GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Darkness II

It's been two years since Jackie Estacado used The Darkness to kill the men responsible for his girlfriend's murder. He's been unable to shake the memory of Jenny's death since bottling up his supernatural power and now The Darkness wants out.A sudden, unprovoked attack on Jackie's life heralds the start of a full-scale mob war and opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge. The botched attempt sets Jackie on a journey to hell and worse as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motivations of The Darkness itself.
Average Customer Rating:
8.077
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
10
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Darkness II
Review 1 for The Darkness II
worth the long wait!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
first off i would recommend the darkness 2 to everyone who likes action shooters, but some other gamers might not enjoy it as much as i have. the combat is absoluetly brilliant and gets two thumbs up! but something that people will either love or hate, the darkness is more a weapon than a tool like in the first darkness.the graphics are amazing and remind me of borderlands times two, but uses that kind of style. the controls work great, and voice acting is spot on! the sound effects are amazing and will push your speakers to the limit if you let them! online is great and worth taking a look at but can be alittle unresponsive at times. all in all the darkness 2 was woth ever penny, and worth the wait, a MUST BUY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Darkness II
"Come Embrace The Darkness"!
Posted on:5/23/11
nobleteamspartan073
Location: TN
its been Five years since the first Darkness game and I've been waiting for the sequel since then. I loved the dark and gritty storyline and I love the gore from impaling your victims to eating there hearts from there chest and hearing the serpents chewing on it. lol call me sick but I enjoyed it and also wiping out every mafia members with the hellish powers. now i've seen the screenshots of this game and I must say it looks cool dont get me wronge but I perfer more realistic graphics then cartoonish side of this fanstastic gritty game I believe they need to stick with the dark creepy feel of Jackie Estacado and his story. but yet I have faith that 2k and starbreez will make it even better than the first hoepfully . I'm so happy that they decide to hold this of this year and instead moving it to 2012. I'm going to pre-order this really soon.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Blazdav
Kansas, US
 
Please wait while more information about Blazdav is loaded.
Additional information about Blazdav could not be loaded.
Looks good
Posted 1/25/12
I agree about the graphics, I wish they had stuck with the realistic, non-cel-shaded look, but the gameplay more than justifies it. I also wanted to point out that Starbreeze, sadly, isn't the developer. Its being made by the people who did Bioshock 2's multiplayer.
Customer Avatar
danydestructo
km, nc
 
Please wait while more information about danydestructo is loaded.
Additional information about danydestructo could not be loaded.
Awsome I hope
Posted 5/27/11
If it is anything like the first one it will be absolutely epic, hopefully they don't deviant too far from the previous masterpiece.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for The Darkness II
Return To DARKNESS
Posted on:2/9/11
MedalTaker
Location: FL
The frist Darkness top of the line Great.Great story and gameplay it was the best game at that time.I can't wait for this game to come out.I'm so getting this GAME.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Darkness II
About time!!!
Posted on:2/27/11
Darksol7
Location: Akron, Ohio
The first Darkness was by far underrated by game magazines everywhere. Consumer-wise, we LOVED IT!!! Everyone that I talk to about the game who has not played it, I tell them to play. When they do, they love it and want more. Well, here's more! Pre-Order NOW!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HaxAras
 
Please wait while more information about HaxAras is loaded.
Additional information about HaxAras could not be loaded.
Mr. Aras
Posted 11/2/11
Cannot Wait!!
By The Time I Beat the Darkness IT Was One Of My All-time Favorite Games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Darkness II
An over all great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
ReaperOfTheMist
Location: Athens, TN
I never played the first Darkness game so this was a mystery to me. it was a risk i was willing to take. When i first bought it it was the morning it came out so i got the Limited Edition Version. when i first played it and saw the graphics were not that great so i just thought they just had a low budget but then i figured out it was based on a comic and assumed they wanted to portray the design similar to a comic book. the game play was awesome. It had a great story and it was a little short but if you are one of those gamers who just wants to get through the story then it is for you. you receive points to upgrade your skills. And since this game has a New Game + you can start over and continue upgrading. Two different endings. May opinion is that it is an awesome game and i don't plan on
trading it in or selling it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Darkness II
Embrace the Darkness for a few hours
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
Pilzbari
Location: Arlington, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay. So overall, this is a good, solid game.
Pros: The updates from the first in the series have made this entry extremely accessible to any gamer. There is a standard upgrade/perk system allowing the player to feel as though they are evolving through the game. Excellent action covered in blood and limbs torn asunder. Story is very intriguing to any comic book fan. The new multiplayer mode allows you to get together with 2 or 3 friends and eviscerate your opponents.
Cons: Very short game. I beat it on the hardest difficulty twice, collected all the collectables, and unlocked all the achievements within a total of maybe 15-20 hours. The new game plus tries to extend the game, but as I said, it is not very long to begin with.
Solid rental. Not particularly worth a purchase unless you are a collector.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Darkness II
It's going to be awesome!
Posted on:9/7/11
Spardax
I can't wait for this to come out. The first game was amazing. I'm excited to see what they are going to do with this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JackiesGirl
 
