GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Steel Diver - 3DS

Steel Diver is a new action-packed submarine combat game from Nintendo that immerses players in the 3D action with unique game controls and lush 3D environments. The player can choose from three different submarines, each with touch-screen control panels that players will have to master to guide them through treacherous undersea caverns while engaging enemy submarines, dodging depth charges and battling massive sea creatures. Steel Diver also takes advantage of the built-in gyroscope of the Nintendo 3DS system. The combination of 3D game play and one-of-a-kind controls makes for an immersive combination that must be experienced to be believed.
Average Customer Rating:
6.875
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 out of 1662%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Steel Diver - 3DS
Review 1 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Better than expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/11
KJInc2011
Location: Prague, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
At first I was worried about how this game would be, but it really passed my expectations. The 3D on this game is amazing and the touch screen controls make the experience even better. Its definitely in the top 5 best launch titles for the system in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
atomic698475
 
Please wait while more information about atomic698475 is loaded.
Additional information about atomic698475 could not be loaded.
Steeldiver
Posted 4/1/11
PLEASE DONT LEAVE A REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Good game. Beautiful Graphics for 3DS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Kaleo
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good looking game for the 3DS. The 2D type game, has cool scenery behind the sub and good underwater physics as well. Though it may look great, the game has a limited amount of levels. I completed the game in a short time and didn't have too much to do after that. Its a cool game that I would still recommend to a friend.
P.S. There is another Steel Diver game that came out just recently called Steel Diver Sub Wars. It is a 3D version of the original 2D version and it is ALOT more fun and you can play it for free at the Nintendo Eshop ($10 full version). You can explore 3D underwater caves and fight Online 4 vs 4 with a rank system that keeps you wanting to get higher and unlock more subs. I learned morse code FAST in this game as it is how you chat with other players. There is 18 subs plus 5 historical DLC subs in the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Skip this one
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/11
kryznic
Location: NJ
This game was a huge disappointment. The graphics are sub par, the levels, textures and game play is HIGHLY repetitive and gets old really quick. The best part of the game are the periscope attacks that last a whole minute or so at the end of each extraordinary mission that you complete. The controls are lame and the game play is atrocious, I mean you can go back and forth on any level with your sub, but you can't turn the d@mn thing around to shoot in the other direction or shoot aft torpedoes, yet the enemy can! Level design is mundane and lackluster, it was a chore to play this game. The other somewhat good part of this game was the local multi-player game which is like an advanced version of Battleship.
There has not been a good sub simulator around since Silent Service on the PC a looooooooong time ago. Don't waste your cash on this one, get Zelda Ocarina of time or what for other games being released this holiday.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Diver - 3DS
It has potential to be an original hit.
Posted on:3/16/11
SR388E102
Location: WA
This game has potential to be a sucess. When I first heard about this game, I had next to no interest in this game. I mean, what's so cool about playing as a submarine, when you are going so slow? But when I heard more and saw more about the game, it's now one of my most anticipated 3DS launch titles. Mostly because of how much mystery is in this game. The things I want to see in this game; is to have a stage where you explore Atlantis to dodge traps and fight sea monsters. Fight against the Kraken the size of gods (like god of war 3) as a boss in a middle of a storm, with whirlpools, lightning strikes, hurricanes, twisters, and a giant black hole in the sky, where the whole world depends on you, and the whole fate of the world rests in your hands! That would probably be the final boss. Also the volcano stage (from the trailer) where you not just fight rocks, but fight against fire sharks, battleships that shoot lava out of their cannons, dive into a skull castle with lava pouring out of its eyes, and a giant magma monster as a boss (somewhat like that boss from star fox 64 on that lava stage)! That would be awesome! I would love to see that when steel diver comes out! But it probably won't happen, oh well. I really hope Steel diver lives up to expectations. It probably won't live up to my expectations, but it will be an original hit. On the latest issue of nintendo power with an interview with Reggie, he said this is a can't miss title (as a launch title). That would be the other reason why I would get this game. And this an original title, and a new gameplay experience with the new gyroscope feature! I really hope it has what it takes to be an original hit, when it releases on March 27 2011!
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SR388E102
WA
 
Please wait while more information about SR388E102 is loaded.
Additional information about SR388E102 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Thanks! :)
Posted 4/9/11
I'm a man, just so you know. But thanks for liking it, I really appreciate it! :)
Customer Avatar
CAMmander
Space Station 28
 
