GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alice: Madness Returns

Eleven years ago a horrific fire took Alice's family from her and left her mind horrifically scarred. Afterwards she was confined to Rutledge Asylum, where she struggled to confront her demons by slipping further into her fantasy world of Wonderland. Now, after ten years, she has finally secured her release - yet she still bears the heavy psychological burden of that tragic event.With her mind in tatters, she is unable to resolve the fear prompted by her strange memories, dreams, and visions. Perhaps she'll do better in Wonderland. She always has. She travels there, seeking what the "real" world can't provide: security, knowledge, and the truth about the past. But in her absence, Wonderland too has suffered. Something has gone horribly wrong, and now a great evil is descending upon what once was her beautiful refuge. Can Alice save Wonderland - and herself - from the madness that consumes them both?
Average Customer Rating:
9.159
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
11
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 4495%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alice: Madness Returns
Review 1 for Alice: Madness Returns
W.O.W
Posted on:2/5/11
Derrfest
Location: my house
well lets see the game preview in my mag looks vary awsome now im not much of an alice in wonderland fan but this looks extremely worth it i cannot wait to see what this dark and ocwerd game has to offer
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Teaser Trailer
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
djswagger23
n/a
 
Please wait while more information about djswagger23 is loaded.
Additional information about djswagger23 could not be loaded.
no a fens to the game plarers out ther
Posted 4/22/11
THIS IS A TERREIBEL SCARRY GAME frist of all my littil brother at the age 0f 8 said this game SUKSE it is not scarry at all it is reale stupid to terrm a disnye game to a scarry game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Alice: Madness Returns
Forget what you read (in the magazine at least)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
ElectricNerd
Location: Parma Heights, OH
So, I was a little worried to get this game after Game Informer gave it a 6.5 or what have you but man, I'm glad I went with my gut and got it anyways. I'm not entirely certain what Game Informer based their score off of but it's nothing that involves my enjoyment, I tell you that much. The game is gorgeous. Fantastic, imaginative visuals. Fun combat. And, in all honesty, it plays a LOT like Ratchet and Clank with it's mixture of beat 'em up combat, engaging boss fights and the occasional mini-game. The story is also fantastic as well. It's honesty one of the most unique games I've played in a while and I enjoy seeing what comes next. Though, I have to throw this in there for parents. Do not get this for your little kids mistaking this for some Disney fair. The language is pretty rough in some scenes and there is gore the likes God of War wishes it has. So...yeah, put the kiddies to sleep. But, beyond that, top notch game. High recommendation.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alice: Madness Returns
screenshots
Posted on:3/29/11
christine
Location: las vegas, NV
The screenshots look amazing! They changed the cardguards, they have skull faces now! I really hope they make the first game available for download on the PS3 or resell it. For years I wanted to play that first one on the PS3!! Alice Madness Returns is a dream come true can't wait to play it!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thom
CT
 
Please wait while more information about Thom is loaded.
Additional information about Thom could not be loaded.
Alice
Posted 4/20/11
They announce that there will be a free download of the first game with purchase of AMR.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Alice: Madness Returns
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/13
Oblivionplante
Location: Emmaus, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the best games i ever played. If your looking for a game that is long and has different enimes, then this game is good for you.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alice: Madness Returns
Slaughtered by POM
Posted on:6/4/11
Steveoidaho
Location: Meridian Idaho
It was rough to read seeing as I was really looking forward to this game, but PlayStation Magazine gave this game a 5 out of 10. I know that opinion plays a big part in reviews, but that seems like a pretty low score even if you don't enjoy the artistic ideas behind the game. Expect a relativly short run time with repetitive combat. Folks this is looking like The Force Unleashed II Wonderland Style. :(
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Looks Cool... but I hear not so much
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
christine
las vegas, NV
 
