GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill Downpour

Murphy Pendleton has been incarcerated for several years, having had his sentence extended once already. Due to his history at Ryall State Prison, he is being transferred to nearby Wayside Maximum Security Penitentiary - but a freak accident cuts the journey short. Waking up in a forest next to the wrecked bus, Murphy has a clear shot at freedom. He makes his way into the sleepy town of Silent Hill where mysterious locals welcome him into a slowly developing personal hell. Silent Hill Downpour is the latest Silent Hill game offering the familiar Survival Horror gameplay delivered in the most defined visual quality to date. The game also expands on the exploration theme of the franchise both design-wise and through psychological torture, ambient story, horrific enemies and self-evaluative questions of despair.
Average Customer Rating:
8.419
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
12
8 stars
9
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
39 out of 4391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill Downpour
Review 1 for Silent Hill Downpour
SKULLCRASHER REVIEW OF SILENT HILL DOWNPOUR
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
Skullcrasher
Location: millers creek
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome if u haven't played it yet get it u will like it if u are in to horror games and if you're not into horror games then you probably shouldn't get this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Silent Hill Downpour
Well done
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/13
Rate
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now this is my first silent hill game I have ever played. After I played this game I became a fan of silent hill. It is one of the scariest and creepiest games I have ever played, but sadly the game has issues that hold it back from being the best horror game ever. First I want to talk about the good things in the game. Silent hill has a very interesting story that want you to know more, but in order to find out more about the story you have to the read the files that you collect which is very cool. In silent hill, you follow Murphy has he's being transfer to a new prison. When Murphy reaches the bus this female cop stops you and looks at you like she's mad at you. This tells you right away that Murphy did something to make her mad. Murphy then gets on the bus and being transfer. The other prisoners asking you "is true? Did you do it?" This brings a big questions to your head. That when the bus crashes and this is where the game begins. Now in order to find out what Murphy did to get in prison you have to read the files. There's also a BIG twist and surprises in the game as well that will leave you jaw dropped. At first you're not in silent hill. The Devils Den. Now this part is not much free roaming, but there are a lot of puzzles easy or hard depending the difficulty you put it on. I put it hard and OMG the puzzles where really hard. It took me a long time to figure out the puzzles. Also keep in mind that the environment is very well detailed and CREEPY. The creatures you encounter are also well done, but also they represent people you met or know. Which is pretty interesting. Speaking of creatures in the game, they are terrifying like these ghost that can be killed if you destroy the manikin. Now of you can go through this game without killing by simpling knocking them down. Now back to the environment. When you reach silent hill it turns into a free roaming game with lots of mysteries. Silent hill is creepy and well detailed. Now they added something which I thought was cool. They added side missions and WHICH ARE DOWN RIGHT CREEPY AND SCARY. There are a lot of times that you're going be to be like NOPE not going in there. Some of the missions can't be completed in till you reach the other parts of silent hill. There's a lot to explore in silent hill, but be careful when its raining because the enemies are a lot more vicious. Through out the game there's a guy on the radio calling out to you and claiming he know a way out of silent hill. Also there's decision making at times but these don't change the out come these are more of morality choices. The voice acting in the game is OK not great especially the kids that you meet in the game. The game has 10 hours plus campaign, but if do the side mission I imagine you get 12 - 15 hours of game play. There's also 7 different endings to the game. 2 are secret endings and the other 5 you get through you choices. The really good ending is going to be hard to get because you have to make all the right decisions and don't kill a SINGLE monster. So have fun with that. Also I forgot to mention instead of pyramid head being the scary monster that you face you get the BOOGEY MAN. Now in my opinion the boogey man is not as scary as pyramid head. There are so much to cover in this game, but I'm gonna stop there and focus on the Cons in the game. The game seems to have a texture pop in problem almost every time it has to loads. It takes like 7 seconds for it to pop in which is not good. Also the combat system is not that good either. It kind of feels sluggish. I choice to ignore it the best I could. Now those are the tom major problems plus not good voice acting with the kids it brings the game down from being perfect. So that why I give this game a 7/10 its a great game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Silent Hill Downpour
Simply amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/13
hgnhmfy
This.. is such an awesome game, honestly. I personally love horror and logical games that make you think, and it really fits the bill. Some people just overlook it because they don't pay attention to what's going on and what the characters are saying, but really, it's worth it. The Silent Hill series in itself is freaking amazing, but Downpour has to be one of my favorites.
