Also the Free Stewart Compound Code Doesnt work. Save your recpit and the card with the code because you will have to send THQ a copy or photo of both for them for THQ to give you a code that works.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thatguy22
Rochester, MN
 
Please wait while more information about thatguy22 is loaded.
Additional information about thatguy22 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
What do you mean?
Posted 5/18/11
Of course the code does not work. But that is because the play station store is down. I am a little confused on why you say the code does not work.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>