GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Paper Mario: Sticker Star

An Imaginative Paper Mario Adventure with a Sticky Twist A sticky situation has never been so fun! There's trouble afoot in the town of Decalburg, where the devious Bowser has disrupted the beloved Sticker Fest by causing the Sticker Comet to explode. Now Royal Stickers and pieces of the comet have been flung far and wide, and it's up to Mario and his ally Kersti to set things right by recovering them. This captivating hand-held Adventure will have new and experienced fans of the Paper Mario series captivated as they navigate colorful 3D environments, defeat enemies, collect oodles of stickers and items and use them in a variety of fun ways.
Average Customer Rating:
6.933
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (183 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
14
8 stars
10
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
36 out of 6060%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Review 1 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Will be amazing
Posted on:5/16/11
Nick0320
Location: Lincoln, CA
To clarify to all those people who seem to be confused about what this is; it is not a port of the N64 version. and those of you who have only played the wii one it will be entirely different to you since all the ones before the wii were not 2d platformers. they were RPG's. this is a brand new 3d title. will feature a new story, new characters, and they added "stickers" to help you in battle similar to other items in previous paper mario games (except wii. idk why they changed the gameplay style on that title). trailers so far have shown mario with a partner chomp chomp and is the only known partner at the time. if at all like the previous ones (except wii) this will be an awesome game. also i dont have anything against the wii one, but paper mario was meant to be an RPG, always will be. :D paper mario wii players out there. it's important that you know what your getting.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
this is not my youtube video! it is property of the person shown at the bottom of the video
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Worst Paper Mario (/rpg) EVER MADE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/14
ProphisMusic
Location: Minneapolis
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I Loved the first three paper Mario games with a passion. This game is the biggest disappointment i've had in years. there are no badges, and no leveling up at all. the fighting system is completely ruined. it's based on stickers you find, and once you use that sticker in battle, it is gone forever. that's right, mario has absolutely zero moves. the entier game has almost no sense of progression due to this, it's just a giant sticker hunt. WHYYY did they have to do this. The world map also has been destroyed, ever stage is now labeled like "world 2-3". you aren't free to just roam and explore, it actually says each screen is a level. I just hate everything they've done and it's so sad because the graphics, music, and controls are all perfect. it's just the game itself is one of the worst mario's of all time. I absolutely hate what they did to this game. Zero
replay value, feels more like a chore than a game with a world to explore.
NINTENDO- YOU SHOT YOURSELVES IN THE FOOT with this one. if it ain't broke- don't try an fix it. They should port paper mario 64 to the 3ds and it would be a million times better than this garbage. that or put out a new 3D paper mario that goes back to the roots. this sticker stuff total is garbage. I don't do reviews often, but i HAD to write this. Got it for $10 at gamestop- thought it was a steal.. but now i know , they know how bad it is. im embarrassed to have this in my collection. it's really that bad and it may only be worth $5 for kids ages 4-8. again WARNING: THIS IS NOT A GOOD GAME.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
OMG...
Posted on:2/24/11
ClassicGamer325
Location: behind the laptop
YES YES YES.Paper mario 3ds will be turn based again,have classic mario related partners like a chain chomp,new power ups like the frog suit,and rumored and looks like a "sticker" gameplay mechanic .The rumored "sticker" gameplay mechanic is sorta like "oh no a missing bridge and u take a sticker of one put it on where the bridge should be and you can now pass".Check it out if you liked paper mario 64,paper mario ttyd,or super mario rpg.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Papermariocrazy
California, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Papermariocrazy is loaded.
Additional information about Papermariocrazy could not be loaded.
: 0
Posted 4/11/11
... EEPPIICC!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
It LOOKS pretty good.
Posted on:7/31/12
PIKA101
Location: Viridian City
i think this game looks decent except that your probably going to have to use stickers to use the jump attack. :(
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maxel
America
 
Please wait while more information about Maxel is loaded.
Additional information about Maxel could not be loaded.
Finally
Posted 10/6/12
I per-ordered the game some time is September 2011 along with Luigi’s Mansion Dark Moon.
