GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tera Online

A New Breed of MMO.  TERA takes the fight beyond whack-a-mole monotony with enhanced aiming, dodging, and tactical timing to create intense and rewarding combat. Unlike other MMOs, you can use your controller or keyboard and mouse to control the action like never before. With all the depth you expect from a traditional MMO, plus the intense gratification of action combat, TERA changes all the rules.
Average Customer Rating:
7.714
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 2167%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tera Online
Review 1 for Tera Online
Medieval Game Beyond the Standards
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
Aurras
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So, I hear a lot of people say this game is bad for a lot of reasons. Many I agree to, but this game is average, and let me say that is pretty great for a game that is about three years old and got some terrible reviews. If you played this game, you would have already known that the voices are stupid and embarrassing, and it is true. However, I am not writing this to make you not want to play it because of the voices. Play it because it is fun, and being similar to World of Warcraft, it does not seem addicting. I played it for some time and have not been so addicted to it for I focus on my work more than this game. So please, give this game a try, it really does need improvements, but you will not see most errors.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Tera Online
Addicted to Tera
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
Quorra
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My boyfriend says, "My girlfriend's first MMO addiction." I played WoW for a bit and I didn't last too long playing that game, I stopped playing when I reached around level 20. I'm not saying WoW is a bad game, but it wasn't for me (my boyfriend played it years). As for Tera I was definitely drawn in by the graphic design and gameplay. I love anime so I was drawn into the Elins and the Castanics are visually appealing. I think all the other races are unique. The character design has so many customizable choices from hair-face-skin-voice. My boyfriend wasn't sure at first about this Free-to-Play game. However, he really likes this F2P because in his opinion, he has played lots of F2P, and they limit you to chatting-playing-quests etc. This F2P doesn't really have much limitation. You get 2 character slots, can complete any quests, and talk to people, and there are bonuses to signing up. And I believe there is no leveling up limitation. If you buy the game, which is not sold anymore/rare you get 8 character slots, mount, and other bonuses. Gamestop is one of the last places to carry a few in store. I happened to buy the last copies at two different stores. Subscription gives you quest, mount, fiery halo, and other bonuses.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Tera Online
Good, but you can find better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
SJboy25
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played the Beta and for a while, it was great! The combat was engaging, the story seemed pretty decent and the game was nice to look at. However, after actually buying the game, I thought otherwise. The combat was good, but got repetitive. The story quickly deteriorated. Graphics can't keep me engaged forever. Plus, the true deal-breaker was that it wasn't free-to-play, which ticked me off. I'm going to say it right now that I am a console gamer. I don't usually play PC games, let alone MMOs, but I thought this would convert me. It didn't. If your looking for a good beat'em up/ hack'n'slash or RPG, pull out a console or better yet get GW2. That is all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dragon Age Bundle
9 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Tera Online
Very good game worth every dime.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
Achiever
Location: New york, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really have to say that this game is amazing. I don't understand why this game is at a 7.5. I have played guild wars 2 and i have played tera so my review will be unbiased. Guild wars 2 is a impressing game, i waited months for it. The graphics are nice, the story is the best ive seen but the gameplay... At first it was like i was blinded by how fast paced and cooperative the quests and combat was. It forces you to work together or get nothing, which is both good and bad depending on what kind of player you are.But after a while i was changing professions very often because i felt like i was missing something. After trying each class and race i felt satisfied for a few hours then i was like, no something is still missing only to find out that it wasnt the classes but the combat and gear. The combat felt "dry" and the gear wasnt very appealing to me, the weapons were just normal and not fantasy like, not creative although there are weapons that are very cool and same goes for armor. I just have not gotten any yet. I also think that they should have added duels and should give you the option to play with others or not (however thats possible). Gw2 is an awesome game just needs a little more oomph and pizzaz to it. Also a + because its free to play.
