GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS

The legend of the samurai comes to life like never before with immersive battles featuring 3D graphicsSamurai Warriors Chronicles takes the fan favorite series into uncharted territory with 3D graphics and new gameplay improvements that will bring this franchise to the next level.In the game, players will be able to change control between four different warriors on the fly, easily switching between characters by touching the Nintendo 3DS touch panel. Teamwork is a key focal point of the game, as the secret to success lies in positioning your team on the battlefield wisely. There are also friendship levels between the various characters that will ultimately guide where the story goes and how battles play out, so helping others has its rewards.Samurai Warriors Chronicles is set to help usher in the Nintendo 3DS by providing tactical action like you've never seen! Through deep combat, multiple branching storylines and a living 3D battlefield, the legend of the samurai lives on...
Average Customer Rating:
8.581
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
7
8 stars
7
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 3190%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Review 1 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Such a wonderful game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/12
TeaForTheSpirit
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game and everything about it from its 3D to its OST and design. If you have ever played a Samurai Warriors game and found it to be fun and exiting than with this game you should feel right at home.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
SUPERB
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
The BEST Launch Game For 3DS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/12
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yes, even better than Street Fighter. You get to be a boy or girl, who even have different attacks, and you go around Medieval Japan, hopping from army to army, with apparently no loyalty to any area, meeting real people from that era, such as Nobunaga Oda, and Takadatsu Honda. In the battles, you are given objectives, but the ultimate goal is defeat the enemy commander! You are controlling 4 people, where u decide where they go and can hop control of them when needed. All speaking is in Japanese with sub-titles, adding to the authenticness. After completing the story you can go through with any characters and get new items and horses and...just alot of stuff. There is a cool Streetpass/Spotpass feature that helps you get more items. I highly recommend this underrated game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
bluejoey
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was looking up reviews of this game from online sites, such as IGN(But I dont really like IGN for their reviews) and saw this game had only 7's and such. I asked my friend if it was good, he convinced me, I picked it up after christmas, starting playing, and man, I was hooked.
I loved reading the actual stories of what happened and then fit into the story with your mane character(Although, I know Japanese didn't have magical powers and such)
I loved the events with different characters, events that make you have a closer relationship with the warlords and such
The CGI cutscenes were amazing.
The game was still in Japanese voicing, but that just made it even more great.
Overall, for a game that came out around launch, I play this WAY MORE than my other favorite games from the past couple of months such as Mario Kart 7, and Super Mario 3D Land. I've never played any Samurai Warriors game, never played any Hack-and-slash games(I used to think they would get boring) But, OH MAN, this game is a great first for the 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Absolute GREAT FUN!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
Ulderan
Location: Columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is reeeaaally underrated. The content you can get from interacting with the commanders after battles, makes this game even more fun. The weapon customization is great, the things you unlock is very fun, and the outfits you get as you go on with the story are awesome.
Not to mention, the story line is great. The sound is not perfect, along with the sound, but this game is absolutely worth playing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Great game=loads of fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
kevin2314
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game although not widely publicized is A great game, lengthy, a huge quantity of achievements to complete. I would recommend this to any one with a 3DS looking for a great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Samurai are awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/11
TheDemonHuntingSamurai
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love Samurai Warriors, and I love hack and slash action. This game was one of the reasons why I got a 3DS. The game play is great, if you like the cutting down enemies sort of thing, and the graphics are between the PS2 Samurai Warriors and the Wii Samurai Warriors.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Addictive
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
PerrBear
Location: Bluff City,Tn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have this game and I have put 20 plus hours into it. I haven't played any other version of the game, but it is a great hack and slash game and I highly enjoy it and can't put it down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
DUMD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
ZAY1600
Location: Rochester,NY
this game is horriblt the gameplay is stupid an u hear the same old music over and over again i only played 4 2days an sent it back if ur lookin 4 a dynasty warriors game get it on a diff system
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
amzing game its cool and u git a lot of game play!
Posted 11/17/11
y dont u like it? its Action Packed with free DLC IS AWLSOME I LOVE IT.
Customer Avatar
DarkArticuno
logan UT
 
