GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Juarez The Cartel

When a Mexican drug cartel bombs a U.S. law enforcement agency, the U.S. government puts together a special task force to bring them down. As you fight to dismantle the Cartel and unfurl the mystery of the bombing, you'll embark on an epic, bloody road trip from the streets of Los Angeles to Ciudad Juarez. Protect your witness and put an end to the Cartel by any means necessary in this modern day Western shooter.
Average Customer Rating:
6.033
6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
3
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
17 out of 3057%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Review 1 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
First Time For The COJ Just as A Hold Over
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/11
illuminiti84
Location: Louisville KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
From Previous versions and ratings of this game COJ in general to make it clear I heard horrible things. Me as a daily game buyer and enthusiasts
I normally do not shake the dice at 59.99 a game but I will confess. Even though the game build feels Windows XP Direct X 10 feel the story packs a great attention span to keep playing. gangs , Money and Deception is what to expect. The Sound is great in my Astro A40 5.8 wireless headsets. Co-op is a bit frustrating to get going but once your in your in. The online play consists of Criminals or Cops in a Team Death match play. To be honest COJ The Cartel is priced too high, The graphics is lacking the real time feel , online gets old but the single player is decent with 3 characters to choose from all with different endings and so forth. I would say a price drop and a nice hold over game until the new releases drop beginning in September with Dead Island.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
UNREFINED
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/11
PappyOG1
After painfully playing completely through the campaign in Call of Juarez: the Cartel, I was left extremely disappointed. It was obvious the game was released with numerous problems, including movement through maps, sound issues, AI movement, visibility and more. While the acting was pretty good the repetition of phrases from your partners gets old fast. Nearly all of the cut scenes had voices stepping on one another or even no voices at all just lips moving. During movement while actively shooting the bad guys, your partners are constantly moving and standing in front of you while you try and get a bead on a shooter. They have a habit of standing in a doorway preventing you from moving through or blocking you from getting to cover. The irritating phone calls at the beginning of each level (as part of side missions) really get irritating. The story is good with the predictable twists causing you question the loyalty of your partners. The gameplay over all just feels like a beta and not what a finished product costing $60 should be. I have played all of the games in this series and this one, by far, was the worst. I would not recommend this game as a buy at all. At the most you could rent it and get through it in a day, the multiplayer, at the time I was playing was nearly non-exhistant. There are a lot better titles coming out in the near future, save your money. Cheers my gamer friends!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
10GHOST10
sin city
 
Please wait while more information about 10GHOST10 is loaded.
Additional information about 10GHOST10 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
it sounds like...
Posted 7/30/11
you just described brink, also an awful videogame
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Not how the west was won
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
FormerMarine
Location: San Diego Ca
The first in the series was a huge disappointment, but Bound in Blood was surprisingly good, so i checked out the cartel hoping that it would be as good, if not better. Well first off, taking it out of the wild west i think was their first mistake, I didn't feel like i was playing Call of juarez, instead it felt like a generic FPS. The story was just ok, not very memorable and the characters where so bland that it was impossible to form any kind of emotional attachment. The gun play was solid and at times fun, but it was dragged down by predictable levels. To give you an idea this is the break down of every level. Drive a car, walk a little. Fire fight in a few alleys, fire fight inside, fire fight in an alley, shoot out in an open area, and drive again maybe a car chase. There are six different endings to the game, a good and bad for each character but by the time you get maybe 2 of them, the single player wears off. And that brings me to multiplayer, skip it. There is no redeeming feature at all about it. So if you want a solid shooter that every other aspect of it is just eh, just wait till it hits the bargain bin.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
It's Not Old Western!