Tera Online was what i turned to after i felt like i was missing something. The graphics are the best out there, the gameplay is truly true action combat and has a more dynamic feel to it, the story is meh, it needs better voice acting and a better lore, the questing is like any other typical mmo and gets a bit grindy. The political system is very unique although i think one other game has something similar,whether you win or lose in pve or pvp depends on your skill and not entirely gear and stats though they do help. The game is enjoyable but for me if its on low graphics it ruins the experience. Its like someone giving you a new car you've always wanted and scratching off the paint. The races and classes are very interesting to me and gives more of a fantasy feel than guild wars 2. It has the traditional holy trinity unlike guild wars 2 where everyone has the ability to heal themselves, tank and dps.
This may be a tera review but i gave a comparison aswell as a review so :D. I would definitely recommend both guild wars 2 and tera online. Both amazing and stunning games but tera deserves more than a 7.5. Hopefully improvements are made in patches and expansions. Female characters are awesome btw...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tera Online
Fun and no grind
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
FounderV
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Our community has been playing this game since late beta. We have enjoyed the game play and the more action game style of targeting and movement. It is fun playing this game with a keyboard, mouse or controller . The graphics are like Aion's and are well done. The story line is ok ,but the sense of humor in the mobs and random boss and BAMS makes this game fun. The lack of tab targeting makes the game more challenging and won't be for some casual players. The game feels less stagnant than other MMOs.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tera Online
Makes all other MMOs seem boring
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
Dashel
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was shocked to see someone cal this clunky and jumbled. They have not played this game. This game will remind many of the game aeon, but with real time fighting mechanics. There are a number of races: Human, High elf, Castantic, Aman, Barajas, Popori, and only controversial in the US ; the Elin (they resemble cute little girls, and that is dirty apparently) The game play is smooth and the character control is basic AWSD for direction and mouse for Camera control. Unlike othe MMOs you control the fighting, and you can dodge to avoid damage. The fighting is based on skill as well as special moves, you can win a fight by playing smart or lose by not using your talents wisely. One of the best aspects of the game are BAMs which are in every zone and require groups to kill. These experiences occur often and make this game so much more than a grind and run back and forth MMO. The instances also require groups, and keep the game play fresh. The classes are :Warrior- wielding twin blades and dishing out some decent DPS. The warrior dodges to avoid damage and does not have the highest armour rating. This character makes up for it with quickness and deadly attacks. The Lancer- with the highest resistance to damage, this character is the focus of most BAMs attention and uses this to help direct the fighting away from other characters dso they can deal DPS while he keeps the beasts under control. Then there is the Berserker- with high armour stats and devastating DPS, the Berserker is always nice by your side. The Slayer is much like the Warrior only with a massive blade dealing a bit more DPS. The slayer is also a dodging character that uses strength to make fighting quick and decisive. The archer is a ranged fighter that doses out swift powerful attacks yet is vulnerable in close ranged fighting. I would argue you need to be the smartest player to bring an archer up to lvl 60. Magic classes, like the Mystic, sorcerer, and priest bring healing support and ranged DPS that no team can succeed without. There are 60 lvls in this game and they get harder to complete as you go. At the end you have a new experience fighting across servers against a common enemy in an area called the nexus where massive groups fight waves of enemies in a brawl of death that makes this game so much more than a simple quest adventure. I hope you will look up videos of this game on YouTube, before you let someone talk you out of it. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tera Online
Way to clunky.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
Shift
Location: Cudahy, WI
While the game touts its movement the game has an overall clunky jumbled feel. It also has 2 of the strangest character races I've ever seen. the Popori and the Elin. One is a bloated fuzzy little animal charcter and the other is a 12 year old girl. All in all this is just another junk MMO that will go free to play by the end of the year. Not worth the now money
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
EVE Online: Incursion
6.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tera Online
Its their first real game I think
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
numar
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Very pretty game, plays well and if you like crosshairs that actually mean something when you are attacking things its even better. I actually prefer this to games like WoW that projectiles lock on no matter where your target runs to or you shoot it and it moves so slow the target can outrun it. That being said they still need to work out the kinks and remove the child proof locks. Like global cooldowns? Give me a break. Might as well lock the combat and make it turn-based because its clear that your trying to get the FF crowd.
