GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PROTOTYPE 2

PROTOTYPE®2 takes the unsurpassed carnage of Radical Entertainment's original best-selling open-world game of 2009 - PROTOTYPE - and delivers the most over-the-top action game of 2012. Cut your way through the viral wastelands of NYZ and build up a vast genetic arsenal as you hunt, kill and consume your way toward the ultimate goal... destroying Alex Mercer!
Average Customer Rating:
8.936
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
10 stars
29
9 stars
19
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
59 out of 6295%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PROTOTYPE 2
Review 1 for PROTOTYPE 2
A morbid open-world sequel
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
dnlcod3
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Prototype 2 (or [Prototype 2]) is an open world hack-and-slash game were you are infected with a virus that has terrible side affects, such as giving you super human speed. strength, endurance, ect... If you wanted a detailed analysis, Gamestop is not the place for this. Go to wikipedia for more information, this is my opinion. The world has been improved from the original prototype, in addition to the story and combat. Contrarily, Prototype 2 seems to have been slightly streamlined, and barely feels like more than am expansion pack. If there was less similarities to Prototype, this would be an 8/10.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for PROTOTYPE 2
one good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/13
commandoprojoe
Location: MASS
the only sad part is that activision wont fund for another one to come out. guess with a game like call of duty they set their sales standards unnaturally high. but with that said this game is extremely impressive. the fun of simply bringing down armies with ease is defining as some of the most pleasing stress relievers ive ever had. also its fun starting of as someone who is superhuman into becoming practically a god walking the streets of New York. the story my be a tad generic but they play on it in such a way that it really didn't matter. all you wanted is to become bigger, badder and at times see how much carnage you can create against the Blackwatch troops. simply put great fun for people who like being superhuman.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for PROTOTYPE 2
Cool but the RADNET
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/13
Thekevster
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The RADNET in the game prototype 2 was already redeemed and I hate that I can't trust you guys like before
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for PROTOTYPE 2
this game is ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
theeassassin00
Location: clinton,ut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the first time I played this game I thought this game had WAY to much language and blood that is I hate this game it has to much blood and you should be at least 16 before even looking at this game this game was so so bloody
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PROTOTYPE 2
Pro-to-Cool!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
GamerX87
Location: Arkansas
I enjoyed Prototype, but Prototype 2 is much, much better. Better gameplay, graphics, powers, and sweet DLC. You don't have to play the first one, but if you want the knowledge & best experience, I would recommend it. The only two downfalls about this game would be the story is kinda weak & the main character, James Heller, cusses way to much. To the point, where you're like Ok dude learn basic English lol. But this game is well worth the money & time. Just hope they continue with the series, love to see Prototype 3 on Next Gen. Consoles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for PROTOTYPE 2
crazy fun!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/13
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
prototype 2 is an amazing,crazy fun game in every way.i think its better then the first one.there is a lot of violence and gore in it which makes it even more fun,because you can slash and cut people up,shoot them,fight them,do extremely out of this world moves and powers,even running up buildings and gliding across the area.overall great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PROTOTYPE 2
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/13
Anonymous
Location: Ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this games gameplay blood and gore graphics and storyline i recomend this game to all the hardcore blood and gore gameplayers out their because this game is purely AWESOME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype, New and Improved
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
skittlezzz
Location: omaha, ne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Prototype 2 is what the first game should have been. It has a solid story, more powerful weapons, and it's easy to manuveur around the city. The new main character, James Heller, can be annoying with his wannabe "hardcore" attitude, but he's way more stronger and funner to play with than Mercer. The story in this game is less confusing than the last game. Everything is distinct. The fighting system is more easier to use, and there aren't missles hitting you out of no where. The missions are very repetitive, and on most missions, you're just doing the same thing over and over again. Most of the time, you'll find yourself in disguise as a Blackwatch trooper infiltrating a military base just to destroy every thing on the inside. The graphics haven't improved at all. The upgrading system is now more limited than it was in the first game, but you get over it. Although the game is highly repetitve, it's still fun to free roam and go around killing people. If there is going to be a third Prototype, I hope that they fix all the problems that there were in this game and make the game much more fun to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
DJdaBomb5
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great! Great graphics and gameplay. If you were a Prototype fan this game is for you!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for PROTOTYPE 2
Unstoppable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
AuditoreAssassin
Location: North Pole, AK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have COMPLETELY beaten this game. I have every achievement, every upgrde and power, I have beaten it on every difficulty. But it still has not gotten boring. Yes after the first play through you feel almost invincible and the story seems shorter. But thats what this game is all about! Being a god and destroying stuff!! No thats not really what its about, this game has a very solid storyline just like its predecessor. But Prototype 2 executes it even better. If you like free roam games where you can destroy things and like carnage, then this is the game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PROTOTYPE 2