Posted on:7/10/11
sundog123
Location: California
The first two Call of Juarez were completely based on the old west. This is modern-day western! The cover art for this CoJ looks promising. But when I saw the trailer, I totally changed my mind. The enemy's your shooting don't have cowboy apparel, horses, or western guns! This game is a modern-day cowboy which means; Car/Horse, modern-day weapons, and modern-day clothing. This game isn't for the people who like Old Western. If you do want to try (or if you like) modern-day western, go right on ahead. It does have great graphics, better controls, and cool gameplay. It's just not for me, but it doesn't mean it's not for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Red Dead Redemption Undead Nightmare - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
8.8 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
drakee007
calgary
 
Please wait while more information about drakee007 is loaded.
Additional information about drakee007 could not be loaded.
Way better then Red dead
Posted 7/16/11
808moneyrap must have never play bound in blood...Multiplayer is 100 times better then red dead redempition will ever be.Its a new game with a new twist,buy it...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
excited to the maxxxxxxx
Posted on:6/24/11
HALOKING
Location: NEW YORK
i recantly purchased call of juarez-bound for blood and is incredible. this game looks very fun. this game has what i think it will tekae to be in the runing for goty. this game is like your a cop,undercover,and anothing i forgot but you are out to try to keep the violence in mexico from entering the united states. cant wait for this game this game looks worth every penny.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Different setting
Posted on:5/5/11
Celtic1962
Location: Deltona, FL
The original CoJ, while a bit rough around the edges, was still fun and it was great to play in an Old West setting, which was pretty rare at the time. CoJ: BiB was even better as the graphics were much improved and they did away with most of the annoying platforming from the original, along with being able to play as two different characters. The Cartel might end up being a good game as well but one does have to realize this game takes place in today's world, not the Old West so anyone looking for another game in that time period should take that into consideration.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
I don't know what ppl are complaining about
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
bayerrea
Location: the bay, ca
This game is good. I picked it up last night, launch day, after work. Many games get bad reviews that are worthy of better praise. This game was never pushed to gamers as revolutionary or cutting edge. I expected to play an FPS from a reputable franchise and I feel that's what I got. I have only played the first 2 or 3 chapters but I am still interested in progressing through. I haven't even gotten to the better weapons yet. Some reviewers are saying it is unploished, and I can agree that it is unpolished graphically. For example the gun your character holds sometimes won't stop shaking and there are tears and bad shadowing. It does not hinder gameplay but it is noticeable. Other than that it plays remarkably well. I have not noticed anything wrong with controls. The screen may look hazy at times but I believe this is intentional due to the shooting system because all the haziness turns crystal clear when looking down your iron sights with a gun that has the correct range. I like the story and while I was thinking about my review I knew it was on par with how much I like Mafia II. Mafia II kept me wanting to come back and finish the game/story and that's how I feel after the first session with CoJ Cartel. Each character has some dirt even though they are agents, and they develope their personas as these personal stories unfold. I also rank it higher than KZ3 in my book. I returned KZ3 before beating it and I usually like to at least beat a game I bought for $65. And though I've bought and beat LANoire, which was a hype machine, I didn't really care for it much in the end. This is not a fanboy post. I compared a few other games because I want this review to help others trying to decide if they want to buy Call of Juarez the Cartel.. I've been playing a lot of FIFA11, and MLB11 the Show. I got this game because the sports games have no story line and wanted to switch it up. And in case you still don't know about my review for COJ Cartel, my next two games will be Dead Island for sure, and probably end up getting Madden12.
 
My Product Recommendations
Dead Island Limited Edition
10 out of 10(168)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
awers
Location: new york,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
is more fun than the other one because you finally get automatic weapons....yes, and not nearly as bad as the reviews kinda like brink.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
A Horrible Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
ShadyRappaFromNJ
Location: NJ
this game is not very good the graphics are bad the story is boring and the multiplayer is terrible the multiplayer is like a cheap version of black ops and is very confusing i cannot believe the price is still the same as when it came out
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
turrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
coonandfrends
Location: phx
terrible graphics and gameplay glitctcy waste of money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
better than call of of duty black ops
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
egjbphwjghrwlhrt
Location: chicago il
this game is awesome the campaign is amazing the online multiplayer is so much fun u will stay up all night playing this game with ur friends cause i did. there is co op campaign which awesome and funny if u have friends that like to have fun. BUY THIS GAME THIS GAME CAN NOT BE FORGOTTEN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
Skullkid1789
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
there have been a lot of bad reviews for this game but I personally like this call of juarez of any other COJ game. It dosn't the best grapichs but the gameplay really makes up for it. The gameplay is exciting, thrilling, and adventurous. Also with the secert agendas differt for player is fun. The guns are great especially the machine pistol pre- order bonus. Have tried the multiplayer yet but the game as Kim and working on beating it with Eddie,then on to Mcall. I don't care what anybody says this game is a must have!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
A fun game for friends with a solid multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
ChemLord
Location: Montana
My next stop on the co-op train was COJ: The Cartel.
