GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Darkness II

It's been two years since Jackie Estacado used The Darkness to kill the men responsible for his girlfriend's murder. He's been unable to shake the memory of Jenny's death since bottling up his supernatural power and now The Darkness wants out.A sudden, unprovoked attack on Jackie's life heralds the start of a full-scale mob war and opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge. The botched attempt sets Jackie on a journey to hell and worse as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motivations of The Darkness itself.
Average Customer Rating:
8.706
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
5
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Darkness II
Review 1 for The Darkness II
Sad story, but great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pros: quad combat, reset option, fill you in, online play and new plus
Cons: short single player, no real cover, needs to be more agile
This game was worth preordering
If you missed out on the first game then it is fine because this game does a good job feeling you in on what happen previously. Sad story does not equal a horrible story, yet it is short. Can probably beat single player mode between 5 to 15 hours, but the online play makes up for it and gives it more replay value. Especially when you throw in a new plus mode.
You can carry 2 small weapons in which you can use at the same time and one big weapon. You have 2 darkness arms to melee people with and grab onto stuff to throw at your enemies or use it as a shield. If you mess up on your skill tree don't worry you can reset it at a small cost without having to start your game all over again.
One thing that really bug me is that cover mechanics are non existent and it is not all that agile. You can sprint but only forward. Maybe they should have added a rolling feature or something.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Darkness II
SICK!
Posted on:9/30/11
EINSTEIN
Location: Dartmouth, MA
Interested in the first games cover, i tried out this game and i couldn't get enough of it...maybe because its not the typical action bang-bang type of game ha but actually has a unique story that entangles u in and wont let up. Pure genius and Im sure the sequel will not disappoint
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Darkness II
I loved it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
Idontknowwhyineedaname
Location: Lemoore,Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I recently parted with this game probably the most difficult decision, I pre ordered it back in january grabbed it feb 7th, beat it, Replayed it on ever diffculty 3-4 times. Loved it. I loved the story. It wasn't original but then again what is these days. The game was mayb 6-7hours but time well spent, I'm probably going to rebuy it but on Ps3, I'm a die hard xbox 360 fan but figure since i now have a ps3 i should purchase more games for it. Check it out, not meant for younger children, not scary no nudity, just a fun bloody game. Enjoy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Darkness II
WOOT!!
Posted on:1/26/12
Wolf0003
Location: WI
This game is ganna be bloody amazing. The first one was and still is one of my favorite games on the current consoles. It had some of the best graphics at the time, and such an amazing story. The aditions that they added to this series in this next game are ganna make anyone who doubts The Darkness 2 sorry that they never took the time to give it a chance.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Darkness II
looks awesome
Posted on:3/31/11
juggernaut34
Location: cincinnati
Knowing the first darkness that was awesome, i think this one will be the best. I hope there will be more powers, darklings, and characters. Also way more blood, gore, and explosions. YOU MUST PREORDER AND BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Darkness II
Not as good as The Darkness
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/12
wastintime22
Location: Bethesda, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If, like me, you were a diehard fan of The Darkness, you may not be quite as impressed with The Darkness II as most people. First of all, The changed virtually every major characters voice actors, the Graphics took a giant leap backwards, in fact I honestly think they should be ashamed at how poor the graphics quality is on a PS3... it might as well be a PS2 game and the whole comic book cel blending thing has been done to death, and this franchise didn't need it at all, it just somehow takes a cool game and makes it childish. Overall the gameplay is decent, about the same as the original with a few differences. To me the story was very disappointing, especially after the ending of the first game. Still, it's a fun game, but it just doesn't live up to the original.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Darkness II
Amazing game !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
dazed8802
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I though the first Darkness was great but part 2 blew it away. This game has an awesome comic book/ realistic feel to it. Its extremely gory, has an awesome story line, great graphics, and tons of replayablity. They definately got the way the darkness should be portrayed correct in this game. After you finish the game they even let you play another set of vendetta campaigns and use the new game+ feature. This game is a must buy for anyone who likes The Darkness and wants a fast paced and ultimately fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Darkness II
Buy this game so I can get my DLC. It's good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
SonWukong
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now first off, my score for the Darkness, which I'll probably start making after I finish this review, is in honesty a 9. It had a good story framed by some decent gameplay and graphics. This game however, I think has better graphics because things look more interesting while keeping the feel of the darkness. The gameplay has been improved so you actually can use the Darkness more. Plus, no more cycling through different guns, you just reload. The demon arm does something, it destroyed lights in the first game and nothing else, now it rips people up. The voide actors do great work, even if they did replace Jackie. The story...is good, though I do admit the secret ending has me frothing at the mouth for the sequel and if it doesn't happen then I blame you, the reader who didn't pick this up, especially you Brian. (Yeah that was very limited but the look on the face of anyone named Brian is priceless.) A lot of the characters are established and I do care about the new ones, though others don't get enough time like they did in Darkness 1, but I still like the story event hough it relies heavily ont he fact that you played the Darkness. Also the moments with Jenny were especially heart string tugging because I sat through all of To Kill a Mockingbird with her in the first game. Still a good game if you pick this up before number one, though it wouldn't hurt to pick up number one. Also the Vendettas I have run through multiple times with each character and I want the DLC. You will give me the DLC, 2K! You will give it to me! First it, and then your heirs!...I mean their heirs!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Darkness II
OMG!!!!!!
Posted on:8/21/11
DethAngel22
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
I have always said they should have made a sequel of this game, but ofcourse it was a SERIOUSLY unrated game. I played the first one when no one knew about it, I just liked the cover and rented it randomly =P ...and it turned out to be amazing!!! Between it's unique gameplay, story, and originality, i dont know why its anything below a 9/10. I can't wait for this game!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Darkness II
2nd one looks great
Posted on:2/5/12
allonblack
Location: florida
the first one was really good..for all those people who said it looked bad and they couldnt see....make the gamma brighter and it looks 100 times better, the graphics are really good considering it came out in 07..just finished it again and it still holds up. The demo was really good so im sure the real game will be great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Darkness II
interesting
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played the first one for couple of hours and quit, it was something wrong with it. Darkness 2 is a different story, much better gameplay. the game has everything you can ask for - shooting, gore, some horror, it is also funny. You can upgrade your superpowers and to some extend your weapons. There is so many ways you can kill someone and receive different reward for it. This is the type of game that once you start playing the game you don't want to stop, but secong platythrough is a maximum I wold do just because of the "game plus" After the second playthrough I was done. Well, there is a mini game called vandetas which is also nice, different but interesting to play.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Darkness II
A Sleeper Hit
Posted on:1/30/12
Fever
Location: Reno, Nevada
The graphics are amazing, the guns are blazing, and my pulse was racing. This game took me by surprise. The graphics are unique, yet so defined and the gameplay is just so much fun. This was this only demo I have actually played over and over again. The Darkness 2 is a definite improvement from the first game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Darkness II
Phenominal Gameplay, but not an original storyline
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
ThatKurt
Location: Naperville, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This games graphics were very entertaining, with good action/shooting scenes that in my opinion are similar to call of duty's. The only thing i disliked about the game was that the plot line was ruined for me mid game because it is an exact knock off of the book and movie "Shutter Island."
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Darkness II
Sounds much better than first
Posted on:5/4/11
Ibericus
Location: MD
I read an article about it in Game Informer. It sounds like it has improved upon everything the first one needed imporvments on. Plus a new darkling that levels up with you and always has your back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Darkness II
Good
Posted on:2/13/11
DaBoss
Location: North Hills,CA
i had played the first game the darkness and it waz sick and cool. But hopefully i would see more in that game. hopefully new powers of the darkness.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
aTrueVillain
 
