GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ridge Racer 3D

The Ridge Racer® series returns to set the racing world on fire with brand new features, breathtaking stereoscopic 3D visuals, a wider variety of machines, new environments, expanded customization and updated drift mechanics. Ridge Racer® 3D will be the hottest racing game on the Nintendo 3DS. Drift through hairpin turns at blistering speeds to edge out the rest of the pack with powerful drift-tuned cars. Using the stereoscopic 3D power of the Nintendo 3DS, players will be able to experience a level of intimacy with the on-screen races like never before. Players can now accurately judge the distance between them and the competition with 3D depth of field for some of the most intense arcade racing available.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
3
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1883%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ridge Racer 3D
Review 1 for Ridge Racer 3D
It takes skill to play.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/14
SimpleSoldier
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you think this is just a another bad racer you are wrong, The game is very well, "Decent" In a way now let me discuss. The gameplay and driving is for experts. You can have lots of cars that i will leave up to you to see if you buy this, The driving controls are for experts at best. Hard to control at times but still fun. The graphics are fairly decent for a 3DS game, And nice at best. The sound i don't really remember to be honest but it's good from what i remember i haven't played in a long time. And the lasting appeal? Mixed, On one hand you have a good game but if you are new at racing games it might be hard for you.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Ridge Racer 3D
It grows on you
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
Phoenix317
Location: Co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Sure at first this game is a little slow. The series 4 vehicles feel slow and the drifting isn't that hard and neither are the cpu's. Once you get to the series 3 vehicles the game starts to get a little more in teresting and your going to need to fine tune your drifting a little more. Series 2 vehicles, thats where the fun begins. Tight corners come up fast and the cpu's are alot smarter and will do what they can to slow you down. The game just gets better from there, and yes you can turn off the commentary. Controls are simple. I would recommend configuration 2 so you can use the Y button to accelerate and the B button to drift. I just found that more comfortable. The graphics are great as well as the frame rate. If your a big fan of racing games I would recommend you pick this up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ridge Racer 3D
Best Racer on 3DS So Far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/11
Gergoth
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so much fun. I totally recommend this game to those of you who are trying to decide whether or not to get Ridge Racer or Asphalt. Asphalt just sucks plain and simple. The graphics suck, the frame rate is horrible at times, and it just seems that the publishers just slapped it together. If they had of just kept it in development for some more time it could of been so much better i think. Ridge Racer on the other hand has awesome graphics and a great frame rate. But i do have to say that the levels lack originality from each other. But in the end go with Ridge Racer 3D you will not be dissapointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ridge Racer 3D
It's A Fine Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
Armystar
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really good but it's not like Asphalt 3D. When you crash into the wall or a car you see squares coming out of the car. Then the girl won't SHUT UP! But you get different types of cars and NOS tanks. I would recommend this game to other people.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ridge Racer 3D
I'm probably getting it.
Posted on:2/17/11
sundavar427
I love ridge racer so I'm interested in seeing how this will play. I used to play it al the time on the PS3 and PSP. That said, I'm kind of excited for the drift button. I can't tell you how many times I've lost a race by accidently drifting.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ridge Racer 3D
Awesome one word
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
buggy1
Location: wisconsin,wi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ridge racer 3D is a eye catcher to racing fans. Its competior on the 3DS asphlat 3D (i also own) is also a great game but it has several issues. This is by far the best serious racing game on 3DS. The 3D effect is very dramatic in game your racing off into the distance that makes the game look more real. The tracks are nice and diverese in differnt places and climates the tracks are the main reason the 3D looks so good.THe cars are high in diversity to. Differnt speeds, handling, drift technic. This game has a nice local card play which my friend and i use often. Great job namco!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ridge Racer 3D
AWESOME GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
Softball
Location: New Bern, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game has great graphics with 3d on or off, i have and my 3ds since last year and this is the first game i got and i still love it. it hasnt gotten boring or old to me in any way. i would defenitly recomend this game to a friend. this game is defenitly worth your money. i garentee it :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ridge Racer 3D
awsome in 3D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
smithy1
Location: illinois
i bought the game not only because i love racing games. but because i heard it was awsome in 3D and i was correct. the game rock in 3D it looks like a toy car in the screen. the game is long but overall a game that should be owned even if you dont like racing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ridge Racer 3D
Good racing game for the 3DS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
Plugg
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a pretty good game as long as you like racing games. People who aren't fans of racing games aren't going to like this because it's about the same as any other one out there. Overall get it if you like to race.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ridge Racer 3D
Cool.
Posted on:2/2/11
dspcgamer
Location: New York, NY
A classic racing game remade for the 3DS? I want it.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
funlunde
ny
 
Please wait while more information about funlunde is loaded.
Additional information about funlunde could not be loaded.
my pick
Posted 2/24/11
i wold pick ridge racer sience it comes out first
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ridge Racer 3D
Can anyone help?
Posted on:2/9/11
derspy600
Which one should I get? Asphalt 3D or Ridge Racer 3D? Asphalt link below. Please reply.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Cloud1234
 
