GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Stronghold 3

Your castle walls are being smashed by siege engines,an enemy catapult surrounded by troops is rumblingever closer, your villagers are starving, wolves havebeen spotted in a nearby cave and your barracks aredesperately empty... just another typical day for amedieval lord in FireFly Studios' Stronghold® 3.Since first launching in 2001, the Stronghold serieshas become one of the most respected in its genrethanks to its mix of precision village building, fastpacedreal-time gameplay and dramatic sieges withhundreds of enemies swarming over your castle.Stronghold 3 promises to be the best yet, with a keepfull of fantastic new features that ensure old andnew fans alike experience a gritty slice of medieval life.
Average Customer Rating:
3.278
3.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
3 out of 1817%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stronghold 3
Review 1 for Stronghold 3
Worst stronghold game made
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
SHCol
I played this game for one day, will likely never play it again. To start with a few positives, the game has good graphics and a decent audio track. That's about the extent of any positive reviews. There is no skirmish mode. The unit cap is set at 300. There is a building limit of 125, making building a strong economy and military almost impossible. Walls cannot be built multiple layers thick. Cannot build moats. Random events usually ruin a castle. I'd play Stronghold 2 any day over this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Stronghold 3
Another miss
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
drkxx
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This franchise is bleeding out. No skirmish mode - an impacting oversite, leaves little left for those who enjoy AI skirmish games. So if you don't intend to play real opponents (which there are very few of btw), this one's a bust. Too bad, looks like a good build otherwise...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stronghold 3
about it (stronghold 3)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
WorldDomination
Location: indiana, fort wayne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is recomended for good strategy players like me i love nothing but strategy and everything was so well put up, and the graphics my god the graphics were amazing. If you like strategy you will love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stronghold 3
Really just a graphics update at heart...yet...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/11
Loyalist
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
missing several features (Kingmaker) and fiddling with some mechanics from Stronghold 2. Just like the film industry is doing, this is at heart really just a remake of a better game (in stronghold 2). I dusted off my copy of Stronghold 2, and played that until this release. I was VERY mistaken to have bought Stronghold 3. BUGGY is not strong enough a word for this thing. Once I realized that troops were dismantling my castle walls..... I simply uninstalled the game. After all of the crashes, I only had a few hours of game play in at that time (over four days). Honestly, I spent more time attempting to diagnose the problems, and restarting than actually PLAYING the game. Can I say I played the game enough to give it a fair review? maybe not..... but then again; I hated it so much after just a few hours I deleted it. Now I have the task of deciding who I could possibly hate enough to give this game to..... I don't think I hate ANYONE that much!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stronghold 3
It's mistake - fake game...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
Annaas
Location: DE
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is more buggy than possible. Youtube movies about this game are fake - real is soo bad...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stronghold 3
The Real RTS Failed on Release
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
Rastis
Location: Tri Cities MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well I am an old RTS fan from the beginning,War Craft,Star Craft, Ext. Stronghold did what none of the rest have done. But like every PC release it's released before it's ready. A fact is small companies have big great ideas with little money to get it done. I don't want a return, just please hurry and get it DONE. Other wise the DTB (Ditch The ?itch Weekend LAN) guys aren't going to buy to play. :)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stronghold 3
Don't waste your money. Big letdown.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
Airbrushguy
Location: OOB Maine
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Super fast summary.
CONS: NO single player vs AI. Online Multiplayer is spotty, and D/C's in game (with no save on either end). The map selections are still tiny, just like previous games in the series. By the time your castle is built, you are in the other guys front yard. There is no way of changing the game's speed, (single player), and the beginning ( building up your resources and economy) takes literally an hour. Buggy AI in campaigns where animals can attack you on a tower and kill you instantly ala "super wolves". mouse cursor is still weird , in the sense that where you click is not where the cursor is selecting. Real fun in a battle..
PROS: Graphics are pretty, lighting and weather effects are cool. Still has some of the humor Stronghold 1 was famous for. I suppose you could play it as a SimCity esque castle building sim if you wanted to play the game badly enough..
I made the mistake of buying this on steam before a lot of reviews were out, and had I even bought the physical copy in store, I would likely feel bad giving the disc away for free to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stronghold 3
Epic Failure!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
ScubaSteve101
Location: NJ
Way to go, you ruined an awesome game! hats off to you!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stronghold 3
FIREFLY.....Seriously..........
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
Zacco
Location: Pittsburgh
Tisk Tisk. Fire Fly should be ashamed for putting this out. The biggest problem I have is there hardley any "in game settings". (Expert,Intermidiate,Novice) You dont have any time to establish your castle or stronghold before the enemy is knocking down your walls,marching in, and killing you. I put Archers on my towers and the enemys take them out in one shot like they were standing right in front of them without any cover. And your villagers must be on downers or something. They move very slow and do not produce product fast enough.Seems like i have to build 10 farms just to feed 20 villagers. And where are the linked trails like there was in Strong Hold Crusader!!!???? Spend your money elsewhere. :(
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stronghold 3
Very fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
kamikazegee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a big fan of stronghold 1, but not stronghold 2. I got this game today and so far I love it. I am a big medieval fanatic so that may be why, but still, it is fun. My only complaint is that the gameplay is a little slow, but that doesn't take away from me liking it. I would recommend this game to everyone!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stronghold 3
This game is mistake..
