GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Alice: Madness Returns

Eleven years ago a horrific fire took Alice's family from her and left her mind horrifically scarred. Afterwards she was confined to Rutledge Asylum, where she struggled to confront her demons by slipping further into her fantasy world of Wonderland. Now, after ten years, she has finally secured her release - yet she still bears the heavy psychological burden of that tragic event. With her mind in tatters, she is unable to resolve the fear prompted by her strange memories, dreams, and visions. Perhaps she'll do better in Wonderland. She always has. She travels there, seeking what the "real" world can't provide: security, knowledge, and the truth about the past. But in her absence, Wonderland too has suffered. Something has gone horribly wrong, and now a great evil is descending upon what once was her beautiful refuge. Can Alice save Wonderland - and herself - from the madness that consumes them both?
Average Customer Rating:
9.038
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
11
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
49 out of 5294%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alice: Madness Returns
Review 1 for Alice: Madness Returns
Fun with Goth!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
LockDown80
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't have to say much, The gameplay is solid but the true appeal of the game is it's art style and off-beat characters any fan of Goth or Emo motifs should pick this up immediately. Be warned though, it's a challenging game so all casuals should stay away.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Alice: Madness Returns
A must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/13
xGravexDancerx
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this game after seeing just one trailer because i thought it looked amazing. i was most definitely not disappointed, after playing this game through to the finish it may have been my favorite hack and slash games to date
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Alice: Madness Returns
A shaby game with nothing memorable about.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
The reason I gave it this score is because the appeal of playing quickly wears off shortly after playing it. The characters are bland, the camera is awful (most of the time you will find yourself falling into the emptiness), the weapon upgrades are basically the same weapons but with different colors, you have to fight unnecessary repetitive battles most times, the method of defeating the bosses are always almost the same (spam evasion) and halfway through theres nothing else more to discover (no more weapons, nothing). Occasionally a mini-game breaks the routine, but for the most part these are bland and have absolutely nothing to be worthy of praise. For example, on one occasion you are transported into a side scroll version of the game its all the same except its even worse. THERES NO WEAPONS, just you jumping and moving to the right side of the screen. I do not recommend it, there are better adventure, action games out there.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alice: Madness Returns
What Happened to Gaming Society?!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
andrewmemoirs
Location: Lake Forest, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is AMAZING. I couldn't be happier with how it turned out to be. I spent forever and a day searching for it.(I preordered it and they sold my copy!) But once I got my hands on this game I knew I would never sell it back to gamestop (sorry its just too much fun). I was a little nervouse when I saw a couple ratings like a 2 and a 1, but then I read the reviews and seeing that they are based on typical political correctness I knew this game was going to be great. Yes its gorey, and yes its bloody. Thats why there is an M rating on it. And as far as being for kids...that could not be more wrong. Again it got an M, meaning 17+ which is what I would have expected this to be anyways. The original Alice book is strongly seen in the art and graphics of the game. The world literally bleeds madness. But again to say this game is not meant in anyway for kids and for that reason not receive a bad rating. The game makers took a chance and made something great. Good job guys!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alice: Madness Returns
Pretty awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/12
xCreatureX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fantastic.The gameplay is a bit repetitive but other than that the story is great and the music is perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Alice: Madness Returns
Alice Returns to The Dark Wonderland
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
QuillDogg
Location: Clinton Ky,
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awesome game, The music in the game is phenomanal. The game is pretty creepy also who knew that Alice in Wonderland could be so creepy and vile. All in All i would recommend this for everybody except for little kids. :P
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Alice: Madness Returns
Beautifully Electrifying
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
LimeAndPinkCrayonz
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very beautiful, and has excellent graphics. I personally love this game a lot, and had been watching walkthrough videos before receiving the game.
Good Points-
Graphics - The graphics are amazing, I just can't believe how real Alice's hair looks. Definitely has improved since the last game!
Sounds - The music selection is amazing, I have the Castle In The Sky song as my ring tone. I definitely enjoy stopping for a moment to listen to the music in each level.
Off Points -
Camera - I get so confused when fighting, I'm running around this way and that way and the camera goes the other way.
Repetitive Levels - I do enjoy the nature of the game, but sometimes I get a little bored when playing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Alice: Madness Returns
OKAY GAME
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
joker999
Location: seattle, wa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the gameplay sucks but if you are looking for a game with good story this is the right game for you.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alice: Madness Returns
Great Game.........But
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
bunny5f6
Location: lancaster, ca
Okay, I thought very cool fun game, yes I enjoyed playing this, but if I were to tell a friend I would also have to say, "Don't play it if creepy, nasty, vile, pedophiles freak you out!!!" the ending freaked me out a bit, when you get there you realize "UGH, that doctor has been molesting these kids!" and personally It bothered me to say that I played through! Yes, I loved killing the guy, but still...gaming is for enjoyment, and the real world problems like child molestation has no part in it!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hitman3000
 
Please wait while more information about Hitman3000 is loaded.
Additional information about Hitman3000 could not be loaded.