Biggest issue that affects all, new/old comps, fast/weak connections, wireless/wired, etc/etc, is the constant random crashes. These will eventually get you killed and be just annoying enough make you launch something else after the second or third crash of the night. They give you a generic message back when you report the error code, stating it might be their side or it could be your side try these things. Obviously "these things" never fix a thing. 30 Day trial is all its worth if you must try it. 37 days if you start your account with the free 7 day trial on their site then upgrade with the key you get with buying the game and they give you 30 days free. Hopefully something better will be out soon as these days are almost up for me.
When this review gets dated and TERA goes F2P give it whirl then if nothing else is amusing you.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Suli
 
Please wait while more information about Suli is loaded.
Additional information about Suli could not be loaded.
Posted 7/16/12
So what you want is combat with no global cooldowns so people can spam their most powerful moves? No thanks. There are already obvious ways around the cooldowns such as OTHER abilities that aren't on cooldown. From your review it doesn't sound like you got very far due to crashing which is probably your computer's fault. I have had the game since release and am still enjoying it. I also have yet to have 1 crash even after long sessions. Sorry if you can't find a fix for it, but your computer problems shouldn't skew the game's score, since it is an isolated incident and not common as you seem to believe. As for the comment about it going F2P, this seems to be what naysayers keep mentioning but it is a rumor that is in no way backed up by the company.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Tera Online
it fun but not very good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
manwiththeplan
first of all tera is nothing like world of warcraft so stop comparing them. tera's big thing is that it has action style combat system witch i wold love to see in more mmos but you will quickly get tired of it. the game is plain beautiful witch means it may no run for some so download the 7 day trail to see if you can run it. tera misses out on the biggest part of a mmo the story. the story just is not engaging and doent make me feel like im in a fantasy world but a guy playing on his computer and i started just skipping all the text. the fact that it cost 40 buck and another 15 per month doesnt feel worth it if you can get past the repetive combat and the non-engaging story it a solid game but if your not sure there is a 7 day trail
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tera Online
This game is just plain awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
Corpito
Location: Corpus Christi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have Played alot of MMORPGs in my day from WoW to F2P games like Aika online or Vindictus. But this game just blew me away. I have been playing it almost non-stop since day of release. PvP in this game is funner than in any other MMO ive played before actually requiring you to dodge your opponent predict his movements. This game has no lock-on, Instead you use the crosshairs in the middle of the screen which is very easy to get used to. Your attacks can hit multiple enemies and you are also able to chain skills together. You can also set up your own chain combos however you like, using the spacebar to activate chained skills. This game has cutscenes every now and then and the story actually has my attention unlike most other MMOs. this game now has a 7-day free trial period which i highly recommend. this game has my vote for best MMORPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tera Online
Not enough customization, graphics not the best
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
Swatty
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
No customization at all, very basic hair styles and colors. Can't change body weight. Basically, can't make your character unique.... The graphics for the characters are not that good... However, the world graphics are really nice. Gameplay is VERY advanced. Not for casual players.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tera Online
holding me over till gw2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/12
HALOKING
Location: NEW YORK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this game yesterday to hold me over till gw2. the game overall is good but the one main thing that is gonna suck is the monthly fees. just wait for gw2 but if you want somthing to hold you over till then pick this up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thehaunting88888
woodstock,GA
 
Please wait while more information about thehaunting88888 is loaded.
Additional information about thehaunting88888 could not be loaded.
Great game at first.