The storyline reallyreally makes the game worth it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Silent Hill Downpour
Silent Hill Downpour: The Good, the Bad, and Ugly
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/13
iDast
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mind you, I'm not completely done with the game yet, which doesn't matter, as I wouldn't put spoilers in any game review that I do, now, or in the future, but what I have played of this game, I deem reviewable, so, here I am, writing a review. Silent Hill Downpour is a separate story from the rest of the games, as most of them are, despite one or two games(EX: Silent Hill 3, Silent Hill Origins). In Silent Hill Downpour, we follow or protagonist, Murphy Pendleton, a prisoner. The game doesn't actually really start in till we enter Silent Hill, and heck, we don't even actually 'enter' Silent Hill in till about halfway through the game itself. This time, instead of receiving a letter from a dead wife, or going to Silent Hill bent on revenge, we are thrown into the world in an accident(not on). The bus transporting Mr. Pendleton from one prison to another, crashed, in an effort not to drive off a cliff, which happens anyway, and this, is where the game takes off. I won't spoil anything for you, but I will be breaking my review down into a few categories, which will be as followed. Let's begin with the monsters, though scary, they aren't cringe worthy, or nightmare inducing like in previous games. I'd rate them 6/10. Graphics are superb, 10/10. Gameplay is very well done, there is no more need to hold R2 and then mash another button to attack, all controls are mapped out to a specific button, but, by doing so, some controls, like the flashlight, are given very odd controls. To turn on the flash light, one must now press in the L button, or toggle L, which is actually pushing in the left analog stick. Weird, right? I have also experienced some lag, not anything rage worthy, but still annoying, so I'd rate gameplay a 7.5/10. Continuity is done amazingly, though this is a new story line all together, it has a few easter eggs which sets this game perfectly in the Silent Hill world, 10/10. Character development is a bit off, as I've read that some characters aren't exactly fully fleshed out in till the end, and I've also read that there are three endings, which are independent from one another, so, character development I'd rate 7/10. Music, music has always been a big part of Silent Hill, and though the music is good, it isn't Akira Yamaoka, I mean, the music isn't bad, but it could be better, 8/10. Weapons, weapons are great and all, but you're only allowed to carry two, and all melee weapons break eventually, much like in Silent Hill Origins, only thing is though, in Downpour, you'd be lucky enough to find an ax in every area, and trust me, the areas are BIG, and this is a pain, the guns, from what I've seen, are nice, I've experienced a shotgun, a nail gun, a colt, and a golden gun, all on my play through, but be careful, ammo is more scarce than ever, so, conserve, conserve, conserve. 9/10. Silent Hill itself is the best I've ever seen it. The developers really played on the fact that it was once a resort town, so all areas are stunningly beautiful, in their own way. Side quests, a new feature, is introduced, which will keep you hunting around Silent Hill for hours upon hours, I've read that it could take you up to EIGHT hours just to explore everything, 10/10. Combat is tricky at first, but you'll get used to it, but with only a few monsters, believe me, there are a few, much less than previous installments, I could count them all on one hand, everything will get simplistic after awhile, and you'll know exactly when to kill monsters when the time comes, also, the blocking system is sketchy, you've been warned, 5/10. Now, last but not least, the story, as I've said I haven't completely finished the game yet, but what I have played of it, the story is very well written, with some minor flaws and plot holes that I hope will be tied up nicely towards the end, 9.5/10. And this concludes my review, would I recommend this game to a friend? Yes, yes I would. It's an amazing game, a newer Silent Hill game that I actually care to say I like. Go out and buy it if you're a Silent Hill fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silent Hill Downpour
Silent Hill does it again...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/13
dyslexicboy111
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played this Silent Hill and I must say...this is amazing! This was my first ever Silent Hill game and I bought it when it was first released. There are plenty of side quests plus most of them, can give you a good scare. You start off as a man by name of Murphy Pendleton and you are looking for someone. The only negative influence in this game is the lag. There is so much lag in this game, especially when you see the 'Saving' symbol at the top right corner of the game. Overall, this game is great but not perfect and I think they can do much better. This game is in a third person view plus you get tons of weapons but be careful. Your weapons starts to wear out once you use it. This game is realistic and you can actually see Silent Hill. This and Silent Hill: Homecoming are the only two Silent Hill games that I own. I'm not a Silent Hill fan and I'm towards becoming one (since they are awesome).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Silent Hill Downpour
A Modern Silent Hill Experience
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
BlackClaudia
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to admit I started to worry about this game shortly before its release. After years of titles in the series that... well, weren't up to the standards set by the originals, I was worried that this game would have many of the same problems. Thankfully, I can say my doubts were gone within a few hours of this game.
This game uses some of the characteristics used in the old SH classics, but adds a more modern touch to gameplay. The creepy atmosphere is still there, but there's less emphasis on fog and instead uses rain. Many fans were upset about this change, but I think it worked very well. The game is still scary and has some very creepy enviroments. The monsters, however, are less than impressive. They look TOO human, unlike the distorted and horrifying monsters from the older games.