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
Roan
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Worse than 1 part, worse than 2 part... graphics are primitive. Please don't belive in YouTube trailer for this game. It's fake movies.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stronghold 3
an epic failure
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
gbhpc
Location: michigan
I am currently in the process to get my money back as I did not get the product advertised! No scirmish mode! Sound and graphics are dated. I have not been able to find a map editor for the game. Its terrible! They ruined a awesome game and to make things worse they put it on steam! This game is not finished and in it current state its garbage! Stay away until they patch it. I was so horribly disapointed. One word sums it up. Garbage!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stronghold 3
Avoid like plague
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
Seven1797
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
If you doubt this game deserves a score of 1, please go to gamestop.com and look this garbage up. You will see I'm definitely not alone in wanting a refund.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stronghold 3
the long-awaited third installment
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
in the award-winning castle-building series, promises to be the best yet, with a keep full of fantastic new features that ensure old and new fans alike experience a gritty slice of medieval life.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stronghold 3
Could have been great but...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
1337R463
Location: Earth
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Way to many bugs. Cant plant any object if any of your many minions are walking under it. have to zoon all the way in the get the 'sword' to appear so you can battle anything. Soldiers get stuck on every wall, have to delete the wall, let them pass and then rebuild it. No infomation on what building makes what. Game is a mess. Sounds is fun, Physics is ok (building damage) over all fun, nulled by bugs.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stronghold 3
OMG GAMESTOP LET ME RETURN THIS FOR FULL REFUND
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
Drunkenfist
Location: Texas
I have loved playing all the stronghold games and game of build mechanics of other games. I understand they wanted it to have a story line from where Sh1 stopped but its like playing back in the early 2000s. This lastest release is junk at best. There are so many bugs and horrible video the music sounds like the pulled from Sh1 and put on this game. The game it self feels like at the end of programing was rushed so they could hit the date of release. It can be laggy and you will be at somepoint kicked completely out of the game by the game failing to load something right. I will say this dont waste your money. Wait for something better. And for those of us that it is to late pray we can return it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stronghold 3
Many Bugs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
Cjeep
Location: Columbus, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is bug filled and leaves a great deal to be desired. The game misses many items that made the previous Stronghold's such a big success. Gone is the kingmaker, co-op, and city building capabilities. You are now limited to sprawling sparse castles... Few maps, new units, and many glitches (IE Wolves running up ladders). Are some items that really need to be fixed or added before really spending the money. The price point leaves many folks fumming. Wait till either there are additional patches or the price drops on this.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stronghold 3
Great Potential Killed by Bugs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
mikeo2721
Location: Frisco, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really wanted this game to be great. I have played all the previous versions and loved them but the Stronghold 3 game is so full of bugs and missing features that it is not worth buying. (Hopefully they will fix it soon for all of us early adopters.) The multiplayer forces you to go through their service (no direct connection) and their service cannot keep any games stable. I played 8 multiplayer games and all 8 crashed for different reasons. There are only 4 multiplayer maps and no map builder so it is very limited. You cannot play a multiplayer game against a friend with CPU controlled opponents (no CPU of any kind in multiplayer.) As for the game itself, they made a big deal out of fighting at night and in weather. In the single player games, the time never changes, nor the weather. You can adjust it yourself, but what is the point other than to see your castle at night. The game should automatically change day to night as the game progresses. Lots of other little bugs. The first 10 times I loaded the game, it would say it had to check the .NET foundation on the first install, and the game would take 3 minutes each time just to load. On the 11th load the problem went away for some reason. It is embarassing that Firefly released the game in this state. Not sure what they were thinking. Save your money for now and hope that future patches will fix the problems. If they do, I will write another review to reflect this.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stronghold 3
Stronghold = EPICNESS!!!
Posted on:9/18/11
fatruff3
Location: Maribel, WI
I have Stronghold 2 and I love it I can't stop playing it!!! I am kinda a castle fanatice so this is a great game for hard-core or layed back gamers. Stronghold 3 will be better I myself am pre-ordering it so I can't wait until Oct. 28!!! This is gonna be awsome!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stronghold 3
I love Stronghold
Posted on:7/25/11
Atrixx
Location: New York
I played the previous strongholds, and I have to say that I love them. I enjoy the fact that in this game there is no "zerg rushing", you actually have to build up a force and either try to overwhelm the enemy castle (with defensive structures, traps, etc to stop you), or wait for the enemy to attack you and use your defenses against them. I have high hopes for this game
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>