GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy XIII-2

The unfolding drama of FINAL FANTASY XIII, released in 2010 and selling six million copies worldwide, continues in FINAL FANTASY XIII-2. Explore a richly developed world featuring both new and familiar faces, and an exciting and highly developed strategic battle system.In this ongoing saga, the future is about to change...
Average Customer Rating:
8.036
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (197 reviews)
10 stars
34
9 stars
14
8 stars
15
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
67 out of 8381%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Can't Wait!
Posted on:4/20/11
CrystalBaker
Location: Big Rapids, MI
I can't wait for FFXIII-2! It's gonna be epic! X3!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Why didn't they just make Lightning a pop singer?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
holdthephone
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The ending to Final Fantasy XIII contained a contradiction; it broke the rules. But it rang true to the game's overarching theme of the infinite strength of the human spirit, with characters that declared they would contradict all the rules -- a touching note to end on. Final Fantasy XIII-2 then desperately jumps through fanatical loops in trying to dismantle the respectable conclusion of another game, and to a point of near hilarity. Savvy followers may even have questions of smaller magnitude, such as why everyone is suddenly capable of using magic. Well they just can, says the game's datalog. Why didn't Square just make Lightning a pop singer and call it a day?
But it's naïve to say it all ends there, and unfair to claim that Final Fantasy XIII-2 isn't for the fans. It's not even half complete when the credits roll, and a plethora of content still waits untapped. It's a monster collector's favorite hunting spot, a trailblazer's backpack of spoils, and a completionist's paradise. Cameos and salutes to older games abound, challenges to truly test those thirsty for battle await, and powerful skills and items lie in hiding - this is a gamer's game, and it's darn well appreciated.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
XIII-2 is going to be twice as good as XIII
Posted on:2/11/11
POCKYMAN
Location: boston, MA
final fantasy XIII might not have the praise i wished it had because it's a good game but i hope square can look at what made those guys upset and make the changes but keep the stuff we people who like the XIII already
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KeybladeWeilder4
Owensboro,KY
 
Please wait while more information about KeybladeWeilder4 is loaded.
Additional information about KeybladeWeilder4 could not be loaded.
Come on KH 3D!
Posted 3/4/11
I thought this was supposed to be Final Fantasy VS. 13 well anyways I guess I'll get it because its Square and has good graphics but they need to hurry up and get done with this I'm ready for KINGDOM HEARTS 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and Kingdom Hearts 3D but they have to make it first
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
FF13 - 2 going to be epic!
Posted on:4/13/11
Howlingglory
Location: NJ
I saw the trailer and it makes lightning look like a godded xD I cant wait!!!! FF13 was one of the best games ever, and i love it ( flaws and all) and im gnna be one of the first ones buying this!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
FINAL FANTASY XIV
6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Thoughts
Posted on:11/30/11
Boz90
Location: CT
I never actually finished the first Final Fantasy XIII. It was a good game but I lose my appeal for it after a little while and then go back to it every now and again so I'm still working through it. However, I do have one thing to say about the game. I see some people complaining about the battle system and saying why would it change if the battle system used to be so good? Although that is a valid point, I do want to point out that this is a series of games that has lasted for many years now. Look at Call of Duty for example. Everyone is complaining that Modern Warfare 3 is basically exactly like Modern Warfare 2. Final Fantasy needs to switch up their gameplay every now and again so it doesn't feel like you are playing the same game everytime. I agree that I would like to have the old free roaming back. But, a new battle system is welcome to me as long as it sticks and feels like Final Fantasy. (Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 opinion...not like Modern Warfare...stating it from other player reviews and comments).
15 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Don't know why people are bashing this...
Posted on:10/2/11
Minato3323
Location: Inianapolis, IN
The game looks amazing and yet I do not understand why people are bashing 13 and 13-2 so badly. All I have seen is people saying that the first was too linear of a game and if i remember right 10 was somewhat the same. Next is the combat system, oh boy this is gonna be fun. Who care's if it is not turn based I mean really? They tried to put something new into the game and I for one enjoyed it. You know games have to evolve or it would just be the same thing in each game over and over again.The story is good as well, maybe not as good as Final Fantasy X but saying that the story is bad is just going way too far. I loved the first enough to play it over 90 hours and im pretty sure that i will love this one as well. Don't let any of the negative comments effect you're decision in getting the game, they are opinions from people who just want to troll an awesome game because it is different.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
24 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
CAN. NOT. WAIT.
