GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alice: Madness Returns

Eleven years ago a horrific fire took Alice's family from her and left her mind horrifically scarred. Afterwards she was confined to Rutledge Asylum, where she struggled to confront her demons by slipping further into her fantasy world of Wonderland. Now, after ten years, she has finally secured her release - yet she still bears the heavy psychological burden of that tragic event.With her mind in tatters, she is unable to resolve the fear prompted by her strange memories, dreams, and visions. Perhaps she'll do better in Wonderland. She always has. She travels there, seeking what the "real" world can't provide: security, knowledge, and the truth about the past. But in her absence, Wonderland too has suffered. Something has gone horribly wrong, and now a great evil is descending upon what once was her beautiful refuge. Can Alice save Wonderland - and herself - from the madness that consumes them both?
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alice: Madness Returns
Review 1 for Alice: Madness Returns
the rebirth is upon us. FINALLY!
Posted on:2/26/11
madmanmax
Location: Las Vegas
its about time someone reachs into the archives and recreates a master piece of such a long forgotten game. American Mcgees alice, though rather old, deserves to reintroduced to the gaming world.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nocturne
 
Please wait while more information about Nocturne is loaded.
Additional information about Nocturne could not be loaded.
Offical Release Date June 14th
Posted 3/3/11
It's still under June 1st for GS, so I wanted to notify others.
I've been a fan of Alice since the game came out in 2000 and I'm proud to be following its sequel.
What I don't understand is why GameStop is showing a false claymation trailer that was never created by EA. It was fan made, the other two trailers, however, are official.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Alice: Madness Returns
FINALLY!
Posted on:4/15/11
JadenXI
Location: Oregon
After 11 years of waiting, a sequel to the most amazing game I've ever played visually/environmentally is almost here. Now where is the Ultimate Platinum Super Collectors Madness $200 edition with tons of extras!? I must have it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlizzFreak77
 
