GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PROTOTYPE 2

PROTOTYPE®2 takes the unsurpassed carnage of Radical Entertainment's original best-selling open-world game of 2009 - PROTOTYPE - and delivers the most over-the-top action game of 2012. Cut your way through the viral wastelands of NYZ and build up a vast genetic arsenal as you hunt, kill and consume your way toward the ultimate goal... destroying Alex Mercer!
Average Customer Rating:
8.936
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
10 stars
29
9 stars
19
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
59 out of 6295%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PROTOTYPE 2
Review 1 for PROTOTYPE 2
the 1st is good but the 2 is better.!!!
Posted on:5/24/11
zombieslayer54
Location: Florida fl.*
when i played the first one i was like this game is wicked but then when i play the 2 one its gonna be insane .its gonna be one of he best games from them so far one thing that sucks is u cant play as alex mercer thats a really sucky thing.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Deviater69
NYC
 
Please wait while more information about Deviater69 is loaded.
Additional information about Deviater69 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/7/11
I've played similar games, but Prototype continues to be my favorite, At first I thought I wouldn't like it but after playing it I was HOOKED. Hoping Prototype 2 is just as good or better
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PROTOTYPE 2
ultimate extra
Posted on:4/18/12
doesntmatte
Location: fl
For those of you who don't feel like researching this, the extra ultimate unlock is an Alec Mercer skin. No extra Mercer power, just a skin.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Rainbow Six: Patriots
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PROTOTYPE 2
Hope it's GOOD
Posted on:9/3/11
Namikaze
Location: united states
The prequel wasn't that good. Sure it was fun cutting people and exploding them but the graphics were horrible. I hope this one has good controls and the graphics becomes better. I posted a video of ign's review at the bottom. I know they suck sometimes but I found this one fair.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PROTOTYPE 2
Just accept the game and quit hating.
Posted on:2/1/12
Neonflame66
Location: Virginia
To me the game looks awesome. It is not a remake or trying to take alex mercer's place. The first game was good given that it had some glitches. It never took itself seriously it was fun and gave you cool powers and made you laugh. The second game is designed to bring not only new gameplay and progress the story, but to give players a fresh character. Not a replacement or a better character. A fresh character to build on, a man with a new goal of revenge. Alex played his role and was one of the few people that survived the first game. So they needed a way to make him apart of the second game while giving it a fresh spin, so now we have this mystery and a new character with new powers. So quit complaining about the game how it is going to tank cuz of the way they went about it. I can't wait to play. It looks awesome and I am just as excited about this one as I was about the first one. So don't hate on the game cuz its different, It is new and it looks promising.
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PROTOTYPE 2
Instant gratification!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
PdxGamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Plan and simple, this game is purely for those that want to jump right into a game and destroy, destroy, destroy and get out. If you like Just Cause 2, Crackdown and Mercenaries this is the game for you. If you want a story driven, character driven, deep philosophical, missions that make you call your friends about what just happened type of game then walk away. Prototype 2 is instant gratification for those that want to just beat the flippin tar out of something and walk away. It's really tough to find gamer reviews that target the gamers that just like to play without thinking. I loved Crackdown and Crackdown 2. I played those until I started looking for 'Orbs' in real life and knew I had to quit. Prototype is that sort of game. Just walk into it without thinking and unleash your inner superhero! So, if your not that type of gamer.... DON'T review this game or play it. You will just give the wrong review scores to a game that doesn't cater to your type of needs!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PROTOTYPE 2
If The Hulk and Venom had a baby
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/12
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First and foremost, this is a really fun game to play. I've heard some people gripe about the story, but all in all it's actually pretty good too. As a sandbox game it gives you a very destroyed New York city. You play James Heller, Alex Mercer released a virus that made people into zombie things. They killed your wife and daughter. You mad bro? Answer. YES. So you set off to just murder him. Then he shows up tells you hes framed and gives you powers like his. Now you are crazy shapeshifting, superpowered, claw, tendril, blade monster. HAVE FUN! The controls are tight and action fast paced. You have option too, say there are a room of guys. You must kill said guys do to evil guy stuff. You can sneak around and pick them off one by one or just slice and dice them outright. It's up to you. They packed a lot of content in this game as well. All in all it's a creat game. Replay value is a little short though. I blazed through the game on Hard in under 4 hours. Once you become fully upgraded, it's a blast to just create havoc. Blackwatch is pretty evil and you are pretty good at killing evil. It's great. Play it! Claws and tendrils are the best. Black hole attack FTW.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PROTOTYPE 2
You know what
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Wasabi
