GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy XIII-2

The unfolding drama of FINAL FANTASY XIII, released in 2010 and selling six million copies worldwide, continues in FINAL FANTASY XIII-2. Explore a richly developed world featuring both new and familiar faces, and an exciting and highly developed strategic battle system.In this ongoing saga, the future is about to change...
Average Customer Rating:
8.024
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (196 reviews)
10 stars
34
9 stars
13
8 stars
15
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
66 out of 8280%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
A Great Sequel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
Mitorher
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Final Fantasy 13-2 had some great improvements! Graphics are on the spot! Music is wonderful, (Can't stop listening to Caius's theme). The stiffness from 13 is gone and the characters feel more free during battle. Having a monster as an ally was a great idea and a smart move. Leveling up has improved also but still feels like the old 13 way. If you thought Square Enix has lost their touch, oh boy they haven't!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
BETTER THEN THE FIRST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
natsu1234
Location: Bennington,NE
Final Fantasy XIII-2 is way much better then Final Fantasy 13 the gameplay and everything improved. I recommend this game to every Final Fantasy game out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Great gameplay, but might be hard to follow story
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
Trueno
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The combat is almost the same as FFXIII but with a few changes, such as the monster system, which basically just goes as a third party member. Kind of disappointing to have really only 2 people to control in battle instead of 3-4. The story can be confusing to some. Many FF stories are pretty straightforward with cool twists, but this story can get intricate. Usually, its like, "you have to venture here and do this so you can beat the bad guy", but with this is, it's like "you have to maybe go to this time zone and do this so that this can clear up so you can go onward and then do this to enter the portal to maybe go to a relevant time zone and hopefully beat the bad guy unless you didn't clear this paradox". If you don't like that kind of stuff, be wary.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
The former 1 l'Cie must save the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/13
Eternix13
Location: Sebring, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game improved from the last in terms of what most people were looking for. I just wished I could have played as Lightning more. To me every game is great unless something just really keeps popping up over the course of the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Worst Final Fantasy to date.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
Daryth
About the only things this game had going for it were the adapted monster capture/use, and the graphics. **SPOILER ALERT** Time travel is a science fiction nightmare, it rarely works in a story base and in this it game was a blundering catastrophe. Keep in mind I was grossly disappointed in XIII as well for it's linearity, and was extremely skeptical of buying this one. I have no idea how this game got a rating as high as it has, but I'm chalking it up to fewer sales and it's large support coming from it's focused demographic. The best way to describe my thoughts are; if this series (XIII, XIII-2, XIII-3) were a written story it would never have made it past the publishers. Maybe I'm getting too old for these games, but this really let me down.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Interesting Sequel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/13
Brye
Location: Milton, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Final Fantasy XIII-2 is really what i expected it to be... AMAZING. the storyline, cutscenes, Animations, character design, etc. Square Enix never fails to impress.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
RPG3Guy4356
Location: Suprise Az
GREAT story great chac's and g :) :) GREAT GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!reat music buy this GAME :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Easyer then the first of the final fantasy 13
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/13
raceredge
Location: Wa
This game is really well on graphics, this is also easier then the first game. The game play and battles were fun, but the story line had a bad ending and much of it didn't make sense. This made sense after awhile but it be nice if there wasn't all of these DLC that you have to buy to finish the game. I would recommend this to you.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Square Enix, it only gets better from here~
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
iNv3Rs3
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
[After what many fan's called a disaster in the franchise, the success of the Final Fantasy franchise can only improve. There's little Square Enix could do to make a reception of a game worse than Final Fantasy 13. For some of us, FF13 left a bad taste in our mouths. In addition to the blunder of FF14, the SE faithful began to dwindle in numbers. On to the path of recovery, SE created a comeback with Final Fantasy 13-2.]*****Gameplay has changed significantly to an open-world theme that allows you to virtually backtrack to ANY point in the game. Battle structure is similar following the style of stocked commands. Only 2 main characters are available in a 3 party battle system. The 3rd member takes the form of a "tamed" monster obtained via battle and quests. Although you can't equip monsters with beneficial accessories, there are numerous creatures at your disposal. Commands are communicated almost instantly, so battle control has become more precise. Characters, as well as monsters, can level up via an improved version of FF13's Crystarium System. All roles may be accessed by the 2 characters, however it's balanced so that they are unique to each character. The main story line is rather short, but that's if you decide to skip 50% of the game. The rest of the game is packed with story-related quests and alternatives that significantly contribute to the story. THIS GAME IS MEANT TO BE REPLAYED. Not necessarily from beginning-to-end, however, some areas need to be re-examined for 100% completion. Beautiful graphics is a Square Enix specialty. The soundtrack is amazing, and offers quite a bit of variety between areas. There's a level of professionalism and polish that other games overlook. Was this game ever worth it's MSRP of $60? Maybe to the hardcore fans. In any case, I definitely recommend this game for it's current market value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
SWEET!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/13
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was skeptical upon buying this because i havent played FF in a while, but i figured id take a shot and buy it, heck it was only 18 dollars. If you like the FF series, i strongly recomend this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Lost
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/13
snakebite
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the game doesnt improve on the old one everythings the same pretty much dumb down. at one point you have no idea ware you are going the game gets really confusing. i personelly think this game isnt worth the moeny.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Maybe I expected too much
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/12
Kante
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm not saying it's boring.
