GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)

The Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP) is a wired six button face controller that is specifically designed for AAA fighting games on the Xbox 360 and classic games that are featured on Xbox Live. Just like an actual arcade machine, micro switch activators have been used for the thumb stick and the front 6 buttons to give the user that true arcade feel and accuracy when playing fighting games with this controller. The thumb stick is custom designed and constructed to act like a real arcade joystick but with a more comfortable and compact feel of a thumb pad. The 2 x 3 action button facing is ideal for all of the AAA fighting game titles out there, making the Versus Fighting Pad the ultimate choice for fighting games.
Average Customer Rating:
7.867
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1567%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Awesome for Tekken 6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
KingZombie88
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this for Tekken 6 it works perfect, set the LB and RB to the grabs. Directions work Perfect. Barley even have to touch the buttons to push then, including the thumb stick. Only con is that its difficult to play the campaign with it because it uses two thumb sticks. Also it was only $20 so you cant go wrong.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Me showing you how I use the controller with 3 fingers
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Seems Very Interesting
Posted on:2/9/11
deathVIAavatar
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
I watched OneHandedTerror preview this with a member of the PDP team (which I've posted with this as well), and it seems like they put a lot of thought into it. This definitely could be a stick alternative, or the next step for those that are pad players since it's design allows you to easily use your right hand overhand (like typing on a keyboard) to quickly push buttoms when your thumb may not be able to do the job fast enough, especially in a fighting game. The microswitches for not only the thumbstick, but also for the buttons, is a nice addition too. But, we'll have to wait until the 18th (of February) to see if this thing really lives up to it's promises.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Official PDP Preview of Marvel Fighting Pad
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Greatest substitution for a fight stick
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/12
Dhalsim
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Fighting game enthusiasts: Don't have money for an arcade stick but want something different than your 360 pad? Get this. Its $15, the button's are very responsive and sensitive, the joypad feels great and surpasses the standard joystick on a normal pad by a ton, and the cord is long enough to be a good distance from your set. For those who don't see any pro player's using this and think "Oh, this must'nt be useful", think to yourself and ask how useful you thought a pad was to play on. Fanatiq's one of the best MvC2 and UMvC3 players. Wolfkrone is arguable the best SSIV:AE players in the US and the world. And plus, did I mention its only $15? Yeah. Buy dis.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Overall, Outstanding [mortal combat reference]
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/11
CallMeSlick
Location: washington
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is not for the average player... its for advanced fighters, its ergonomic design should fit most gamers, and obviously some people are going to ask them selves " is this just for the fighting genre".. of course your not going to play brink or crysis with this controller, its stylish, great performance.. if you want to buy, do it, its cheaper then the average controller...
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Love the opening vid!! :D
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
It's....okay..
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
ryomitsui000
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'll make this short. Overall, this is a really interesting piece of technology. It's really cool how someone thought of incorporating the micro-switches in for the buttons and the joy-pad. But the thing I do not like about it, is that is actually a bit "too" sensitive. The problem I had the most, is that the joy-pad is too close the the outside edge of the controller, making it hard to do a lot of the left side input commands. I may be a minority since my hands are kind of small, but still, it doesn't preform nearly as well as the old Super / Street Fighter 4 fightpad. And for either side, doing the "Dragon Punch / Shoryuken" input is extremely difficult. I found myself have to over compensate to get the game to register the down-forward position.
All in all, it's a really interesting piece of hardware but it's ergonomics don't fit everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Marvel PDP Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/11
mafew
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just picked this up today and what can i say except wow. This is a great alternative from using a regular xbox controller. First thing that i noticed is the shape when i took it out, it does look odd but plays great. You can hold it with your left hand then use your right hand like playing a piano, at first this was weird but i got used to pretty fast within an hour or two. Second the analog stick/d pad micro switch thing is great it has very good grip for you thumb and the cliking of the switches really helps me do some directional moves. At 40 dollars its a little high but completly worth it once you get used to it ull love it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
german
North East MD
 
Please wait while more information about german is loaded.
