GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Amnesia: The Dark Descent

The last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape.Awake...Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that will chill you to the core. You stumble through the narrow corridors as the distant cry is heard.It is getting closer.Explore...Amnesia: The Dark Descent puts you in the shoes of Daniel as he wakes up in a desolate castle, barely remembering anything about his past. Exploring the eerie pathways, you must also take part of Daniel's troubled memories. The horror does not only come from the outside, but from the inside as well. A disturbing odyssey into the dark corners of the human mind awaits. A sound of dragging feet? Or is your mind playing tricks on you?Experience...By using a fully physically simulated world, cutting edge 3D graphics and a dynamic sound system, the game pulls no punches when trying to immerse you. Once the game starts, you will be in control from the beginning to the end. There are no cut-scenes or time-jumps, whatever happens will happen to you first hand. Something emerges out of the darkness. It's approaching. Fast.Survive...Amnesia: The Dark Descent throws you headfirst into a dangerous world where danger can lurk behind every corner. Your only means of defense are hiding, running or using your wits. Do you have what it takes to survive?
Average Customer Rating:
9.857
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 3597%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Review 1 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amazing Game Must Have!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Beavis1993
Location: Stillwater, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is overall Amazing The Sounds on this game r just SOOOOOO realistic, clear, and Scary(obviously). I got this game ASAP Because even the title is Amazing, The Gameplay is Awesome. The Plot is Awesome (i'll let you figure out the story when you get it ;) ), Anyhoo This game is a must have for people who are: Easily Scared, Very concentrated players, Hardcore, Survivalists, Etc. Buy this game i know you people will love it as Much as i do (well not as much as me).
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
AMNESIA IS SURE TO GET YOUR HEART RACING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
xLawlietx
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Amnesia is certainly a fantastic PC game. The monsters are very frightening and the music (and at times, lack there of) really provide the perfect horror atmosphere. I love Frictional Games, and if you love this one you should absolutely play the Penumbra series. The story line is a bit lacking in this compared to Penumbra's awesome story/character development - but it makes up for it in terror! Any PC gamer, beginner to hardcore should pick up a copy. Hoped this helps!! --- ALSO: Can add/make downloadable custom stories!! They are very entertaining, I highly suggest adding some.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Brofist Game :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
Trabner
Location: Ludington, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome and the person who plays this the best is Pewdiepie! Brofist! yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Fantastic Scary Atmosphere.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
Pokagbamo1
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Amnesia is undoubtedly the scariest experience I have ever gone through. I am more proud of myself for finishing this game than any gaming achievement I have ever accomplished. The game isn't a "monsters jump out in front of you and you shoot them" or a little girl appearing then disappearing with no harm done type of game. This game messes with your mind on a level that is kind of hard to explain unless you play it for yourself. Whenever you do see a monster is the least scary part of the game. All of the tension and nerve-racking sound effects in scary dark hallways and underground chambers that build up on your way there really adds to the horror effect of the game. Some people say this has no replay value but I give it a 10 because of the custom stories that you can download and play. I've been playing Amnesia every weekend for a couple months and haven't even scratched the surface of the amount of gameplay you can get out of this game. If your one of those gamers who says "games can't scare me, I don't ever get scared" you need to play this game and take that statement back!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Scary but addicting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Megatronpwns
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not the bravest gamer in the world, and I've seen reaction videos on Youtube. But even though it looked scary, I had to have it. I think the scariest thing (Besides the messed up looking monsters) are all the sounds you hear while you play. I dunno how these people make such a scary and addicting game, but they are geniuses. My favorite part is even before the game starts and it says to "play in a dark room with headphones on for the full affect." It's like they want you to scream and almost throw your laptop across the room. But let me tell you, I play this game in the middle of the afternoon without headphones and still get creeped out. But it's an awesome and challenging game. Not made for kids, obviously. I also recommend, if you already haven't, looking up reaction videos on Youtube. It makes the game not as scary for 5 minutes. Amnesia is good for hardcore and casual gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
5/5 Get this game if you dare...
