GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise

Play as Travis Touchdown as you fight to become the world's #1 Assassin! Use Travis's lethal beam katana to eliminate the top 10 ranked skillful killers of the United Assassins Association. After defeating his original boss, Helter Skelter, Travis takes the position of the 11th ranked hitman and begins his meteoric rise to the top!
Average Customer Rating:
9.375
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Review 1 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
MY FIRST SUDA51 AND IT ROCKS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
GhostOfSparta99
Location: charllote n.c
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
WHEN I GOT A $20 BILL FOR MY BIRTHDAY I WANT TO BUY A NEW GAME BUT WANT TO PLAY SOMETHING THAT WAS A COPY-CAT TO PAST GAMES SO I SAW NO MORE HEROES AND GOT WASN'T EXPECTING TO PLAY MORE THAN ONCE BUT THE STORY THE BOSSES AND THE SIMPLE HACK AND SLASH THAT MORE TOWARDS STYLE THEN GAMEPLAY WORKS VERY WELL WITH THE TYPE OF DEPTH HAS A GAME LIKE GOD OF WAR OR THE DMC GAMES ITS A BLAST TO MINDLESS DECAPATED ENEMYS IN ROWS THREE AND WATCH THE SCREEN GET COVERED IN BLOOD THE ONLY BAD THINK IS THE HUB WORLD IS SO EMPTY AND BORING AND THE JOBS AND ASSAIN MISSION GET BORING AFTER AWHILE BUT ITS OPTIONAL FOR THE MOST BE THAT YOU CAN JUST KILL PEOPLE FOR MONEY IF ANYONE GETS THIS GAME JUST DONT EXPECTED GAMEPLAY THIS GAME IS STRONG BECAUSE OF THE ALMOST PERFECT ANIME STYLE AND STORY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Simply incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
Train21
Location: Houston,Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really awesome. I got hooked on it just by playing the demo on ps network. As soon as i got the game the fantasy became reality,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
One of the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
Yuffieisbeast
In general this is one of the best games for ps3 and it is by far the best game for the playstation move. They need to make more games like this for the move so the move actually has some meaning but anyway if you don't have this game you should get it especially if you're looking for a move game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Great game on the PS3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
Gabe
Location: Mesquite,Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I always wanted to play no more heros on the Wii but never got to buy the wii but then this comes out on the PS3 and finally got to play it i gotta say its great very hard core fighting some crazy bosses and its the best PS Move game the only thing i dont like is the controls on the move controllers like to attack you tilt the move sideways and press the move button to swing i was expecting to swing the move like a sword but anyways its all good i recommend this game to anyone thats looking for hard core fighting game its worth buying.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
A Hard Game to Refuse
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/11
Blaze1616
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I’d give this game a 9.8, to be honest, but can’t because of the site. Now on to the discussion:
To begin this off, I will admit that I am a hardcore fan of this "series." I bought the original game for the Wii, bought the sequel, and bought this. That having been said, I highly recommend this title to anyone with a PS3 looking for a quirky game you won't soon forget. Being the game that Quentin Tarantino would make if he were a game designer, No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise is a hack-'n-slash (HnS) for the ages. Mixing hardcore HnS "dungeons" with relaxed minigames, it's hard to tire of this game soon after beginning. The basic plot is that you play as Travis Touchdown, a man who enjoys killing and wants to climb the ranks of the United Assassin Association (starting from #11) to sleep with the beautiful Silvia Christel. With each boss having their own individual quirks, the game flows nicely as action packed half-hours are interrupted with the calmer game play of the minigames, which are just another quirk in the game.
Having played the first two for everything they are worth, I must say that No More Heroes: Heroes’ Paradise is much better than the original, as well as its sequel. Many have complained that this game is just a copy of the first, and therefore you might as well buy the first instead, since this is getting the price tag of a new game. First-off, though, the price tag is only $40, not $60, which is not as cheap as the Wii original, but is still better than paying the extra $20. Secondly, the game has plenty of add-ons that the original did not. To begin, Heroes’ Paradise has extra jobs (the minigames). Though all the new jobs are a bit lame, it is still a welcome to see what the developers removed from the original. Another new addition is the addition of all the good bosses from the Wii sequel Desperate Struggle (in my opinion they were the good bosses). After climbing up another rank in Heroes’ Paradise and saving, you will be given the options to take a nap. Your dream is then the fight with one of the bosses from the sequel. A third addition is the ability to re-fight the bosses (ranked assassins) you’ve already beaten. This is a welcome addition, since the game play you’ll remember most is the boss fights. A fourth addition, and the final addition if you are not a member of PSN, is the addition of “Super Sweet” mode. To explain, it must first be understood that the difficulty setting are done by tastes; Normal = Sweet for example. Super Sweet is therefore an Easy mode, which is only unlocked after beating the game once on a different difficulty. Why is that? Because all the major female characters get a costume change, and are now wearing “saucier” outfits. The final addition, then, if you are a PSN member, is the addition of DLC. For now, the additions only include more beam katanas (the weapon of choice for Travis), and skins for the Motorbike.
As stated earlier, No More Heroes: Heroes’ Paradise is a game befit of the name Quentin Tarantino. Why, you ask? For a multitude of reasons, the first being that the game is very non-mainstream. By that, I mean that many qualities that mainstream games have, this game does not. For example, this game gives even minor characters very specific personalities, minigames are thrown in and are very random for a ranked assassin to be doing (from mowing lawns to finding lost kittens to competing in a Motorbike distance jumping competition), and for a very unknown reason, you are capable of petting your cat, with no gains from it. Another reason would be the odd, random dialogue thrown in, such as the ranked 9 assassin’s discussion about dinner with his daughter. A third reason would be the obvious Kill Bill style of bloodshed. The final reason is the parody-like quality of the game. The game often uses sound files from back in the Atari age, and the entirety of the game’s ending is one large parody of Star Wars. Playing the game’s story honestly makes me feel like I’ve just watched a Tarantino film.