Graphic is awesome, looks like real, sounds / musics with great orchestra. But I guess that's it. We're not playing video games to watch fancy graphics or listen to the music right? They don't have 'something' that used to be in past FFs.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Loved it!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
lydwlc
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first saw the review for this game I was hooked! The story line is touching and the graphics are amazing. If you are a fan of the Final Fantasy Series you wiil love this game!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Give it a break.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
Xnaut1617
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Stop hating this game. It may have done some things wrong in the past, but Square Enix has fixed those things now. This is the sequel to Final Fantasy XIII. Can't imagine how this would turn out? Well, imagine this. It is like FFXIII except non-linear and it's the sequel. Everything about this game makes playing it feel pretty good. The only bad parts were minor, that some voice acting was odd.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
It's a good game,just not that great.60H+ gameplay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
TacoStandBoy
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is good,and the story was great til i got hit with the ending which i didnt like...easily platinumed this game in less then a week,mostly likely your gonna be grinding for crystals/gils whatsoever,the game gets extremely easy when you get a chu chi pet and you'll be killing every single thing in few seconds with just that lil cute monster.and collecting some fragments can give you a huge advantage on the game when you unlock these special fragments that can increase your gil/crystals and improves chance to befriend monsters, i use chu chi for mostly my main style on just ravenger/commando/commando and medic/medic/medic along with green chocobo and somtimes all sents when fighting very deadly bosses/NPC's which there r hardly any,if your lookin for a easy platinum, this game is good for the taking.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Minor improvement but confusing overall
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/12
PheonixFire
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fairly good. It'a better than the orginal in that you don't have to worry about TP, filling up such a long crysterium since CP is fairly easy without the x2 effect, and you don't have to worry about doing anything tedious for 100% completion like collecting all weapons and accessories (those trapezohedron spwan rates were annoying!). It also has an easy mode option so you can practically fly through the game though you don't want to challenge the final boss until you're at least on lvl 60 ( i got to him at lvl 47 and found the very last fight in the 4 part battle to be challenging).This game has more exploration as versus the orginal when you can only explore gran pulse late in the game. It even allows you to replay stories even though it would be pointless as your characters progress which will make the battles easier replaying them again. I've managed to earn a platinum in this game under 58hrs versus the original which took 115hrs again because of the long crysterium and trapezohedrons. What got me confused is the ending itself but it would be wrong to spoil it although there may be a hint at a xiii-3 but what about versus xiii that has been in development since 2006 and x HD that has been confirmed but no updated info has been released. Square Enix needs to focus on these titles instead of dropping them to work on other projects. All I have to say is that hopefully the wait is worth it or fans will be disappointed. Overall, xiii-2 is good for those looking for a final fantasy to play at this moment and to pick up right were xiii left off but the story is somewahat confusing and leaves you with many questions when it's all said and done but i would recommend it to a final fantasy fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jere541
 
Please wait while more information about Jere541 is loaded.
Additional information about Jere541 could not be loaded.
Great Game, Confusing Story
Posted 8/18/12
As a Final Fantasy fan myself, i know that early final fantasy players are not used to this change. But to be honest, we must accept Square to being fresh in both gameplay in style. The changed atb battle system has improved no doubt from the first XIII. I think the change was great. As for the story, not so much. I know all of u remember how simple the stories would be in the original, now it's all complicated. I see myself going to the wiki now and then to get my confusion fixed. Either than that, if Square is really gonna pull off a XIII-3, i hope it will further improve battle system and characters and will tie up lose ends. GO L'CIE POWER :P
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
jrjohnson44
Location: Indiana
This is the next chapter in this series the ending SHOULD mean there will be a third or at least I hope. The battle system is the same as 13 but your stuck with only 2 characters and only 3 monsters in a pack as your third character. The story is confusing and not well thought out. I hope if and when the third comes out they return to their roots and follow more after 13's example.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
bobby12354
it was very awesome it was very awesome it was very awesome it was very awesome it was very awesomeit was very awesome it was very awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
I found this games to be very fun and enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
iTravyo
Location: New Jersey,NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All these people saying this game is bad hasn't given it a try or really hate the change from games like Final Fantasy. This game is very fun I played every final fantasy and change yes it has changed but for the better. You can't keep the same thing forever I highly recommend this game for PS3 Gamers who truly know an RPG game when they see one better yet who truly know a JRPG game when they see one. You feel right at home if you played final fantasy before. This game also gives casual or new gamers the fun they want with many add ons this game is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Final Fantasy XIII-2
Fun to play, no matter what anyone says.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
Maniac0122
While Final Fantasy XIII was undeniably flawed, XIII-2 truly does make leaps and bounds in improving upon the game. With a smoother battle system and great music and graphics, this game is well worth playing. The storyline is slightly strange and hard to follow, however, it is still fun and stays true to the strange but compelling nature that comes with a Final Fantasy game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>