Posted on:4/7/11
Mikazuki
Location: Jackson, TN
I "literally" cried at the end of Final Fantasy XIII (as I do with every Final Fantasy AND Kingdom Hearts game), and thought that's the end. But when I heard and saw the trailer for Final Fantasy XIII-2, I ran through the house, cheering! I can understand why a lot of people didn't like the first one because of the fact you can't roam a lot. But I see this fact as somewhat part of the storyline. Think about it: if you're a person that society (and government) has labeled as a MAJOR threat, would you honestly go exploring cities just for the fun of it? NO! Of course not, unless you really do want to be captured. And not everyone's gonna like the battle system or characters. You'll find someone on every game that can be a pain. I can't wait for this sequel, and I believe that we should give this game a chance. The first one was probably a miss with some people, but usually with sequels, the producers do correct some of the aspects that people had a problem with.
As for me, I'm already counting down the days!!!! I really hope there won't be a delay!!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mysticalluna
 
Please wait while more information about Mysticalluna is loaded.
Additional information about Mysticalluna could not be loaded.
I Love FF!!
Posted 5/12/11
I can't wait for this game, sure FF13 is linear, but if it is just like FF13 with more side-quests and some mini - games , and as much fun as FF13 and FF X-2 I will be so happy!! I Love FFX-2 and FF13!! Whooo!!
You others may all miss FF7/8, which I love as well, but there is nothing wrong with change... I greatly love FF7: Crisis Core, and I pray maybe we can get another FF8 game now that we have 3 FF's with prequel/sequels? Oh, and yeah I want FF13 Versus as much as anyone, plus some actual info on FF13 Agito for psp would be great, but FF13 's sequel is going to be sweeeeet!!
Until then, I am playing Final Fantasy Duodecim 012 Dissidia!! Whooo!! Long live prequel/sequels!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
YAY!
Posted on:7/19/11
LWP91
Location: Lindley, NY
For some reason, everyone is bashing the Final Fantasy's that have recently come out. I will concede that Square Soft lost a LOT when it became Square Enix. All of the old final fantasies that are loved by many, Final Fantasies 7-9 were made by Square Soft. I miss those games. I think it has something to do with the fact that RPGs are becoming less popular than shooter games like Halo. But I digress. I miss this days when video games went on for several discs and it took you MONTHS to complete the game, let alone clear it all with all the accomplishments. Hopefully Square Enix will revert to some of that. However, I believe Final Fantasy 13 and 13-2 are and will be enjoyable. Instead of complaining so much, enjoy the game. =) Allow yourself to get immersed in the storyline. I just hope there's more open exploring. Both Final Fantasy 13 and Dragon Age 2 flopped and a lot of people aren't happy about it. AND I HOPE THEY STOP MAKING THE STUPID ONLINE-ONLY GAMES! SOME OF US JUST WANT TO PLAY THE GAME, NOT PLAY WITH OTHERS OR PAY STUPID FEES TO PLAY IT.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Don't hate
Posted on:6/1/11
JSizzle
Location: Rochester, NY
Personally, I loved FFXIII. The story was incredible, the ATB system was a unique twist on basic RPG battle systems, the graphics were better than any game before or since and the leveling up system was similar to the Sphere Grid in FFX. Now when I first played the game, my first reaction wasn't "Oh wow how linear" and "Oh why can't I explore?". This game was good enough that it didn't need some boring mini games thrown in to distract you from the great story. I didn't care that I wasn't talking to people in towns or mindlessly exploring dungeons for no reason. Even though there was almost always only one path to go, it was still a fun and challenging game. I'm just sick of all these people that want FF to be like VII, VIII and IX. Go dust off your PS1 and play them then! I hope they don't change much in XIII-2. I would like more stats other than just strength and magic. And it would be cool to have a little more personal interaction throughout the story. If you don't like it, cool, but don't dislike it just because it isn't exactly like the Playstation classics.
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
I do not feel guilty for wanting this game.
