GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS

Expanded and enhanced, SMT: Devil Survivor Overclocked for Nintendo 3DS builds upon what many considered one of the best RPGs of 2009. The player is presented with a novel premise: Tokyo is in full lockdown, the government's swift, coldblooded response to a surprise demon invasion. While you and your friends must solve the nature of the interdimensional rift through which the horrific creatures are entering your world, saving the world is not your highest priority; staying alive, on the other hand, is.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
6
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Review 1 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Devilishly Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
PaperMemories
This game was great in many aspects. I considered buying the game for the longest time, reading reviews, watching game-play (Thank the world Youtube exists...) and finally I walked into my local gamestop store and bought Devil Survivor Overclocked. And what can I say, other than I'm a fan for life? Honestly, the game had a gripping story-line, one that left you wonder what could possibly happen next, and gripping revelations that left you terrified. The battling was epic, and almost impossible at times, stretching your ability to milk your own mind to it's limits. Forging and creating demons left me with multiple extra hours of fun and enjoyment. I didn't like the references to religion though. I just thought it was strange, and left me feeling like I either assisting the demons or God. I didn't like the various endings either. I choose my side, and I wondered how the other ended.
Will be getting the second.
:) Good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
SMT: Devil Survivor Overclocked Review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/11
3dsgirl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Shin Megami Tensei Devil Survivor Overclocked is a remake of the hit DS game by Atlus, SMT: Devil Survivor. The main new features of this 3DS remake are: full voice acting, an 8th day, remastered visuals, more demons and SLIGHT 3D.
Full voice acting: Nearly every line in the 3DS version of this game has a full voiceover, which adds a new layer to the Devil Survivor experience. Overall, it is just a nice added feature and one of the best additions to the remake.
The 8th Day: The "overclocked" part of the title refers to the 8th day that has been added on to the game. In the original DS version of Devil Survivor you played through 7 days. The 8th day adds more to the storyline.
Remastered visuals: Although this is a slight change, the visuals look more crisp than they did in the original DS version. This doesn't add much to the game, it just makes it look a little more "pretty".
More demons: Added to the original demons from the DS version are quite a few more demons! This is just a nice addition that also doesn't affect the gameplay too much since there were already so many demons originally.
3D: The 3D has been barely used in this version, saved only for the video before the title screen, the title screen itself and the fusion of demons. Although it is a 3DS game, the overall lack of 3D does not affect the game much.
Overall: I would definitely recommend Shin Megami Tensei Devil Survivor Overclocked for anyone who did not play the original DS version of the game. The 3DS version has enough new content that it makes sense to buy this version, but only if you have never played it before or you were REALLY into the original version. Although 3D isn't utilized much this is a game that most people will be playing for hours on end, therefore it is less likely to induce headaches after hours of play. If you have not played this game and are a fan of RPGs, definitely go out and get this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Looks like a winner, but...
Posted on:8/10/11
Nyteshade714
Location: SC
The original for DS was fantastic; at very least it was one of the best games the DS has to offer. The fact that it had quite a few different endings and played differently if you made different decisions made me want to play through it several times. All in all, I'd say that this game, remastered for 3ds and given an 8th day and (assumably) new endings, will be well worth it.
But, half of the screenshots listed for this game here on gamestop are not from this game, but from the japanese release of Devil Survivor 2 which should be making its way to the states in coming months, and will be released for the DS, not 3ds.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Can't wait!
Posted on:3/31/11
Hachi
The original devil survivor is one of my favorite games and was amazing to begin with, so I can only expect the remake with extra content to be even better! I was actually very surprised that this was going to be remade when it was announced, since many people seem to not know of this game. Normally, I'm not a fan of buying a game remake when I already own the original but this game is one of my exceptions, this remake is the biggest reason I bought a 3DS in all honesty.