The final thing I’ll say about this game is the only negative. First, though, I must explain how some of the controls work. To slash your beam katana, you press triangle or square, and to do a charged slash you hold down the button before releasing. On the Wii original, swinging the Wiimote is how you swing, and holding down a button is the charged swing. This game, for both systems, lags a bit when you slaughter more than five enemies with one attack. On the Wii original, this was not an issue since the difference between charged and non-charged attacks was the holding of a separate button. On the PS3, though, since the charged attack is the holding of the basic swing button, you will often perform a charged attack rather than a basic swing, because the lag won’t process you mashing triangle, but will instead process you holding down the button. It is ONLY due to that bug that I gave this game a 9. I would honestly give the game a 9.8, but I can’t give decimals on this site.
So if you’ve never played a No More Heroes game, get this game for sure, you’ll probably love it, and if you have played a NMH game before, get this anyways, it is still worth every penny for all the bonuses, and probably the future bonuses as more DLC hits the PSN. I highly recommend this game, as well as the other two if you’d prefer the original and its sequel.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
A must-have game for any PS3 owner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
StylistGamer
They took a good game from the Wii and made it much more enjoyable to play. Even if you're not a huge fan of anime-ish games, I suggest you most definitively go check this out!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Remake of a Classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
Sienk
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The original was such a great game on the Wii, but the PS3 version improved on the flaws Nintendo allowed to occur during the inital release. The gameplay is more fluent and the HD graphics will leave anyone who is new to the series in awe.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Squeeze Every Penny
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/11
ToastyMan
Location: MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Remakes with added content that holds little appeal are becoming the big thing in gaming lately.
The Capcom/EA philosophy of tweaking an existing game, repackaging it and charging the price of a new game is taking hold across the industry.
This is a great game, and I can see how it could appeal to PS3 owners with it's widespread violence and vulgarity, and they are hard up for quality titles on their console.
So if you are a PS3 owner, definitely get this, but if you have the option, just buy the Wii version + the sequel. At this point, the deuce would cost less than this one retooled version, and you'd get more "legitimate" gameplay out of it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Seriously? This then House of dead...
Posted on:8/14/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
Is every Wii game gonna be made on Move? I mean sure it's fun on Move but I like Wii exclusive games. First this then House of the Dead, then Just Dance. What next? Well I do think it will be sorta cool with the Move beam sword and all. Also please read my review on House of the Dead Overkill. Enjoy!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Saw the wii version it looked good
Posted on:8/11/11
LazySleeper
Location: Westminster, CA
its awesome there porting it to the ps3 with hd graphics im just wondering if the move control will be more precise like follow the exact position of the katana or its it just like the wii version.
Review 11 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
I heard a lot about how good the series is.
Posted on:8/8/11
XPlayer75
Location: Cleveland, OH
So since I never played it before, I just downloaded the demo. Its fun for the first couple minutes. It gets so annoying pressing R3 to kill every single person though. Im disappointed. I had high expectations for it being for the series, but maybe the wii version is better?
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
A great addition from the original.
Posted on:8/5/11
Axelman82
Location: IL
I love Suda 51; Killer 7 and No More Heroes were both on my top ten favorite games. I really loved No More Heroes on the Wii, and I am very happy that they ported it over to the ps3. What is really nice about the ps3 version of No More Heroes is that five of the assassins in No More Heroes 2 Desperate Struggle will be available to fight in Heroes Paradise. Also, leaderboards are available to see other players' scores, and i think its awesome you can now replay boss battles even after defeating them rather than having to replay the whole game. If you guys havent played the demo, it is very good in regards to gameplay and graphics. I was concerned about just using the controller for what i thought would be a mindless button smashing experience, however i really enjoyed it due to a more complex style of button patterns provided rather than just a single button to attack the enemy. You use almost all of the buttons on the DualShock3 controller for this game so it definitely removes that hack and slash feel, and its great that i dont have to shake a remote at the tv to re-play one of my favorite games. I am most definitely going to get this; $40 is a steal!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Wrong Answer
Posted on:8/4/11
thewangatang25
Actually, the 360 version received horrible ratings in Japan, so Konami decided not to release it to the U.S.A.
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
To the 360 guys
Posted on:7/25/11
poopywar29
Location: Idaho
It's not on 360 because they wanted to make this a playstation move game. Which makes sense to me no more heroes probably won't be as fun without the motion control. In all honesty it won't feel like no more heroes if you used the kinect because you want to feel like your holding that saber thing.
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WillAndTheKids
 