Posted on:2/8/11
Peanut002
I recommend this game to anyone out there who enjoys a good storyline with haunting feelings as if you were actually in the game. i personally like to draw myself into the game for that "Experience" i look for in a game. If you cant handle playing in the dark with your volume up than you should NOT get this game cause there will be absolute no point in it. This game wasn't made to be just to "win" as they say when you start the game. You MUST immerse yourself to the game to get the ultimate experience they intended.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Excellent Game
Posted on:2/9/11
CenturyChild
Location: Columbus,OH
This game has been available through Steam for some time now. I suppose the 2/15/2011 New Release date is just for the boxed version. ------>>> At Any count, Amnesia is a wonderful game, and is not at all like your typical Survival Horror. The scares in this game are not alot of "shock" scares, from something jumping out at you or startling you. It builds up fear slowly, many times to the point you are literally afriad to move on deeper into the castle. Your character has Amnesia, so alot of the game is exploring and solving puzzles in a first person perspective. Your character is also afarid of the dark, so staying in the dark too much will drive him insane. Although monster encounter are somewhat rare, when you do encounter one, you have a choice of hiding in the dark (and slowly going insane) , Run if you can get away, or die. There are no weapons in Amnesia, so fighting them is not an option. This actually works quite well, because the atmosphere itself builds up fear, and encountering monsters makes it even more so, because you are truly helpless. This game reminded me, or rather made me feel like, playing the original Resident Evil the first time. Only in the sense of the exploration aspect and the puzzles were similar. Overall, this is by far the most frightening game I have ever played, and it was a blast. I highly reccomend it, and at its price, it really is worth every penny. To get the most out of Amnesia, it is best played in the dark, with headphones, or 5.1 surround.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Psychologically ingenious
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
Xephilian
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is, simply put, amazing. It is VERY well thought out. You can tell this by how long it takes for something to happen in-game. Throughout the first hour or so of gameplay, strange events occur, (i.e. doors opening/closing, lights going out, creepy noises, etc.) but nothing too bad. As I heard from another reviewer, "You don't see anything in the first parts of the game, but the suspense and atmosphere of it all makes you a bloody emotional wreck for when you actually DO see something." And I have to agree that the game is mainly built on suspense. It's not like most "horror" games, where the only thing happening is monsters jumping out at you, and you simply shoot them with a shotgun. In this, you are driven to complete paranoia, so that you become completely and absolutely terrified at the slightest noise. This is one of the ways that Frictional Games is completely ingenious. They drive you to tears of fear, without anything even happening. The atmosphere is completely immersive, and you will feel like you're in the game as soon as you pass the first loading screen. As you progress further into the game, you catch small, 2 second glimpses of strange silhouettes turning around the corner. A very long time after that, you hear a very loud noise as something enters the room. This game definitely goes for the realistic aspect in which case you cannot defend yourself. There are no shotguns. And well, it's set in the 1700's anyway. Instead, you have to hide in a nearby closet, and hope and pray that whatever that strange being is didn't see or hear you. And, again, as you go even further through the game, it becomes harder and harder to play, as it becomes drastically more horrifying and you get an even stronger feeling of insecurity. You sometimes will have to straight-out run away from enemies, and hide if possible. And in this case, you can use the environment to delay the strange creatures from killing you, as you can close doors behind them and barricade them shut. The story behind the game is very interesting, as well. The story lives up to it's name - Amnesia. You are given no background information whatsoever, as you wake up in a strange, unknown castle. As you progress, you recover very tiny bits of background information, which is good, because that way, you are forced to keep playing in order to recover the rest of the background info. Depending on what kind of gamer you are, you might not be able to play the game at all, or you won't be able to stop playing it. This game is, by far, one of the best games I've ever played. And I'm not even into horror that much. But there's absolutely no other experience like it. You can't get this kind of feeling in other horror games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
22 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Benjamen
 
Please wait while more information about Benjamen is loaded.
