GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Darkness II

It's been two years since Jackie Estacado used The Darkness to kill the men responsible for his girlfriend's murder. He's been unable to shake the memory of Jenny's death since bottling up his supernatural power and now The Darkness wants out.A sudden, unprovoked attack on Jackie's life heralds the start of a full-scale mob war and opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge. The botched attempt sets Jackie on a journey to hell and worse as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motivations of The Darkness itself.
Average Customer Rating:
8.706
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
5
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Darkness II
Review 1 for The Darkness II
THIS GAME ROCKED
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
Reklaw
Location: Philadelphia, Pensylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was honestly one of the best and bloodiest games I've played. The Darkness II is full of heart eating and body slicing. The game does a good job of combining both gun play and devil-ish arm slashing. The only fault in this game is that it is so short, I finished it in six hours and hated myself when I got to the end so quickly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for The Darkness II
Gory, gritty, fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
SONYOVERMICROSOFT
Location: Clermont, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The original Darkness was a fun game, but lacked any lasting appeal with the mediocre multiplayer. The sequel returns, and while the campaign is under the lofty standards of the original, the online co-op play is great. The story is one of the most intriguing aspects of the game. You are Jackie Estacado, and after two years, you still cry over your dead girlfriend Jenny. You have money and power, which holds you up a little. The Darkness is inside you, but you kept it at bay for two hears. When The Brotherhood lashes out to retake it, The Darkness comes out again to help exact revenge. All the characters are memorable, from the awesome granny Aunt Sarah, to the twitchy, anxious mess that is Johnny Powell. These characters are brought to life by gorgeous cel-shaded visuals and solid voice acting and soundtrack. Gameplay is aot of fun. As Jackie you control two Darkness arms, as well as two small guns or one large one. You have a basic attack, analog swipes, and a grab function that allows you to perform special executions. These get a bit repetitive, as there are only ten or so, but they are still worth doing to get extra XP to upgrade Jackie. The campaign is only 6-7 hours on Mobster difficulty, but the co-op gameplay is about 4-5 hours for everything, and each character is worth playing as. However, if you plan on playing as Jimmy Wilson, mute your TV. He is irritating to no end, and has no personality or reason to hate The Brotherhood, except that he thinks they are all English. Framerate issues and bugs mar the experience, but patches have been released that fixed some of those. However, the game leaves on a bad note, but the journey was way better than the destination. Friend me on PSN for co-op fun. ID: Zakhaev1998. Also friend me if you plan on buying Borderlands 2 for more cooperative action.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for The Darkness II
crazy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
tommyboy111
Location: shavertown, pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is a awesome game for everyone. is fun and gory.soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo funnnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for The Darkness II
Fun game but the Graphics
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/12
ccarboney
Location: ohio
This is a awesome game if you love blood and splitting people in half xD but there's one problem, the graphics. It looks like an old cartoon show where you could see the outline. But you should get this game, its fun 9/10 <---- for me
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pntball190
 
Please wait while more information about pntball190 is loaded.
Additional information about pntball190 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/24/12
Some shooters made by 2k Games are meant to be like that, check out the borderlands series..
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Darkness II
The Darkness 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
gamefreak1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game. It was very gory and violent. If you havent played the first one i would play that one before you try the second one. You need to play the first one to understand what is going on. This game is just amazing. The guns are good and its just a very fun game. The darkness finishing moves are very brutal and gory but awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for The Darkness II
It was good.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
muhamadxl
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It only took me a day to beat it. Ending sucked. There was no stealth kill. You cant summon other dark minions.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for The Darkness II
I loved it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
Idontknowwhyineedaname
Location: Lemoore,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I recently parted with this game probably the most difficult decision, I pre ordered it back in january grabbed it feb 7th, beat it, Replayed it on ever diffculty 3-4 times. Loved it. I loved the story. It wasn't original but then again what is these days. The game was mayb 6-7hours but time well spent, I'm probably going to rebuy it but on Ps3, I'm a die hard xbox 360 fan but figure since i now have a ps3 i should purchase more games for it. Check it out, not meant for younger children, not scary no nudity, just a fun bloody game. Enjoy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Darkness II
Phenominal Gameplay, but not an original storyline
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
ThatKurt
Location: Naperville, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This games graphics were very entertaining, with good action/shooting scenes that in my opinion are similar to call of duty's. The only thing i disliked about the game was that the plot line was ruined for me mid game because it is an exact knock off of the book and movie "Shutter Island."
