GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Darkness II

It's been two years since Jackie Estacado used The Darkness to kill the men responsible for his girlfriend's murder. He's been unable to shake the memory of Jenny's death since bottling up his supernatural power and now The Darkness wants out.A sudden, unprovoked attack on Jackie's life heralds the start of a full-scale mob war and opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge. The botched attempt sets Jackie on a journey to hell and worse as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motivations of The Darkness itself.
Average Customer Rating:
8.077
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
10
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Darkness II
Review 1 for The Darkness II
Repetitive gamplay and no storyline.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
UmbrellaSecrets
After playing this game all the way through I came down to the conclusion that this game is nothing but slashing, bashing, shooting and guts with no thinking involved. The first part of the game was interesting and seemed like it had potential (That's why I bought it). After about halfway through the story, it fell apart. The gameplay was the same throughout the entire game, the storyline was about Jenny and the Darkness and all the enemies were the same. The storyline seemed as if it was written up in a day. Overall, this game was pointless and mindless. In my own opinion Darkness 1 was much better...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Darkness II
better than the 1st!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is way better than the first one,because of the quad-weilding gameplay to shoot,grab,slash and throw things at your enemies.overall,fantastic game sequel.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for The Darkness II
AMAZING!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/12
DrPinecone
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Perhaps the most amusing game I have ever played. The graphics aren't great, but the cartoony style fits perfectly (less realistic, more cartoonish) the quad duel system is amazing. I love throwing stuff while slicing people up while either shooting and aiming or duel wielding pistols and machine guns.. The bloody shootouts and gross executions gushing amazing looking cartoon blood are great. The sound of the victims being ripped apart is great. Good guns, good talent evolving, etc etc. the game was short, but extremely replayable. There is also a co-op mode with interesting new characters that will keep me occupied for a while. Did I mention that it is very bloody? People who don't like splatter flicks might want to keep away....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Darkness II
An over all great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
ReaperOfTheMist
Location: Athens, TN
I never played the first Darkness game so this was a mystery to me. it was a risk i was willing to take. When i first bought it it was the morning it came out so i got the Limited Edition Version. when i first played it and saw the graphics were not that great so i just thought they just had a low budget but then i figured out it was based on a comic and assumed they wanted to portray the design similar to a comic book. the game play was awesome. It had a great story and it was a little short but if you are one of those gamers who just wants to get through the story then it is for you. you receive points to upgrade your skills. And since this game has a New Game + you can start over and continue upgrading. Two different endings. May opinion is that it is an awesome game and i don't plan on
trading it in or selling it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Darkness II
it was an awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
zizombiev2
Location: NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i think this was an AMAZING game the action and gore are enough to keep you wanting to play it for the 6 hours of campaign and plus the awesome online multiplayer and would recommend this game i think it earned a 9.0 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Darkness II
NO! NO! NO! Put it back!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
bunny5f6
Location: lancaster, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thats right, put it back the way it was in number 1, so many things were missing from this game. I accidently came across number 1 and enjoyed every minute of that game, I waited on pins and needles for number 2 to come out, What a disappointment. first off, it seemed they tried to cram a lot into a little. you don't really get to interact with the mobsters, the demons don't slither anymore, you can't watch the t.v. sets, all you do is go from one place to another fighting., but you don't get to find anything really. It left something to be desired... like " Is that It?" I really was bummed and took it right back traded it for Silent Hill downpour, (another disappointment). Wow, games are becoming as bad as the movies they make.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Darkness II
I was hasty but so glad I purchased it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
SubjectDelta14
The Darkness 2 didn't seem like a good game. Boy, was I wrong. This game is insane. It has the perfect amount of gore, shooting, violence, romance, and story telling in one game. I have never played the darkness so I will be buying that soon. Yeah the game may be a little short, so play it again on the highest difficulty. Their is also coop so I will be playing that soon, and it's a whole other campaign. The Darkness 2 is great and I definitely recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Darkness II
Exceeded My Expectations.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
TheMinotaurFlip
Location: Kennewick, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Fantastic Game. After gaining all the achievements in the first game, I didn't see the second one living up to much. I was wrong. This is a great game, despite the short length. Compelling storyline, much improved graphics, and with the concept that kept the franchise moving. Great for anyone interested in ripping mobbers apart with demon arms, and easy achievements.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for The Darkness II
good story.....for 3 and a half hours of gameplay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
burnitalldownpyro
Location: abilene,tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Slightly better than the first one.It has a good story line with a good plot and twist.Yet,weather you play it on easy or hard.You can beat it in about three and a half hours.If they make another one the need to add more of a challange and more missions and levels.Overall it's pretty much " playing " a movie.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 10 for The Darkness II
A Quick Buck for 2k
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
Flipper4
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Basically, I paid $60 to push buttons for 4-6 hours. Yes, that is how long it takes to beat the game, twice. On hour-7 of replay, I got all the character perks you can get, and most of all the relics, or "hidden items." The game is, fantastic, I love it, and no-doubt you will enjoy it. But I have been impaled, realizing I actually spent $60 on this game, and I am upset. This game is worth $20 - $30 tops -- it is extremely short, and has little replay value (I could go on about that). I would highly recommend RENTING this game if you want to play it and you'll see what I mean.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Darkness II
Good,but not much to it
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
GameReviewer879
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well to start off the games story telling is really good.the graphics are different but they fit the gameplay,the controls are very easy and a lot like other fps games.its got really good dark humored jokes.the only draw back to this game is that its maybe got one or two playthroughs to it and it takes about 4-6hours per playthrough.also if you like the first darkness you ll most likely like the darkness 2.(Note the darkness 2, it gets repetitive after level 3,all you do is run and gun mostly the rest of the game.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Darkness II
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
Gearsfan101
Location: Somers, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Graphics could be better but the gameplay and sound are definitely worth it. The campaign continues to change and present new things to do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Darkness II
Embrace the Darkness for a few hours
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
Pilzbari
Location: Arlington, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay. So overall, this is a good, solid game.