This game gave me high hopes in the beginning with the awesome intro with Heller telling his family trust the government, but when coming home finding his wife and daughter dead. I was like yeah it's gonna be a deep storyline. Then I kept playing it's like well there's no character development. Heller is just the stereotypical angry strong guy smashing things. He swears too much you can't even believe that he even had a family. So get it if you like amazing destruction and using your powers to break things I'm saying it's really fun, but its nothing way too different from the first game. They had great ideas with the Alex Mercer bad guy thing but this just ended up to be unlasting and zero story depth.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PROTOTYPE 2
sweetos to behold
Posted on:2/13/11
slushy
Location: orlando, fl
i loved the first prototype. the powers, the chaos. i love zombies. and Alex mercer is the greatest most righteous dead man walking. the game had a few bugs. but all in all the game was amazing. sure most of the time the game was getting from point a the point b. but, the powers you get in between the game from start to finish. man i was glad i made it my first ever 360 game. it was a combination of dead space, and bioshock. and radicle games made it work.so do yourself a favor and get a copy and play it like theres no tomorrow because it will last a long time. by the way infamous and prototype are two completely different games so stop comparing them. i lpve this game and i will love its sequal
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PROTOTYPE 2
Has to be a great game
Posted on:1/27/11
ChUbByBuNnY
If Prototype 2 is going to be anything like the first game, then it has to be amazing. The effects are most likely going to be better and hopely so will the storyline. Cant wait for this game, going to be a blast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jpendergrass98
Turlock,CA
 
Please wait while more information about jpendergrass98 is loaded.
Additional information about jpendergrass98 could not be loaded.
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 3/4/11
Can't wait for it it's going to be awesome just like the first one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for PROTOTYPE 2
simply stunning
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
commandoprojoe
Location: MASS
i had played the original prototype and will admit i was worried about the dramatic turn to creating a new main character than turning mercer into the enemy but after seeing it in action i have to admit they had soemhow pulled it off. the combat makes you feel nearly godlike and the story it much more griping than mercers case of amnesia. to sum the story up you are a man who has lost his family to alex mercer and the viral outbreak and now you are ionfected with mercer's strand and plan to use his own powers to defeat him. now instead of havign half a million upgrades to the point of confusion like in P1 you collect mutations that you can bacicaly make heller stronger, faster or more defensive. hes entirely moldable in your hands. this generaly makes him almost entirely what you want. id recomend this to any 1 who enjoys a open world and being generaly a powerhouse. and with the 20$ off its even more of an inittiative to buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for PROTOTYPE 2
DDDDUUUUDDDDEE AWWWWSSSSOOOOMMMMEEE
Posted on:2/1/11
TheCritic666
Location: Jasonville,IN
ok I LOVED the first prototype the only thing missing on the first one was free roaming with other people online that would have made it Game Of The Year.But multiplayer is coming on Prototype 2 which is gonna make it best game ever made Definitly gonna pre-order
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PROTOTYPE 2
Really why did you ruin it
Posted on:4/22/12
PrototypeMegaFan
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Dude, dont put a review as what happens at the end of the game man thats not cool some people want to find out not be told!!!!!
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PROTOTYPE 2
CANT WAIT!!!
Posted on:7/26/11
hotshot989
Location: Pewaukee,WI
I loved alex's story, but it's kinda over with him so im glad they started with a new guy. Im skeptical as to whether or not he will actually kill mercer. I expect heller or whatever his name to find out that his family is alive and befriend mercer. then once you finish the game you can swap between the two of them. that would be sweet!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PROTOTYPE 2
and i thought the first one was awsome
Posted on:2/21/12
commandoprojoe
Location: MASS
for starts i bought the first prototype a little after i bought a xbox. man was it a great buy! i was waiting hoping they would create a new one cuz you can get pretty creative in the first one with its powers and now you can punt a poor sucker into a chopper and cause even more chaos? sure il miss playing as alex but heller might just top him with all his crazy moves. now if only we knew how on earth heller contracted the virus and gained the same powers as alex. im going crazy trying to find out how he got his.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PROTOTYPE 2
They took this to heart
Posted on:6/11/11
thatguy360
Location: cold spring,ky
From what I've seen so far the developers have taken prototype to heart. they really upgraded everything from graphics to new and better powers to gameplay styles. so instead of taking 20 minutes to stealth consume 10 people you can use a bio bomb to kill them all. im also really loving the tendrils power. hopefully that replaced hammer fists. but do not believe gamestop this games release date has not been announced by the devolpers so they most likely just made something up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dead Island Limited Edition
10 out of 10(168)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PROTOTYPE 2
Best game of the year
Posted on:6/20/11
Rpggames77
the first prototype was beast but sense they are adding a whole bunch of stuff this game is my favorite i think its truly going to be 1000 times better then the first.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
leviathanex
baltimore
 
Please wait while more information about leviathanex is loaded.