I'm just a little concerned about the voice acting... hopefully it's at least decent or they make this dual audio. I doubt they can but if they manage to allow you to transfer your old save data to the new game, I'd love Atlus even more than I already do.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Great DS game, BETTER on 3DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
Meyoname
Location: Las Noches
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing this for a hour, i decided to write a review. So far though... this game has done nothing but amaze me. The revampped graphics are beautiful. The fully voiced dialogue adds a gripping sence of suspence to the game also. And of course the music.... Who can play a SMT game and not love all the bells and whistles to go along with it in the background?
After playing the original on the DS and playing this one, I can see the difference in the graphics. They are slight, I will admit, but they are noticeable. This game is a instant clasic of a remake, and it is a remake done right. Atlus is a wonderful company, and one of my favorite game developers. I hope there are more great things to come!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
20hours hooked minimum
Posted on:6/14/11
Tometa
Location: Philadelphia
This game is a great addition to any RPG collector. I played and loved the DS version, it has all the necessary ingredients; good story,game play and long lasting for a DS game. It has a large amount of monsters and playable characters with their own specific dialogue, which makes this game highly replayable. I suggest this game to anyone looking for a good portable game. I personally have fell in the ranks of all Atlus games, like this one they all have good story,characters,moves,game play. It's good to look around but the majority is worth your money.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Gonna be Sweet
Posted on:5/15/11
YumiYumeria
Seriously i played the origianal when it first came out. At first i was put off but when i gave it about 1 hour or 2 tops i was stuck on it for good. I have sadly only seen 2 of the many ending i was gonna go for more but i heard about this remake and i decided i would stop and wait for this upcoming masterpiece. This will be even bigger and better than the origianl. If you have not played the original you need to play this. And if you have played the original you still need to play this:P
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
The first game that started the addiction!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
RiRyn
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had never seen nor heard of this series until I bought a Nintendo 3DS and this was one of the only available games close to the launch date. I've not regretted it since. Not only is it hardcore as a J-RPG, I love how all of your choices affect the story-line, really letting your personality show through. (LOL, not that some of those endings are desirable.) Graphics are superb and the music was relatively nice. As for the 3D, well, I play most of my games with it off and there weren't many times for it to be applied in this game; which didn't bother me at all since it's a turn based RPG. It has tremendous replay value, an array of moves and new demons were added. Truly a gem of a game. Pretty hard, and I'll admit I played on easy mode my first time through. If you think this looks good, it is and I would definitely recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Purely awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
SaintOfJustice
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the first time i played this game, i never played it on the ds, but the way the whole story goes and how well the graphics and sound is, it mad this a great first buy for the 3ds, id recommend this to all serious gamers, or those willing to take a challenge, i enjoyed this game quite a lot, hopefully others will buy it as well. BTW the eight day feature was just (AWE-inspiring) :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Why was this ported to the 3DS?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/11
Bahamet
Location: Honolulu, HI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Don't get me wrong, this is a good game, an I loved the original on the DS system, but this is ridiculous! I see no reason for Atlus to port this over to the new 3DS if none of the 3DS features are implemented! No street-pass, no spot-pass, no gyro-scope/motion sensor use?! The only 3D you see is in the shoddy opening sequence! The voice acting is all well and good, but without the additions of improved graphics, what was the point of releasing this as a 3DS game. If I could have, I would have bought for the regular DS and saved 5-10 bucks. In fact, the voice acting and added 8th chapter probably weren't even worth it. Overall, I am extremely disappointed with the game. If you are looking to get this game, I say save the money and buy the first one.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
A pull factor towards buying my 3DS.
Posted on:6/22/11
heavenRain12
Location: Miami, FL
I played the original and the whole voiceless thing was one of the few faults that I found. But now their adding it to the 3DS roster, voiced and everything. Quite frankly, this one of 4 games that encouraged me to buy my 3DS.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Cool
Posted on:2/13/11
MarioC
I have never gotten the opportunity to play a Shin Megami Tensei game, but this game looks really cool. I've seen gameplay for past Shin Megami games, and they look very fun. I love Japanese anime RPGs so this will be great for me. Plus, it's on the 3DS!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Atlus puts out another great SRPG
Posted on:2/9/11
taco10
Location: virginia
The original Devil Survivor is one of the best tactical games on the DS with a great storyline. Know I can experience it with enhanced graphics. This game is sure to satisfy any one who love role playing or japanese game lovers alike
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CharmedOne
 
Please wait while more information about CharmedOne is loaded.
