GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Monkey Ball - 3DS

Super Monkey Ball as you've never experienced before! Join AiAi and friends as you tilt and roll your way in to the world of 3D! Lose yourself in each vibrant world as you twist, turn and aim to collect every banana in the fastest time possible. Then play together with friends and be the first to cross the finish line in Monkey Race or get ready for a manic melee in Monkey Fight. Everyone's favorite monkeys are jumping out of the screen with excitement. Are you ready to join the fun!?
Average Customer Rating:
5.72
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
10 out of 2540%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Review 1 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
AMAZINGLY LIKE Smashbros or MarioKart on 3ds.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
TheOrphicParadox
Location: Foley, Alabama
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Okay, I will admit this was not the game for me, I returned it as soon as i could, BUT! It isn't because it wasn't a great game. It didn't have the little ramp and flying targets thing i was buying it for (for some some old school nostalgia) and so that was that. It DID have some surprises in store for me though, in addition to the classic Super Monkey Ball Gameplay mode, which they also added the motion gyro capability to, on this handheld, which increased it's difficulty significantly. The new stuff, that I wasn't expecting was a monkey ball version of SmashBro.s and Mariokart. This was pretty cool. I can see that for obvious legal reasons it had to be changed significantly, but apart from a small delay in handlling, and a lack of characters it was a similar experience. I would REALLY STRONGLY SUGGEST this for any parents that might not have enough funds to shell out for the name brand that is the two other titles (Nintendos' cash cows, along with pokemon, and LoZ) because if you have little ones that haven't yet played these other games, they really won't know the difference. It was quite fun, and different, than the standard formula gameplay of the other titles. The parts that are changed, are instantly visible as it plays out, but over all the alterations are pretty negligible, and a really good way to get the fix on a lower budget. Good enough, that i felt that I had to write my frist review ever about it, just to get the word out for any "on the fence"ers. If you are a hardcore fan of the other titles this one is a mini version of, you will be disappointed over all, HOWEVER, if this game is being purchased for someone that has yet to experience the other masters of game play, they won't be aware of what they are missing, and they could certainly have a good deal of frantic fun fighting, and a good time racing, crashing, and using some rather inventive (and frustratingly effective) power ups. That said, Good game over all.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Not cool
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
Nintendocover
Location: West Chicago IL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is SOOOOOOOOOO not fun it's SOOOOOOOOOOO boring DO NOT BUY IT I REPEAT DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 3 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
It was fun while it lasted.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is very fun, but VERY short. when you first play the game, you will be very amazed, but after a couple weeks it will get old. the story mode is fun, but there are only 7 zones, and each zone is made of 10 courses. you can use the 3DS circle pad (which I recomend) or the 3DS gyroscope, and tilt the system. now these controles are fine but the gameplay will sometimes get very frustrating, especialy when you are using the 3DS gyroscope. also the game has two other modes, racing mode (exactly like mario kart.) and fighting mode (exactly like super smash bros.) now if you have mario kart 7,or CN punch time explosion for the 3DS, then both of the modes will make you want to play those other games because they feel like less-epic versions of those games. the first night I played this, I loved it, then it got boring. one great part of the game is the 3D effect, it makes it look like you are watching the game directly out of a window, it has much deeper 3D than other games, and is very amazing. but when the 3D is off, it somehow makes it harder to play the game, everything has lost it's depth and can cause you to fall off the platform. there is one thing in the game I realy don't understand, and that's the fact that every time you fall off the platform, you can save that replay, go to replay mode, and watch your own fails, this makes absoulutly no sense. but other than that the game can be a fun distraction for when you are waiting in an airport, or on a long car trip, or are just trying to make time go by faster. but that's it, that's the only fun part about this game. but if you like that kind of stuff, i guess you should get it. but fans of mario,sonic, and zelda games will probably turn off their 3DS faster than you can say "don't touch that power button".
