GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Amnesia: The Dark Descent

The last remaining memories fade away into darkness. Your mind is a mess and only a feeling of being hunted remains. You must escape.Awake...Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person survival horror. A game about immersion, discovery and living through a nightmare. An experience that will chill you to the core. You stumble through the narrow corridors as the distant cry is heard.It is getting closer.Explore...Amnesia: The Dark Descent puts you in the shoes of Daniel as he wakes up in a desolate castle, barely remembering anything about his past. Exploring the eerie pathways, you must also take part of Daniel's troubled memories. The horror does not only come from the outside, but from the inside as well. A disturbing odyssey into the dark corners of the human mind awaits. A sound of dragging feet? Or is your mind playing tricks on you?Experience...By using a fully physically simulated world, cutting edge 3D graphics and a dynamic sound system, the game pulls no punches when trying to immerse you. Once the game starts, you will be in control from the beginning to the end. There are no cut-scenes or time-jumps, whatever happens will happen to you first hand. Something emerges out of the darkness. It's approaching. Fast.Survive...Amnesia: The Dark Descent throws you headfirst into a dangerous world where danger can lurk behind every corner. Your only means of defense are hiding, running or using your wits. Do you have what it takes to survive?
Average Customer Rating:
9.857
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 3597%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Review 1 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Jumpscares Galore!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/13
UberImportant
Location: Troy, Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, so I found this game online and thought "What the heck, I'll try it". Didn't know that I would be scared straight, and surely didn't know it was so much fun to play. I would definitely recommend this to anybody who wants a good horror game, or who is just simply bored.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
This is an amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/13
Featherstar
Location: Lincolnton, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this gave because it gave me that feeling of being scared half to death for the first time ever. I was so scared that I couldn't sleep for a week! So AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Perfect game for anyone looking for a Horror.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/13
MissAmazing
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
PERFECT sound affects. Leaves an antsy shiver flowing through you. You never know what mystery could be lurking around the corner at anytime. Perfect for any experience gamers who enjoyed Penumbra.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Absolutely Horrifying (In a Good Way!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
BlackClaudia
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had heard many, many comments about how terrifying this game is. As a big horror fan, I was skeptical. I've played many horror games that just weren't as scary as people made them out to be. Recently, I decided to try this game out, just to see what the buzz was all about.
It didn't take long at all to see that this was an absolutely horrifying game. Every little sound makes me freeze. And the monster encounters are scary beyond words. Monsters give out a roar and come out of nowhere, and all you can do is hide and hope they don't find you. Besides being the scariest game ever, it has an interesting story to follow, told through notes that you obtain as you progress.
This game is psychological horror at its best. My heart was pounding throughout the majority of it. I could really only recommend it to those who enjoy horror games, and won't get too scared to finish it! If you think you're brave enough, give it a shot!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Really awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
blackrosey
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i'm gonna be honest. When I saw pewdiepie and cry play this game I really wanted to play. Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
MinecraftingCow
Location: WIsconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game will keep you on your toes the entire way through. The graphics are 100% beautiful (if you have the right settings), the sound is fantastic! It's so realistic, you wouldn't believe. The story line is great. I'm about 3/4 the way done and I can tell it's going to throw me a curveball. But, buyer beware, this game isn't for any computer. Be sure to have a newer, higher power graphics card installed, or else it will be a black screen. I love this game. Super Scary!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Brofist Game :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
Trabner
Location: Ludington, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome and the person who plays this the best is Pewdiepie! Brofist! yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amnesia!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/12
jbro
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really amazing. It has such awesome game play and is horrifically scary. I highly recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
Amnesia: The Dark Descent
9.9 out of 10(38)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UnofficialGamerGirl
South Carolina, USA
 
Please wait while more information about UnofficialGamerGirl is loaded.
Additional information about UnofficialGamerGirl could not be loaded.
Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Posted 8/3/13
Well... So far I've played about 12 custom stories on Amnesia. This game is just amazing! The sounds, atmosphere, just everything makes it simply terrifying. I first heard about it from watching Felix (pewdiepie) play it and I immediately went and got it! It is soooo soooo sooo fun!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
HELP!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/12
TheFallenDeath
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Hello i played this at my freinds house and i think this is like the best game ever but wen i got it and tried installing it it said that tere was an Error and that the game had crashed could someone please help me if they know the solution.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
THE BEST GAME OF HORROR FOR PC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
Darkkiller
Location: florida,Miami
its the most freaking accion for horror gameplay ever the scary game and the sound are the better think you need to be strategy for this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Scary but addicting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Megatronpwns
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not the bravest gamer in the world, and I've seen reaction videos on Youtube. But even though it looked scary, I had to have it. I think the scariest thing (Besides the messed up looking monsters) are all the sounds you hear while you play. I dunno how these people make such a scary and addicting game, but they are geniuses. My favorite part is even before the game starts and it says to "play in a dark room with headphones on for the full affect." It's like they want you to scream and almost throw your laptop across the room. But let me tell you, I play this game in the middle of the afternoon without headphones and still get creeped out. But it's an awesome and challenging game. Not made for kids, obviously. I also recommend, if you already haven't, looking up reaction videos on Youtube. It makes the game not as scary for 5 minutes. Amnesia is good for hardcore and casual gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
i almost froze in fear after al the jump scares
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/12
Diesel364
Location: Maypearl,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is for the horror pros but i thnk that if you can make it thought this game without screaming ther is somethin wrong with you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
REDZONEKILLAXX
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
to put it simply i nearly froze in my seat from fear, every little sound change and unlit room scares you to death, the ambient sounds made me nearly soil myself....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amazing Game Must Have!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Beavis1993
Location: Stillwater, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is overall Amazing The Sounds on this game r just SOOOOOO realistic, clear, and Scary(obviously). I got this game ASAP Because even the title is Amazing, The Gameplay is Awesome. The Plot is Awesome (i'll let you figure out the story when you get it ;) ), Anyhoo This game is a must have for people who are: Easily Scared, Very concentrated players, Hardcore, Survivalists, Etc. Buy this game i know you people will love it as Much as i do (well not as much as me).
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amnesia Is Sure To Get Your Heart Racing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Treyfacee
Location: Sturgis, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Amnesia is in my opinion one of the scariest games I've played. I guarantee that this game will have you on the edge of your chair throughout the game. Amnesia is a game that will have you screaming, shaking, and horrified. I would recommend this game to any gamer. Less than 5 minutes into the game and my heart was racing. If you are easily scared. This game isn't for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
UnitRadioShifter
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, but it's also the scariest game I've ever played (and my favorite genre is horror). There is lots of replay value if you get into custom stories. I reccomend that everyone at least tries this game. It's very scary so I don't think everyone that plays it will be hooked, but I was.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
AMNESIA IS SURE TO GET YOUR HEART RACING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
xLawlietx
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Amnesia is certainly a fantastic PC game. The monsters are very frightening and the music (and at times, lack there of) really provide the perfect horror atmosphere. I love Frictional Games, and if you love this one you should absolutely play the Penumbra series. The story line is a bit lacking in this compared to Penumbra's awesome story/character development - but it makes up for it in terror! Any PC gamer, beginner to hardcore should pick up a copy. Hoped this helps!! --- ALSO: Can add/make downloadable custom stories!! They are very entertaining, I highly suggest adding some.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
A adveture you will never froget
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/11
falloutnewlife
Location: bc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best game for horror move or horror game fans because it scares you so much you whant to quit but you know if you stop playing then you will miss out on the best horror game since silent hill.if you played punumbra and liked it then you will LOVE this game buy it KNOW i mean RIGHT NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Fantastic Scary Atmosphere.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
Pokagbamo1
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Amnesia is undoubtedly the scariest experience I have ever gone through. I am more proud of myself for finishing this game than any gaming achievement I have ever accomplished. The game isn't a "monsters jump out in front of you and you shoot them" or a little girl appearing then disappearing with no harm done type of game. This game messes with your mind on a level that is kind of hard to explain unless you play it for yourself. Whenever you do see a monster is the least scary part of the game. All of the tension and nerve-racking sound effects in scary dark hallways and underground chambers that build up on your way there really adds to the horror effect of the game. Some people say this has no replay value but I give it a 10 because of the custom stories that you can download and play. I've been playing Amnesia every weekend for a couple months and haven't even scratched the surface of the amount of gameplay you can get out of this game. If your one of those gamers who says "games can't scare me, I don't ever get scared" you need to play this game and take that statement back!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Amnesia: The Dark Descent
Not for the faith of heart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
LTWave
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What else can I say other than "This game scared the bejeezus out of me"? It's good to finally see an awesome survival horror game. Other games like Dead Space and Resident Evil claim to be survival horror, but Amnesia easily dwarfs both games in the "horror" part of it. Scratch that. It beats them both in "survival" too! You have absolutly NO weapons in this game. The only way to survive is to run and hide. But the monsters didn't scare me as much as the atmosphere did. Just the thought of a monster comming out of no where will eat you alive through the whole game. The game also has a sanity level, which decreases over time if you stay in the darkness or witness horrific events. If your sanity gets too low, you will start to winess hallucinations such as monsters that aren't really there or bugs crawling all over you. By staying in the light, you are able to keep your sanity stable. But you also must hide from monsters in the darkness (which decreases your sanity). You must constantly debate whether or not to light up your path. You can either be safe or sorry and that saying contributes to both decisions, no matter what you do! Play this at night, alone and with headphones on!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>