Pros: The updates from the first in the series have made this entry extremely accessible to any gamer. There is a standard upgrade/perk system allowing the player to feel as though they are evolving through the game. Excellent action covered in blood and limbs torn asunder. Story is very intriguing to any comic book fan. The new multiplayer mode allows you to get together with 2 or 3 friends and eviscerate your opponents.
Cons: Very short game. I beat it on the hardest difficulty twice, collected all the collectables, and unlocked all the achievements within a total of maybe 15-20 hours. The new game plus tries to extend the game, but as I said, it is not very long to begin with.
Solid rental. Not particularly worth a purchase unless you are a collector.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Darkness II
If you enjoyed the first one get the 2nd one.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/12
vroom
Location: michigan plymouth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Solid game with a good story.I enjoyed it mayby a little but not all games are as long as we want I'm sure there will be extras and updates to this game.So if you liked the first game and the demo I say go for it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for The Darkness II
Great Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
HorrificExperiment
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am not gonna say too much about the game but if you like the first one and the comics..you will like it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Darkness II
great game but short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
hh9852
Location: nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game but short. merely 2 day I beat it. Very confusing if you aren't paying attention.lots of gore and very very graphic . Like I said very short game very I played for 6hrs 2 times.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for The Darkness II
BA
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
nobleteamspartan073
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is stunning and the story line is just fantastic I loved every bit about this game go buy it ASAP!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for The Darkness II
A Bloody Good Time
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
GummySuck
Location: Rochester, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Darkness 2 is an amazing game. Having the ability to rip your foes apart limb from limb gives you the feeling of the ultimate monster wreaking havoc on the people against you. This game isn't all blood and gore though. It actually boasts quite an interesting story as well. There is a basic perk system where you can purchase new abilities and darkness powers. I highly recommend you pick this game up no matter what genre you prefer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IxKINGxMARINE
Auburn, ny
 
Please wait while more information about IxKINGxMARINE is loaded.
Additional information about IxKINGxMARINE could not be loaded.
Darkness 2
Posted 2/17/12
Pretty good game all round I'd def recommend everyone buyin it asap
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for The Darkness II
Great Story, Moderate Action
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Azhrukov
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There may be alot of raves about this latest sequel to The Darkness but its nothing spectacular to your average gamer. The story line is simply amazing as it continues the where abouts of the main character Jackie Estacado. The game is fairly short but quite original, the only problem I had with it was the gameplay and the amount of content it provided. You have the option to dual wield a few assortments of SMGs and handguns but even the selection of weapons are poor. Theres nothing that feels powerful other than your dark serpent-like appendages that protrude from your back. Whats very frustrating is trying to avoid areas that have light or when an enemy throws a flare your way, 9/10 you wouldnt have enough time to identify the source and end up dying from how much ammo these suckers pack in their weapons! Near the end of the game I soon realize that its just an interactive story with great visuals. I still give it a high score for originality but other than that I suggest steering clear from the $60 price and wait for it to drop to $20-$40. Unless your a "The Darkness" fan of the series than by all means help yourself to this title, everyone else just rent! And for the fans, this is one awesome anti-hero with some strange abilities(look him up in wiki).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Gotham City Impostors - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
9.1 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for The Darkness II
DONT WASTE YOUT TIME OR MONEY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
bbunny
Location: here
i donr know why this is getting good reviews from people on here..the gameplay is like a generic FPS ther is very little ammo and its just not well done and boring! im not a hater,my fav games are FPS's and this game is one of the dullest ive ever played
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 21 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>