Additional information about german could not be loaded.
great......until 2 weeks of use
Posted 7/14/11
dont waste ur $$ on this. i bought 2 so far. the first one lasted a couple oif days the LB stopped working so i returned it and got a new one. the UP on the stick just stopped working and along that the RIGHT on the stick stopped working 2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Best fighting controller ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
Analbumcover
Location: GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ok, so, just a little precursor, this is the first time i have ever bothered to review any game, controller, etc. So that should show you how strongly i feel about this controller. I got it in the mail yesterday and can't say enough about it. The packaging and controller are stunningly beautiful when compared to other 3rd party controllers and the build quality seems to be outstanding. The buttons and "d-pad" are far better the your normal controller for fighting games. Don't get me wrong, i love microsoft's controller, just not for fighting games. The reason i put d-pad in quotations is that, it's not really like your traditional d-pad. It's pretty much a hybrid mix of a traditional d-pad and a thumb stick, which after getting used to, is absolutely brilliant. Also, the d-pad and all the buttons use the same technology found in your standard arcade joystick pad, which allows you to get off moves faster and keep up with your combos easier. Can't recommend this controller enough. And yes it will work with any other fighting game. Come on Mortal Kombat. If anything happens over the next few months as far as durability goes i'll make sure to keep ya'll up to date.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Good for some games....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
Tico
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller last week and have been using it for MK 9 since. At first I was amazed because it seemed way better than the standard 360 controller. Then little by little it started to show its true colors. When it comes to entering in left inputs (like down to left or left down diagonal) it seemed very hit or miss because of the contour of the stick. You have to be very deliberate with inputs to the right also. If you go to fast your thumb, it is likely to slip and push up. And sometimes for some reason it just doesn't take the inputs. Then tonight I decided to play MvC3. Wow. Good luck. I went back to using the standard controller. Any move that would require a diagonal input doesn't even want to take. I thought maybe I was just slipping but with the standard controller my inputs took. I think it has to do with the shape of the stick itself. And I am starting to notice after a week the micro switches are starting to get loose. I wish I opted to order the Blazblue stick instead of not wanting to wait and buy this controller because it was in stock at the store. You have to be so so so deliberate with your inputs and when you are in the thick of a match you aren't going to be looking down taking what feels like an eternity to put your commands in. I believe that the biggest flaw is with the contour of the stick itself. I wish it was just a tad bit bigger because if it was I don't think there would be these problems.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Fighting game veteran gives it wonderful praise
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/11
EmergencyCombo
Location: Janesville, WI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was in need of a new controller for the new Street Fighter update and my past arcade sticks were trashed and I'm currently on all sorts of poverty so I can't afford another Madcatz TE right now, and I remember Marn, who is one of the top Marvel and Street Fighter players around had said he was able to pull off certain combos with this controller that he couldn't even do on an arcade stick. I went out and bought it this morning and have been using it for the past 7-8 hours and it has completely exceeded my expectations. As soon as I opened it and turned Street Fighter on I could feel everything coming back to me with just as much ease as my arcade sticks. If you can buy a Madcatz TE stick, do it. If you're thinking about getting a cheaper stick, don't, just get this. I also want to mention that thing is SO light. Easily the lightest controller I've ever held, and the buttons are so sensitive which is really nice. Basically, I'm very happy with my purchase and I feel better now with my gameplay than I did with my arcade sticks. PDP has truly made a fighting game-exclusive piece of magic with this pad. It's beyond wonderful. Also, this is much much much better than the Madcatz Street Fighter Fight Pads that came out in '09.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Will break soonish, but great until it does.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
Anonymous
Location: Mississippi
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller about a month and a half ago. I loved it. I can share the complaints with others that the Dragon Punch/Shoryuken command is hard to input and you will have to overcompensate to pull it off. This is a downer of course, but it can be overcome with practice. I cannot rate this controller highly, however, because one of my buttons stopped working. It was the button that I preferred to use as my (A) button (my launcher button in MvC3). Upon opening the controller, one can see that the microswitches work similar to an arcade stick, in that one pushes down on a button and the button pushes down on the microswitch. So, the problem lies with the actual switch itself. It's either not sensitive enough (not registering an input as I hit the button), or overly sensitive (registering 5 or more inputs at once). I know this because I've tested it extensively in training mode. I can't conceive of a way to simply replace the button in the controller, so I've just ordered an arcade stick. I recommend that everyone do the same, because my controller messed up after about a month, and I read another review where a customer said theirs messed up after only 3 days. Your money could be better spent, but it's an excellent controller before it messes up. I've also read that PDP is simply the company Pelican. I've always associated this company with bad peripherals so...maybe they renamed themselves for a reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FatPigeon
Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about FatPigeon is loaded.