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Worse Monkey Ball Game of All Tme
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/13
Cybershock
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is certainly the worst in the series. It's short, extremely easy, disregarded the shred of plot the originals had, the fighting and racing modes are unfair and clunky. It has collectibles with no way of knowing how to get them to the point where it's so incredibly arbitrary. Even if you're a full out Monkey Ball fan, I reccomend avoiding this game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
A Good Game When The 3DS First Came Out
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
teenj
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was an okay buy at first when the 3DS had few games, but there are some big screw ups. First off, the Monkey Race is HORRIBLE. It cheats and is very awkward in control while racing. I don't even mess around with that part of the game anymore. The Monkey Fight section is a little better. More fun, but kind of confusing at times. The Monkey Ball section is the best part of the game and is very fun and addicting to play. The levels are a extremely easy, but I don't mind.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
In "Monkey Race" it is really hard to control
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
Marc2000
Location: Newark,Ca
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The game is kinda fun it kinda hard to control on race also on monkey fiht you go all out for bananas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Prepare for, possibly, the best Super Monkey Ball.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
JustAnEpicPerson
Location: Dripping Springs, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my favorite Super Monkey Ball. Why? Graphics: Hands down, the graphics are great, espically for a 3DS game. The graphics are as great as the Xbox 360 or Wii. Not to mention, fantasic 3D. Sound: The music can get annoying if you are a picky listener. Otherwise, the soundtrack is fine. Gameplay: This depends. The Monkey Ball games are as fine as usual. The controls for the circle pad are amazing. Much better then the Wii controls on both the Monkey Ball's on the Wii. Motion Sensor sucks however. Next, Monkey Race. This. SUCKS. The controls are awful, graphics are blurry, sound is actually good. But still sucks. If you get this game for the racing, just pick up Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing, or pre-order the second one of that. Monkey Fight is great, it's addicting in fact. Graphics are great, soundtrack is catchy, and LOTS of characters to unlock. Lasting Appeal: What stinks is this, there isn't a lot of Monkey Ball levels. Unless you like Monkey Fight or Monkey Race, there isn't a lot of content.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 8 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Acceptable
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
byhardt
Location: germantown, WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is the most recent 3ds game I got and it is the worst. By saying the worst I don't mean it's horrible but it wasn;t good either. I spent 20 bucks on it but it was with a gift card so at least I don't feel bad about getting this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Okay-no, terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
Gamergirl1019
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As a young kid I loved the monkey ball series, I still own super monkey ball, super monkey ball 2 and super monkey ball deluxe. But this game just sucked. I was hoping it would remind me of the fun I used to have playing monkey ball with friends as a kid, but simply wasnt the same. I was hoping for a long lasting game, like a story mode, this game has no story mode-which is just boring to play at that point- theres no story, you just run around in a ball and try to unlock levels. I did however let my 10 year old friend play it, and they simply loved the game, which is why I would recomend it to kid gamers.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
The game is a great kids game to play!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Demise24680
Location: Hatboro,PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Super Monkey Ball 3D was a great game but could have easily been tweeked or they could hacve added some stuff because it lacks creativity! The challenge mode wasnt extremely challenging though its pretty fun so i would really recomend it to kids 7-11 just because its not that challenging. The fight and race modes are actually not very fun... well it stinks! Theres nothing to it than racing terrible COM's that always let you win, and the fighting is the same way... its defanitly a let down :( But anyway, to sum it all up this game isnt incredibly terrible but, its kind of fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
alwaysAnticapateMarioKart
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I spent $20 dollars on a piece of garbage! In monkey race you're in first place and it's not even close. Then all of a sudden millions of ice cubes, banana's ETC come flyin at you! BUT THATS NOT ALL! IN MONKEY FIGHT YOU'RE WINNING BY ABOUT TWENTY POINTS! So I'd figure I'd watch the monkey in second place. So the monkey doesn't get any points and I don't lose any AND THE MONKEY IN SECOND PLACE WINS!!!!!!DON'T WASTE ANY MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
monkey ball 3d!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
djyulis
Location: New York, NY
this game is better than the monkey ball touch & roll
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
A nice and cute, but rather short exprience.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Anyone who has played Monkeyball before knows how it works. You start out with the main game, you get some points, you go play the minigames, you get 2000 points or so, and then, after several hours of gameplay, your able to unlock a new minigame. Unfortunately, this game didn't make me want to play that long. The levels are far too easy, even with a joystick the controls are still crummy, and graphics are actually pretty poor. If you really want to buy this game, don't. It's boring.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
could have been better
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
gameboy228
Location: burlington ky
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i thought it was good when i frist started playing it but then it got boring.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
i love it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/11
nintedoboy
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i love all the monkey games but this but is kind of easy i like games that are hard to beat! but other than that i got it today and im having a blast!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
I want my $40 back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
Mgsoccer14
I thought, because of the awesomeness what was Super Monkey Ball 2, this would be a great game. I was wrong. I literally beat it in a few hours. This was regular mode, and the other two modes are so terrible I've only played each of them once. Sometimes I go back and replay the levels, but it's not as fun. I think I will sell this one to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
come on sega!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/11
busterbluth
monkey ball has gone down hill since the wii version, if you were a fan in the game cube era then you will not enjoy this game very much. the main play is like the others but it is a little bit too easy, the racing not good, the controls are clunky and its not too fun, last is the monkey fight a ssbb knock off but in a bad way. this is bad and really not worth it unless you are a diehard mokey ball fan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Worst game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/11
Nick159
Location: CA
Once you get it you will get so bored!!! Dont waste your money!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
talesofz
Location: WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
pretty good short game i little boring but pretty good but it is a little hard
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/11
Papermariocrazy
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Super Monkey Ball 3D is the best game since Super Monkey Ball 2 (though that one is still WAY better) and features Monkey Ball, which is the best game mode of the 3, Monkey Race, which is really fun but whacky at some times, especially on the harder tracks, and Monkey Fight, which is the least fun of the 3 but still really fun. The game is really easy in the Monkey Ball Mode, but when you try to collect all of the bananas in the worlds or use the motion sensor, the game brings in a little challenge, considering that there are achievements for these challenges. Overall, Super Monkey Ball 3D is amazingly fun, more enjoyable than I expected it to be, and is highly recommended to the casual gamers (even hardcore ones) who love to roll cute little monkeys in hamster balls and collect bananas.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Deoxys04
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about Deoxys04 is loaded.
Additional information about Deoxys04 could not be loaded.
This game is good.
Posted 11/8/11
This game is good, and I have been a fan of Super Monkey Ball for a long time. There really is no story line to this game, but still, its fun! Its not a keeper, but its a good game. I recommend buying this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>