Please wait while more information about JackiesGirl is loaded.
Additional information about JackiesGirl could not be loaded.
I love you Jackie
Posted 9/9/11
I am A Huge fan Of the Darkness, I have been reading and collecting The comics since the first day it came out, I can not wait for this game :) I just love Jackie...I can say that because I am a girl ;p
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Darkness II
NO! NO! NO! Put it back!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
bunny5f6
Location: lancaster, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thats right, put it back the way it was in number 1, so many things were missing from this game. I accidently came across number 1 and enjoyed every minute of that game, I waited on pins and needles for number 2 to come out, What a disappointment. first off, it seemed they tried to cram a lot into a little. you don't really get to interact with the mobsters, the demons don't slither anymore, you can't watch the t.v. sets, all you do is go from one place to another fighting., but you don't get to find anything really. It left something to be desired... like " Is that It?" I really was bummed and took it right back traded it for Silent Hill downpour, (another disappointment). Wow, games are becoming as bad as the movies they make.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Darkness II
Should be great
Posted on:9/23/11
Hermenthotip
Location: Butte, MT
I loved the first Darkness game. They ended it just as I was getting sick of it. The second should be great. I've got a question though: Will their mouths actually move in the Darkness II?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
scif
LI
 
Please wait while more information about scif is loaded.
Additional information about scif could not be loaded.
TD 2
Posted 10/3/11
I loved the first one it had some flaws but i bet this one will be epic, i can wait to play it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The Darkness II
AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
xbboxdude
Location: US
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
besides the graphics, i loved this game could not stop playing it. the ending really upsetted me too but great improvement since the first darkness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Darkness II
Waiting for this game
Posted on:3/21/11
BishopDonjuan
I have been waiting for this game for so loooooooonnnnnnnnngg!!!! First one really was excellent, it hit the story sweet spot if you will.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
reckless
 
Please wait while more information about reckless is loaded.
Additional information about reckless could not be loaded.
Posted 3/25/11
I'm so excited about this game. Can't wait!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Darkness II
A Solid single player but not the best multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
MandingoWarrior
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the epitomy of a hard day at work and wanting to tear into some bad guys for relief. The single player is solidy done and a thrill to play. While there is no multiplayer (at least not like cod) there is a co-op campaign. The co-op campaign made me think of Brink, fun to play through the first time but after that its a whole lot of repeating missions. If you a sucker for details like me youll get annoyed that the mouths dont match up to the audio at all. Over all this game is definetly fun to play its an outlet for all those dark thoughts we secretly have but dont want to admit to.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Darkness II
Wow.....
Posted on:1/18/12
D4RKN3551NC4RN473
Location: Parts Unknown
I just played the demo for this game and needless to say, I'm in awe at how amazing this game is and I absolutely LOVE that the darkness can now pick items up to either shield you or stun/kill your enemies. The executions are another magnificent addition to the gameplay and brutality of the ever hungry and masochistic darkness. I've been very picky about my First-Person Shooters as of late. I play but don't necessarily enjoy Call of Duty, hate Battlefield and a tad burnt out on Halo. I usually stick with the not-so-traditional first person games like Duke Nukem Forever (yes, I like DNF because it was what I wanted....a Duke Nukem game) & The Darkness and everything I loved about the original has been overrun by the amount of awesome features they brought into The Darkness II and I am most definitely looking forward to picking up this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Darkness II
A Quick Buck for 2k
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
Flipper4
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Basically, I paid $60 to push buttons for 4-6 hours. Yes, that is how long it takes to beat the game, twice. On hour-7 of replay, I got all the character perks you can get, and most of all the relics, or "hidden items." The game is, fantastic, I love it, and no-doubt you will enjoy it. But I have been impaled, realizing I actually spent $60 on this game, and I am upset. This game is worth $20 - $30 tops -- it is extremely short, and has little replay value (I could go on about that). I would highly recommend RENTING this game if you want to play it and you'll see what I mean.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Darkness II
Good,but not much to it
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/12
GameReviewer879
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well to start off the games story telling is really good.the graphics are different but they fit the gameplay,the controls are very easy and a lot like other fps games.its got really good dark humored jokes.the only draw back to this game is that its maybe got one or two playthroughs to it and it takes about 4-6hours per playthrough.also if you like the first darkness you ll most likely like the darkness 2.(Note the darkness 2, it gets repetitive after level 3,all you do is run and gun mostly the rest of the game.)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Darkness II
New Look & Feel
Posted on:1/23/12
Jon23Bzn
Location: Santa Maria, CA
Although it's a different style from its predecessor the new unique style gives it a less darker feel to it and a more dark humor especially that you have a single darkling following you. It doesn't go straight for a kill so you can still get the kill. New execution system and essence currency gives gamers a reason to do brutal executions or take a simple kill to eat the heart to regain health. Vastly different, it's new direction gives it a new style that players like myself will love.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Darkness II
Going to be great
Posted on:1/31/12
BlackMamba
Location: Texas
I played the demo and it's a lot of fun. The graphics are just like Borderlands. For though who haven't played the first one I would suggest you play it because it's a follow up of the first one and you might be a little lost in the story. The controls aren't hard to figure out and for though who played the first one they didn't really change any controls. Your friend monkey is back and with a cool english accent this time. I really can't wait for this game to come out
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Darkness II
I was hasty but so glad I purchased it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
SubjectDelta14
The Darkness 2 didn't seem like a good game. Boy, was I wrong. This game is insane. It has the perfect amount of gore, shooting, violence, romance, and story telling in one game. I have never played the darkness so I will be buying that soon. Yeah the game may be a little short, so play it again on the highest difficulty. Their is also coop so I will be playing that soon, and it's a whole other campaign. The Darkness 2 is great and I definitely recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Darkness II
Best Game EVER!!!!!!
Posted on:12/30/11
SpacierRook99
Location: Utah
The first darkness game was a complete masterpiece. I love how in the second game, they puut co-op capmain in it. Can't wait for it to come out
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Darkness II
Pretty cool looking
Posted on:6/30/11
ChemLord
Location: Montana
I am looking forward to this game. It looks awesome and sounds awesome and the reviews for the first game have seriously got me interested. I think this will be in my line up for games to buy in the next few months. I have the first game sitting on my shelf waiting to be played, I just haven't had the time! I hope both will be good.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>