Additional information about FatPigeon could not be loaded.
2 Year warranty
Posted 5/21/11
This product is covered by PDP for two years. Just contact them for a fix and I hear their customer service is great. Good Luck and happy gaming
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Almost great, but far too sensitive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
AlmostGreat
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Versus controller has some amazing elements. But it is far too sensitive. I'd imagine if you got a good one, you'd love it. But mine is faulty. When moving right it is nearly impossible to avoid accidental jumping. That makes it unusable. On the plus side, pulling off moves that don't involve going right is a breeze. I'll try to exchange it for another one, because this has potential to be freaking amazing.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
BOMB!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
mafew
Location: OK
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I been using this for a few days now and i can honestly say my combos have gotten much smoother (i still kinda suck im new). This is a much better controller compared to reg xbox controllers and also the buttons are about twice as big so using your right hand to piano the buttons is great. The thumb stick/d pad is much better then i expected the grip is very good so you thumb doesnt slip and the micro switches make every just awsome id recommend this to anyone playing on a controller who wants to get better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Solid control, perfect for fighters and shmups
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
llxAnll
Location: La Mesa, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ideal for the gamer on a budget. Using micro switch activators for the joystick and six face buttons, it achieves an arcade joystick in the palms of your hand. Easy to pull of shoryuken and hadoken motions for 2D fighters, and perfect diagonal movements in shmups (which I bought primarily for). My only grip is that the face buttons may be too "paper-thin" and the overall weight of the controller is a bit too light - but overall a great value for the $15 you spend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Looks interesting
Posted on:1/28/11
ByrdMan
Location: Michigan
I want it. Ive been waiting and PDP makes some good controllers. Ill probably be getting this.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Best Controller Ever !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
Suavecus
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this becuase I wanted to improve on SSF4 AE I played with a 360 Controller and half the time my moves would come out the I purchased an arcade stick and it wasnt for me the I bought this Fighting pad not knowng any thing about it and all I can say is it rocks since ive got it every move comes out and its better for doing combos and Fadc it Great I highly recomend this for any fighting game fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Best controller EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
DemonFire666
Location: Mesquite, NV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought controller thinking it wouldnt work but when I played with it I wrong best controller ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Serious gamers be weary!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
ghedrix
Location: new york, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It really is a great controller... But I went though it in three days. and to all you Marvel vs Capcom players. you know how much wear and tear your controller will get. do your self a favor and get a real joystick. you'll thank your self. but if your a casual fighter then go for it. its better than a dpad. An honest gamer************
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Nice looking controller
Posted on:2/1/11
ICEMAN34
Location: Missiouri
The controller looks cool to me but i cant decide which to get this one or TRON?
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ArcadeLairMaster
The Lair
 
Please wait while more information about ArcadeLairMaster is loaded.
Additional information about ArcadeLairMaster could not be loaded.
Response to Iceman34
Posted 2/3/11
This is a hard decision this controller's layout reminds me of the arcade back in the days. Its up to you this really is designed to give you that feel but if it were me i'd get the tron edition very well done plus awesome to play at night so i hope that helps.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
MvsC3
Posted on:1/29/11
charlysimple
This control works for marvel vs capcom 3?
i need information to buy it
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RockSRK
 
Please wait while more information about RockSRK is loaded.
Additional information about RockSRK could not be loaded.
Don't do it.
Posted 2/4/11
I wouldn't recommend it. Get any of the MadCatz Street Fighter FightPads instead. They have a great d-pad and fast clicking buttons, customizable turbo, and all around better quality than this thing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Versus Controller (PDP)
Great graphics!
Posted on:2/5/11
orange12
Location: El Paso, TX
Can this control be used on all types of games or just fighting games?
0 of 3 found this review helpful.