GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MX vs ATV: Alive

Own the competition as you wrestle for position with tightly contested racing in the fifth iteration of the MX vs ATV franchise. Feel the realism of the revolutionary real-world physics engine which has defined the racing genre. Live the sport as Alive captures the spectacle of motocross and the essence of competitive racing while providing the best riders and gear from the latest manufacturers.
Average Customer Rating:
5.641
5.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
4
6 stars
7
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
9
23 out of 5343%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MX vs ATV: Alive
Review 1 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Not enough dinosaurs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
drjimmyrustles
This game is horrible. The first few hours of game play are awesome but after a while you start to realize it's flaws. There's only a handful of tracks, the clutch is pointless(there's no shifting and just slamming on the gas makes you accelerate as fast as when you dump the clutch), the bikes and quads have no bottom end power, you don't get any power unless the throttle is wide open and then it's impossible to keep the front end down. The sound is horrible, sometimes it will sound like the engine is bogged down and about to die when you have the throttle wide open in the straights. The handlebars don't show up in first person mode unless you hit a bump and the front end comes up. there are only 13 vehicles in the game if you count in the bonus vehicles. The 450 dirt bike class is like impossible because James Stewart is magical and has like every perk in the game and goes twice as fast as you. This game also had a serious lack of dinosaurs.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Not much different from reflex
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/12
JohnnieD
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was psyched about the game when it first came out cause i loved all the older ones but when i got it was pretty disappointing graphics were good but there were not many tracks and most of the game you had to buy. If it had more vehicles like the older games it might be more fun. So bottom line if you want an off road game that has more to do get untamed or reflex.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rider317638
none of your bise
 