I still would hope that Nintendo will stay with what they said that the two games would come out at the same time. I was a bit sad that some people said that Luigi’s Mansion Dark Moon would come out on February 4th 2013. But then I read that Paper Mario was coming out on November 11th 2012 and I saw hope again that I mite not have to wait a hole year before I got it. So anyone who wants both games don't give up hope. And please no hate about Paper Mario or Luigi’s Mansion Dark Moon.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
A NEW Paper Mario Game
Posted on:5/10/11
ShadJV
Location: Rochester, NY
I've seen much confusion about this game and would like to clarify... this is NOT the original Paper Mario from the Nintendo 64. This is an all new Paper Mario game (see the Youtube for proof) that has yet to be subtitled. That being said, this should be a great game. It's the fourth game in the series, and I don't know if it relies on any previous titles for story, though I doubt it because the stories have been fairly independent. It's definitely meant as a comical series and, well, my recommendation is to play a previous title to determine whether you want this. The original Paper Mario is only $10 on the Wii's Virtual Console, and Paper Mario and the Thousand Year Door can be bought used for the GameCube (which obviously runs on the Wii as well). However, do not try Super Paper Mario for the Wii thinking the gameplay will be the same; that was a completely different style of game and won't give you a good idea if this is worth a purchase for you.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Gameplay Footage from Nintendo World 2011
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MindCraft
 
Please wait while more information about MindCraft is loaded.
Additional information about MindCraft could not be loaded.
wOOh!!!!!!!!
Posted 6/29/11
I AM PSYCHED FOR THIS GAME! I have all 3 versions and I am certain this one will be the best in the entire series. Everyone at my local Game Stop says that it wont be released until after christmas, but my findings that i have been uncovering say otherwise i predict that it will be released in late september. OH man i hope so!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Looks Different! I like change!
Posted on:10/8/11
Papermariocrazy
Location: California, CA
Looks like a very great game. The mechanics are a big change to the series, but Super Paper Mario turned out great and that was a big change. I have a feeling this will be the best in the series. It looks kind of childish, but otherwise it looks kind of cool, AND HUMOROUS, especially considering the way that Nintendo renders the 3D effects for the game. I'm looking very forward to it!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
paper mario is back to a real rpg woooooot
Posted on:9/5/11
MRcool55
Location: NY
it looks like a lot of fun cuse this time it's A REAL RPG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
EPIC GAME!!!
Posted on:2/22/11
GreenBull92
After only seeing a few pictures its safe to assume that this game will be a top contender in the first party games category.
More than likely we will see the use of Mario's new 3-D ability to alter his world ala' Super Paper Mario. But the combat system has been supposedly been scaled back to the first two iterations of the series.
All in all I think this game will get a 4/5 for excellent story telling but use of repetitive tactics from previous titles may prove to bore veterans of the series. Where are you in the moral court?
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Trailer from Nintendo World in Japan
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Whens it out???
Posted on:7/19/11
td1234
Location: Westford, MA
I know its aug. but what day?... thanks td12341234
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
tralier for game
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XM22MRREDZONE
U.S.A,VA,FREDERICKSBURG
 
Please wait while more information about XM22MRREDZONE is loaded.
Additional information about XM22MRREDZONE could not be loaded.
exciting
Posted 8/25/11
this is gonna be 1 exciting mario game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Must-Have
Posted on:11/6/12
Bub474
Location: Dallas
Paper Mario: Sticker Star is a must have. If you have a Nintendo 3DS, this is one of those games you want!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Hope the story is epic
Posted on:4/9/12
Camx60
Location: Aurora IL
(WARNING) If you havn't played Paper Mario and The Thousand Year Door DO NOT READ this preview. I hopeing Nintendo puts as much care the the story as they did for Paper Mario and The Thousand Year Door and Super Paper Mario. Now i'm not a big fan of Super Paper Mario but they did do a good job on the story. Paper Mario and The Thousand Year Door is my favorite game. Why is it? it's becaues of the story. It's so epic when Proffesor Frankly tells Mario the X-Nauts opened the thousand year door only finding out later The Shadow Sirums tricked him. I'm hopeing Nintendo makes a epic beafy story. One I can play more than once and not get tired of. In the trailer from E3 2011 showed a book in the begining of the trailer. In the book on a page it shows some crowns. These crowns might be part of the story and in a picture Mario is holding a book in his hand. The book might tell Mario wre to go in the game threw each chapter or something. I pre ordered the game and I'm looking forward to playing the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
2D Paper Mario meets 3D.