Posted on:4/1/11
Ultrajon
Location: Yuma, AZ
Personally I really "do" enjoy final fantasy XIII. I loved the story, charecters, graphics, gameplay, music and everything in between. I can understand why some of the fans of the series would bash on this game because it does in fact change alot of what final fantasy is. But if this game was called anythig else besides "final fantasy" then people would appriciate the game a whole lot more. In XIII-2 I am going to love returing to the Final Fantasy XIII universe with Lightning. I love the charecter Lightning because she is not one to be messed with. I love all final fantasy games and I do truly realize that Square did step away from traditional Final Fantasy qualities, but as a game it does have potential to make up for thier losses with XIII. I purchased Final Fantasy XIII day one and am still playing it to this day becasue you know what? I do not feel sorry for loving this game! and cannot wait until XIII-2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
it's here, and it's good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
badkarma
Location: oklahoma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
finally, it is here. have already allowed it to digest 9 hours of my life so far. no, it is NOT FFXIII. you actually have a choice of where you go pretty much after the first town. while I miss the old gang I have actually encountered Lightning,Snow,Hope (grown up) and some of Snows old "gang" already. yes, you only have 2 playable characters to start. Serah and Noel. pretty quickly you gain the ability to tame (capture) defeated enemies, and have them fight for you. the time travel is a bit weird at first but you quickly get used to it. I have 15 npc creatures captured so far. think your going to just run through this game? good luck. the ability to freely wander leaves you on many quests and I am currently at a grinding (leveling) stage. the 2 quests I have available kick my buttocks. like I said it is not FF XIII, nor should it be. thanks square enix for allowing me to voluntarily decide where I want to go instead of making me go where I need to go.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
A Deviation....
Posted on:4/4/11
Metaphoenix
Location: Chicago, IL
Let's face it, final fantasy has been known for quite some time as the definer of what makes an awesome RPG. In recent years however, the formula of the game has changed significantly. Some great things about the previous games has been its "free roam" atmosphere and diversions to the storyline. In VII, there was the Golden Saucer, where you could play a variety of mini games and bet on chocobo racing. In VIII there was tetra master. These diversions allowed you the ability to do something other than grind or storyline progression. XIII had none of this, and more importantly, the combat system practically forced you to utilize certain characters because of their underlying specializations in order to ensure your survival. This made me look at the characters more as tools of my objective, rather than people that I could truly connect with and live their experience (Which is what ROLE PLAYING GAMES is supposed to be all about.).
All this being said, I believe the games graphics were amazing and the music phenomenal, but overall there were many aspects of this game which failed to meet the standards that previous games in this series have set. I look forward to the future when this issue could be remedied...
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cloud
Austin,TX
 
Please wait while more information about Cloud is loaded.
Additional information about Cloud could not be loaded.
To Harsh.........
Posted 4/10/11
Have you considered that the limitation of free roam was because the characters were declared enemies of the public because of their race. If they went around in public they would have been captured and/or killed. But I agree with you that XIII should have had mini-games. (Chocobo racing!). I'm SORT OF looking forward to this new continuation.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Amazing Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
jack6044
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I didn't get this at the midnight release but I did have my collectors edition pre order months back. I was not about to miss out on a collectors edition pre order. I picked the game up early the next day and played a couple hours the first night. The game is awesome. I love how they changed it up and you can travel back and forth in time and can go back without progressing on the story. One thing that bothers me when I read reviews from other sites from people who are not true Final Fantasy fans. I was on one site and a guy said the moogle looked like a type of pokemon. Um first of all, no it's not and second of all moogles have been around forever in final fantasy. Second, why the heck are we comparing every single Final Fantasy to Final Fantasy 7? Ya of course 7 was groundbreaking and amazing, but we really have to stop comparing each one back to that. Each Final Fantasy is its own amazing game with its own storyline. Sure some fall a little short some times but to me its still worth the buy because I love playing these games. Final Fantasy games are beautiful, its that simple. Seriously take a good hard look at what Square has done, they created a whole new world for us to explore and we keep spitting on it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1012killer
Atlanta, GA
 
Please wait while more information about 1012killer is loaded.
Additional information about 1012killer could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
this guy probably isn't a true FF fan!
Posted 2/5/12
first of all, you haven't played the first 2 games in this series, have you? moogles either debuted in FF3 or FF4.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Better than the first!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/14
XAquaBladeX
Location: Red Bluff, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is what final fantasy 13 should have been, Noel is a badass! the story is addicting in a certain way! I recommend this to fans!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Should be good, :)
Posted on:8/3/11
FFfanatic
Location: New York
I have been a fan of the Final Fantasy series since FF4 which I believe had the richest and darkest storylines that was ever made. My next favorites were 7-9. I do agree that a lot of recent series has lost that something that endeared fans to the series. I'm all for change since everything is always changing but there are somethings such as the aspect of exploration and minor characters that shouldn't be. My biggest problem with the recent FF is the AI. I like controlling all the characters because it poses a challenge. Least to say, I'm not a hater that didn't like FF13 but I seriously think that it could've blown a lot of fans' minds had it been done correctly. On the other hand, I still liked the game because regardless, I will always be a FF fan and spend loads of money on the series. So 13-2 will definitely be on my must-buy list. I'm hoping that since Nomura is behind the reigns on Versus, it'll bring back the Final Fantasy that fans know and love.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Give the Demo A try first
Posted on:1/11/12
0nard00
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Play the whole demo...don't rush into it.