Please wait while more information about BlizzFreak77 is loaded.
Additional information about BlizzFreak77 could not be loaded.
BUGGED GAME!!!
Posted 10/26/11
Don't waste your money on this! EA did a awful job and this game has so many bugs! They won't even fix them. I've been on their support pages for who knows how long and they're not even a step closer to even TRYING to fix the numerous amount of glitches/bugs. If you're lucky, you'll get a good copy, but look on forums and stuff, you'll see many other people are having bug problems that EA won't fix.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Alice: Madness Returns
Awesome but, we lucked out
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
Atata
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To start this off, don't get me wrong I love everything that this game gives, the story, the plot, writing, graphics, physics, art, all awesome. I believe it deserves better reviews for it's potential but unfortunately I haven't played in far enough to give the best review.
I normally don't write reviews but, this game only started to bother me as soon as I bought it from here. You can buy the complete collection from ea store or the normal version for 360 or PS3, and get the dlc of the dresses, weapon, and original game, but the physical PC version is the only one that doesn't get dlc for the game. It seems very obvious to get the other versions or buy online but it seems too unfair when these things aren't noted, or included.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alice: Madness Returns
Gorgeously Grim!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
Ilikemycoffeeblack
Location: IL
I 'd like to say; this is one of the best games I've played in a long time. For those not familiar with this title; this is the second part (hence "Madness Returns.)
This approach to Alice's original story is twisted and dark, where Alice has been institutionalized in an asylum due to her parents death, receiving psychotherapy to help her cope with her deranged mind.
Now as Alice being in an altered state., Wonderland collapses into insanity as well...
- into the Game:
- Fighting system is very similar to God of war maybe old Devil may cry-ish which is awesome!
- Weapons are so fun yet very deadly, also there are variations of them, like the Vorpal cleaver, let the butchery begin!
- Music is just beautiful in a very obscure way
- Graphics., superb! the environments will immerse you into the now shattered world of Alice.
I must say this game is so much fun and done very cleverly, from puzzles to secret passages to even some mini games, this and much more make Alice: Madness Returns one to play and recommend.
(p.s it even made me register to a game site and write this review)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Alice: Madness Returns
Outstanding Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
Cass164
Location: Greenville, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game blew my expectations Is totally amazing, grim, dark, scary.... The gameplay is a lot of fun very fun in fact and the graphics are very good.... You just have to try it there is no game like this one.... let me put it this way, did you enjoy the old school sega genesis? just imagine oldshool games like that with all modern technology and 3D animation and capability of modern technology, well the outcome will be this game, you will spend Hours glued playing it as i did since it is not as any game out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alice: Madness Returns
Not for the faint of heart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/11
forwardess
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had originally considered buying this game because I love the idea of exploring Wonderland, however I noticed this game had a but of a dark twist to it ("a bit of" is the biggest understatement of the century). I bought the game on PC since I just bought a really awesome gaming laptop and I wanted to push it to it's limits. This game exceeded my expectations. I thought it was gonna be a wussy oh-Alice-returns-to-Wonderland-and-cutesy-little-monsters-try-to-attack-you -- NO. It's more like bad slasher Alice returns to her once very peaceful Wonderland and it's literally a paradise turned into a nightmare. Madness Returns is actually a sequel (which, I had assumed, but never seen or even heard of the original - never fear - if you buy the sequel for the PC, the first game comes with it so you can experience it's previous gameplay). Anywho, everything is not as you saw in Disney's Alice in Wonderland, no no. This is like creepy gothic Alice in Wonderland gone horribly wrong. Alice's house, in the previous game, burned to the ground along with everyone in it except her. This in and of itself threw her into a mental fit and caused her to go a little nutty. She was taken away to an orphan insane asylum and she eventually made an effort to suppress her memories from that night. Now she's being forced to dig up old memories and come to terms with what happened. If she tries to retreat to her once peaceful Wonderland to escape the horror of her past, she is sorely mistaken and thrown into a hellish twist of her Wonderland where freaky little demonic spawn are trying to kill her at every turn. So she's gotta put her big girl panties on, grab her knife and slash away in the most gruesome, bloody, gory manner possible as she pieces her mind back together - picking up memories (and red roses and teeth) along the way. If you're looking for a Kingdom Hearts rendition of entering a familiar story's world, you will be disappointed. However, if you're looking for a thrill, intense battle system, and beautiful graphics, get it. GET IT. I'm the kind of person who wets my pants at anything that jumps out and says "boo" so I've gotta pause the game after every battle to regain my composure, but you bet the genius of the entire makeup of this game causes me to unpause and treck on.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alice: Madness Returns
I played the first Alice...
Posted on:4/26/11
AsthGuarNehjjheN
Location: PA
I played the first Alice from start to finish. I didn't particularly like the morbid blood and guts of the game but it is definitely a psychological thriller. It messes with your mind and forces you to think outside the box. It had really good graphics for its time and the visual effects were awesome. The game plays a lot like Tomb Raider with puzzles to solve and it was very interesting to say the least. I wouldn't however recommend you play this with the lights off...
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alice: Madness Returns
Fabulous !!!
Posted on:5/28/11
kissable7
Location: Cartersville, VA
Loved the first one thankfully now there is gonna be a new one out. waiting for my copy on that day, i think it'll be crazy i need something to get alil scare. lol. :D
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alice: Madness Returns
YES!
Posted on:5/2/11
dspcgamer
Location: New York, NY
I loved the first game. I can't wait for this one.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alice: Madness Returns
Brilliant!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/11
FGFC820
Location: Chicago
This game rules! Long live the Vorpal blade in the hands of Alice!
I love the cleverness that was put into this game, everything about it., from the storyline to character dialogue and world environments.
This game is so fun to play!. it's a must for anyone who ever thought of turning a kids tale into obscure and twisted version of it. reminds me of Burton's work... somehow...
Brilliant.
Where are the rest of raving reviews about this game? (i guess everyone is just playing it instead of writing reviews).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alice: Madness Returns
This review is about the controls.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
NanaSuki
This game is beautiful in terms of graphics, but the controls for the pc are awful. PURE and simple. I'm sad that a game company would allow something like this to come out. The controls are abominable. The part where I have reached I can't even finish because it does not recognize a button press. And that's with controls on default! Do not buy this on PC. I regret doing it myself.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 1/1/12
You are aware that you can change the controls to suit your preference right?
Customer Avatar
forwardess
ATL, GA
 
Please wait while more information about forwardess is loaded.
Additional information about forwardess could not be loaded.
Agreed
Posted 7/17/11
I totally forgot to mention this in the review I just typed up. I've got it for the PC and I die so often it's not even funny. Simply because the control is just straight up awkward. I've already got button smashing syndrome and that, mixed in with a keyboard just doesn't work. I'm considering getting an analog gaming controller for my laptop cause I really love this game but me pecking around on the keyboard isn't getting the job done. Not at all.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Alice: Madness Returns
this alice in wonderland, but with blood
Posted on:4/8/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa
i can`t believe about this game,this is something to alice and wonderland and now electronic arts give alice and wonderland some blood to this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 12 found this review helpful.