Please wait while more information about aTrueVillain is loaded.
Additional information about aTrueVillain could not be loaded.
Can't Wait
Posted 2/15/11
i played the first game and it was great, i hope the sequel has new powers, a longer story and perks for the multiplayer
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for The Darkness II
AWSOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/12
GIXXER69
Location: Grass Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pure Awsome!!! just went through the whole game, and beat it. loved the game. all around from graphics, to sound and game play. just a awsome game. I did take a while to beat the game but I played it on easy level, alot of action, blood ,gore and pure tearing people apart limb from limb. A game you must get or rent. Thanks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Darkness II
GIVE IN TO THE DARKNESS!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
Odah
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The darkness #1 was my first ps3 game. so i had to check out the sequel. And to my surprise it was amazing. The delicousness of all the evil is what makes it so good. The graphics are pretty good. think its cell shaded in some aspects. Overall time to complete single player was like 6 hours. Fairly easy throphies if u are in to that sorta thing. Some parts in this game make u wanna just keep going. a bit predictable also. Overall the graphics are good. sound is great. gameplay is easy and yet tricky. about 6 hours or less for a hardcore gamer. 10+ for casual. would recommend this to anyone who wants to have fun being the bringer of darkness.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for The Darkness II
Scare Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game could scare you. Maybe not. You should play it in thr dark and then see how you feel. It will put you in a state of mind that makes you look another from left to right and behind you but don't forget in front of you. get ready for the fight of your life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Darkness II
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Posted on:5/28/11
tbclycan
Location: A computer chair.
Not another one! With the first one I heard horrible reviews, my brother got it for 360 because he liked the comics and said he had no clue what the reviews were talking about, I got the demo on PS Store once and found out why. The gameplay in the first one killed it, I honestly cannot describe it, like going to a dark place where they say you will see something that you never saw before and cannot ever explain and can never forget! That is what the game mechanics and gameplay is like! (Not what the story or graphics or the "horror" theme but the actual gameplay is brutally bad)
1 of 46 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Blampfno
Austin, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Blampfno is loaded.
Additional information about Blampfno could not be loaded.
Have to agree with ya on this one.
Posted 8/31/11
The first one was wholly unremarkable. A few original mechanical features, but the story was pedestrian and melodramatic. Probably a popular game among the tweens and goth kids, but I was amazed to see this franchise still breathing. Then again, if Two Worlds can get a sequel, then I guess any title can.
Customer Avatar
Yeaaaaaaaaa
 
Please wait while more information about Yeaaaaaaaaa is loaded.
Additional information about Yeaaaaaaaaa could not be loaded.
Dead wrong! First one was Amazing!
Posted 6/21/11
You sir are clearly mistaken. The original Darkness was an amazing game! By far one of the best games in its day. The stuff you can do with the darkness in the game is incredibly fun to say the least. Crazy ways to kill people. It is by far one of my favorite games in the past and I can not wait to get the second one.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for The Darkness II
it soundes better than the first
Posted on:2/12/11
killersteven
Location: Loveland,OH
i hope that it is easyer to find your way around the game then in the first one
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>