GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS

nintendogs puppies are back in the palm of your hand on the Nintendo 3DS system, with even cuter and more expressive puppies and, for the first time, kittens! The fun from the original nintendogs game returns, with multiple breeds to choose from, accessories for your puppies and kittens to wear, and the ability to let your puppies and kittens train and compete in different challenges and activities.
Average Customer Rating:
8.56
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2584%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Review 1 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Better than the 1st nintendogs!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
Doglover101
Location: Asheville,NC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I really wanted this game, so when I got a Nintendo 3ds this game was the 1st on I bought! It is like nintendogs but they are more friendly than the 1st nintendogs! This is a great game for all ages! Note: there is a dog you can get later called a robo pup......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Fun and addictive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/13
IanF
Location: Cranston, RI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I personally love animals. I don`t know if this would be considered gay for guys, but I like it. It kept me stuck to my 3ds from day 1. I have had tons of fun with it. Very good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Great Pet Simulator.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
Slendermaniswatching
Location: Lousianna
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was one of the best games i have played. It was fun to take care of my pets and enter them into competitions.The only feature i did not like was having only a small amount of breeds to get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Not all it's cracked up to be!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/12
Andi224
Location: Wakefield
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I think that though the game has adorable animals, it could use some work. The walks are boring and the dog never listens. I think that this should be improved.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Must have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
buggy1
Location: wisconsin,wi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have wanted this game ever since it came out on launch, but other games have always got in my way, like steel diver, or poiletwings resort (at launch), so I never have bought it til the last day of July. I've heard great things about these games, but two see it in person is way better. You will have a spcial bond with any pet you get. The animal will reconize your voice and face, and if it's not your face the animal will act shy around the person. The toys and events will keep you coming back to some are even mario themed!!! As for the events, they are fun as well, even though some can frustrate you, just keep practicing with you amimal! The AR feature is great also! I have fun with taking pictures with my kitten in the game that looks just like my cat in real life! Great game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
amancool
Location: silver spring
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i love it its good the dogs look good i like this game you can take dogs for walk and shower them its fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
By Jarrett500
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/12
Jarrett500
Location: Virginia, United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is definitely a lot better than the original nintendogs, probably because of how realistic it is. That's not just because of the autostereoscopic effect, but because you get to look at a mii clerk at the stores you go to, and you get to look from behind your dog instead of beside it when you go for a walk, so you don't have to worry about missing anything. Also, the streetpass feature is really nice, but I don't know if you can meet that person during a walk, or if you can only see them in the park. Once again, it's a great game, so you should pick up a copy for yourself today!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Original is far, far better to me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
Alexis23489
Location: Grovetown,GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game would be great if you had other people to play it with. One of the things I don't like is that you can't take an agility competition and training the dogs to be obedient is very difficult compared to the older version. If you already have the original, I suggest you stick with it. :) If you're a cat person, there's a chance you may want it because they do have cats, which I do think is pretty cool.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
A Step up from the Old
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
TheAsianGamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My first DS game ever was Nintendogs. I was in 5th grade then and the cute puppys made me smile and I loved playing with them. But I grew out of the game seeing that once you clear everything and you have all the possible items under the rainbow the game wasn't fun anymore. When I got a 3DS my first thought was weather or not I should buy Nintendogs. Going with the kid in me I bought it. I'm so glad I bought this game. The 3D in the game is amazing, the cute puppys are back, and the new competitions are really cool. I'm not sure how long this game will keep me entertained but seeing how different this game is to the classic Nintendogs, I bet I'll still be playing this by next year.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DSLLover
...
 