Please wait while more information about rider317638 is loaded.
Additional information about rider317638 could not be loaded.
grate game guys
Posted 1/7/13
i love the graphics but gameplay could yous some work but good game alltogether
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for MX vs ATV: Alive
great gaphics but few tracks and bikes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/12
rider31
Location: hesperia,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics and tracks are amazing and unreal. The only thing that sucks about it is the small amount of tracks and bikes they put in the game.And the only way you can go to the stewart compound is if you have xbox live.This game could have been way more if they keep working on it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 4 for MX vs ATV: Alive
This game is Great !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
mustang690
Location: Ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The graphics look real and its challengeing and gameplay is smooth i d k why this got a bad rating its a racing game have fun. the tracks are fun. I think this game deserves a better rating.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
RYCTTAM
Location: fontana, ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
why did this get such bad reviews? i actually ride motorcycles unlike most people who bagged on this game that dont know what they are talking about. it really is a great game. it may glitch once in a while but its not that bad. the physics are great too. im really upset that they have officially discontinued the mx series, i have all of them and ive been playing these since i was little and they are great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MX vs ATV: Alive
I Don't Know What They're Talking About
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
242Sup3rstar
Location: Miami,Florida
This game isn't as terrible as it seems its pretty good. I've liked MX Vs ATV since my PS2 days it was always fun. The career is not hard it's easy. Customizing your rider and rides to your standards. Have fun by going in the online free play doing stunts and tricks with other players. I bought this and I didn't waste $20 this is a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for MX vs ATV: Alive
dont listen too the other people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
westin
Location: orient,OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is better than the others because the graphics and everything else is awesome. there are secret bikes and cool places.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for MX vs ATV: Alive
its really good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
windarius
Location: paris,tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
man i like tha game when it first hit still lovin it.i like tha way u hit wheels and tha graphics are good af.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for MX vs ATV: Alive
alright
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
christiano
Location: boston, MA
it is not so fun but i think that mx vs atv was better than this.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MX vs ATV: Alive
boring
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
pigpen2000
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its hard to control a wide variety of cool vehicles. worth maybe 5$ or 10$ don't waste your money dont let anybody tell you different theirs better racing games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Kinect Sports Bundle
6.5 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MX vs ATV: Alive
add more
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
j5b2s7
Location: twin falls idaho
Game just needs to have that REDBULL helment and real maps not fake one
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Game makes no sense
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
Gamestopsuxxx
Location: Schenectady, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game isn't worth the $40. Reflex is 100 times better all around. The achievements are easy to get in alive...but the online play is horrible. "Game experience may change during online play"...they might as well just say "This is a totally different game online" since all my vehicles seem to magically lose about 100cc as soon as I get on live. Screw the online achievements, I can't even finish a race let alone win one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MX vs ATV: Alive
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
MADMIKE72
This is a good game its fun. but it needs more to do. i played it for two days and there was nothing left so its a fun game but your going to need to buy dlc if you want it to last.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Dont listen to other people this game rocks!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
EP1C
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I write this I am completley serious, I am addicted to this game. I figured out that everybody who actually rides motorcycles will enjoy this game (me included). I loved the new rider format, and leveling system. This game does not compare to relfex. I felt that Reflex is a good game but I found myself devoting more of my time to this game. Others don't suggest it because like I said earlier I is more enjoyable for people who actually ride motorcycles. It complies to more realistic terms which is why most people dont like it. When I played this game it made me feel like I was actually riding at some points. I definetley suggest to THQ that they continue doing everything like they did in this game, but of course some tweeks so that you could tell this one apart from the first one. I even feel sorry for James Stewart because he had a big input in this game, and made it awesome but yet it is disliked by most. In the end I say this game is a must have to dirtbike riders and for people who don't ride buy reflex.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Worst MX vs. ATV game yet
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
S3nra13
Location: Valley Center, CA
This is by far the worst MX vs. ATV game yet. They got rid of best vehicles in the game. In my opinion the best game was the first one (Unleahed) because it had an epic variety of amazing vehicles that you can mess around with in free roam. The franchise has slowly gone down hill since Unleashed was released and i think it finally hit rock bottom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Not pleased....At all
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
TundraAce96
Location: San Fransisco, California
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a poor excuse for the 4th game of the Mx vs Atv series. I was highly anticipating the release of this racing game, since the previous versions (Reflex, Untamed, Unleashed) were well polished in graphics, had a great career mode, and an awesome customization feature. But Alive? Don't buy it! I was very disappointed with the career mode of this game: you have to play the same two tracks, um....lets see, about TWENTY TIMES EACH before you can even advance to the future tracks! In Unleashed (the VERY FIRST game in the series), there were a variety of racing modes such as intense indoor stadium arenas and frantic dense forest derbies. You could also fly planes, drive sand rails and dune buggies and have access to a wide range of atvs and mxs. This great features of this addition is not present in Alive. Is it just me, or should the MOST RECENT game in the series be a little more established and upgraded that the FIRST? Again: Not at all pleased! When I purchased this game, I was looking for a little more than this unprofessional, thrown-together-in-a-hurry type game that needs a little bit more than a few hours upgrading (note my sarcasm) to be in the even near desirable range of a racing game. I am not at all impressed, THQ! This game needs to go back to the drawing board!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Don't Buy.... well at least until its like $15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/11
crazyosufan93
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it was bad as soon as i started playing. the graphics felt bad at first but then they kinda grew on me... not so bad after a while, well as long as you have an HD tv. it would be an ok game if it didnt take so so long to rank up and just to unlock more than 2 tracks right away. i honestly would have to say though because i still get frustrated with reflex, that once alive gets to maybe like $15 or $20 i would buy it again, but buy all the DLC for it so i don't spend forever getting everything and get really frustrated on a useless game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bobbyster
Peoria, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Bobbyster is loaded.
Additional information about Bobbyster could not be loaded.
IT SUCKS SO BAD
Posted 11/24/11
I spent 18$ just for a game that sucks so badly. I got so mad i almost snaped the game apart i was so mad. So if your looking for a good bike game dont waste your money on this game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for MX vs ATV: Alive
This game is not what I expected!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
xXCAMEXxJANKUM
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is just terrible. Don't buy it! Buy Mx Vs Atv Reflex!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MX vs ATV: Alive
okay game if you like dirt bikes and atvs
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
bassman1
Location: Erlanger, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THe game itself is fun. There is not a career mode which sucks and you have to keep racing the same tracks over and over until you rank up and even then you only unlock like 6 more tracks. This game is ok if you like to just mess around and scrub a few jumps. more realistic than other mx atv games ive played. I do have a major problem not with the game but with THQ. I downloaded the HONDA 450R ATV and once i rank it to a 3 star the bike will no longer load and it freezes the game up. SO until THQ fixes this glitch or refunds my money for buying the atv I am letting all know not to download anything for this game. I was a level 43 out of 50 when the DLC ruined my saved game. Now i have to start all over at a 1 again. Thanks THQ for responding to my emails!!! NOT.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TundraAce96
San Fransisco, California
 
Please wait while more information about TundraAce96 is loaded.
Additional information about TundraAce96 could not be loaded.
I Agree
Posted 7/4/11
I hate how you have to keep playing the tracks to earn xp points. It was a total waste of money to purchase this game. Reflex is much better and the tracks are much better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for MX vs ATV: Alive
Don't buy it !!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
Packersmacker
Location: Lake city, Fl.
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I thought this would be another great bike game, WRONG...To my disappointment the game sucks. The controls are difficult to get use to. no alternative bikes or atvs. Doing tricks or stunts is horrable....No career play. Get reflex if you want a good dirt bike game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>