GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Party 8

The world's most popular party video game is getting a lot crazier in Mario Party for the Wii! Whether you're shaking up cola cans or lassoing barrels, you and your friends will be drawn into the action like never before using the Wii Remote.
Average Customer Rating:
7.351
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (374 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
12
8 stars
15
7 stars
8
6 stars
8
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
54 out of 7770%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Party 8
Review 1 for Mario Party 8
PARTY!!!!!....again
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
Lucario32
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is practically the same thing as all it`s prequels. The same thing: party,party,party. But for some reason, Nintendo decided to make a worse game. I`ll tell you the reasons: Reason number 1: TOO MUCH TALKING: Cmon, lets be honest, dont ya hate when you put this game in yer console and Ballyhoo and big top start talking and talking and you cant just ommite it?? Well I do: it gets on my nerves with all that talking. Reason number 2: TOO MUCH COMMERCIALS. Again, with the talking; always when ya start a game a huge, long commercial starts and every time you get a star, etc..This game should be focused on the GAME and not on the talking of charachters and videos. Reason number 3: GRAPHICS. Even tough this game is a wii game, the graphics look like Nintendo gamecube graphics (at least to me). If next time, a ``party`` game comes, it should have been more fun and have more options. To summarize it, if you have not played any other party game, then buy it. But if ya already have, then buy Wiiparty (wich is higly recommended)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Party 8
Great fun with friends
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/11
SneakyRebelNinja
Location: Grantsville, UT
This game is perfect for: party gamers
As with most party games, it's almost more the people you play with than the game itself. That said, the Marioparty series has always done a pretty fantastic job of providing some of the best party gaming ever, and the Wii installment certainly lives up to that billing. Remeber, this is a party game. As long as you go into it expecting it only to be what it is, it's a whole lot of fun. Two of my coworkers and I play this on our grave shift once a week, and it is always a ton of fun. There is a fantastic variety of games and ways to play them. So go find 2-3 of your rowdiest friends and you will not be disappointed by the experience this game delivers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mattfam
Highland
 
Please wait while more information about Mattfam is loaded.
Additional information about Mattfam could not be loaded.
Awsome
Posted 2/6/12
This Game is the best game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mario Party 8
Been playing since 1
Posted on:3/25/07
An old customer
The same group of friends that have played every Mario Party game with me since the 1st are anxiously awaiting this game. We've all changed since then of course (I married one of the friends). However, the games didn't change that much. Yeah, the were new boards but the themes were all the same. Water world, Future World, Pirate Land. I don't think the fun of these games rely on the orginiality. I think the fun comes from us getting together , trash talking each other, and generally, making an afternoon out of it. I think the Wii does have a really good chance of reviving this series. I think the originality will not show in different boards (I am already getting my swimsuit ready for water world again), but in the controls. I bought Wario Smooth Moves and I admit that I was cracking up at my friends when they do a hoola hoop (there are some things the public was not meant to see). I am going to buy it becuase the time shared with friends will be priceless.