Posted 7/7/12
I bought the game and for the first month loved it awesome combat style great graphics etc but then it just became boring you do the same stuff over and over again alot of the areas look alike not a huge monster range. No storyline what so ever. If you get this to tide you over for guildwars i can understand but im not paying 15 a month for this its not worth it ill go back to aion. P.S there is alot of babies who play this game and report over nothing and tera being new starts spamming email warnings i got one for calling someone a noob. Your choice but i say wait and dont waste your money.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Tera Online
Topping the MMO King
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
Klausz
Location: Long Island, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Hello all, I'll tell you the truth, im sick of WoW. I think that they are ruining it with all of the new expantions. With that being said, i was looking for a fun game to play other than WoW. When I saw this, im not going to lie, i said "Look's horrid". but then i did some reaserch, and said " well might as well try it. After i went to Gamestop and buying the download from a close friend, and manager there. I got home and downloaded it, it took some time to download and i have to say i love it. The aiming and the story, plus the fact you can try out each class befor you get locked into it. PLEASE LISTEN TO ME, if you are like me and want to get rid/ get a substitution for WoW, Rift wont do, Neither will Aion, trust me i've tried all them, no lasting appeal. But Tera changed my entire veiw on MMO's. If your coming straight from WoW then you are familiar with what the quests are like, they are bassically the same quest's, go here kill this, talk to this guy, ect. But there are two kinds of quests, the Main Questline, and the Secondary questline(WoW). This game has earned a spot on my desktop. PLUS, if you think that you have to get a subscription right off the bat, your wrong, you get 30 free days, no sub needed. I am going to warn you though, there is no way to get a subscription offline (Ex. Game time cards) at the time being TERA did not produce these. This game will be the next MMO king, Toppling WoW over on it's butt.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tera Online
My Honest Opinion
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Flare
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay, so first impression - This game is going to be awesome! When you log in it seems just like that. Although there are a couple problems Tera still has that needs to be fixed. The graphics are almost up to par to Final fantasy's XIV, but the difference is Tera lags a lot worse! I bought a brand new graphic card and it handles XIV smoothly, but Tera not as much. In addition the movement even on low graphics is Choppy in this game. When I do movements with my character it looks like theres only 8 directions. The common left, right, up, down, and the corners. It's not fluid in that aspect. I did some research and found that the UI is partially to blame. I turned the UI off and it actually lagged a lot less! That's a huge problem. Personally I decided I cannot play a game that lags because of simple problems and does not run smoothly on a more than exceptional graphics card. There are good things about this game for example the blocking, being able to use a ps3 controller (loved that part), and the variety of classes and races. Until they fix the moving choppiness and upgrade with an expansion I would not pick this game up again.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tera Online
The Good, The Bad, The Ugly: An MMO addicts view
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
Z12016
Location: Indiana, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Tera is the new MMO on the market. It is being compared and tested against this years biggest MMOs - Guild Wars 2, World of Warcraft, etc - but how does it actually stack up? I am a long time MMO veteran, from the earliest MUDs, and this is my response to Tera. Let us take a look at what the 'Good' is in Tera: For starters combat; combat in Tera is action focused (If you haven't heard). It is a great change in MMO design, and adds a lot more dynamics to the genre then your typical hotbar point and click (more on comat in a few). Guilds; Guilding in Tera is similar to most MMOs social grouping designs, only with more focus on structure and player planned events. Guilds in Tera feel much similar to that of corporations in EVE online. PvP; PvP is a mixed bags the true gem in PvP combat is the guild battles. Each guild can declare war on another guild (up to 4). These battles can really scale in size and be rather enjoyable. Political System; Though this has not official began ingame yet I am very excited to see how it pans out. The basic sum of it is that guild leaders run for 'control' of different areas in the game. Graphics; Tera is undoubtely a beautiful game. The 'Bad' of Tera: PvP; Like I said above PvP is a mixed bag, and depending on what element of PvP you partake in can be a very different experiance. World PvP is quiet messy, and mostly consist of higher level people going and playing whack and smack in the lower level zones. And when a fellow travler flags for world PvP it is largely a gang bang to hurry and kill this guy before he impeads my leveling progess. Like other popular Korean MMOs Tera does not have battlefields, which can be a put off to many western players. Combat; As I said combat is fun but the declaration of "true action" hurts me. Is really is not what it claims. It looks and feels much like an action game, however