Posted on:8/21/11
InternetGamer
Location: PA
I thought they'd stop at Super Paper Mario, but I shouldn'tve doubted Nintendo. Paper Mario in 3D sounds ironic, yet I bet the game will be as good as TTYD and the original on the N64. I truthfully liked that they brought back the old battling system, Super Paper Mario's was fine, yes, but it didn't really fit the series. I also hope they don't only have a chain chomp as a partner, as in the trailer the only time we see Mario with a partner is with a Chain Chomp. I'd say a Hammer Bro (Not named) deserves a spot, yet i'm not sure why a Hammer Bro working for Bowser would join Mario on his quest. Maybe Rowf? We saw him in TTYD. A Boo could also be a partner, or maybe even a Cheep Cheep, or Blooper or Buzzy Beetle, gah the possibilites are endless. I hope the Chapter system returns or something of the sort. Overall i'd give this game a 9.5/10, but until I actually play the game I wouldn't know. One last thing, I noticed the Turn System is a bit odd, this time I actually WANT a tutorial on how to use it.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Nintendo, Take Your Time
Posted on:9/6/11
LevyTheAmishMan
I am a fan of the Paper Mario series from the first time I played the first game for the Nintendo 64. It was an incredible idea and I thought the game was cleverly made, from the dialogue to the combat. This showed that Nintendo has many great ideas (mostly from inside the mind of Miyamoto) and they are willing to share their creations to the entire world. More ideas came for the sequel, The Thousand Year Door, and it had more than the original couldn't contain in the N64 circuitry. The third one in the series was a good concept, but it lacked in the idea of a role-playing game. It was a let down, but I still enjoyed the game quite well. Now that I see the new Paper Mario trailer for the 3DS, I'm happy seeing the return of the role-playing combat concept back in the series. So Nintendo...if I were you, take your time with this beautiful gem. I am patient enough to wait an extra year to own this beautiful game.
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Fun Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
3dsxlgamer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have only played Super Paper Mario in the Paper Mario series, which has an amazing story, but messed up with the non-turn based RPG fighting system. This game takes the series back to the old turn based system, which is a good thing. Still, there is basically no story in the game. Bowser doesn't even talk. All the characters are toads except Wiggler, Peach, Kersti, Bowser, Bowser Jr., and Mario. The game is challenging in a way that you have to look in every corner, and think outside the box. Speaking of which, the 3D looks like your looking into an actual shoe box. The graphics are the best in the Paper Mario series by far.It takes the paper idea to a whole new level. It is true the game takes out partners, but replaces them with stickers. Overall the game did take out a lot of great aspects of the Paper Mario series. Still, the game is fun, which is all that matters. I would recommend this game to newcomers of the series, but old time fans should still pick it up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Sticky Situation!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/12
Damian91
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, I'm a big paper mario fan. This game is a hybrid of the first two paper mario's and super paper mario for the wii. There are 6 worlds, 6 main bosses including the final boss, and mini bosses throughout the game. There are no exp points so battles with enemies can be pointless but the more you beat the more coins you get at the end of the level to purchase more stickers and goods. So battles are not all that pointless. The combat system is fun like the first two paper mario games. The graphics are beautiful and the environments look stunning. I've got to say that this game is the most tricky paper mario game. You'll find yourself in many sticky situations throughout the game and you will get stuck without a strategy guide. I finally completed the game and took me 25 hours but of course I got stuck many times and did many sides quests like filling up the sticker museum and hunting down hp up's scattered throughout the game so that took up gameplay time so I say this game would be around 20 hours to complete if you know what to do/ have a strategy guide.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
I Have Mixed Feelings
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
MrOtterland
Location: New York, NY
After the abomination that was Super Paper Mario I was very happy to see Paper Mario going back to it's roots. But unfortunately we still haven't gotten back to those good ol' N64 and Gamecube days. They brought back the battle system but it still isn't "jump" or "use items". You have to use stickers, all with different powers. Which when going through long or hard levels can feel very low on stock. The story was always one of the best parts of Paper Mario and even Super Paper Mario knew that. Sadly this game has little to no story other than the first and last cutscenes. I really wish Nintendo would sit down and say we are going to make a Paper Mario exactly like the original but with a new story and new partners. Speaking of partners this game has none except for this crown girl. It's better than Super Paper Mario but is still not willing to be called a Paper Mario game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
fawfulthegreat64
New York
 
Please wait while more information about fawfulthegreat64 is loaded.