Thanks for the review but
Posted 5/9/12
you completely just ruined the ending for me and everyone else who read it. And I think that kind of dark stuff being put into games (child molestation for example) is a great way to set the mood for a game and the characters in the game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Alice: Madness Returns
twisted alice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/12
alicelover23356
Location: anywhere, blah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love Alice in wodnerland and twisted stuff and this game is just that!!!! its pretty fun and long :) most definatly would reccomend it.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alice: Madness Returns
Love It!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
BMan17
Location: Edinboro, PA.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is incredible. I love everything about it. It has a little mix of every genre of gameplay. It has platforming, a bit rpg, hack-n-slash, and even has puzzles. I would strongly recommend this game for anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alice: Madness Returns
Amazing graphics & good game play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
GABlue
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very good game. I am not a very experienced gamer, but have found this is easy to catch on to. I wasn't really sure about it before I purchased it, but I read lots of reviews on it first, and I am glad that I got it from Gamestop. I thought it might be lame, childish, or just too easy, but it is not - it actually has quite a bit of difficulty in the fight scenes and takes a bit of strategic thinking to figure some things out. Some puzzles and some enemy combat evens things out in the game. The graphics are wonderful. I would recommend to any level of gamer. I really enjoyed playing this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alice: Madness Returns
Alice Madness.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
FancySinBlood
Location: Tampa,Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very amazing! what i don't like is the final boss how he threat's Alice and uses her ..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alice: Madness Returns
Absolutely beautiful
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
Z0mbie
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am in love with the whole gore background, so Alice is perfect. I am also not a fan of first shooters so this game is perfect for me. I have played the first Alice when I was about 5 and had loved it. It never scared me one bit. I was so fascinated by the story line. Alice: The Madness Returns brings it to the next level. It is not as dark as people think it is. Actually, it is very beautiful. The story is quite sad, but also exciting. I spent 2 days, non-stop, playing this game. The story kept me on the edge and I was so curious to discover what was next to come. I beat the game twice and Nightmare mode was stunning. I am so curious on what other games I can find like Alice. Like I said, I'm not a first shooter fan and I love the blood&gore. Anywho, over all this game is wonderful. I would highly suggest it to anyone who loves horror and beauty.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alice: Madness Returns
EPIC!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/11
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
very interesting game and lots of fun to play, some complain that it is not a kid friendly game the first obvious thing is that the game is rated m mature read the rating before you pass judgement, myself i am hoping for a sequel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alice: Madness Returns
Great Parody
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/11
AngelOfFear209
Location: Tecca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Alice is not the Alice we all know, it is twisted rendition. Its challenging and a great strategy game! If you are looking for a good long play through try it out you wont be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alice: Madness Returns
A New Twist on an Old Classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
PeLiCaNrPgCOL
Location: O'Fallon, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Adventure and surprises around every corner. This game is sure to please one and all. I purchased this after my "Favorite Game Stop Girl" recommended it to me. The storyline is interesting and the game play is fluid. Be assured this is nothing like the light hearted "D" story. It is very dark. I haven't finished this one yet but look forward to see what happens at the end.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alice: Madness Returns
Good game for anyone
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
Alexmon85x
Location: Torrance, CA
I love this game because of it's awesome story. The graphics in this game weren't that good but I didn't expect that from this game. What makes it shine is the story, nice features, and great sounds. The story was amazingly told and well put together with an awesome ending that you could kinda tell was coming. The cool enemies were fun to battle especially with the installment of a variety of new ones at the middle and end. One thing I didn't like though was near the end I had a whole bunch of teeth left that you find that were used to upgrade weapons. I think they should have made another level for each weapon cause I had a lot of teeth left with no use. I think the memories that you found in hidden places served purpose for the story and to get to know Alice more and the characters, but I think they could have made them for something else to. I also wished that they had something to do at the end. After you beat the game their is nothing to do except buy a downloadable pack which I didn't cause I rented it or just replay the story ( Which is AWESOME! ) What makes this game shine is it's story and it's fun gameplay and sounds. For anyone who wants to play something different, this is definitely worth a rent or a buy when it's a little bit cheaper. Also if you are a fan of the first game, American Mcghee's Alice, then you should definitely buy this.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alice: Madness Returns
Awesome Game! So Glad I Bought It!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
Shinimegami13
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even though this takes you back to Wonderland, it's NOTHING like the Wonderland you left behind. Everything and everyone is dying and in trouble. You are the only one who can help them and yourself. The gameplay is very fun. The fights are against the creatures of Wonderland, but not as you remember them. The fighting style is similar to a Devil May Cry / Nier type. The "kill them or be killed" kind. The story itself is very catching because just when you think you know what is going on it does a quick 360 180 and you are totally lost again. I personally love this title and hope that anyone who tries it will become as hopelessly addicted to this game as I have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alice: Madness Returns
wonderful wonderland
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
Sonic889
Location: Bloomington, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was skeptical with this game, i mean an insane Alice in Wonderland killing corruption and other monsters. This game is awesome, it reminds sort of those old 2d plaform games like duke nukem where your hopping to different areas cutting down all in your way, the combat is pretty fluid you have a vareity of weapons at your disposal. A knife called the Vorpal blade, a pepper grinder like a machine gun, a teapot like a grenade launcher, and a horse head toy like a hammer. The plot is pretty good, your going through Alice's memories trying to find out how the fire at her home started and how her family really died. Though i will say this game is very very long, I've been playing for 10 hours so far and still haven't beaten it.
Though i highly reccomend this game for those who like a Tim Burton twist to a higly acclaimed classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>