GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thor: God of Thunder

CONTROL THE POWERSOF THE S TORM!Play as Thor, God of Thunder, in an original action adventureas he battles to save the Norse worlds from legions of titanicenemies lifted from the comics. Wield the iconic Mjölnir, Thor'slegendary hammer, and use powerful melee combos, lethalhammer throws, elemental storm powers, and a robust grapplingsystem. Players will feel what it's like to go toe-to-toe with12-ton, 25-foot tall frost giants and trolls.
Average Customer Rating:
6.267
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
0
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 out of 1560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thor: God of Thunder
Review 1 for Thor: God of Thunder
Taking bad movie tie-ins too a whole worse level.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
NateGame
Will we ever see the day that movie too video game tie-ins are always good? Probably not, now that I've played Thor: God of Thunder, you'll never look at movie tie-ins the same. First off, the camera is wonky. The camera gets obscured when you fight, when you "fly" or even when you just go places by foot. That may be good, because it then distracts you from the horrible graphics. Sure, big, ugly monsters are fun too look at, but don't stare at them too long. The bad graphics will seere your eyes. Why? Because the graphics are HORRIBLE! Now, the only thig that is good in the game is the sound. But that doesn;t nearly make up for the lasting appeal. I beat the game in four hours. That is unexceptable. Now, the reason I put quotaions around "fly" above is because you can't roam free and fly where you like. Why can't you fly as everywhere as Thor? That's just wrong. Overall, Thar: God of Thunder ( or is it Blunder?) gets a very well deserved 2 out of 10. Sorry Thor fans, not even you guys (or gals) should play this game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thor: God of Thunder
good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/11
klo08
Location: johnstown,Pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is suprizingly fun. I wouldn't expect so much from a game released for a movie. But this game is really solid. its not a masterpiece by any means, but very fun at the least. combos are easy to use and continually get upgraded. graphics arn't perfect, but with how good the gameplay is it really doesn't matter. i would reccomend this for anyone who is a fan of thor
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thor: God of Thunder
asgard never looked so awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/11
asgard24
Location: elyria ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The overall awesomeness is just too much to talk about in one sentence. graphics, action,storyline is pure genius and doesnt fall off the topic of the game. it brings back original villains that the god of thunder has came across like loki, ulik, and even the frost giant ymir. overall i would never get tired of this game. i recommend if your an avengers fan that you buy and play Thor god of thunder.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thor: God of Thunder
Bore : God of Blunder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
Gfresh
Location: new york, ny
Yes it was a corny cheap pun but the truth of the matter is is that Thor's first solo game is ridiculously poor. It is an incredibly bad God of War clone but with absolutely NONE of the polish or fun of the game its trying deperately to copy. I'll keep this review short (honestly there isnt much to be said).
Gameplay- Again, an incredibly bad God of War clone with NONE of the polish or fun. Its just getting from point A to point B and beating up whoever gets in your way. Oh! and Can someone at Liquid Entertainment tell me why am I playing a Thor game and Thor CAN NOT FLY???!!!
Graphics- Thor can easily pass for an Xbox title. Glitches galore, pop ups, framerate problems, clipping, bad textures, etc.
Controls - Probably the only decent part of the game. X is your light attack, Y is your heavy attack, A to jump, etc. If you've played any 3rd person action game for the past 10 years you'll have no problems with the controls here.
Sound- Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston play Thor and Loki respectively and do an ok job. Everything else is just massively generic or just non exsistent. Mjolnir (Thors hammer) SERIOUSLY lacks any ouch factor.
Replayability- Has absolutely none, unless your an achievement junkie who needs to 1000 every game then you'll have to endure Thor anywhere (depending on skill and difficulty) 2-3 times for the full 1000. Certain collectable are only attainable on hard mode. NOT FUN.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
johnny3476
brooklyn
 
Please wait while more information about johnny3476 is loaded.
Additional information about johnny3476 could not be loaded.
sucks so bad
Posted 1/7/13
the graphics suck and they just copied the whole movie.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Thor: God of Thunder
Sounds Cool
Posted on:2/14/11
TheCritic666
Location: Jasonville,IN
I would buy this game because Thor is one of the coolest superheros.
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
timothymoney
Heath,OH
 