Please wait while more information about christine is loaded.
Additional information about christine could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Playstation mag is so wrong
Posted 6/16/11
This game is amazing, everyone who has played it loves it, I don't know who the get to do these reviews but they are out of their mind.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Alice: Madness Returns
Original Alice
Posted on:6/11/11
Goodkat
Electronic Arts confirmed reports that new copies of Alice: Madness Returns on Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 will contain a one-time-use download code for a copy of the original American McGee's Alice so
it will be a nice game to own for those who are interested. If you
aren't then .... u and remember to have a nice day.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alice: Madness Returns
Insanely Creative
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
HippyChick24
Location: Ocala, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely amazing! Great graphics,sound and beautiful levels. I love the weapons and the levels are horrific. Scary yet satisfying. I would not reccomend this game to beginners and younger children. Everything is perfect about this game. My only problem is that her dresses don't come in my size!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alice: Madness Returns
Hurry Up >_<
Posted on:2/9/11
CherryBlossom
Location: Round Rock, TX
the first American McGee's Alice game came out when i was very young and i can remember watching my mom play it. when i got a little older i started playing it. i still play it to this day, and for the time at which it was released, the graphics are still pretty descent for today's standards, which says a lot...
when i heard news of the second installment, i was ecstatic. when i told my parents, they were too. now we're like "come on. hurry up and release it". the excitement is killing us. though i suppose i could wait for the release date (which unfortunately keeps getting pushed back), so that the final product is pristine. when i heard which platforms it was to be released on, i was very happy. I'm glad that they will be releasing it on PC to stay true to the original fans, but I'm very pleased that it will be released on ps3 (this game is one of the reasons i decided to buy a ps3).
one thing that i love about this series, is the dark and twisted spin on a classic Disney movie.
anyways, my one question is, will there be a special edition or a collector's edition version released...i would totally buy it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheWhiteRabbit
 
Please wait while more information about TheWhiteRabbit is loaded.
Additional information about TheWhiteRabbit could not be loaded.
Can't wait
Posted 5/31/11
I can't wait for this long over due sequel.... I hope it's as good as the original! No BETTER!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Alice: Madness Returns
so insanely excited!!!
Posted on:2/23/11
christine
Location: las vegas, NV
I'm gonna lose my mind waiting for this game to come out
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alice: Madness Returns
Best Part
Posted on:5/29/11
TanukiMidknight
Location: Corpus Christi
Not only you get the soundtrack but you also get the code to DL the first game for fee. thats right you can play the first game on the consol :D
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alice: Madness Returns
Nice sequel, nice game, good to pick up and play.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
Psychonaut
Location: High Desert, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I hadn't played the original Alice until I heard about this title. I got the original, played through the first few levels and absolutely loved it, the only problem was my computer couldn't handle the game (yeah, pretty sad). So I figured I'd pre-order Madness Returns to get the bonus original game along with the sequel. I started the second and wow.. It's amazing how far the series has come, not just that though-- everything about the game is good to just pick up and play, even if you haven't played the first at all. Gameplay is fun, there's always a new enemy and a weapon that works for each enemy (so it's not repetitive, as I read on IGN). The characters and environment are so stange and wonderful that I didn't even think about the graphics during the initial gameplay, but my brother (who's the whole "graphics make the game" sort of kid) said they "could be better", but it doesn't matter to me. The game autosaves at each checkpoint, so you can just quit when you get tired and pick it right back up from where you stopped later on. I've come across one fatal glitch, but since the game saves at checkpoints, I can just restart from the pause menu. But overall, this game is just awesome. I love it. If you're looking for a good game in the mess of all these First Person Shooter's, I highly suggest Alice: Madness Returns.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alice: Madness Returns
one of the better games this year
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
invision2212
Location: boston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
what makes alice unique is its very dark and colorful worlds that you explore in your journey in wonderland, one thing that stands out is how well and fluid the game plays, switching between weapons is flawless and easy to do in mid combat and nothing feels too hard or over done at any point in the game.
theres lots of hidden areas and plenty of puzzles along the way to break up the game play so your not doing the same thing for too long, the game also has very long chapters and some of them if fully explored can take almost three hours to complete, everything is rendered beautifully from alice to the things far into the background.
this game is mainly a platformer so there are lots of jumping to and from areas and enemies mixed into it so this may turn some people off if your looking for a game with nonstop fighting because you wont find it here, you will die more missing a jump than die in combat.
there are some small glitches which arent game breaking, sometimes a texture wont load right away and look funny for a few seconds but the game catches up with itself and the issues quickly goes away, ive encountered no other problems in the 20hrs i put into the game.
if your looking for a twisted non gory type of game this is it and you wont find better than this game, there is minimal blood but this game doesnt need hacked off arms to stand out the worlds alone make you go "WOW" and the acting is flawless, this is a great game indeed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alice: Madness Returns
Absolutely Wonderful!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
kij445
Location: Killeen, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was the first video game I purchased when I got my PS3. I just love the storyline, it has almost a brain-teaser quality to it. The graphics were admittedly not the strongest point, but it was still a beautifully horrifying depiction of wonderland. The psychological implications of the characters and the landscape are very interesting, this game really makes you think about Alice's shifting psychological state throughout the story. Overall, this game is perfect for anyone who wants to play a game that not only makes you think about how to complete the game, but also how to understand it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Alice: Madness Returns
Awesome
Posted on:4/19/11
Matador
Location: Florida
It was announced that you will get a code to download the original Alice with the purchase of Alice: Madness Returns!!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
denger28
illinois
 