Please wait while more information about CAMmander is loaded.
Additional information about CAMmander could not be loaded.
Posted 4/7/11
oh yeah! GREAT REVIEW MAN! or woman...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Good Game
Posted on:3/16/11
zezeldageekgama
Location: California, CA
I went to sanfransisco and they had 3ds there to play(for some add campaign)and I got to play steel diver it really lets you use all the features of 3ds and it's pretty fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Boat
Posted on:2/18/11
Newhandheldowner
Location: Aurora CO
I think that its great that they came out with a Sub Sim. I got a good chance to look at the game online. You get missions that intail sinking a lot of shiping and keep a look at the oxygen level in your boat so you keep your crew alive. You have to take on other subs and avoid things like under water volcanoes and depth charges, plus a lot more. Well i wont tell you all so you enjoy the game when you get it . Have lots of fun with that 3DS of yours. Bye!!
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Diver - 3DS
well made and FUN! dont judue a book by the cover
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
awsome if your pachent y rush wen u can tack ur time and live and make the most out of this framle of time! the grafixs look smosther with the 3D on and i wood say it the best loock hand held game as of 2011! its fun gieing your sub! a lot of guy well not play it cuz it loocks boring but traust me is not is a comply difert eperns to play it! nitendo ways puts game play ferst and haves hevenly well made levils the levil place mint and game play is good in nitendo games! the 3D water is interating with your sub on a 2D plane works. and thay is a other game on it wen you git to use the griro sckot to shoot ships its fun! the mischens are fun and difert form levil to levil! it may not loock that good on paper but boy it fun to play!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Diver - 3DS
a lot better than expected
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
Prash
steel diver was one of the most unexpected launch titles for 3DS, but that isn't a bad thing at all. the game is very slow paced, but don't let that scare you, it's quite a lot of fun. the 3D effect is very nice and the multiplayer is a nice touch. very good game for those with a lot of patience.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Yes or No
Posted on:3/20/11
Slick
Location: America
I'm hearing different reviews for this game, but i hope it is good. I'm going to wait for the reviews and i will see if ill buy.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Diver - 3DS
HOLY SHIP!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/13
dukeofcheese
Location: Ney York
This game is amazing. The Music, the effects, the graphics. It feels so real, and I feel like I am there. It just feels so realistic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Steel Diver - 3DS
I've heard it's slow
Posted on:2/24/11
wiigamer
People who have previewed this game said it's really slow, but I might buy this game when gamestop starts filling up with used ones.
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Good work nintendo!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
buggy1
Location: wisconsin,wi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok i can say that this game should have more content to it. It is a side scroller that has the controls of the submarine. Contains a adictive battleship that can be played mulitplayer or single (download play). The game also contains time trails. This game really shows off what the 3ds can do with its diverse environments. Good work nintendo!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Diver - 3DS
short and pretty boring game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/13
Krieg
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have had this game just lying around since I got my 3ds. Decided to give it a try to see if it was worth the game play. Well I finished it in just under 2 days. Was rather disappointed in how short of a game it was and how slow the gameplay is.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Would've been a good eShop title.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/12
stokedtrout
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Steel diver has an odd control scheme using only the touch screen to change the angle of the submarine, to go up/down, and to move forward, backwards. The game is very short, and it can get boring and sometimes very difficult. I bought this game when it first came out for $40. It definitely was not worth it, however this would have been a good eshop title for around $2. Some of the visuals are pretty, and the submarine scope mode using the gyro sensor is a blast and is actually more fun than the campaign. The somewhat "battle ship" style mini game is okay, but didn't play it for more that 30 minutes.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Honestly, it sucked. I can say it was a bit of fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think it sucked. It was fun though. Who has played any Rabbids games? My Sims Games? They're stupid right? But somehow you just wanna keep playing and having fun. Maybe it's because somewhere deep inside you, you know that Rabbids are so frickin awseome! And well you might think My Sims are cool for some reason... I dunno. And if you like blowing stuff up, and watching a whole movie about people singing about a yellow submarine, you can play this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Terrible!
Posted on:3/25/11
BOctober25
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Just watched a video review for this game. Lame, mediocre and boring. Looks like Nintendo will be on a roll like they did with the DS and release a bunch of these no happening games. Mario and Legend of Zelda will have to bring this system to life.
6 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SR388E102
WA
 
Please wait while more information about SR388E102 is loaded.
Additional information about SR388E102 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 4/26/11
If you're really skeptical about steel diver, I reccomend you rent it or wait for it to come down in price. Who knows, you'll might like it. :)
Customer Avatar
hunite
 
Please wait while more information about hunite is loaded.
Additional information about hunite could not be loaded.
Ocrena of Time
Posted 3/28/11
The Zelda game "Ocrena of Time" comes out later this year for 3DS
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Not that great of a game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
BiggestNintendoFan
Location: MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game after I got bored of PilotWings Resort. I made a bad choice. First of all, the controls are really weird compared other DS and 3DS games. If I were you, I wouldn't buy this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Looks sweet
Posted on:2/16/11
nintendo3dsfreak
I am definitely getting this on launch day! It looks like it's got some fun underwarer-combat gameplay. I am especially excited to be able to use the Nintendo 3DS's gyroscope to look through my submarine's periscope and take down enemy ships! >:)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Cant believe only 10 bucks for pre owned
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
Mariobrosfan
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i cannot believe this is only 10 dollars! I love this, it just gets really hard. When i let my friend play it he said he expected it to be 30$ for new and 25$ for used at gamestop but i told him it was 20$ for new and 10$ for used and he said he would buy that right away. There is alot of crazy combat and sidescrolling shooter which makes it get kinda hectic. the lasting appeal is fine as long as you like to replay levels. Only downside is there is only 20 levels in all modes.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Steel Diver - 3DS
Amazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/13
NintendoLoverWII
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love that this games controls feel so realistic and the mode when you move the camera to destroy ships is amazing too . Its hard,fun, and amazing, alot better than people say.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 next>>