Review 4 for Mario Party 8
A good game at first...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
yoda2323
This game is perfect for: party gamers
In a way, this game takes a step backward from the last Mario Party. Less orbs (called Candy in this game), less complicated stages. It's simpler, and at first that's not a bad thing. Some of the basic ideas from boards from Mario Party 7 return, like getting to the end of a long single path, investing money in hotels to get stars, etc. I like the simplicity and straightforward-ness of it, but sadly, that's not enough to keep you playing. There's only about 10 different Candy (as opposed to the 30+ in the previous games), which makes the games less hectic; for the first few games this is good but as you play the game more you are dying for more complicated gameplay. There's many different modes of play as well, as in past Mario Party titles. Lots of minigames use motion control as well, which is a nice addition. Unfortunately, if you don't have anyone to play with the game gets boring pretty quickly. Only get this if you have others to play with.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario Party 8
how its so .... hmmm
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/11
zeldahero
its ok the mini games are fair good for a family activity but in my personal opinion the ds one is way better especially the minigames
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mario Party 8
Awsome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/10
nintendo fan 102716677
When I first got this game I said this is almost the same as Mario Party 7, but then i realized its not! The control scheme is very different. There are some minigames that apeared on previous games but think about it. If they put it in the game again that means that the minigame has been and always will be fun thats the only reason its there again. The game has some new cool mini games that really uses the Wii's new control scheme. For instence there is a game where you pull barrels out of a spinning platform and it states that you need to swing your wii remote like a lasso. I was satisfied with this game and it has some pretty good graphics and puts the wiimote to good use. The only thing kind of disapionting was that it had almost the same songs over and over again which get annoying sometimes. But sill a very good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Party 8
Mario shur can party!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/11
metaknight1031
Location: Danville, KY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Even though im a huge fan of Mario party 7, i love Mario party 8 even more! who doesn't like the new minigames and courses! Its a little wierd that you can play as Blooper.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Party 8
Not the next Mario Party
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
Masumi
This game was so hyped up that I had to buy it and play it. I was severely disappointed. The CPU seemed to once again win all the time because they are computers, but the not randomness of the game made me upset. If I chose to be shot "randomly" over the board like it says on the board. I would like to be shot randomly over the board. I road this exact cannon 3 times (in one turn I might add) and ended up in the same exact spot. Then the removed all the Bowser AND DK mini games, which was a great let down I might add. The boards were so poorly arranged that you really don't want to play it more than once. And the randomly getting stars wasn't the great either. While it's great that DK now shoots you to the star, its not cool if a CPU gets shot there all the time. And then when I was playing the game 4-player with my family, it wouldn't read my wii mote. I have a widescreen TV and it is NOT widescreen all the way through the game. Just the title screen and little side places, not the actual game. I bought this for the sole reason the mini games were going to be using the wiimote. I was let down once again because almost half or more of the mini games just used the wii mote class controller style using the D-Pad to move and the 2-button to jump. I was very disappointed in this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
10 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Party 8
Mario Party 9
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
MagneGamerGirlFuvCuzLuv
Location: Columbia,MO
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is perfect for party gamers--the party itself can be boring to some gamers--but the minigames are true passionate fun! The creativity of the minigames is all that matters--from shell soccer, pizza me,mario, and skyjinx! Some reviews are over exagerating--I think this game is great! I've had it for about a month--I'm an expireinced gamer with 59 games--Mario Party 9 is my 60th! I recomend this 89%! Game on Gamers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Party 8
Not as good as I thought
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/09
Spock
I've played a few Mario games but this one was kind of disappointing. The controls don't really make sense some times and may be hard for some people. Also the responsiveness of the game is quit bad at some points. Character selection is good I must admit with the additions of a regular Boo, the Ink Squid from Mario Kart and that hooded Koopa thing. The candy helps a lot in some places but not in others. The computer also tends to cheat a lot especially with the characters of Waluigi and Wario. The graphics at some point are very poor. There is no song selection because it plays what ever music is set for that section so if you don't like it have a pair of headphones and an iPod or CD player near you. Of course the only way you can choose to the music is by buying the character voices or carnival music from on of the stores in the Fun Bazar but for that you have to wait there and if you exit it will stop I think.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Party 8
Awesome Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/08
RezTech
My first time playing this game and I was hooked. I thought it was an awesome game, great game play and graphics. I literally couldn't put the controller down after I bought this game. The only regret I had with this game is that I didn't buy another controller, so me and my wife had to share, and take turns with the controller. She loves this game as well. At first I tried to do the mini-games but found out I couldn't do it until I actually played the game and unlocked them. That frustrated me, but I eventually got over it when I started to explore the game more. This is the first game we bought, once we bought our Wii, the other was tony hawk. We play this game a lot more frequently then tony hawk or the wii sports which came with the wii. I would definitely recommend this game to others who have the Wii system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Party 8
nintendo's party games shine
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
from adults to kids,this game makes the wii shine.with the wii isn't about graphics it's about gameplay.this game is a blast by your self or with a partner,so if you ain't got this go get it and enjoy one of the better wii titles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Party 8
OK game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/08
Proffessor Game
This game was disipointing when I first got it, but as I went into the game more it became more fun. I began to unlock things and play the game with more skill and I learned to play the minygames properly. The controls are very easy but the easyness of them can make it boring sometimes. I found out the Mario PArty 8 game is more for "parties" and larger groups of people rather then when you are alone. The more people you have the more fun you will have. A very positive thing about this game is the diversity of minygames. All the different types makes each time you play different. Also the new game boards are very cool, colorful, and different from eachother and ones in the past Mario Parties. This game is a game that you either love it or hate it. If you like these types of games then good get it and have a good time. But, if you have the slightest idea that you would not enjoy it then don't waste your $$.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Mario Party 8
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
Hawkmaster1
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is pretty good. The graphics are good and there are a lot of fun game modes to play. There is also a lot mini-games to play. Although this is a good game, I prefer Mario Kart and Mario party 7.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Party 8
Good game for wii
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
kirbyfan2
Location: naugatuck,ct
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The graphic were okay.The gameplay was great.The minigames and boards kept me playing this game for hours.It is really good.This is really amazing for a wii game.A great reason to get the wii.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario Party 8
Best game ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/08
Biggest Mario and Nintendo fan ever!!!!!