Additional information about leviathanex could not be loaded.
this game cant be any better
Posted 6/22/11
the first prototype the gameplay unmatched i give 10 out of 10 if i could. prototype 2 one thing i didnt like was making alex mercer the villain well i hope the will exceed the first one
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for PROTOTYPE 2
WOW!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
DrJaketheAwesom1
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first saw that this game was coming out, little did I think of it. I thought the 1st one was alright, so I wasnt sure about this one, but when I popped it in my x-box, IT BLEW MY MIND!!! In this game, you are Sgt. James Heller, Not Alex Mercer. I recommend that you get RADNET Edition before it runs out, because trust me, its worth it! Plus you get the chance to unlock the Alex Mercer skin. I think any gamer will love this game, espicially people who play Arkham City or are fans of the first Prototype. Also, I haven't been this hooked on a game since Arkham City! Go Check it out
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PROTOTYPE 2
Prototype 2.0
Posted on:7/9/11
FlamingSpade
Location: Brick,NJ
I can not wait for the new Prototype to come out. I can not wait for the better graphics, new abilities, and a new story; however, I loved the the first Prototype and want to see Alex Mercer back in action so it is hard for me to see Mercer as the "villain" of this game, but if you fully followed the story of Prototype, you know the story goes much deeper and much more confusing then it originally appeared. So it is too early to say wether or not Alex Mercer will or will not be the horrible monstrosity that he is accused of being.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PROTOTYPE 2
It was amazing but it had one flaw
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
TheCritic666
Location: Jasonville,IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked this up on launch day and i was very impressed! One of the best games i have ever played. The powers are the same with a new power and DLC that has already been announced that will give you a new power. But one thing (this isn't the flaw) I was really hoping they would give you armor like in Prototype 1 but they give you shields instead(which are still pretty cool). The Upgrading Sysytem on here is much better then on P1. You can also upgrade your powers like Blade,Claw,Hammerfist,etc... If you want to make a Ultimate Prototype then search for all collectibles and do all the side missions. Now for the flaw, I have beaten the game, have all the upgrades, and found all the collectibles in just a matter of 18 hours (a majority for the missions), and after I did that the game just got really boring and If they had just released the Radnet challenges all at once instead of releasing them on specific dates i probably wouldnt be as bored with it as i am now. And if your an Achievement Hunter, If you want an easy 1,000 GS, this is for you but the game was still very good with a strong ending, I didnt wind paying $60 for it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PROTOTYPE 2
Let's not get our hopes up...
Posted on:4/19/12
2kool4skool
Location: Wisconsin
Don't get me wrong, this game looks cool. And i'm sure all you die hard fans just think I'm stupid when I say this, but this game looks EXACTLY like the first one. What is different? The reviews with creators have revealed a few cool moves, the fact that you can call in a pack of mutants, and be bullet proof. But not much else. I feel like what they're saying isn't the direction they should be going with for the game. I really liked the first game but after awhile... I just felt invincible, and that's no fun. There wasint much variety and when you really thought about it, it was no more than a big sand box mode with explosions and zombies. It was still fun though and I really enjoyed it. But this game looks the same and i don't want to play the same game over again. Now I haven't played Prototype 2, so I don't know for sure. But wouldn't you die hard fans agree this doesn't look that different from the first? Don't use your 60 bucks on a game you already have. Those of you that haven't played the first, pick it up used, and see how it feels. Because then you'll know what to expect. I'm not baggin on the game, but just consider the possibility of it being the same as the first.
5 of 14 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>