Do everything that's needed to be done..level up and explore every monsters and every new features..
Took me 2 Hrs 21 Mins to complete the whole thing so dont judge the game before you played the demo and stop listening to those downers who I guess likes to rush these kinds of games.
I really recommend this game very much!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Final Fantasy XIII-2 - The Complete Official Guide - Collector's Edition
7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Paw57
Parma,Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Paw57 is loaded.
Additional information about Paw57 could not be loaded.
Great demo
Posted 1/22/12
They gave me hopping witch I love in any game and I caught a cat in a vase. I named the cat Winston and had a great time. The only problem that I have is Snow is not playable. Overall this game will suck many hours away from my life.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/12
Deckfosho
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Picked up my copy yesterday at midnight. Wow. XIII-2 took all of the great things from XIII and built upon them and left all of the negatives behind.
Linearity gone...check
Engaging Story...check
Amazing graphics...check
Towns....check
Sidequests....check.
This game is worth the buy for any Final Fantasy fan, including people who have never played XIII. There is an option before beginning the game which gives a brief summary of the events from the original, so for those of you who haven't played it in a long time or haven't played the original at all, no worries, there is an option to update you on the story so far and the continuing adventures of the crew on pulse.
Negative: only negative I've really noticed so far is that the crystarium system seems harder see and or visualize where you are going and is a bit more complex that the original. Im sure after more gameplay it will become more easy though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GreenCactaur
NY
 
Please wait while more information about GreenCactaur is loaded.
Additional information about GreenCactaur could not be loaded.
Not that good
Posted 2/8/12
Awful game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Excited and I can't wait for it to come out.
Posted on:1/16/12
Chrisie
Location: Columbus, Ohio
I have been a huge fan of Final Fantasy since I was a little kid (even though I'm only 16 now lol.) I remember playing Final Fantasy X-2 on my PS2 which a lot of people didn't like but I loved the game even though I couldn't beat it lol. I just recent got a PS3 in July for my birthday and I got Final Fantasy XIII. I love the story and the gameplay (even though I'm stuck fighting the robots in the huge tower with the giant statues -_-) and especially the music (learned how to play Serah's theme on the keyboard.) I did miss the fact that I couldn't explore around but from what I've seen they brought that back in Final Fantasy XIII-2. I've already pre-ordered it and can't wait to get it. The only other Final Fantasy game I'm waiting for now is Final Fantasy Versus XIII. ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Impression from demo
Posted on:1/13/12
SonWukong
Okay this game, from the demo alone, has answered all of my prior concerns about the game with more exploration, NPC involvement, side quests, and even though it is only 3 people it is the original party number of 13, though i do wish the next number, 15 since 14 is an MMO, has more. The monster thing though does add to it nicely, giving it almost a Pokemon feel but not too much. There are signs of their being actual shops in the game or at least a crazy woman dressed like a chocobo(when did crazy cosplayers get in this game?). I haven't explored the demo fully as it is very large, but this definately makes me grateful I pre-ordered that. Also, another thing to point out, is that it still has that beautiful music to it that made me change my order to a collectors editiont for that soundtrack. For fans of Final Fantasy, this looks like something you'd want unless you have problems about there being only three party member slots.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Irritating
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/12
LWP91
Location: Lindley, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The old PS1 Final Fantasy's were legendary. It would take you around a month to finish the STORYLINE, and even longer to clear all the side quests. Final Fantasy XIII-2 is an epic game. I would recommend you play it...after Final Fantasy XIII-3 comes out. This game ended in such a way that there is obviously going to be another game. Square Enix is obviously trying to make these games into series instead of just finishing them in one game. If they had just made the games like they made the PS1 games, Final Fantasy 13 would have been multiple discs and it would have been huge, and gamers would have died over how awesome it was. The gameplay is absolutely awesome, but I beat the game in a week. They need to put more heart and soul into their games. Basically: this game is awesome and I recommend it, but the storyline will irritate you in the end.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>