GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat

The DPX21 combines two of Turtle Beach's hottest products into one deluxe combo package. We took our battle-tested PX21 headset, designed for PS3, XBOX 360® and PC/Mac gaming, and partnered it with the Ear Force DSS to transform the PX21 into a full Dolby digital surround sound headset. The PX21/DSS combo pushes your PS3 and XBOX 360 gaming experience to a new level with the thrilling realism of Dolby® 7.1 surround sound and crystal-clear communication over PlayStation Network or XBOX LIVE - and saves you a bundle over the cost of buying the PX21 and DSS separately.The DPX21 gives you a competitive advantage by bringing out sound cues in the game that are difficult to hear with speakers - such as the footsteps of an enemy sneaking up on you or the loading of a weapon at a distance. By combining online chat while immersing yourself in DSS-powered Dolby 7.1 channel surround sound, you can efficiently communicate with online players without being distracted from the game. With its exceptional audio quality, online communication and comfortable ergonomic design, the DPX21 can help you become a better player while making it a lot more fun to play your favorite video games!
Average Customer Rating:
8.568
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
7
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
30 out of 3781%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Review 1 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
My first turtle beach, AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
TheAmazingPig
Location: Wichita, KS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The dpx21 is awesome. It had great surround sound and very easy to understand. The design itself was very good. But this product had some flaws. For example, the wires were too long and it was kinda hard to connect the wires but of its longness. And it is somewhat kind of loud. I just bought it today and it was awesome. I tested it out and my sister said it was loud even though i didnt put it on the max and she could hear it when i put it on. If you are going to buy this, beware of its wires. Overall i like this turtle beach,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Best headset I've owned
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
Troll4965
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
What can I say, no charging, 7.1 Dolby Digital Surround sound. you can hear every foot step and chat is crystal clear.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
SUCKS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
littlebill
Location: alaska AK
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
they were fime for about a month then i lost hearing in my right earpeice and then the same thing happened to my left earpeice now i cant hear anything anymore. do not buy this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
Demon5405
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had these for a month and at first they worked very good, but then the left earpiece stopped working and I could only here my friends not the game. After another month it finally completely stopped working. I will never buy another Turtle Beach again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ScrewEA
Thessia
 
Please wait while more information about ScrewEA is loaded.
Additional information about ScrewEA could not be loaded.
If you can hear your friends...
Posted 6/9/12
Don't blame the headphones if you can hear your friends just fine, but not the game itself. That is an internal issue with the sound card, drivers, or game/system output settings. The headphones do not differentiate between your friends talking online and the game sound. Headphones have 1 input and if you can hear something clearly with the 1 input, the headphones are working.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Trittons are better!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
IM97
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
DO NOT GET THIS HEADSET!!!! Save up for a tritton headset and that will be better. This was a complete waste of money. Trittons are a better quality headset. This headset was just average!.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Absolutely PERFECT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/12
ThePhoenix
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these after my P11's broke, they were nice, but NOTHING compared to this. I'm an avid PC Xbox and PS3 gamer, I get paid to game so I spend a LOT of time doing it, and these headphones, whether playing music while playing, or playing game sounds do it all 100% perfectly, I can wear them 12 hours at a time without the slightest comfort issue, the sound is crystal clear. I would HIGHLY recommend them to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
DPX21 is EXCELLENT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
jpx2000
Location: Illinois
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've bought two sets of DPX21's so far and have not had a single problem with either. The sound quality for the price is amazing; and, since they're wired headphones, I don't have to worry about buying batteries! Also, I've had issues in the past with feedback and network interference while using wireless headsets in conjunction with wi-fi internet. For the price, you can't beat this AWESOME headset!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Outstanding!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
NyteRider
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just bought these headphones to replace my slightly worn Turtle Beach P21's, which I loved btw. I decided on the DPX21's after trying Sony's wireless set(not a fan) and Turtle Beach P11's, which GS had in store, but are more entry level headphones. The DPX21's are the definition of intense gaming. I strapped these on last night for the first time playing Battlefield 3, and found myself ducking multiple times because of helicopters buzzing by me and the sound of bullets whizzing by. As far as wired headsets go, look no further. This will be the last set you ever want to buy!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Great sound, awful design.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
ThatRandomGuy
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
-----I'm 15 and got this as a Christmas present. I started playing some games and my, this headset is amazing! The sound is great and if you play games where you need to hear enemies behind you or where an enemy is hiding its great! You can turn the bass up which in my opinion is just awesome because i love bass. Overall the sound is a little hard to get just perfect but when you do get it perfect you'll never want to take the headset off. The sound I'm giving a 9.6/10.
-----Now on to the bad part, yes there is a bad part which would be the design. The plastic around the padding of the ear is a little thicker than one of a red cup. Another aggravating thing is the actual ear holder; the padding is VERY annoying because it is really small. I have medium size ears and I'm not kidding they are very hard to wear and be comfortable at the same time. The adjustment for sound is good but it can be easily increased or decreased accidentally by rubbing upon your clothing or blanket or something like that. It is very annoying having to readjust the volume and bass settings because the accidental touches of clothing every so often.
-----All in all it is nice but not worth the price they give you. I would say this headset is should be $40 to $50 less for design but it isn't awful. If the makers added a little more comfort in this would be a snatch but there is always something wrong. If you want quality sound, get this headset, if you want quality comfort, get turtle beaches.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MonsterEnergy
Woodbury, MN
 