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
xXExciszionXx
Location: Kansas, KS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has a good variety of powers attacks and things you can do with the environment around you, the new abilities to take apart choppers and tanks not introduced in Prototype the original are superb, this game makes you feel unstoppable and when you reach the full potential of your powers things get even more fun and just makes you want to play more, the storyline is a bit short and some of the abilities you dont get to use as much as you like, and the free roaming could use a more of a variety of special infected, i'd recommend that if there was ever a Prototype 3,which im sure we'd all love, dont get this game if you really want a long story, because thats not provided, if you like to mess around on video games, have fun, and destroy, this is the game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for PROTOTYPE 2
TRY TO LEVEL UP TO GET NEW POWERS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
CLAYTON51
Location: new york,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS GAME IS SO AWESOME BUT ALSO TRY TO GET MAP PACKS TO EXPLORE NEW PLACES AND NEW CHARACTERS AND WEAPONS AND ALSO LEVEL UP AND DONT STOP PLAYING AFTER BEATING THE STORY MODE THEIR ARE STILL SIDE MISSIONS FOR U TO DO AND GET NEW POWERS BUT IF U WANT TO GET MORE DOWNLOAD MAP PACKS AND GO TO RADNET
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PROTOTYPE 2
An awesome ACTION game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
RedWings
Location: West Jordan, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
[PROTOTYPE 2] does not have a very deep story, so turn away if that's what you were looking for. Bringing back the protagonist from the first [PROTOTYPE] as the antagonist in the sequel was a really neat idea, and it's done really well. You can understand the story just fine if you have not played the original [PROTOTYPE]. The story is simple and nothing you'll remember as legendary, but it's not bad by any means. The real point of this game is ACTION. Does this game do that well? Absolutley. If fact, it does it very well. From the start of the game, you feel powerful. You can scale buildings and tear everything in your path to shreds. You gain new abilities throughout the campaign, and they're all paced well. You never feel like you're limited to one ability for too long. The story is a decent lenght, not too long or too short. Which is good because the gameplay can get a bit repetivitve after a while. The game looks beautiful, the graphics are well done and the game runs smoothly. The dialogue is is also good, but again, nothing outstanding. My main complaint is that there is not enough variety in the gameplay. It gets a bit stale after a while. It's not a game I would recommend playing from start to finish all in one sitting. You'll probably get bored and hate the game. But [PROTOTYPE 2] was an extrememly fun game to play, and anyone who enjoys the action genre will love it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PROTOTYPE 2
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
SGCoMmAnDo
Location: Staten Island, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome! I love the gameplay! Prototype 2 is very fun and cool, I also love the new DLCS! This game is like the badass of free roam games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for PROTOTYPE 2
A perfect 10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
KILL3Nx
Location: Lodi, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is just simply amazing.It is a must have game. You will never get bored, there is so much to do in this game. 60$ worth spending.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for PROTOTYPE 2
A Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
ASeductiveCow
Location: North RidgeVille, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I never was able to get around playing the first one but i did see my friend playing it one day and it looked amazing. When i played this game now the day it came out i was blown away (funny that im doing a review at the end of june haha). It seems to get repetitive sometimes but that isn't really a big issue because of all the mayhem you can cause. My only complaints are that Once you beat the main story line, which in fact is pretty good, there is really no point of playing it again unless you want to get all the collectibles and whatnot. There could of been Co-Op in this game but thats the companys decesion. Overall it's a great game and i can't wait to see what they do next for the Prototype series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for PROTOTYPE 2
I luv this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
Snakedragon
Location: Kissimmee,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game really has the real fun meaning as the first. I love how the story plays out. An Amazing Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype 2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
gamer666
Prototype 2 is pretty awesome to sum it up. Its serving as a distraction until AC3 and i have to say I'm pretty impressed. It is not much more then a power trip the story is good but I think sometimes Heller's motives are unjustified, i have never played the first but from this game I sort of think Mercer is right in some ways what he is trying to do. But gameplay is pretty awesome and that is what is really matters.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for PROTOTYPE 2
Best sandbox game ever!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
BrainiestPrimeXbox360
Location: Newark, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Awesome game for gamers who like messing around and just trying to find a good time!This game can be enjoyed by kids and adults alike!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PROTOTYPE 2
A good rental for a person that likes action games
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
ballharduniversity
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gameplay: Prototype 2 has an interesting story that will keep you entertained. The game is fun but it can get repetitive at times. The game has a evolved (level up) system that will keep you trying to get new powers. Lasting Appeal: After playing through the game once, there is really no reason to go back and play again (besides free roam around the islands). Graphics: The game looks better than the first, but compared to other games the graphics fall short. Sound: Voice acting is good for the most part. Guns and explosives sound good also. Overall: Prototype 2 is better than the first game but I would not spend $60 on it. It's good to get as a rental. Grade: 7/10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>