Additional information about Benjamen could not be loaded.
The game
Posted 2/11/13
The game was so scary i almost wet my pants by just watching my friend play it @_@
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
A powerful story, and a powerful way to scare you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
DrSassafrass
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is probably the only game i have genuinely been scared while playing. The game has a unique way of incorporating sounds and visual senses to create an eerie sense of your surroundings. One moment you're walking through a lighted hallway into a dark one. You pull your lantern out and hear a noise. What was that? Was it a monster? Then you see it and hide. This game has A FEW instances where things come out at you, but overall it is just the stress and suspense of an impending monster that gets released when you see it. If dead space or dead space 2 manage to scare you, then Amnesia will definitely scare you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Review for Amnesia The Dark Descent (BEAST!!!!!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
armyboot103
Location: Janesville,WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Graphics:The graphics are extremely stunning and well polished and well detailed. Sound: Whenever the flashbacks or diary entries come along they sound even better than a lot of other games. Gameplay: The scary sequences in the game just put you on the edge of your chair and of course; SCARE YOU. I watched the entire game on youtube and it scared the heck out of me and the story unlike like any other game or any other Survival Horror why? You don't get weapons to defend yourself and instead you have to run and hide from your enemies and again the story is realistic w/ a sci-fi twists inbetween. I recommend this game for anybody over the age of 10 and loves survival horror.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
UnitRadioShifter
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, but it's also the scariest game I've ever played (and my favorite genre is horror). There is lots of replay value if you get into custom stories. I reccomend that everyone at least tries this game. It's very scary so I don't think everyone that plays it will be hooked, but I was.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
REDZONEKILLAXX
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
to put it simply i nearly froze in my seat from fear, every little sound change and unlit room scares you to death, the ambient sounds made me nearly soil myself....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amnesia Is Sure To Get Your Heart Racing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Treyfacee
Location: Sturgis, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Amnesia is in my opinion one of the scariest games I've played. I guarantee that this game will have you on the edge of your chair throughout the game. Amnesia is a game that will have you screaming, shaking, and horrified. I would recommend this game to any gamer. Less than 5 minutes into the game and my heart was racing. If you are easily scared. This game isn't for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
Kiaquaii
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really fun to play with friends...only becuase it's fun to scare them! Very creepy game, but very gun. The sounds are what scare you the most, I'd say. The music is ver well done, and the graphics are great. The only downfall is if you have a low video card, the camera sometimes flips upside down (hasn't personally happened to me, but I've seen it on YouTube). I'm not sure if FrictionalGames has fixed that yet. The game lasts, but depending on what type of gamer you are, you may quit for a while or may want to play it all the time. The controls are very nice, and designed to make the game harder when you start freaking out (Like accidently pushing a door in, when you were supposed to push the door out). It adds a cool realistic-like twist. The storyline is great, and I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to have a good time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Absolutely Horrifying (In a Good Way!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
BlackClaudia
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had heard many, many comments about how terrifying this game is. As a big horror fan, I was skeptical. I've played many horror games that just weren't as scary as people made them out to be. Recently, I decided to try this game out, just to see what the buzz was all about.
It didn't take long at all to see that this was an absolutely horrifying game. Every little sound makes me freeze. And the monster encounters are scary beyond words. Monsters give out a roar and come out of nowhere, and all you can do is hide and hope they don't find you. Besides being the scariest game ever, it has an interesting story to follow, told through notes that you obtain as you progress.