Please wait while more information about MonsterEnergy is loaded.
Additional information about MonsterEnergy could not be loaded.
Posted 1/4/12
you said: "if you want great quality sound get these. if you want comfort get turtle beaches." these are turtle beaches...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Cheap made plastic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/11
Boar
Location: Arkansas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Way too easy to break, so are Trittons. Currently looking for something a little more sturdy.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
johannn
Location: new york,ny
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
horrible they dont even work waste of money. do not buy......
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 82 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thedemon59
dearborn hieghts
 
Please wait while more information about thedemon59 is loaded.
Additional information about thedemon59 could not be loaded.
people dont cry over a headset
Posted 4/25/12
ok this guy says it didnt work ya here the reason it didnt set it up right bro then check it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
sam55671
Location: lyndhurst nj
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it was so cool when i started paying a game the sound was awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
good but could be better for the price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
cyanidematt
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
They are nice with decent sound quality. A lot better than I am accustomed to. I have treated them with the utmost care because of what I have read about in other reviews. The right speaker is messing up already and the little controller is bothersome. I either I get wrinkles on my shirts from the clip or it falls and violently jerks on where it connects
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
GOOD, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
Moine
Location: Acworth, GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the headset was amazing. i heard things i've never heard before and I was incapable of sneaking up on in shooters..however.. the second the 30-day return period was over; a wire went faulty and the right earphone stopped working.. it's a great product.. but i feel i wasted 150$. i picked up the PX3 and hooked it up to my DSS and i'm more than satisfied with that. ^__^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Love the headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
Paiden28
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I can hear other players on the the game that are behind me, to the side and, all around. I end up killing more people than I ever did without it.
This is the only headset that does the 7.1 surround so far that I see. There are wireless ones, but they only do the 5.1 surround sound max, as far as I can see as well.
The only thing that I don't like about it is that there are cables that get in my way some times, but the cable is long enough to stay on the ground. lol.
Other than that, I can also wear the head set for hours on end and they never end up being discomfortable. I also wore them while watcing anime on the PC and the I could hear characters to my right or left before they ended up on the screen which was very cool.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Good Sound quality, Bad Build.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/11
HAppyGamertagmandudewomen
Location: SD,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I really enjoyed the performance of this headset. The sound was great and the clarity of the chat was amazing. There are a few flaws with this headset though. Though the simplicity of the idea of changing game and chat volume with knobs, they were too easy to turn and i found myself having to re-adjust them everytime i played, due to them hitting something and turning themselves. Another flaw was that the headset is not very sturdy. One of my speaker's plastic snapped where it connected to the overhead strap, causing it to stick out and not fit snugly on my head ( Which it did before).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
russdude
 
Please wait while more information about russdude is loaded.
Additional information about russdude could not be loaded.
nice head set
Posted 4/20/12
I really love this headset,the sound is amazing. I do agree with the comments about wanting it to be more comfortable though. I own 3 other headsets including the cordless 99$ sony and the 49$ sony blue tooth ear piece and this is the best by far they should drop the price 30$ or so. I dont understand the chronic complaints about them being cheaply made,yes they are plastic like all headphones and if you sit on them they'll break. I have had mine going on three years now I use them a couple of hours nearly every day,I've dropped them afew times since (short drops 2or 3 ft.) and they still work great. Use these headhones like any normal ones and they'll last just fine,even a 200$ set of bose headphones will fall apart if abused plastic breaks people enough said!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
Awesome. Period.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
IxIWeaponXIxI
Location: Erie, Pa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets are dope. Not your standard entry level heatset so the price is high but every penny well spent. The sound out of these are excellent so long as your not wanting to blast the bass and the volume (sound gets a little distorted). Comfortable for long game sessions that dont last over 6+ hrs. Wires can be a hassle if not kept in check, i used the bread ties that came with the headset. Overall review- 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
best headset ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/11
icp112233
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the sound is unbeelevable and they're just amazing must've takin years to make because i cant describe all i can say is just buy them
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
WOW Its just a FANTASTIC Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/11
Awwstindo
Location: Seattle,WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I brought these home the other day and loved it! I didn't have high expectations for them at first but, it really changed when I placed them over my head and listened to the sounds. It was not only VERY comfy but had AMAZING sound quality , I freaked out playing FEAR cause it sounded as if I was there xD... *ahem* but yeah, its fantastic. It works just as well as my Dr. Dre beats, and thats pretty impressive! CLEAR, clear clear sound quality.Glad i got this over the trittons.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ear Force DPX21 5.1/7.1 Surround Sound Wired Headset with Chat
AMAZING,AMAZING,AMAAZIIINNGGG!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
lllllllllllllllllllllllll
Location: Woodland,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just got it today and i cannot believe how great it is.My friends on ps3 are already saying how am i getting all of their kills lol!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Call of Duty: Black Ops Escalation Map Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.1 out of 10(129)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>