GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Party 8

The world's most popular party video game is getting a lot crazier in Mario Party for the Wii! Whether you're shaking up cola cans or lassoing barrels, you and your friends will be drawn into the action like never before using the Wii Remote.
Average Customer Rating:
7.351
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (374 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
12
8 stars
15
7 stars
8
6 stars
8
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
54 out of 7770%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Party 8
Review 1 for Mario Party 8
Not as Good as The Original
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/13
FrogJesus
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Since its not made by the old makers, they tried to make a new experience. I thought it was cool how they tried to incorporate boss battles, but the turn system is awful. You can't choose the number of turns because there is a board with a set boss. This itself isn't that bad but the minigames and "ministars" get tedious to do and collect, and it doesn't leave with the same feeling that Mario Party 8, and back does. It is hard to play more than one round without feeling like you've wasted your time. This game may be good for a kid who is new to the franchise, but for anyone whose played Mario Party before, it's far from good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario Party 8
wife and i could play for hours
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/13
OZZYFAN
Location: st joseph mo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario Party 8 is addicting game wife and I would play partners that is until we had not one but two wii systems and games stolen by people we know some friends huh well I received another wii for fathers day last year and was given Mario party 9 which just came out only thing is its not as fun as party 8 will be buying it soon
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario Party 8
WOW!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
ZOLO
Location: Louisiana, LA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is perfect for a party gamer. But if you are a hardcore gamer I would not recommend this. But I am not a hardcore gamer and I love this! I would get so try it out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ZOLO
Louisiana, LA
 
Please wait while more information about ZOLO is loaded.
Additional information about ZOLO could not be loaded.
Posted 7/12/12
Sorry guys I messed up with a typo!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mario Party 8
Mario Party 9
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
MagneGamerGirlFuvCuzLuv
Location: Columbia,MO
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is perfect for party gamers--the party itself can be boring to some gamers--but the minigames are true passionate fun! The creativity of the minigames is all that matters--from shell soccer, pizza me,mario, and skyjinx! Some reviews are over exagerating--I think this game is great! I've had it for about a month--I'm an expireinced gamer with 59 games--Mario Party 9 is my 60th! I recomend this 89%! Game on Gamers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Party 8
One word.AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
CookieMonster242
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love Maro Party 8!! The mini games are so fun.I also love the game areas.But then one day my game got scratched and I couldn't play it anymore. Then I got mario party 9 and I like It just as much as mario party 8 but I hate being in a cart the whole intire time.I hope I can get mario party 8 again soon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mario Party 8
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
TJTaylor
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is really awesome. Everything is fine with good graphics, sound and game play. The only thing is that you get bored of it kind of quick. But it is more than a classic Mario game with fun mini games and a great story mode which is what I really love about this game! Anyone who wants to play a good games with friend should really get this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TJTaylor
 
Please wait while more information about TJTaylor is loaded.
Additional information about TJTaylor could not be loaded.
Posted 7/6/12
You are so right! Thanks!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mario Party 8
good game just needs a little more work
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
Swaggmaster10
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game has fun mini games but the boards are too short and so is the star battle mode but this is a great game for a party.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario Party 8
Great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great pary game.This is the only Mario Party game I have played.But all I can so is,ITS AWESOME!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Party 8
this game is not good dont get it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
2011214
Location: Dallas,tx
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game hs 5 leves including the boss level after that thers nothing to do this game is good for those pepole that dont like a challenge
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Party 8
Party Only
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Flash30
Location: Manahawkin, NJ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Unless you have multiple siblings or you use it for get togethers don't buy it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Party 8
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
Hawkmaster1
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is pretty good. The graphics are good and there are a lot of fun game modes to play. There is also a lot mini-games to play. Although this is a good game, I prefer Mario Kart and Mario party 7.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Party 8
Why Are So Many People Saying this is a bad game?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
Riyoko7694
Mario Party 8 is an Exellant game that continues the Mario Party Francise. Sure the extra zone minigames are horrible but this is a great game. great music and the only time you can play as Hammer Bro.. I don't understand why people say this a bad game cause I don't think It is.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Mario Party 8
same thing
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/11
XBOXLOVER2012
Location: st.louis,MO
its just the same thing as the other mario party games out there so it gets old very fast so dont buy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Party 8
Great, except...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
daBHguy
Location: Mesa, AZ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great game. I rarely ever have Wii remote connection issues and the sound and graphics are great, especially with surround sound. However, I think this could be better if they had one or two more stages.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Party 8
Great fun with friends
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/11
SneakyRebelNinja
Location: Grantsville, UT
This game is perfect for: party gamers
As with most party games, it's almost more the people you play with than the game itself. That said, the Marioparty series has always done a pretty fantastic job of providing some of the best party gaming ever, and the Wii installment certainly lives up to that billing. Remeber, this is a party game. As long as you go into it expecting it only to be what it is, it's a whole lot of fun. Two of my coworkers and I play this on our grave shift once a week, and it is always a ton of fun. There is a fantastic variety of games and ways to play them. So go find 2-3 of your rowdiest friends and you will not be disappointed by the experience this game delivers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mattfam
Highland
 
