GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Monkey Ball - 3DS

Super Monkey Ball as you've never experienced before! Join AiAi and friends as you tilt and roll your way in to the world of 3D! Lose yourself in each vibrant world as you twist, turn and aim to collect every banana in the fastest time possible. Then play together with friends and be the first to cross the finish line in Monkey Race or get ready for a manic melee in Monkey Fight. Everyone's favorite monkeys are jumping out of the screen with excitement. Are you ready to join the fun!?
Average Customer Rating:
5.72
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
10 out of 2540%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Review 1 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Prepare for, possibly, the best Super Monkey Ball.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
JustAnEpicPerson
Location: Dripping Springs, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my favorite Super Monkey Ball. Why? Graphics: Hands down, the graphics are great, espically for a 3DS game. The graphics are as great as the Xbox 360 or Wii. Not to mention, fantasic 3D. Sound: The music can get annoying if you are a picky listener. Otherwise, the soundtrack is fine. Gameplay: This depends. The Monkey Ball games are as fine as usual. The controls for the circle pad are amazing. Much better then the Wii controls on both the Monkey Ball's on the Wii. Motion Sensor sucks however. Next, Monkey Race. This. SUCKS. The controls are awful, graphics are blurry, sound is actually good. But still sucks. If you get this game for the racing, just pick up Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing, or pre-order the second one of that. Monkey Fight is great, it's addicting in fact. Graphics are great, soundtrack is catchy, and LOTS of characters to unlock. Lasting Appeal: What stinks is this, there isn't a lot of Monkey Ball levels. Unless you like Monkey Fight or Monkey Race, there isn't a lot of content.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sonic and SEGA All-Stars Racing
8 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Monkeys in balls in 3D...
Posted on:2/19/11
nintendo3dsfreak
Super Monkey Ball is a fantstic series where you roll your monkey around in his ball to end of the stage while not forgetting to collect those extra bananas! :) Seeing this series jump into the Nintendo 3DS (literally) will be an amzing thing to see on lauch day! Being able to move those balls around in a full 360 degree motion in a full fledged 3D world will make this game an absolute hit! Sega's even nice enough to include the feature of letting you use the gyroscope to get your monkeys moving, or the circle pad for precise control. Not to mention the two extra party games included in this. Along with the zanny game itself, there's Monkey Race and Monkey Fight! How could you possibly get bored with this game?!?
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/11
Papermariocrazy
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Super Monkey Ball 3D is the best game since Super Monkey Ball 2 (though that one is still WAY better) and features Monkey Ball, which is the best game mode of the 3, Monkey Race, which is really fun but whacky at some times, especially on the harder tracks, and Monkey Fight, which is the least fun of the 3 but still really fun. The game is really easy in the Monkey Ball Mode, but when you try to collect all of the bananas in the worlds or use the motion sensor, the game brings in a little challenge, considering that there are achievements for these challenges. Overall, Super Monkey Ball 3D is amazingly fun, more enjoyable than I expected it to be, and is highly recommended to the casual gamers (even hardcore ones) who love to roll cute little monkeys in hamster balls and collect bananas.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Deoxys04
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about Deoxys04 is loaded.
Additional information about Deoxys04 could not be loaded.
This game is good.
Posted 11/8/11
This game is good, and I have been a fan of Super Monkey Ball for a long time. There really is no story line to this game, but still, its fun! Its not a keeper, but its a good game. I recommend buying this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Great
Posted on:1/22/11
BluuClues
Location: Leesburg
Fun, Zanny ,and Confirmed Launch. Your going to lov
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
come on sega!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/11
busterbluth
monkey ball has gone down hill since the wii version, if you were a fan in the game cube era then you will not enjoy this game very much. the main play is like the others but it is a little bit too easy, the racing not good, the controls are clunky and its not too fun, last is the monkey fight a ssbb knock off but in a bad way. this is bad and really not worth it unless you are a diehard mokey ball fan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Unbelievable...
Posted on:3/26/11
spymoft
Location: Brooklyn, NY
They do it once again. They continue to diverge from the original Super Monkey Ball game that I fell in love with. Now they've made Monkey Race with karts? They're in a ball and.. they're racing on karts... Instead of racing in their own ball? This is why I'm starting to dislike Super Monkey Ball and might not be buying this game compared to the others. The Wii version was horrible seeing as they had removed co-op in the one player mode, they made Monkey Target the worst mini-game ever compared to it being the best in the original. And now this. This game used to be extremely fun for my whole family but now the future games are collecting dust due to Sega's horrid decisions in the making of Super Monkey Ball. If you want to get back the original Super Monkey Ball, don't purchase this because it'll show that you actually like what they're doing.
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Will Gamestop go "Bananas" With Pre-orders for it?
Posted on:2/21/11
wiigamer
I really don't know how this game will turn out. It's made by Sega, an amazing company, so it's probably not going to be bad. I've played Monkey Ball for my iPod Touch, and it hasn't disappointed me. Hopefully this game does well!