The gameplay is a definite improvement over Homecoming, but it is still far from perfect. Sometimes is just seems like Murphy is swinging his weapon around like an idiot, flying in whatever direction he wants. But it's better than most of the series. Unlike Homecoming, you won't have to focus as much of fighting anyway, much like the older titles. So this isn't that big a deal.
The characters themselves are great. Murphy is a great protagonist. He's likeable, believable, and even a bit relatable. The supporting characters are great too. My only complaint here is that there are a couple of characters that lack explanation. Who are they? Where did they come from? How are they here? Do they even exist? We can't be sure.
Overall, Downpour is a good game with a nice story and scary atmosphere that really brings back some fond memories of the classic games. It's not AS good as the oldies, but it's certainly the best I've seen in a while.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Amnesia: The Dark Descent
9.9 out of 10(38)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Silent Hill Downpour
Fun, Fun and More Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
ILikeIt
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So glad I picked up this title. Once my character got away from the Devil's Pit, where the game begins, and into the town of Silent Hill, I was so amazed by the game. There is a very big map to explore and the player can enter many of the buildings.
Your character will be given hints of where to go in the main story through cutscenes. The scenes are interesting, as well as the character's background story. But to get the most out of this game, explore around and find side quests.
I've played every Silent on the PS1, PS2 and PS3 consoles. This is definately a good one. Players who give this game a bad review and compare it to SH2 and SH3 are being unreasonable and might simply remember their first SH playing experience when they were younger and trying to recapture that original thrill. If Downpour had been the first SH they had played, they may have felt differently about this game.
The play and story for every Silent Hill should be different because every character that enters the town has their own personal issues and their own personal demons. The creators for this game did very well with this. The monsters, the creepy areas and even the rain all tie into the main character's story. And like the movie "Jacob's Ladder", the main character is on a quest to discover what is wrong with SH and the things he is seeing.
There are a few buggy things about the game, such as some slowdown of gameplay when lots of textures load and camera angles can sometimes be frustrating, but these issues never ruined my enjoyement of the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Silent Hill Downpour
Great with a few hiccups
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
Rosebud1003
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played all of the previous SH games except for Homecoming, and none of the REALLY came to disappoint me though some were obviously better than others. The originals will always be the best but when it comes to this game its very fresh and new. The experience is shifted from the other ones neither in a good nor bad way. I put long term appeal low because I dont feel a compulsion to go back to the game, the atmosphere just doesnt beg you to come back.The controls were a bit new and had a little bit of a better flow, plus the doors allowed you to peek around the corner before deciding wheter or not you wanted to go through it. The story was psychologically great and it emphasizes on the character much like the originals more than the action, which was great. The ONLY REASON I gave the game a low sound rating was because of the sound track not the sound quality. The soundtrack wasnt earie like the others but a bit more action oriented.I am not an open sandbox kind of person so I prefer the older more directed games but others may feel differently.The problem at first I had with the game was that it doesnt REALLY feel like an SH game. It has a new atmosphere about it but as an independant game its amazing.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Hill Downpour
The best Game cosept sence the first Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
Pandora2005
Location: Lakeside CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story was intresting it always keeped me guesing. The fact its an open sand box game for silent hill was amazing and really worked for this game. Not wanting to spoil the game for anyone that hasnt played it yet check everything and keep your eyes open.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Silent Hill Downpour
Don't hate on Silent Hill Downpour
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
imaStarr
Location: az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Silent hill has always kept things fresh bringing in new characters and gameplay that players excpect from games this generation. I have to say the game is pretty cool you can go in any door not like old silent hill games,more of a free roam experience that adds more replayability like multiple endings based on your choice that other games ditched on along time ago. If you are into horror games buy Silent Hill Downpour if you are into action look at resident evil. psn thekingspartan
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Silent Hill Downpour
As a long time fan of SH, I love this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
Rain907
As stated, I am a long-time fan of Silent Hill, and I cannot express the rage I felt over Origins and Home Coming. Both of those were TERRIBLE games with no right to be included in the Silent Hill series (Home Coming more so than Origins, but I digress...) Is this game a clone of games 1-3? No. Butit does have the feel of a Silent Hill game. The focus was (finally) taken off the action and put back onto the characters, which is something I feel games 1-3 emphasized greatly and has always been central to the franchise. There's also a lot more analysis needed to understand what's going on in this game as it hints at playing on two people's psyches, so it's very open-ended, as far as environment and creatures go. I also found the optional quests and references to the old games very enjoyable. Downpour is different, but that doesn't make it bad. As Silent Hill ages, it has to evolve with it's audience and Downpour does that effectively; it keeps the basics but gave the town the updating it needed. That being said; the lag in this game can get pretty bad at some points (For me personally it never became much more than a minor annoyance, but a friend was killed or had to reload several times due to a glitch), and the creatures, while interesting, were repetitive. There were only 5 kinds of enemies minus the penultimate boss. So graphics and repetitive enemies are where this game loses points. If you can't stand the glitches, get bored looking at same enemy types over and over, and want a replay of one of the original games, don't play it. But if you can get past those points, it's a very enjoyable game that does a good job at reviving Silent Hill.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silent Hill Downpour
Put it down, and pick up Resident ORC...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/12
bunny5f6
Location: lancaster, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have followed the Silent Hill saga since it begun. I was VERY disappointed in this game.