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Darkness II
Buy this game so I can get my DLC. It's good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
SonWukong
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now first off, my score for the Darkness, which I'll probably start making after I finish this review, is in honesty a 9. It had a good story framed by some decent gameplay and graphics. This game however, I think has better graphics because things look more interesting while keeping the feel of the darkness. The gameplay has been improved so you actually can use the Darkness more. Plus, no more cycling through different guns, you just reload. The demon arm does something, it destroyed lights in the first game and nothing else, now it rips people up. The voide actors do great work, even if they did replace Jackie. The story...is good, though I do admit the secret ending has me frothing at the mouth for the sequel and if it doesn't happen then I blame you, the reader who didn't pick this up, especially you Brian. (Yeah that was very limited but the look on the face of anyone named Brian is priceless.) A lot of the characters are established and I do care about the new ones, though others don't get enough time like they did in Darkness 1, but I still like the story event hough it relies heavily ont he fact that you played the Darkness. Also the moments with Jenny were especially heart string tugging because I sat through all of To Kill a Mockingbird with her in the first game. Still a good game if you pick this up before number one, though it wouldn't hurt to pick up number one. Also the Vendettas I have run through multiple times with each character and I want the DLC. You will give me the DLC, 2K! You will give it to me! First it, and then your heirs!...I mean their heirs!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Darkness II
Not as good as The Darkness
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/12
wastintime22
Location: Bethesda, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If, like me, you were a diehard fan of The Darkness, you may not be quite as impressed with The Darkness II as most people. First of all, The changed virtually every major characters voice actors, the Graphics took a giant leap backwards, in fact I honestly think they should be ashamed at how poor the graphics quality is on a PS3... it might as well be a PS2 game and the whole comic book cel blending thing has been done to death, and this franchise didn't need it at all, it just somehow takes a cool game and makes it childish. Overall the gameplay is decent, about the same as the original with a few differences. To me the story was very disappointing, especially after the ending of the first game. Still, it's a fun game, but it just doesn't live up to the original.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Darkness II
be the darkness!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the darkness 2 is a great game but it is way too short, the story is fantastic and there is lots of action but i still liked the first one better. Maybe there will be a darkness 3?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Darkness II
Amazing game !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
dazed8802
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I though the first Darkness was great but part 2 blew it away. This game has an awesome comic book/ realistic feel to it. Its extremely gory, has an awesome story line, great graphics, and tons of replayablity. They definately got the way the darkness should be portrayed correct in this game. After you finish the game they even let you play another set of vendetta campaigns and use the new game+ feature. This game is a must buy for anyone who likes The Darkness and wants a fast paced and ultimately fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Darkness II
Scare Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game could scare you. Maybe not. You should play it in thr dark and then see how you feel. It will put you in a state of mind that makes you look another from left to right and behind you but don't forget in front of you. get ready for the fight of your life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Darkness II
AWSOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/12
GIXXER69
Location: Grass Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pure Awsome!!! just went through the whole game, and beat it. loved the game. all around from graphics, to sound and game play. just a awsome game. I did take a while to beat the game but I played it on easy level, alot of action, blood ,gore and pure tearing people apart limb from limb. A game you must get or rent. Thanks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Darkness II
interesting
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played the first one for couple of hours and quit, it was something wrong with it. Darkness 2 is a different story, much better gameplay. the game has everything you can ask for - shooting, gore, some horror, it is also funny. You can upgrade your superpowers and to some extend your weapons. There is so many ways you can kill someone and receive different reward for it. This is the type of game that once you start playing the game you don't want to stop, but secong platythrough is a maximum I wold do just because of the "game plus" After the second playthrough I was done. Well, there is a mini game called vandetas which is also nice, different but interesting to play.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Darkness II
Sad story, but great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pros: quad combat, reset option, fill you in, online play and new plus
Cons: short single player, no real cover, needs to be more agile
This game was worth preordering
If you missed out on the first game then it is fine because this game does a good job feeling you in on what happen previously. Sad story does not equal a horrible story, yet it is short. Can probably beat single player mode between 5 to 15 hours, but the online play makes up for it and gives it more replay value. Especially when you throw in a new plus mode.
You can carry 2 small weapons in which you can use at the same time and one big weapon. You have 2 darkness arms to melee people with and grab onto stuff to throw at your enemies or use it as a shield. If you mess up on your skill tree don't worry you can reset it at a small cost without having to start your game all over again.
One thing that really bug me is that cover mechanics are non existent and it is not all that agile. You can sprint but only forward. Maybe they should have added a rolling feature or something.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Darkness II
GIVE IN TO THE DARKNESS!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
Odah
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The darkness #1 was my first ps3 game. so i had to check out the sequel. And to my surprise it was amazing. The delicousness of all the evil is what makes it so good. The graphics are pretty good. think its cell shaded in some aspects. Overall time to complete single player was like 6 hours. Fairly easy throphies if u are in to that sorta thing. Some parts in this game make u wanna just keep going. a bit predictable also. Overall the graphics are good. sound is great. gameplay is easy and yet tricky. about 6 hours or less for a hardcore gamer. 10+ for casual. would recommend this to anyone who wants to have fun being the bringer of darkness.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for The Darkness II
excited
Posted on:2/6/12
Diesel87
i just went and preordered the game today for the midnight release tonight. recently saw video of the game and became interested...co-op looks outstanding! traded in the new FF for it!
Review 19 for The Darkness II
2nd one looks great
Posted on:2/5/12
allonblack
Location: florida
the first one was really good..for all those people who said it looked bad and they couldnt see....make the gamma brighter and it looks 100 times better, the graphics are really good considering it came out in 07..just finished it again and it still holds up. The demo was really good so im sure the real game will be great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Darkness II
cant wait
Posted on:2/4/12
MasterofAll
Location: Butte, MT
this game looks sick as heck cant wait till february 7 to get my copy a must bye if your a serious first person shooter like me and grphics and story line are also sick as heck!!!!!!
1 2 next>>