Please wait while more information about Mattfam is loaded.
Additional information about Mattfam could not be loaded.
Awsome
Posted 2/6/12
This Game is the best game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mario Party 8
A good game at first...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
yoda2323
This game is perfect for: party gamers
In a way, this game takes a step backward from the last Mario Party. Less orbs (called Candy in this game), less complicated stages. It's simpler, and at first that's not a bad thing. Some of the basic ideas from boards from Mario Party 7 return, like getting to the end of a long single path, investing money in hotels to get stars, etc. I like the simplicity and straightforward-ness of it, but sadly, that's not enough to keep you playing. There's only about 10 different Candy (as opposed to the 30+ in the previous games), which makes the games less hectic; for the first few games this is good but as you play the game more you are dying for more complicated gameplay. There's many different modes of play as well, as in past Mario Party titles. Lots of minigames use motion control as well, which is a nice addition. Unfortunately, if you don't have anyone to play with the game gets boring pretty quickly. Only get this if you have others to play with.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 17 for Mario Party 8
I Would'nt Waist My Time With This Game!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/11
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Game was not exciting at all!!! If you have younger bros or sisters its cool but for an alone single player game it boring as heck. Its not worth 45 dollers. In the "story" mode the computer usally has the home court. Fun 1 player games below!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Party 8
Fun party game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/11
Redsoxkiller1918
Location: Loveland, OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I enjoy the game when friends come over. When they come over we play this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Party 8
Good game for wii
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
kirbyfan2
Location: naugatuck,ct
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The graphic were okay.The gameplay was great.The minigames and boards kept me playing this game for hours.It is really good.This is really amazing for a wii game.A great reason to get the wii.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mario Party 8
A disgrace to Mario Party.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
Zettaria
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game, was one of the first wii games i've had, and as a newbie Wii gamer, I was excited to play this game as well as the others I had (Super Smash Bros. Brawl, and Twilight Princess) I love Mario Party, don't get me wrong but nowadays, it just seems like the first 3 classic Mario Party games are the best. My favorite, being Mario Party 3. Not because Daisy was in it, (she's my favorite character BTW), but the fact that they made many good changes from Mario Party 2 like being able to carry more than 1 item, actual DUEL player games, and Bowser's not as unfair, made it more enjoyable. I didn't get any of the gamecube Mario Party games, so I won't comment on those. I thought Mario Party 8 would be pretty cool since I thought that using the motion controls would make the game more fun but I was wrong. I hate the fact that some minigames make you switch your wii-mote around just to play it. That was a disappointment and I MISS the reverse mushroom! I don't like the items they give you in that game at all, and it sucks that you can't pick a person you WANT to steal coins from, duel, etc. It's completely random since you use a blasted dart board. That's not cool at all. On the other hand, the mini-games are fun.. SOME of them. My favorite being 'Shake It Up!'. the BIGGEST flaw in the game, however, was that there was no online play. I have no one to play the game with, so it got boring after having it for 3 months. After that, I never touched it again. Hopefully Mario Party 9 will change that though. I REALLY hope they put multiplayer online this time!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>