1. The monsters are all the same!!! and not scary at all!
2. Not many surprises, after fighting thru some lame puzzle...u get junk!
3. You spend way to much time trying to find the things u need.
4. Too many artifacts to find, leads you trailing off the game into the world of finding 300 different things, and that's just one side trip you have to make.
5. Not much interaction with other lost people in Silent Hill.
6. I'm just really disappointed in a game I waited so very long for, play Silent Hill 2 & 3, yes the graphics are not as good, but it takes you thru h*** like it should!! Both are now out on Xbox 360 on a duo disk!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pollito
Atlanta,Ga
 
Please wait while more information about pollito is loaded.
Additional information about pollito could not be loaded.
NOOOOO
Posted 6/30/12
No because it does not have any raccoon!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Silent Hill Downpour
Hm......
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/12
SolidDank
Location: Palm Coasr, FL
Silent Hill is my favorite series, origins up though seemed to have a bad vibe to them......being me, even if it gets bad ratings I'll buy it because its Silent Hill, but Downpour's lag and glitching constantly infuriated me, not even that, the game in general was challenging........I beat this on Action Hard, and Puzzle Hard, easily withing 6 hours of playing. The enemies were stupid and annoying. BUT! THE SURPRISE ENDING IS THE BEST! complete the Digging up the past side quest and you won't be sorry:3
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Silent Hill Downpour
Great game, scary as heck!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
Alien420
Location: Arlington,Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was every thing I have come to expect from Silent Hill...Exept there was one factor missing wich I will not divulge but If you play it you will notice some differences and one very major difference wich made it slightly disappointing but still very good. Graphics where sweet and timing was impeccable. Probably one of the better Silent Hills so far.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Silent Hill Downpour
Downpour...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
zach123
Location: New york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, i did enjoy this game but i didint think this shouldent be a silent hill, it just didint have the same errie affect and disturbing creatures as our origanal silent hill games, insted it uses more human like creatures and more reallisticly creepy town. but overall it was a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Hill Downpour
Downpour is a downer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
PolarDad
Location: Omaha, NE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I find it difficult to understand all of the positive reviews for this game. I've been a longtime fan of this series but this installment was frustrating beyond belief. The game continuously glitches and freezes up, often during combat. I know this is a common issue because I've seen similar complaints both from XBox and PS3 owners on other sites. There is virtually no sound or music during gameplay (unless you count the annoying police sirens) and the graphics are below the usual PS3 standards. There's very little variety in the enemies you encounter and the scares just aren't there. The inclusion of side missions is a nice touch but the glitches were just too overwhelming for me to bother with them. This was the first time I returned a game before completing it and it will likely be my last visit to Silent Hill.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silent Hill Downpour
Don't let the camera spoil it for you.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
ZillaMonster
Location: New Haven,CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great buy for fans of the franchise. You'll have to run a little bit in this one, making this a true survival horror game. Outside of the camera situation, the only thing that needed improvement were the variety of enemies you face. All in all though, this one is worth your money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silent Hill Downpour
BUY IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
EASTWOOD757
GREAT GAME. HAS A FEW SNAGS, BUT OVERALL A GREAT SH GAME. DONT EXPECT P HEAD IN THIS ONE. THE MUSIC AINT THE SAME, BUT STILL GAVE THAT CREEPY ATMOSPHERE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silent Hill Downpour
Silent Hill Downpour Rocks.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/12
ddrw120592
Location: north carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played this game near 3 days now and i been awed the whole time awesome story it keep my eyes glued. Man i recommend this game to any1 who dont get scared easily........it will test your mind and feelings.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silent Hill Downpour
Atmospheric
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
SerialChiller
So far this is the best Silent Hill since The Room (my opinion). My only complaints are the glitchy frame rate, the combat mechanics (if a monster is too close when you go to swing a weapon, it'll stick in the middle of the swing) and a couple of other minor bugs (sometimes when you drop a weapon, it'll disappear in the environment and my second play thru, there was almost No demons even in the worst of the storm except for the scripted sequences). None of these issues cripple the game but if they were fixed, I'd give Downpour at least a 9.6 for the great story, environments, atmosphere and the new otherworld design which pulled an element from Silent Hill 3 that I'd been waiting to see return. Daniel Licht's work on the soundtrack is pretty nice but not as unique as Akira's. I'm really curious to see where Akira would've taken the sound design for Downpour since it's more atmosphere-focused than previous SH titles
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>