Please wait while more information about Cloud1234 is loaded.
Additional information about Cloud1234 could not be loaded.
I don't know
Posted 4/21/11
I'm getting asphalt today and it looks good but ridge racer looks pretty good too
Customer Avatar
Pulsatingshadow
Miramar Beach, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Pulsatingshadow is loaded.
Additional information about Pulsatingshadow could not be loaded.
Good question
Posted 2/23/11
I too was unsure of which one to get. Allow me to compare the two. Asphalt 3ds has accelerometer control which allows you to play the by tilting the 3ds or by the circle pad. Asphalt also has motorcycles while RIIIIDGE RACERRR does not. Ride Racer is more of a simulation racer than a Burnout style game. In other words, if you hit an enemy car or push it against a rail, it will not crash like in Asphalt. You automatically drift in Asphalt, while in ridge racer you must press a button to do so. Both have nitrous boosts which you earn from drifting. Ridge racer appears to have slightly more realistic and high definition car models, while Asphalt has more cartoony looks, but that is a matter of opinion. In Ridge Racer you can take your picture and use it as an avatar that is displayed above your car in multi-player matches, but neither game is confirmed to have online multiplayer (facing players all over the world), only local multiplayer (someone standing right next to you). Both play in 3D. Look up some gameplay videos to help you see how each game plays. Now decide which suites your play style better.
Customer Avatar
SurfersWWJD
 
Please wait while more information about SurfersWWJD is loaded.
Additional information about SurfersWWJD could not be loaded.
Posted 2/14/11
I would wait till the reviews are in and compare, personally i am getting the 3ds and pilotwings but still havent decided which racing game im getting
Customer Avatar
smithy1
illinois
 
Please wait while more information about smithy1 is loaded.
Additional information about smithy1 could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
i'll compare
Posted 2/13/11
well i cant make that decision for you. but let me break it down. if you like real cars more, you should buy asphalt 3D, but only issue is alphalt games are kinda a little bit unrealistic. if you like to have a little more of the casual gamer feel. you should buy Ridge Racer 3D. but an issue with this game is the lack of hardcore feel to the game. but thats my opinion.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 12 for Ridge Racer 3D
Now I Am Spoiled Forever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/11
Domj
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After Playing this game how can I ever go back to playing 2D racer games again. I think the 3D graphics are amazing it really sucks you in. If you ever played the ridge racer series than you know the gameplay is arcade play. Easy for beginers but also fun for all serious gamers to enjoy. I will be playing this game for a while. Great first series for the 3DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ridge Racer 3D
FUN! BETTER THAN asfalt
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
its a cool Arcade race u got to play for ur self. it has no online! :( Y o well mario kart 3DS will have online! :) :D YAY!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ridge Racer 3D
A racing game. Nothing more, nothing less.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/11
Anonymous
Location: queens
This was my very first 3ds game, and I returned it the next day. Not trying to say it was aweful, but it was just an ordinary racing game. To me, just racing, drifting, NOS'ing got really boring after 1 hour of gameplay. Just wait for the mario kart 3d. Now that will blow you away! ... if you can't wait, then I suggest you go buy mario kart DS while waiting.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wellduh
Gardendale, AL
 
Please wait while more information about Wellduh is loaded.
Additional information about Wellduh could not be loaded.
I don't get it
Posted 4/14/11
So.....you bought a racing game....and then complained that all you did was race....what were you expecting?
Customer Avatar
pokemonmaster649
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about pokemonmaster649 is loaded.
Additional information about pokemonmaster649 could not be loaded.
Racing Games Rule !!!!!!!!
Posted 4/4/11
If you don't want people buying Racing games, then why are you saying to buy Mario Kart 3DS. P.S Racing rules !!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Ridge Racer 3D
A Good Racing game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
StueyB
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you've played any Ridge Racer game then you know what to expect. It's an arcade racer. If you want a fun racing game for the 3DS then this is perfect. The controls are great and the graphics are detailed and run well. The 3D works as well as you can expect. My only complaint is the announcer. At first you don't really care for her but after a while you may find her highly irritating. The are a good amount of tracks and different variations of them. I've put a few hours into this game and have enjoyed them.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Ridge Racer 3D
Fun Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/11
StilbornZombie
Location: Deployed
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its a really fun game. Who really hates racing games? Have not played it much maybe 30-40% done not sure, but when I do its an enjoyable game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ridge Racer 3D
very good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
Homerschooler
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is very good game. The graphics are good, but not as good as shown above. So far in the game I haven't uunlocked many cars. The 3D works very well and is useful in this game. This game is fun and also a bit challenging it takes a little bit to get the hang of it, but once you do it is very enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Ridge Racer 3D
Not very good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
Xnaut1617
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some of the graphics are really bad and have no 3D. The 3D in the game is pointless. When you are racing, it is very hard to use 3D because you will be tempted to turn the 3DS. If you are looking for a racing game, look into mario kart 3D, it is much better
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ridge Racer 3D
AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
R1cky
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's one of the most awesomest racing games you could ever play it is the first game I ever bought for my 3DS the graphics are just amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ridge Racer 3D
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
Prash
Really great if you're into racing games. the 3D stands out and makes it a lot more fun. online multiplayer would have made it a lot more fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 next>>