Additional information about CharmedOne could not be loaded.
The anticipation is killing me!
Posted 4/2/11
I can't wait! Please, please get here sooner! Another one for my collection!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
I might....
Posted on:8/8/11
genisisx
Location: Indianapolis, IN
be picking this game up. It looks nice, and the changes are great, but is it really worth 40 +tax as a 3DS game without 3D? I guess we'll see, but this game really does look great :)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
One of the best strategy RPGs, period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
3dsgirl
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Having missed out on the original DS version, Shin Megami Tensei : Devil Survivor Overclocked was my first experience with the "Megaten" series. The game had me hooked from the start. For those who don't know, the Shin Megami Tensei series (Persona, Devil Survivor, Devil Summoner, etc.) are only really tied together by the fact that they all allow some sort of control of demons. In Devil Survivor Overclocked, you level up your demons and yourselves through grid-based strategy battles. You can also buy new, more powerful demons through the Auction feature, and fuse two demons together to create completely different ones. Overall, if you like strategy RPGs, or just a good "save the world" story, Shin Megami Tensei : Devil Survivor Overclocked could be the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Quick Day One Review.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/11
TeamRoa
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, I bought this game because theres not much "great" games yet on the Nintendo 3DS. So, with that said I am eager to find a 3DS game thats good or at this point better then what is available besides The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D. Moving on, I want to point out that this game is not 3D. Sure the opening intro before you even press start and enter your name is in 3D, but sadly nothing else. Anyhow this fact does not mean the game is bad. So far I have played about two hours worth but within that time I got the base idea of the game. The story of the game so far is very cheesy, sorry to everyone that loved the original in which I didn't play. But, once you get into the game play areas as in battling other demons this game shines. I like the game play of the battle system and the different demons that are available in the game. This fact is the real reason I like this game but other then that thats it. The Audio is good but in some cases it can be kind of low in terms of loudness. The Graphics are ok nothing to die for here. Story seems cheap, but gameplay is strong. Well, thats it for quick review but when I play through the rest of the game and complete I will come back and update the review here.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Great game and storyline, but......
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you're the religious type, and are easily offended by demons and stuff like that I'd suggest staying away from this one because it's a very story heavy game and touches on some iffy issues at times when it comes to religion. It's not a bad game for what it is, it's just not for everyone. There's not much to say without spoiling the story except it's an SRPG similar to Final Fantasy Tactics. You're players move around on a grid like chess pieces, then when you go to attack an enemy you get into a first person fight that looks something like the fights in the Dragon Quest games. Like I said, definitely recommended if you have the stomach for it, but it's not for the religious type. You've been warned!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Seems Like A Nice Game
Posted on:4/12/11
dolphinboy
This looks nice and all but I wish it came out sooner!
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Why is on a 3Ds with no 3D?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
iNINJA
Location: Acworth, GA
Honestly, They should've made a new SMT for the 3ds. It's not a bad game, i like the story, but it just doesn't fit the 3ds. The battle animations are simular to old pokemos games, the charecters don't move. Plus, you can't even see yourself in battle. I could understand this on a ds, but not on the 3ds. Oh, and one more thing; THERE IS NO 3D DURING GAMEPLAY, ONLY DURING DEMON FUSION AND THE OPENING THEME!!! So... Save some money, buy it on ds, and watch the 8th day on youtube. or, rent it if you must play it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: DEVIL SURVIVOR OVERCLOCKED - 3DS
Awesome
Posted on:7/19/11
KingKAM
Location: Lincoln,NE
Atlus is one of the best rpg studios ever all of atlus's rpgs are amazing so i am banking on this being amazing
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>