Please wait while more information about DarkArticuno is loaded.
Additional information about DarkArticuno could not be loaded.
Duh
Posted 9/20/11
of course you didn't like it if you want a dynasty warrior game buy one, but this is a samuraii warrior game completely different thing.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Nice game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
agulion89
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a really nice game lots of characters to choose from to play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leo613
Las Vegas, Nevada
 
Please wait while more information about Leo613 is loaded.
Additional information about Leo613 could not be loaded.
Through & Through
Posted 12/10/12
Samurai Warriors Chronicles proposes a very intricate gaming stimulation. The game has amazing graphics that creates distinct 3D images. It's gameplay is simply stunning, and the game will keep you entranced for a very long time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Great if you've never played other games like it
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/11
Pandajoker
Location: Idaho
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my first game for the 3DS and it isn't that bad.
Gameplay isn't bad at all and is similar to Dynasty Warriors. The gameplay bored me out a little since I'm used to play Dynasty Warriors on the PS3. They do have a new addition in which you can switch the officer you control during battle and also control it as an AI. If you never played Dynasty Warriors before, you would enjoy this game, however, if you were a huge fan of the Dynasty Warriors gameplay, then expect a little slower pace in this game.
Graphics is good and has nice CG movies that utilize the 3D. However, personally, I don't see much difference in the 3D during gameplay. The 3D doesn't enhance the game that much.
This game can be easily replayed since it uses a level up system and also you have to collect weapons, gold, and items. Gold can be used to buy things or upgrade weapons.
Overall it is a decent game for the 3DS. A little slow paced for me, but I believe casual gamers will be able to enjoy this relatively easy. If you want a fast paced beat em up game, this isn't for you. It uses more strategy than beat em up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Why do the samurais have guns? WHY?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Because this game is stupid. I bought this thinking 'Cool! It's some sword fighting game on the 3DS!' Well I was wrong. This game is not about samurais, or ninjas. I'ts about people who dress like samurais and ninjas, and use guns, and explosive weapons.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Manny675
 
Please wait while more information about Manny675 is loaded.
Additional information about Manny675 could not be loaded.
Get it right!
Posted 5/27/12
Why don't u go on the internet and SEE why they had guns! Geez, why cant people know things before they criticize! i mean, that was the period where guns were starting to come around!
Customer Avatar
b0n2006
Omaha, NE
 
Please wait while more information about b0n2006 is loaded.
Additional information about b0n2006 could not be loaded.
Do your research
Posted 9/3/11
If you are well informed about Japanese history, they have guns because this is the ERA in Japan where guns were being introduced. Though they were only single shot guns that needed to be reloaded after one shot. Multi shot guns come later during the Meiji Era. The guns were being brought over by some European country that were currently at war. The losing faction fled to Japan with those guns. I'm not dogg'n on just letting you know why there are guns. Although the guns are a little advance in this game there were guns.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
great game for a car trip
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/11
AllYourBases
this game is a great purchase, with plenty of gameplay,and an excellent story. However once the game is commpleted there is little replay value.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ageopwnage
 