Please wait while more information about timothymoney is loaded.
Additional information about timothymoney could not be loaded.
Possibly Copacetic
Posted 4/19/11
Looks like this may be a video game based of a movie that might hit home as a good installment from the marvel series, like its predecessor Wolverine from other long lines of video games based of movies Wolverine was the first todo it unlike many others before it and yes even from marvel, with this title it's seems to me it can be percieved as a alread 7 or low 8 in the ratings if it's taken for what it's worth, and as long as the game mechanics pan out to be notabley polished and good. I think it's a great bonus to get the 3D glasses that aren't like the ridiculous paper ones you get with your old comics or at the movie theater, if they are like the ones you get with home theater systems per say then this would be a great extra value for your dollar as well. Either way Thor may score some suprising reviews and win more people over than expected, so until it's released, Kudos to Sega and the new Thor game for XBOX360.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Thor: God of Thunder
Horrible, it is a monstrosity.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
TheHonestReviewer
The games graphics looked like they went back in time and made this in 2007. I constantly fell through the floors and even if I didn't fell through the floors the enemies are then I have to revert to last the save where I wasted my time on that group of enemies. I didn't give a perfect for any type of gamer because no type of gamer should have to endure this pain as I did while playing this game and thinking this was a huge waste of my money and time. If you still want to play this game than buy it when it is $5 or less. If you want a real game then try out one of these games below.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thor: God of Thunder
Really?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/11
OldSchoolGamer6391
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
A game that looks, feels, and plays like garbage had a 9.3 average review? You gotta be kidding me, it had to be all kids reviewing this garbage.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thor: God of Thunder
Coolest Game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/11
Ronven
Location: Kenosha Wi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THis is the best marvel game yet it is awhsome great gameplay i am a huge thor fan thor is the best awsome combos and strikes cool bosses surtur ulik and more final boss is magnog which is awsome you have to put all your money into this awsome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thor: God of Thunder
Looks like a Great game
Posted on:3/14/11
svtcobra04
Location: Garrett, In
I'm a big THOR fan, and the game looks very cool! The graphics look good and I hope the combat system will be real time. I'm not sure what story they will base the game on, but I'm sure it will be good. The trailers I've seen have some really cool enemies that you'll fight.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thor: God of Thunder
bunk to the max
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
smith4592
Location: austin TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i do not see how this game got the rating it got on here. the disk itself serves a better bottle opener than a game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thor: God of Thunder
Money well spent !!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/11
QBall1
Location: San Francisco
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one superhero game that delivers . It's right up their with the Wolverine game . I'm sure we'll be playing this one thru a few times . The movie got a good score/review a@ rotten tomatoes also . MONEY well spent !!!!! Get it support SEGA !!!!! So they'll make more Marvel games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thor: God of Thunder
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
Josh5696
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is so awesome it is the best game in the world awesome graphics i am keeping this game forever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thor: God of Thunder
Needs work
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
vrocko
Location: Lordstown, OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I bought this one cause I liked the Avengers movie and Thor's movie. I thought it might be good because I also liked the Captain America game and Iron Man's 1st game. I read quite a few reviews on Thor and I take most mags reviews with a grain of salt. I've bought games before that reviewers hated and I liked, Bullet Witch anyone? Unfortunately I was not very happy with Thor and agree with the reviews. No it's not terrible, it has a storyline, not much more I can say about that, and the gameplay is all right but that's about all of it's good points. The graphics need updated seriously. There are some good looking scenes in the movie but what happened here? This isn't the Xbox guys it's the Xbox 360! The area's are a lot alike and you do basically the same thing in each against the same generic monsters in that level. Repetitive is not the way any game should be. The only thing I'll say for sound is it has the actors from the movie as Thor and Loki. It really needs a lot of work. Sega I'm disappointed in you. When you were doing your own systems you made some fantastic and off-the-wall fun stuff, lately it's just been the same stuff over and over. Don't turn into another EA or Activision. You could have done so much more with Thor but you didn't. He's got a huge history at Marvel, didn' t you do any research? This is a poor to fair game not one of my top picks. I'd sell it but I probably wouldn't ever get what I paid for it. Too bad.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 14 for Thor: God of Thunder
A good movie follow up game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/11
TheCritic666
Location: Jasonville,IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Most movie follow up games are really bad but this one is actually alright i mean its one you'll play for like an hour each day but i'd rent it though first just to be sure
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thor: God of Thunder
Cool
Posted on:4/3/11
kikimoocow
I think this game looks cool good graphics and enemies! I just hope the story line is good
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thor: God of Thunder
Thor Is Better Than More!
Posted on:3/10/11
dolphinboy
This game looks like it has good storyline, good characters, plots, and graphics!
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Macri007
Monsey NY
 
Please wait while more information about Macri007 is loaded.
Additional information about Macri007 could not be loaded.
I will give it a try
Posted 5/8/11
I will give thor a try for X box looks good
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Thor: God of Thunder
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
Clipsy123
Location: Poway, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when i played this game it was pretty fun i heard it was a terrible game but it is fun. the graphics are ok but the grappling and attacks are pretty cool.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thor: God of Thunder
Best Marvel game ever.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
BigViny
Location: SOME WHERE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To know what is my review, see tilte ^^
-Good gameplay
-Good storyline
-THE BEST MARVEL GAME EVER !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thor: God of Thunder
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/11
kikimoocow
great game good graphics and game play i saw the movie and now i am a big thor fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.