Mario party 8 is the worlds best party game becuse there is so much to do. You can play regular party mode or you can play star battle arena where you fight for that top spot to become the carnivals highest honor, the super star and win a years supply of candy and the one and only legendary star rod.Theres also way way way way way more than that to do and the list goes on and on of things to do in Mario Party 8. Theres some great maps like swinging and battling in DK s jungle or at goombas booty boardwalk or king boos haunted hideaway or koopas tycoon town or bowsers warped orbit the fun never ends. The mini games are amazing and the wii remote makes the controls so simple and fun and you have to buy this game no matter what. This game is great for when you have people at your house and you want to throw a serious amazing party that is so fun. This is one party to not miss and a party to remember!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Mario Party 8
Needs a Million Awards
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
LadyNina
Location: Moreno Valley,CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is awesome! I love it! Me and my family play it all the time! this game can be played by anyone! I feel like you will never be bored with this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Party 8
Pretty fun and exciting
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/10
Moterhead
When I first got this game, I got it just to use my store credit that I got from selling Pokemon Battle Revolution [ which I have already gone over in one of my other reviews]. When I brought it home, I thought it would be cheesy and fun for only like 3 hours. This was not true. I enjoyed this game very much and I don't care what other fellow reviewers have to say, I like it. Though not as good as Mario Party 7 for the Gamecube, it still is very good. I think that you will enjoy mostly everything about Mario Party 8 except maybe the fairly annoying hosts of the game Ballyhoo and Big Top. There laughter is very, very annoying and is just so close to being overly obnoxious. My brother, my father, and I all enjoyed it thouroughly and I hope you do too. I give Mario Party 8 for the wii an 8.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Party 8
Mario Party may shine again
Posted on:1/24/07
Kxela
Mario Party was a great game when it first came out. The first three games were fun, unique and really interesting. When it moved to the Gamecube, the creativity felt like it sank, Mario Party 4 was okay, Mario Party 5 was just a plain waste of money. I didnt bother to play Mario Party 6 or 7, although from a glance they seemed to be better than what #5 presented. The series moving to the Wii was pretty much a given. With the Wiimote and motion sensing gaming, I'm pretty sure that the mini games in this mario party will be fun and innovative and very much entertaining. Heck, this is pretty much the kind of game the Wii was made for, like Warioware which I'll be getting soon. As long as the mini games are good then it should make the game, a nice plot line would help too. but having said all that, Multiplayer Party/mini-games + Wii = sucess hopefully. This is a game to keep an eye on. :)
Review 20 for Mario Party 8
Ehh
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/09
BillsFan10
This game came in a bundle with my Wii so I obviously I was going to try it out. But I just found myself in a repetitive hole. This is just like all the other Mario Party games. I mean ya sure there is a couple new things but other than that nothing really. If you are a huge fan of mario party or never tried a mario party game than go ahaead and get this you'll love it. Other than that find another game that you will enjoy more.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>