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Best game ever
Posted on:1/22/11
Icefish101
Location: Sun Valley, CA
this game is so fun and addictive and u could be showing it off at skool playing in 3D. Probably play it in HR. this is going to be the first game i get for the 3ds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Monkeys, bananas, racing, boxing... priceless.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
Drizzy26
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Monkey ball series has always been one of my favorites, so it was the first game i had locked on to buy alongside my 3ds. i was surprised at how well the 3d effect looked on gon gon. the gameplay is really fun and the multiplayer is as wacky as ever, which always brings out laughs and fun competition among friends. Great game by sega, good to see monkey ball back and in good shape.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
I want my $40 back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
Mgsoccer14
I thought, because of the awesomeness what was Super Monkey Ball 2, this would be a great game. I was wrong. I literally beat it in a few hours. This was regular mode, and the other two modes are so terrible I've only played each of them once. Sometimes I go back and replay the levels, but it's not as fun. I think I will sell this one to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
i love it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/11
nintedoboy
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i love all the monkey games but this but is kind of easy i like games that are hard to beat! but other than that i got it today and im having a blast!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
The game is a great kids game to play!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Demise24680
Location: Hatboro,PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Super Monkey Ball 3D was a great game but could have easily been tweeked or they could hacve added some stuff because it lacks creativity! The challenge mode wasnt extremely challenging though its pretty fun so i would really recomend it to kids 7-11 just because its not that challenging. The fight and race modes are actually not very fun... well it stinks! Theres nothing to it than racing terrible COM's that always let you win, and the fighting is the same way... its defanitly a let down :( But anyway, to sum it all up this game isnt incredibly terrible but, its kind of fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
monkey ball 3d!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
djyulis
Location: New York, NY
this game is better than the monkey ball touch & roll
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
AMAZINGLY LIKE Smashbros or MarioKart on 3ds.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
TheOrphicParadox
Location: Foley, Alabama
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Okay, I will admit this was not the game for me, I returned it as soon as i could, BUT! It isn't because it wasn't a great game. It didn't have the little ramp and flying targets thing i was buying it for (for some some old school nostalgia) and so that was that. It DID have some surprises in store for me though, in addition to the classic Super Monkey Ball Gameplay mode, which they also added the motion gyro capability to, on this handheld, which increased it's difficulty significantly. The new stuff, that I wasn't expecting was a monkey ball version of SmashBro.s and Mariokart. This was pretty cool. I can see that for obvious legal reasons it had to be changed significantly, but apart from a small delay in handlling, and a lack of characters it was a similar experience. I would REALLY STRONGLY SUGGEST this for any parents that might not have enough funds to shell out for the name brand that is the two other titles (Nintendos' cash cows, along with pokemon, and LoZ) because if you have little ones that haven't yet played these other games, they really won't know the difference. It was quite fun, and different, than the standard formula gameplay of the other titles. The parts that are changed, are instantly visible as it plays out, but over all the alterations are pretty negligible, and a really good way to get the fix on a lower budget. Good enough, that i felt that I had to write my frist review ever about it, just to get the word out for any "on the fence"ers. If you are a hardcore fan of the other titles this one is a mini version of, you will be disappointed over all, HOWEVER, if this game is being purchased for someone that has yet to experience the other masters of game play, they won't be aware of what they are missing, and they could certainly have a good deal of frantic fun fighting, and a good time racing, crashing, and using some rather inventive (and frustratingly effective) power ups. That said, Good game over all.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Decent, but a Little too Easy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
wiigamer
Super Monkey Ball is a pretty fun game. I haven't tried the Fighting mode or the Racing mode out yet, but I don't think I will because people say they're not fun. The main mode is pretty fun, but is not the best because it is too easy and the levels aren't always creative.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Looks pretty good!
Posted on:3/19/11
GENYA
Location: Tooele, UT
Super Monkey Ball was my first game for DS, and will also be my first game for the 3DS. I hope Sega delivers a quality game again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
alwaysAnticapateMarioKart
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I spent $20 dollars on a piece of garbage! In monkey race you're in first place and it's not even close. Then all of a sudden millions of ice cubes, banana's ETC come flyin at you! BUT THATS NOT ALL! IN MONKEY FIGHT YOU'RE WINNING BY ABOUT TWENTY POINTS! So I'd figure I'd watch the monkey in second place. So the monkey doesn't get any points and I don't lose any AND THE MONKEY IN SECOND PLACE WINS!!!!!!DON'T WASTE ANY MONEY ON THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
monkey ball is ruined
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
mariogamer45
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I am a huge fan of super monkey ball, but lately the games have been sucking because sega is throwing in new ideas that they think will improve the game, but happen to make it worse. I bought this game thinking it would be great, but yet again I was disappointed just like I was when step and roll came out for the wii. There is only 3 modes,which definitely do not make the game worth $40. Second of all, the monkey ball mode sucks with only 7 worlds that I beat in a matter of minutes. There is also a monkey race mode which is okay, but the powerups can get really annoying and can easily put you in last place. There is not many tracks in monkey race, and the tracks do not have a lot of creativity in them either. Hitting a wall instantly slows you down, which can get really annoying if you're trying to stay in first place. Monkey fight is also a horrible game mode with only three arenas to choose from and eight characters to start. There are different rule types and each character even has their own special attack as well. When you're fighting, the controls may be easy to learn, but winning is impossible with other computer players constantly knocking you down,which doesn't give you any time to attack back. Sega also used an element from super smash bros. brawl by making their own version of a smash ball, but instead calling it a golden barrel and making everyone fight for it in a mad dash to burst it open. Overall, super monkey ball 3d is yet again a horrible monkey ball game that is turning away from it's core roots that made the original so good, and putting in other trash to try to make it better. If you're a hardcore super monkey ball fan, then do yourself a favor and stay away from this piece of junk.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Okay-no, terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
Gamergirl1019
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As a young kid I loved the monkey ball series, I still own super monkey ball, super monkey ball 2 and super monkey ball deluxe. But this game just sucked. I was hoping it would remind me of the fun I used to have playing monkey ball with friends as a kid, but simply wasnt the same. I was hoping for a long lasting game, like a story mode, this game has no story mode-which is just boring to play at that point- theres no story, you just run around in a ball and try to unlock levels. I did however let my 10 year old friend play it, and they simply loved the game, which is why I would recomend it to kid gamers.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for Super Monkey Ball - 3DS
Looks Good
Posted on:2/16/11
dolphinboy
This game seems good but I don't know if the price is fair only time will tell if it is worth it.
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>