GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon Age 2

You are one of the few who escaped the destruction of your home. Now, forced to fight for survival in an ever-changing world, you must gather the deadliest of allies, amass fame and fortune, and seal your place in history. This is the story of how the world changed forever. The legend of your Rise to Power begins now.
Average Customer Rating:
7.785
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (232 reviews)
10 stars
44
9 stars
42
8 stars
26
7 stars
16
6 stars
9
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
7
133 out of 16382%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon Age 2
Review 1 for Dragon Age 2
Meh...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
TheRagingwhovian
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has gotten some flack and rightfully so i mean with a game like dragon age origins (which i personally regard as one of the best games of all time) you have alot to live up to. sadly it doesnt. Now dont get me wrong this game isnt horrible ive played alot worse games. its just dissapointing. Maybe its the 28 hours of Origins talking but this ones story was alot weaker than origins and some of the companions were just not likeable. And the dialogue wheel can really make a bad situation worse at times. Not to mention the encounters (which go on for too long to the point where they're annoying) are just swarms of baddies that charge you with no tactics what so ever. But on the upside the combat is excellent. Its fast and responsive and no matter what weapon youre using you'll have a way to fight back in close quarters. and it was nice to see some of the old characters from origins (and Varric is just straight up awesome) All in all its a good game just dont go in expecting a rich story
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon Age 2
Inspite of the complaints...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/13
Bamboozalah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was, and still, a huge fan of the original Dragon Age and I agree with others who have said that this game is nowhere near as excellent as its predecessor. However, when judged on its own the game is very entertaining. The fighting system is somewhat of an improvement and the main character's being able to talk is a plus. I have replayed the game many times and have enjoyed it. It is too short and your decisions have little effect on the outcome. It really does fall short of the mark, but it is perfect for gamers looking for something laid back to pass the time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon Age 2
Great surprise
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/13
Thatdewd
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Amazing game i have to say. If i was to put somethings back from awakening and origins to the second one i would give it a ten.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon Age 2
this game SUCKS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
SandDune
The only part of this game that is slightly fun is the beginning. The fighting is lame all you do is push the A button to attack. The only powerful attacks take way to long cool down to use again. And if you play on normal the enemies are way to hard to kill but if its on easy your team will just kill them before you even have a chance to get over to them. And forget trying to play without a team you can't even handle the weakest enimies if there are more than five. The graphics are also lacking. Don't buy this game is SUCKS.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon Age 2
its a great game and it has counless hours
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/13
fisher907
Location: castle rock, co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
dragon age 2 is a good game but it has it share of flaws like less memorable charcters than origins and that there are only 3 environments to go to. if you count the night cycle in the city,but it also has its share of upgrades such as the ui. the graphics have also been given an update also the combat has been improved and is a lot more precise.the story can be summed up in 3 major events the deep roads the quinari and templars vs mages. there are two possible endings in dargon age 2 you can either join the templar's side and prove that all mages are evil or you can join the mages side and prove that not all mages are evil. i chose the mages side and i felt unsatisfied with the ending i wont spoil anything for you but it leaves something to be desired. since there isnt as much diversity between the endings and there arent any races to choose from except for humans there isnt as much replayability as there was in origins, but that doesnt change that dragon age 2 is a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Dragon Age 2
Fun but did not live up to Origins
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/13
RabidPlatypus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off I was very upset about being forced to play as a human. The game was fun but after a while the missions got to be boring and since they recycled many of the caves and other areas it seemed kind of lazy after origins. But there were some great improvements. The combat systems, especially for Mages, were hands down better than Origins. The graphics were better and the simplified amour and weapons was nice so you weren't constantly comparing the pros and cons of them. I know for some that was a con, but I never liked the idea of a hero changing clothes and weapons 20+ times it seems unrealistic. I also liked that your character finally had a voice. Overall a good game but I would probably go back and replay Origins before this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon Age 2
Not as good as the original...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/13
Boosh007
Location: Amesbury, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first purchased the original, I hated it, but it grew on me. So when the thought of there being a second out there I bought it up without even doing my usual homework. The game itself is easier to operate, and it's more of the, "Hack and Slash" variety type. The biggest problem for my experience is the dialogue choice menu. It's much small print, and harder to read, although they did shorten the choices from 5 to 3. I imagine it's not so hard to read if your screen resolution is in HD, but for those gamers who use older tv's, it's going to slow the game experience down for you. Hopefully, when they come out with a third version they take into account this review and others and make a great change in it's experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon Age 2
Dragon Age 2 is in my top 3 all time favoritegames
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
James4
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off I would like to say that DA2 might be my favorite game of all...its really close. The gameplay is outstanding and innovative with a party up to 4 fighting simultaneously and you can choose whichever character you want to fight with at ANY time. Also I love the choice based storyline added with your family, lineage, and possible romance. You have so many choices of how you want to build your character. You can even have a dog mixed in with all the action. I have played all the popular rpg games like Skyrim, Fable, Final Fantasy, etc and I like DA2 the most. This is the type of game that has huge replayability and in my opinion the face of EA because Madden has fell off. My only criticism is to make the gameplay have endless missions and added storyline like skyrim does. Also I would like more things you can do with your home and your life like fable does. Just do these things and improve the skills and classes, maybe add another class and I will expect another great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Age 2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
Geotyg
Location: Springfield,MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you're into RPGs, good story lines or medieval themes you'll like this one. I didn't enjoy Origins (the first game) much but really loved this one. I'm a sucker for great story lines and good voice acting! I played through more than once.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dragon Age 2
Truly Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
greengod
Location: Bristol, TN
My first time through i thought it was a good game that made good of it's predecessor Origins good length story and better game play than alot of other games I've played
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Dragon Age 2
it was terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
krosis999
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when i bought this game i thought it would be as good as the last one but when i started to play it i saw it was nothing like the first one you had no cool people to play as the story was short and boring i beat it in about 2 days and considering that the last one took me about 3 to 4 weeks to beat without doing many side quests i was just dissapointed at how terrible the game was so i would not reccomend buying it to any of my friends
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dragon Age 2
Greatly Dissapointed, Rent it dont buy it
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
NateyNate7
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Alright so in a nut shell, the story was extremely boring. I think this was the greatest downfall in the game. I wont give away any spoilers but overall, this was painful compared to the first one. The first one you were saving the world from the blight. This one you deal with political issues to save a city. It actually is as boring as it sounds......The combat was a little bit more interactive, as long as you dont mind hitting the "A" button fifty times in a fight. DA 2 followed more along the lines of mass effect (or tried to) but it just didnt cut it for me. I would strongly recommend renting this because this isnt worth your money........
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon Age 2
I have never re-played a video game until now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
Anonymous
Location: Elbridge NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In my opinion the story is excellent and the all around gameplay is great. Of course it could use some improvements, but i am sure those will all be in Dragon Age 3. I liked the story line and gameplay so much i beat it on Xbox as a mage and now re-playing it on PC as a warrior. I have never re-played a game after i beat it until i came across this game. It's that good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dragon Age 2
Fan-freakin-tastic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
JRFizzle
This game gets a lot of unnecessary flack. That is true. Origins was great. That is true also. Dragon Age 2 is still a fantastic game. The game is more of a hack-n-slash, and I can see where some fans might grow angry. The radial for conversations made it feel a bit cheap, because if you wanted to be good, you could choose the sentence that would increase moral standing. In Origins you had to guess really. The graphics are practically the same, and they're a little dated, but nothing too bad. The music is normal for a fantasy RPG. The story I thought was fantastic. The relationships you can have with others can deform and whither and die, and you can be enemies, or you can nurture relationships, which can often lead to "romantic" encounters. Very good game(not just for the "romance"!) and very fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dragon Age 2
Decent
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Incolume0
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a fun game, but there are some flaws; getting hit by spells or arrows when you're in a different room with walls or pillars between you and the enemy, yet you have to not only be in visual contact, but within a certain distance for any of your attacks to do any good, it's a little frustrating. The graphics are great, in terms of the environment and facial features/recognition. The open gameplay is nice, just wish there were more side missions or interaction between party members. Finally, the overuse of buildings and caves is a little lazy on the maker's part. You clear out a cave on a mission and later on you use that exact cave for a different mission, or how all the warehouses and caves have the same layout. It's a fun game, but for future games they desperately need to redesign parts.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Dragon Age 2
you going to play this game 2-3 day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
DRAG0NASSASS1N9
Location: NEW YORK NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There are a few things I'm certain of in life: Darkspawn must die, dragons must die, and, from a technical perspective, Dragon Age II.It's known that your character, Hawke -- a male or female human mage, rogue, or warrior -- will eventually become the Champion of Kirkwall.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IGGViper
 