Please wait while more information about ageopwnage is loaded.
Additional information about ageopwnage could not be loaded.
for anybody who doesn't know
Posted 9/10/11
sammurai always had gun, just they were so OP the emperor banned them. but since this is a game, where ppl are OP and a gun in the face won't kill you, its great!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Fun and Satisfying
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/11
MrGrimGamer
Location: Nintendoworld
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now before I do this review I want to tell you that I haven't EVER played a Dynasty Warriors or Samurai Warriors game. Anyway, now that that is cleared, I want to say that I was satisfied with this game. The game is based in the old Japanese era where huge army fights with swords and stuff happened. As predicted you and some other people want peace and you are pursuing your dream and all that good stuff. Now the gameplay for the game is, simply stated, you and your team's army trying to win a war. The game is somewhat "free roam" style. You can run around the slightly big battlefield and fight hordes of enemies, but that really won't get you anywhere. There are "missions" that pop up that you can complete to give you an advantage in the war. These missions include killing an officer, escorting a teamate, killing an amount of enemies, etc.There are timed missions, but not all the missions are timed. Now if you fail one of these missions or you run out of time before you get a mission done (also failing it) then it doesn't mean you have lost the war, you just will experience a set back (ex: enemies may be a bit stronger[iow the enemy's army morale goes up], or more enemies appear, etc.). Now there are certain Victory and defeat conditions, so some missions won't really affect the outcome of the battle much. Now running across the battlefield completing missions in a certain amount of time can be hard because of the size of the Battlefield, but not to worry, you have 3 other members on your team! These 3 other members can be controlled by you, but they will control themselves when you aren't controlling them. You are always in the battle, but the 3 teamates change depending what battle you are partaking in. Now most importantly the combat. The combat is mostly you slashing through mass hordes of weak enemies (for the most part). Sometimes you may come across an officer which is a bit harder, but still fairly easy. The Y button will do your main combo (if you keep on pressing it), the X button will do your strong attack, and the R button will do sort of another strong attack or enhancement. Now the combos aren't very hard to master, since they are mostly just Y-X-X-X, or Y-Y-Y-X-X-X, etc. You can also do a special attack (with the A button) by increasing your "Musou Gauge". To increase your Musou Gauge, you can either charge it up by holding A, get hit, or attack enemies. There is also a Spirit Gauge, but I won't get into that. The combos look cool and work great. It is also extremely satisfying when you are just slashing enemies like a god, or trampling over stupid enemies on your horse (yes you can get a horse). Now the music for this game is great. I never get bored of hearing the beautiful Japanese war music. There are subtitles but, it is a pity that all the voice acting is in Japanese. I mean the voice acting IS good, but I wouldn't understand what they were saying if it wasn't for the subtitles. I suppose the developers thought it would give it a more Japanese feel or they were just too lazy. Anyway, carrying on, the graphics for this game could have been much better. The battlefields look fine, but the character's body+faces aren't very detailed, but what can you expect when there are about a dozen people on the screen? Now for the real thing people bought a 3DS for, the 3D! The 3D adds a great depth to the gameplay and it makes the CGI Cutscenes look FANTASTIC. In fact, the cutscenes for this game really prove that the 3DS is capable of 3D movies/videos. Anyway a few things I would like to thank the devs for is the Vault. In the vault you can play music, cutscenes, and conversations that you have previously unlocked. It really is great getting to show your friends the AWESOME cutscenes, without having to do the battle again, and listening to the great music that they have to offer. This game also has a great replay value due to its massive amount of content. There are tons of battles you can do (spotpass will also automatically download any battle that the devs add [thanks devs!]), customization (whether it's pimping out your character, or upgrading a weapon), and you can replay the battles with characters you have previously unlocked. Now I have to admit some bad thing about this game. First off, some people can find the gameplay to become repetitive and boring since you may have to replay a couple battles over to level up your character for the next battle. I personally don't have a problem with this, but anyway....the second complaint (similiar to the first) is that the gameplay is just repetitive, even when you are fighting new battles. Again I find the gameplay satisfying and fun, but it really is based on your opinion. And third, there is no Multiplayer. Yes, I agree that is a real pity since multiplayer would've been great for this game, but there is a Streetpass, which is....uhh....great.....not really. Anyway, all in all, this game (despite its flaws) is an amazing game and I would recommend getting it or at least renting it. It took me a long while to write this review so I hoped you guys enjoyed it and I hoped it helped you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Honestly the best 3DS game so far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
Shmiam
Location: Pennsylvania
I seriously think this is right now the best 3DS game to choose from. It can't get boring unless you are a really boring person. You can't just kill things to win, you seriously need to think about what you are doing on the battlefield in order to successfully complete the missions (and if you want the bonuses from the missions thats even harder!). With the 3 levels of difficulty (easy, normal, hard), and the downloadable content on its way, this game honestly NEVER gets boring (Unless your a boring person :P).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Japan has never been more awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
Fennec
Location: Salem, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game after failing to enjoy Super Street Fighter IV 3D, and this was a much better buy. While the graphics are fairly simple, it's not really needed when you're facing off against an army of enemies in quick battles. The game is quite interesting overall and gives a lot of customization choices for both your own custom character and the characters you bring into battle with you. The action is top-notch and each mission in-battle will keep you busy. Overall, I really recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good action game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Eh.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/11
Jangel
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had high expectations for Samurai Warriors: Chronicles, and it disappointed me straight out of the box. My biggest qualm with the game so far is that while yes, all the subtitles are in English, the voiceovers are all in Japanese, and there is no way to change it to English or any other language. It is distracting and unhelpful to be read to in Japanese while trying to read the English subs it provides. It is also a harrowing addition to the battle, hearing one of your officers try to tell you something, and hoping that you don't get attacked and killed while you're reading the subtitle in English. There is an option to turn the voices off completely, but it bums me out that that seems to be the only "fix." I was so disappointed that the game's previous voiceactors had not been brought back for this game, let alone English voiceactors at all. I could have cried!
Also, cutscenes are unskippable and tend to take a while. There are a lot of new historical names, places, and figures that you'll be introduced to, the majority of which you won't recognize unless you have a substantial knowledge of Japanese history already.
Your player character has no loyalty, and wanders aimlessly, battling against one force for one day, and taking up arms against former allies the next. Game elements such as the shop to upgrade weapons, buy horses, etc. all remain pretty much the same.
I am playing through the game looking for the opportunity to customize my character, as you cannot choose his/her weapons or outfit at the beginning, only gender and name.
All that said, the graphics are very crisp and clean, and the 3D looks amazing. Anyone who has played SW before will recognize the control scheme, the recurring characters, and familiar battle scenes. Not much has changed as far as core gameplay, the object is still to kill the enemies and come out on top.
Overall, it's a pretty good game if you are a fan of the franchise. If this would be your first experience with Samurai Warriors, I would highly advise you to pick up another title before this one.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ageopwnage
 