Please wait while more information about WillAndTheKids is loaded.
Additional information about WillAndTheKids could not be loaded.
Posted 7/28/11
uhm....no. they actually released a non-motion controlled version it for the ps3 and 360 in japan. they could have easily ported and translated the 360 version to America. Theyre only losing money by keeping this on the ps3, a system that nobody really owns
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
y not on xbox360?
Posted on:7/23/11
redemption671
Location: guam,yigo
I played no more heroes and it was awesome.I'm a fan of the game so y put it on ps3 only?If you put it on 360 its going to be more epic.
0 of 52 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
donthaveanickname
your house
 
Please wait while more information about donthaveanickname is loaded.
Additional information about donthaveanickname could not be loaded.
Posted 7/31/11
it wouldnt be more epic on xbox it be worse..sell less copies..they want money so they put it for the right system so it could be played properly
Customer Avatar
deathdealer316tt
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about deathdealer316tt is loaded.
Additional information about deathdealer316tt could not be loaded.
No More Heroes Only On PS3
Posted 7/26/11
It can't be on xbox 360 because the Kinect isn't that accurate in detecting motion and it would look silly for someone to be waving their hands in the air with the Kinect but with the PS Move its way better and more accurate.
Customer Avatar
HonorableGamer
AZ
 
Please wait while more information about HonorableGamer is loaded.
Additional information about HonorableGamer could not be loaded.
think about it
Posted 7/26/11
cuz its a japaness game and its not in english so its only on ps3
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 16 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
WHY ONLY ON PS3!?!?
Posted on:7/14/11
MP5K
Location: New Jersey, NJ
Just saying, I've played No More Heroes One on the Wii and it was amaaaaazzzzing. This is definitely worth a buy if you haven't played it yet... WHYYY IS IT NOT ON XBOX 360!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! D:
3 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
No More Heroes
Posted on:5/23/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
I never got to the chance to play the No More Hero games for the Wii, and im looking for something new to play. The trailer looks desent, and will would perfer it one the PS3.
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Still great even if everyone glows...
Posted on:5/11/11
Jeane
I'm a little biased since I've played the Wii version and loved it. So I'll come right out and say it. I HATE the new graphics. Hate 'em. With a passion. But I'm incredibly glad No More Heroes is coming out for PS3 and Xbox 360 just so that more people can see how amazing it is. The game was great the first time around and (unless someone screwed up) it should be just as good the second time around. Mostly. The Japanese version had some ungodly long load times and with the new graphics everyone looks metallic but the core of the game remains unchanged. Plus, from what I hear, Heroes' Paradise added in deathmatch mode (just like NMH2 had) which is a slight improvement. That was the only thing missing from the original. I'm not even going to go into the Very Sweet mode they added on. It's just ridiculous. Either way, I'll be buying No More Heroes (again) when it comes out. I guess that means I'll be buying a PS3 too.
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
slycooper20
 
Please wait while more information about slycooper20 is loaded.
Additional information about slycooper20 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/17/11
Just so you know, it's exclusive to the PS3. There will be no 360 version of this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Great Game
Posted on:4/17/11
Koops330
Location: PA
This game is going to be good. The Wii version was amazing. The remake is bound to make fans of the series happy. Also because it has moved to a new system it allows others who missed the first version to enjoy as much as we did. It's a great game and just like it was a must buy for wii owners it should be a must buy for PS3 owners. One quick note though the game other then being violent has suggestive themes and cursing (It is a mature game no doubt) so if you aren't ok with that you should stay clear
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise
Where it origonally should have gone
Posted on:2/3/11
Gin72
Location: McLeansboro, IL
This is gonna be awesome the first game was great despite the so so graphics, but with this new one with improved graphics, more control, and for those who loved the women of the game? We get a mode where they are more scadly clad so in short?
If you never played it? GRAB IT! if you already owned it and have a PS3? GET IT AGAIN!
12 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Balancer
Saint Louis Mo
 
Please wait while more information about Balancer is loaded.
Additional information about Balancer could not be loaded.
No More Heroes'Paradise
Posted 8/2/11
This is going to be a sick and fun game,It should be on thePS3 for the motion controller.To feel like you are really swinging a sword ,is worth buying the game for.Maybe they will release the 1st no more heroes game for the PS3 later on!
Customer Avatar
SakuraInfinity
Gary, IN
 
Please wait while more information about SakuraInfinity is loaded.
Additional information about SakuraInfinity could not be loaded.
I Disagree with the Title
Posted 6/6/11
I disagree with you on the title of this preview buzz. Just because it was on the Wii first and it was a mature title doesn't mean that it should have originally gone on the PS3. I can totally understand what you mean when you say now PS3 owners will be able to play it, but saying "This is the system it should have originally gone to in the first place" just sounds fan boyish. I had the first one on the Wii and it was and still is awesome and I plan on getting it again on the ps3 and still thinking it's awesome.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)