Please wait while more information about denger28 is loaded.
Additional information about denger28 could not be loaded.
this game might rock
Posted 4/23/11
i played american mcgees alice on pc years ago it was awesome it was like alice in wonderland on acid
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Alice: Madness Returns
AWESOME!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
DannoC
Location: Port Washington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just finished my first play through and I was very very pleased. I had never played the first and I am very much looking forward to playing through that as well (such a great bonus to have that included with the game!!!!) The game play was quite good, character movement was smooth and comfortable to use and I also enjoyed the combat system. What I am most impressed with really was the beautiful art direction and character designs...such a joy to watch while you play. The story was also very interesting and I loved the ending (personally).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Resistance: Retribution DLC
9 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alice: Madness Returns
IT IS THE BEST ALICE GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
beat
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I HAVE PLAYED THE FIRST ALICE IT WAS FUN.I PLAYED THE NEW ALICE MADNESS RETURES I BEAT IT LESS THAN A WEEK LIKE 4 DAY I BEAT THE GAME.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alice: Madness Returns
OOO, CREEPY
Posted on:2/23/11
BigHead321
Location: Nashville,Tennessee
This game looks super good, but creepy at the same time. I will totally check this OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alice: Madness Returns
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
FoolyCooly
The platforming is great. It has a basic combat system, but it works really well. I also really enjoy exploring Wonderland and seeing the very memorable characters. All in all, a great game with only small flaws.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alice: Madness Returns
Experience Wonderland from the mind of a Maniac
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
Dinoboy
Location: Covington,LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off I'd like to say I've never played the first one and never heard of the game till now and have been following it since release. Im on my first play through on nightmare and its challenging.The Dark eerie Visually of the game are great except some areas the graphics don't load, which isn't a big problem. The character design for Alice is great especially her hair. The Art Direction is amazing and really appealing. As of now the story is interesting but the transition to wonderland was random and in my opinion could of been done differently. As of the gameplay, platforms isn't a problem jumping and moving the character is fluent and easy. Looking for Secert spot isn't too challenging. The combat gameplay is soild. With the focus feature makes it similar to zelda in a way. Different enemies take different strategies with keeps the combat changing especially on nightmare. The set of weapons are fun and unique to wonderland world. You get the vorpal blade(light melee), a pepper gun, explosive rabbits, hobby horse(heavy),teapot cannon and your defensive weapon an umbrella. They can be upgraded three times for bonuses that will help you along the game. Teeth are required to upgrade weapons. Also throught wonderland you can collect other collectible like memory pieces that will unlock small conversation from Alice's memory or bottles that unlock artwork to view in the main menu. You also collect pots of rose paint and if u collect four you gain a rose to your health meter. Then there's the dlc that is different dresses and weapons that are interesting. Topped with a download to the original "American Mcgee's: Alice". There are a coupled bugs I've noticed so far, one if u fall of the board u turn to butterflies and respond but if an enemy hits you during the the time you disperse in butterflies it will actually damage your non-existing character. Since I'm on Nightmare diff. Its a HUGE. Second some doors way have invisible walls on the side of them, it doesn't prevent you from entering them but it gets annoying at times. I would recommend this to friends because it is indeed a good game and should be given a chance to anyone that is interested. Overall a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alice: Madness Returns
Alice:Madness Returns
Posted on:5/18/11
lalaland
Location: WA
As long as American Mcgee still has a hand in it, it will be true to the original...I'm kinda stoked for this one....it's WAY overdue!! : )
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>