Please wait while more information about ageopwnage is loaded.
Additional information about ageopwnage could not be loaded.
lies
Posted 9/10/11
you can customize, outfit, looks, weapon wypes, etc. just play the game past the first chapter
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Excellent game which crosses familiar genres
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/11
ekolis
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up this game because "it just looked cool", but I'm even more impressed with it the more I play! First you've got your RPG elements (though admittedly they are a bit light - the character dialogues have only two options!), then you've got your fighting game elements (and in 3D, too!), then you've got your strategy elements (do I capture that base now to get reinforcements, or do I move on deeper into enemy territory to seize the enemy commander's camp?) So, yeah, if you like RPG's, or fighting games, or strategy games, you're bound to find something of interest here! I haven't tried the online aspects of the game yet, because I don't know anyone else who has this game, so I can't comment on that...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
A good starter game for the 3DS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/11
Mstewart827
Location: Virginia Beach
I was excited about this game after I saw videos and pictures of it and i'm really glad I got it. This is a really good game to get if you really wanted the 3DS in March but its not for everyone. First you have to really think about what you do if you wanna complete missions. Second this game is all in Japanese which really sucks for everyone who doesn't know it. Again good game but not for everyone its really good game to test the 3D.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/11
HaloHedgehog21
Location: texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this as my second game and was plesently surprised. The depth with 3D looks great. The battle sounds are pretty good. if the voice acting wasnt in japanise it would be a ten
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samurai Warriors Chronicles - 3DS
Wow
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
Lelouch0
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was the first game I got with my 3DS a week ago and I can say I am very impressed with it. It is not just another hack and slash, but also not just strategy. They figured out how to combine them perfectly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>