Please wait while more information about DSLLover is loaded.
Additional information about DSLLover could not be loaded.
If only it was for the plan DS too..
Posted 3/27/12
if it was for the plan DS too i would buy this in a heartbeat.... but sadly it's not...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Puppy tastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/11
mansta
Location: New Jersey, NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i have a shipa and his name is marshmello! and he always wants to play with the lure and the ballon!the contest are hard! the game is the best 3ds game i played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Awesome =D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
SmexiNerd
Location: Seattle, Washington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Probably one of the best games I have ever played xD EPIC =D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
AMAZING-NESS XD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
AlphaWolf
Location: Chiacgo
THIS GAME IS JUST AMAZING.............GET IT!!!! THIS GAME IS JUST SO ADORABLE AND RELAXING (COMING FROM A HARDCORE GAMER!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Not much better than the original...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
dengar147
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I've lost interest in this game, but it can be fun, if you like this type of game, which is taking care of pets. If you like action games, obviously this game will bore you out of your mind. It's annoying how if you don't play it for a few days, you have to give your pets baths which can take a long time. But they are shorter than the orginal. It's better, but not incredible.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Super cute and fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
Audriana
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I enjoyed the original Nintendogs which was actually the first DS game I ever owned, so I knew I'd love this, especially since it has kitties! The graphics are excellent, the fur on the puppies and kittens is very lifelike. I really have to keep the 3DS in the perfect spot for it to look perfect, however. The competitions are fun, though I've only tried lure coursing. I like how there are a lot more walk options and decorations for your home. Overall a very cute game, great for chillin' after a long day!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
It's Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
OshawottSolosis
Location: Rosemead,California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I would recommend this game to First time users of 3DS. It's for like testing 3D, 1st 3DS Game, and experience the Awesomeness of Nintendo's magic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
lot's of improvements
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
starprincess239
Location: bronx,ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game when i got my 3ds.The game has improved by so much,the sounds are more realistic and the animals also look more real.You have better competitions like the lure competition.You get more accessories and you can go inside the pet cafe and you can go through secret path ways also you can go through the mountains and take a walk.Lastly you can have more than dogs.....you can have CATS too.Overal the game is fantastic and fun and i spend hours on it there is a new adventure everyday.I reccomend this to anyone who loves animals.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Fun for a few days then...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/11
supervideoman22
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I love nintendogs for the DS and I was hoping for a big change in the gameplay for nintendogs+cats but it pretty much the same game as the DS version but a change in the walks, a new competition, cats and of course the 3D, which isn't that eye popping more of looking like you can go farther back into the game (dept). Also the cats SUCK! They don't do anything at all but be cute, fuzzy and a toy for your dog. But if you have had very little time with the first nintendogs or haven't even played it at all then this is the game for you! If you love Halo or Call of Duty then this game will suck for you. Also the game gets a little boring after a few days of playing it (unless you have 1 millions dollars). So to sum it up this game wasn't the best for the 3ds but a great game for a 5-10 age or new gamers to the title (its not really worth the money it cost)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Review from IGN (the pros)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AC3DS
 
Please wait while more information about AC3DS is loaded.
Additional information about AC3DS could not be loaded.
I love Nintendogs+ Cats
Posted 4/29/12
hey, wats up i went 2 gamestop and they said that they did not have it and i was so sad and disappointed although, i was happy because i got icecream afterwards, when i was there i sold 12 ds games and got 16.00 for em it was good...... i will get it after my birthday comes which is soon :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Great Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/11
MrGrimGamer
Location: Nintendoworld
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Now I have read other reviews and to tell you the truth I don't know what their thinking. They must have their mind set on no violence=no fun. Well I'm here to tell you that this game is very fun. Now if you have played the earlier Nintendogs, than you know what to expect. The point of the game is pretty much to care for your animals, find goodies, and do competitions. You get one dog to start out with, but you can buy more later in the game. Now the great thing about this game is that it technically has unlimited replay value. The game allows you to walk your dog and participate in dog competitions (Lure coursing, Disc, and Obedience trial). With the money you get in competitions, you spend on supplies and toys for your animals. Walking your dog also gives you goodies because you find presents on the road. There is also the Streetpass feature that lets you play with the other players animal(s). The 3d of this game is also very good. I find myself just petting my dog or cat just for fun. Final verdict, it's a fun,long game ,and you will like it for sure if you enjoyed the first Nintendogs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
This is a really fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/11
NintendoGuy93
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the first game i have for my Nintendo 3DS and I think its awesome. its fun to just pick up and play the Gameplay is way better than the first Nintendogs. so I have to say Nintendogs + Cats: Golden Retriever and Friends is a good choice for anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for nintendogs + cats: Golden Retriever and New Friends - 3DS
Leisure Activity
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/11
IAmBunnyMan
Location: Pottstown, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best launch titles. Nintendogs+Cats is a sequal of the original Nintendogs. There is a LOT to say for this small game. First of all, 3D! This game was built for the 3DS, so in sense this game is 3D. This game has the best 3D. When you're playing it, it looks like you're looking through a small window. Things don't pop out of the screen too much though, but that's a good thing. It means it doesn't always remind you saying, "Hey! I'm 3D!" The second thing to talk about is the graphics. People now a days care a LOT for graphics. But let me tell you, when you compare this to the DS, there is a HUGE difference! The graphics looks almost Wii like, maybe even better. I love how when you play the game, you see the puppy's fur detail. It looks so realistic. And the backgrounds don't look at all pixely. The next thing is the gameplay. It's fun to play around with! I love when I pet the puppy, the hand positions itself where I'm petting it. Like if I'm petting the dog's back, the hand will be flat, facing the back. Unlike the original where the hand stays the same position. One flaw though is they took out the Agility Trial and replaced it with a Lure Competition. I liked the Agility Trails, it was more dog like to do. Plus Lure Competition is HARD.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>