Please wait while more information about IGGViper is loaded.
Additional information about IGGViper could not be loaded.
Great game
Posted 6/12/12
This is a awesome game i highly recommend to any rpg fan, only one downfall i found... horrible replay value
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Dragon Age 2
If you really liked Origins you'll like DA 2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/12
DarkSaint78
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
DA 2 is a good game not a great game. Still fun to play & when released was great because there were very few new RPGs out there. I am a big fan of Origins Ultimate. To bad they changed actual game play so much in DA 2.Menus, interface, etc.. I would certainly wait for a complete edition. Biowares DLC is fun and more of an actual expansion then most these days. But still not worth the $$$ to buy individually. As for game play they have changed much from Origins. you can not use you armor on team mates, the maps are repetitive ie different dungons same map, which makes the game world feel very small, along w/ many other minor changes which make this one feel a bit sloppy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NCIS
MN
 
Please wait while more information about NCIS is loaded.
Additional information about NCIS could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
thanks dude
Posted 2/14/12
thanks for your in put on my preview on Max Payne 3 and thanks for the tip and for being honest which is hard to find people who do those things days so thanks again. =)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Dragon Age 2
Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
otz900
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good adventure game.Its not the best adventure game,but a good one.In the end,its a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dragon Age 2
Better than I thought it would be
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
HollowSunsets
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game, though I miss some things that were taken out in DA:O. I wish we could equip things onto our characters like we could in the last game..and i really miss being able to pick our origin story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dragon Age 2
Excellent game with great story plot and tactics
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
Bigbangtheory
Location: Rochester, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A compelling game with a great continuation of the Dragon Age series. Lots of characters to meet. Leveling up and killing monsters is fun. Also, tons of side quests to complete and potential companions. Buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>