This game was not exactly what I was expecting, and its wasn't for other people I talked with. It is a game that takes place in modern times as a group of 3 people: an FBI agent, a DEA agent, and a somewhat crazy detective, attempt to discover who is behind an attack on a DEA office by taking on The Cartel. The story is not bad, but it could have been better. Each character has their own unique back story and side missions in each chapter. There are a lot of driving sequences which are not the best parts of the game and there are simply too many of them. The gun combat is fun with a lot of different weapons.
This game is best played with 3 people online. That way each person experiences the story a little differently and has their own views on the whole game. However, I have a serious problem with the co-op in this game. It is a little too competitive for my taste. Kills are recorded and challenges are constantly posed to the group and more experience is given to whoever completes them. This makes the "co-op" more of a competition as people throw away working together and take up running out to the enemies as fast as possible to get the challenge completed before their friends.
I was happy with the competitive multiplayer though, it actually encourages more working together then the campaign does. It is also something new to do then COD and battlefield. I definitely recommend this game if you have some friends to play with, maybe not so much if you are a single player.
~Happy gaming my friends~
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
All around disappointment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
shakenbake303
Location: Boulder, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game this weekend and thought it would be good after playing Call of Juarez, Bound in Blood. I was hugely mistaken. The graphics are sub-par and blotchy compared to all of the other games out there. The game play is slow and seems delayed. The story line is pretty boring as well. Spent an hour and half playing, waiting for it to get better. It didn't. Don't waste your money!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Disgrace to my Xbox
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/11
playxboxguy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is the worst game i have ever put in my xbox , the revievs on the game were between 4 and 5 and thats being generous , i played bound in blood and really enjoyed it so i thought this would be as good or better. the gameplay and voice acting is so cheesy i couldnt play more then 5 minutes , if you buy this you will be sorry !!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
DEA Agent?
Posted on:6/8/11
Kanelloz
Location: Wisconsin
So you're going to play as a DEA agent seeking revenge in the modern world. Call of Juarez was a fun western I used to love, but this? Its creative, but its too far. Western games are few and far between. Red Dead, Gun, and CoJ. Now all thats left is Red Dead, as Gun was fun but old. Just remember when getting this game, you're getting a "modern day western" as in no horses or black powder.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
just wow
Posted on:3/10/11
MrEd
Location: New castle Pa
cant wait its gonna be great
i wanna see it this game lives up with the other 2
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
better than the first 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
sonnyc
Location: spring hill, fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awesome,because of the action,graphics and the new,modern day wild west,with modern guns. overall,great addition to the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
Won't be the same, but looks good
Posted on:7/17/11
Gamer5222
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
This game wont be like the first two, but it looks like a good shooter. High expectations.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Juarez The Cartel
new features?
Posted on:2/25/11
assassinZERO
Location: minnesota
ive never played the original and i played about 3/4 of bound in blood and i thought it was ok i give it an 8 out of 10 but i have ideas for new features there NEEDS to be 4 player co-op and by the box art it looks like there probably will be and they need to make it ACTUALLY a sandbox game not that stupid open worldish stuff between chapters were you get like 2 missions but i guarentee you it WONT happen and the name is stupid i predict lower sales than the previous entrys but the modern day idea is kinda cool but.....wouldnt ray be like 100 years old?
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>