Additional information about fawfulthegreat64 could not be loaded.
Hey! Super Paper Mario was great!
Posted 8/19/13
I cringe every time I hear how "bad" Super Paper Mario is. It had the best story ever in a Mario game, and this junk can't ever compare to it! In fact, I'd like a Super Paper Mario SEQUEL. It had a great concept! Not every RPG has to be turn-based, and at least SPM still has the CHARM of the series, unlike Sticker Star, which is just NSMB: Papercraft Edition! Super Paper Mario has more soul than any Mario game, and I LOATHE people who call that gem an "abomination." You must have skipped through the text if that's your opinion on it, because if you actually read the text, you'd feel connected to the characters and be sad at the end. Sticker Star took all that deep soul and threw it out the window. SPM is MUCH more of an RPG than Sticker Star.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
An insult to its predecessors.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/14
Zezin
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I HATE this game. Stand alone it may have been decent. But this was supposed to be the long awaited 4th installment of the Paper Mario series. The first three games were glorious, with unique situations, captivating plot, engaging gameplay, and witty humor. This game however, follows the generic Mario formula with generic worlds, and a boring storyline. The combat system sucks too. The stickers make fighting so boring and nearly painful. This game is awful. If you liked the first three games, then you will hate this one.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
I think this game will do great
Posted on:9/11/11
nitro777
Location: NY
Paper Mario is my Favorite series and none of it's games have dissapointed me in the slightest bit, so I have high hopes for this one. When they changed things up in super paper mario it didn't bother me, it was kind of like the kirby's epic yarn of the series but it actually did pretty well, though it's nice to know they're not doing the same thing again(didn't think they would anyway). I myself think this game will do very well and bring in a ton more buyers for the 3DS . Judging by the way the games in the series have had more side quests and extras each game that comes out, this game Probably won't get as good ratings if it doesn't have enough. I'd amagine as long as they keep the things everyone wants from the previous games, fit it in with the new stuff niceley, have an at least decent storyline, hopefully get in some partners, and have some of the same gameplay as the other games, it should make the best paper mario game I think I'll ever play (plus its the main reason I'm getting a 3DS, and because the red one looks awesome).
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
Looks amazing!!
Posted on:10/14/11
pokeman4512
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
This game looks awesome! And there is also the return of RPG battling, something that was left out of Super Paper Mario. Also, you can get a chain-chomp partner!! So that's an added boost in fire power. I also saw on ______.com (Gamestop won't let me say the name. It's not bad, but it's competition) that they're going to make a Paper Mario for the DS!!! CLICK THUMBS UP IF YOU'RE PSYCHED FOR THESE GAMES!!!! :D Oh by the way, Paper Mario DS is result #16 on the website.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RCMgamer218
 
Please wait while more information about RCMgamer218 is loaded.
Additional information about RCMgamer218 could not be loaded.
Finally, Paper Mario on the go!
Posted 1/6/12
I've been looking forward to this ever since I first heard about it at the E3 conference last year. I love the Paper Mario series; one of the best Nintendo series in existence. It was Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door that got me into RPG's. I'm so looking forward to this game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Paper Mario: Sticker Star
A betrayal to the Paper Mario series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/14
Patcholias
None of the beauty of past Paper Mario games seems to have carried over into this unfortunate installation. While in the old games, you were given a reason to not simply avoid enemies (start points, which functioned like experience points in any other RPG), this game seems to encourage speeding through the game, and only fighting enemies that Mario cannot just walk past. There is no experience/level system, and Mario's ability to battle is determined by the number and quality of resources (stickers) that he has at his disposal. Since there's no real motivation to fight (as stickers are a finite resource that you will run out of, should you choose to fight every enemy you encounter), the logical thing to do is avoid enemies, and save your stickers for the battles that cannot be skipped. So sure, you could play for just the story if you're into that, but it isn't really the strongest either (I'll leave spoilers out of my review, however). Every dialogue in which Mario engages seems to be laced with attempts at humor by playing off the fact that the whole world, and all of its inhabitants, are made of paper. Does the game succeed in any way? The graphics are good, but the animation style isn't overly appealing compared to any of the other games in the series, as Nintendo tries to make the world look more and more like real paper. This game certainly doesn't set any new standards for the Paper Mario series, or for the RPG genre. Paper Mario Sticker Star is a disappointingly large step backward for Nintendo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>