This game is psychological horror at its best. My heart was pounding throughout the majority of it. I could really only recommend it to those who enjoy horror games, and won't get too scared to finish it! If you think you're brave enough, give it a shot!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
True fear
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/11
Anonymous
Location: modesto,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is true fear. I have yet to finish the game myself. Daniel (the protagonist) is stuck in a castle with no memory of his past. Oh by the way theres a shadow hunting him. When Daniel walks around the castle of Brenningburg he encounters dark corners that drive him insane if the monsters don't kill him first. This isn't for the faint of heart. The footsteps get closer. You see a monster then hide in the blanket of darkness. You think to yourself. Has he seen me? You hide there. Waiting. When you turn around to check if he's gone yet. He's gone. But around the corner. The monster was there the whole time. He runs after you, with no time to react you sit there frozen in your chair. The monster reaches you. Then turns into a shadow. It's nothing. It was all you insanity playing tricks on you. Is it real or not? Don't take a chance. This game makes other horror games look like Super Mario Party. Also you can throw boxes (with full control and movement of the box.) at monsters to slow them down or use them to barricade a door, but the monster drive you insane if you even look at them. If you stare at one for a while Daniel will pass out and start mumbling to himself. Monsters will hear Daniel and kill him. This is true fear.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Very well made, well rounded game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
ComComBrandon2
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far the best horror game put on the market. Its not very well known due to the fact that it isn't sold in stores. This game is terrifying when played with headphones in the dark, the game's graphics are nothing special, but have a very good feel to them. The sound is absolutely amazing, I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes horror.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Not for the faith of heart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
LTWave
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What else can I say other than "This game scared the bejeezus out of me"? It's good to finally see an awesome survival horror game. Other games like Dead Space and Resident Evil claim to be survival horror, but Amnesia easily dwarfs both games in the "horror" part of it. Scratch that. It beats them both in "survival" too! You have absolutly NO weapons in this game. The only way to survive is to run and hide. But the monsters didn't scare me as much as the atmosphere did. Just the thought of a monster comming out of no where will eat you alive through the whole game. The game also has a sanity level, which decreases over time if you stay in the darkness or witness horrific events. If your sanity gets too low, you will start to winess hallucinations such as monsters that aren't really there or bugs crawling all over you. By staying in the light, you are able to keep your sanity stable. But you also must hide from monsters in the darkness (which decreases your sanity). You must constantly debate whether or not to light up your path. You can either be safe or sorry and that saying contributes to both decisions, no matter what you do! Play this at night, alone and with headphones on!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
What an amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
VanillaGamer
Location: Mondoubleau, France
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was amazing from start to finish, from an original idea to a brilliant execution. I can not say one bad thing about this game. If you want an enjoyably scary time this is the game for you. I don't want to give away any spoilers so all I will say about the gameplay itself is that it is set up to be a TRUE horror game (not an action horror like Dead Space). I suggest playing this game only in the dead of night, turning off all lights and jacking the volume up. Be prepared to experience one of the scariest games of all times! Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Swags
Oshksoh WI
 
Please wait while more information about Swags is loaded.
Additional information about Swags could not be loaded.
Scariest, Most Clever Game Ever!
Posted 7/24/11
This masterpiece is something that could never be done by anyone else. What makes this game so terrifying is not what is what you see. What you hear is where the horror is. In the beginning, you hear strange things and expect monsters, even when they aren't there. The sounds make you imagine all the worst things hiding around the corner. The darkness in the game is so scary you never want to turn off your lantern, but when you do, you begin to go insane and start imagining the monsters as well. With the clever usage of mystery and sound, Amnesia plays the most clever tricks on your senses. The horror is not what is there, but what isn't.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Where do i start
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Ventus21
This game is a game that you cant pass up its not quite heavy on story but the game play its's self makes up for it you basically wake up in this castle and you have no clue where you are at or what you were doing there in the first place so you might be asking then how do i know??? well you find out what the main person finds out though notes and such,now on to the Actual game play you run around with the wasd keys and pick things up with e,to open doors and other things you click and hold it down..., say you want to open a door you would click and then pull the mouse back or forward depending on witch way the door open's witch also controls the speed of the door's movement. On to the graphics graphicly speaking its a good looking game with some twitches here and there and depending on the computer specs but all in all a good looking game. on to the sound now the sound on this game is the main fear inducing factor in this game it is mainly quiet on this game other then the sounds of footsteps in an empty castle and the sounds of the monsters..., my verdict is this game is a must play and is an experience that you will not soon forget
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>