it is really a hotbar system with a mask over it's head. Still enjoyable but if you are looking for God of War meets MMO you might want to look in the direction of DC Universe Online, or Vindictus. Crafting; Nothing special in the crafting department, it is mostly a copy/paste formula on previous MMO designs. Economy; If you are like myself and enjoy economy battles in MMOs, then do not get high hopes in the virtual world of Tera. It houses your typical AH setup, and with a weaker crafting system it does not bring much special attention to the game. The "Ugly" side of Tera: Questing; If you have not noticed it is 2012 and MMOs are being released left and right. Tera takes a set back in the questing department, and really scares its true potenial. Yes it is your go here do this, collect this, and kill this structure. However, it has too much backtracking, poor lore, and just does not feel fluid enough to be in a game of this generation. Voice Acting; horrible, cheesy, and should have stayed out of the game entirely. Class System; we see our typical 'Holy Trinity'. Tera offers eight different classes to play, five of which are from the warrior archetype. None of which are truley hybrid either. There is nothing unique here. Most of the classes do not offer much of a challenge, but this is mostly hidden from enjoyable combat. Instaning; Fun combat, still enjoyable, but nothing special. Also the fact your first instance is not until level 20, which can feel like a drag. "BAMs"; Yes these are fun to tackle, and extremely enjoyable and are much like your FFXI Notorious Monsters. However "Badass Monsters" is a poor name for them. Yeah it is cool and all but come on... Females; Breasts and lady undergarmets are all throughout this game, even statues with bare breasted women. The animations of them jiggle unnaturally and unwantely. It is a huge turn off to female gamers, and probably should have been avoid all together. Its honestly borderlines on disguisting. Controls; Controls fall in a weird sort. The use of a gamepad falls short, and most players are not dexterous enough to pull off the full use of a keyboard. People can look at this like a turn off, but it takes a lot of keymapping to make it feel right. Endgame; yeah I labeled it as ugly, but to be honest what MMO launches with full endgame? The launch; Tera was not the smoothest launch in history like Rift or Star Wars the Old Republic nor the worst like Aion or Dungeons and Dragons Online. Tera did offer a fair amount of headaches from mass amount of account creation problems to accidental payment charges. The verdict on Tera is difficult, it manages to soar high in many areas but it also manages to feel like for everything it does right it also does something wrong. On the good side of this a lot of the issues currently present in Tera can my fixed through patches and expansions. Tera will definately grab the Korean market, but it will be interesting to see how the western audience recieves it. It will not dethrone the behemoth of World of Warcraft, but it has the potenial to garner a community like Final Fantasy XI, EVE onine, or Lord of the Rings online. It is already in strong competiton with Guild Wars 2, which has not been released yet. There is also the possible sleeper hit MMO in Funcom's The Secret World. It is already being well recieved but in order to maintain a subscription base rests on the shoulders of the developers. I can tell you Tera is worth a try, for veteran - casual - hardcore - and newcomers to the genre, experiences will vary, but as of right now Tera has found a permant spot on my desktop for the time being.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tera Online
Eh Theres a reason WoW dominates MMO's
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
Kiryu1337
Location: Aburndale FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a huge gamer and this isnt something i enjoy
I do enjoy how they have put in these new game futures.
Aiming? I mean come on... You cant put that in a MMO. It's just not a smart idea. Its fun at first but it gets really irritating.
I do play WoW and SWTOR. What makes an mmo great is simply gameplay. You spend way to much time on MMO's to have to always focus.
I forgot the game that game out before that had aiming and the features in this game, but it lasted a month. then died.
I've played this and it would be a good game if it was free to play. MMO's shouldnt have these features that this game does right now. Like i said theres a reason why WoW will always dominate MMO's till another game comes along that understand how people like to play MMO's other then it getting boring because of the combat system its a solid game like most games that come out. BUT its not the kind of game I' can stick to due to the controls. A great attempt though
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LeftX
 
Please wait while more information about LeftX is loaded.
Additional information about LeftX could not be loaded.
WoW WAS a great MMO
Posted 5/18/12
WoW was good on release since there was a lot of world PvP and ranking in PvP. Now that it BC,WotLK, and Cata it just failed on massive scales. PvP is too easy, you do the same thing everyday, and too many kids play it. So please dont even bring up WoW as a great MMO
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Tera Online
Incredible Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/12
Jamesxi
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game has absolutely gorgeous graphics, but as we know from FFXIV, that's not all you need. The combat system is more fun and skillful than almost any MMO to date, you can use controllers or the keyboard to play (one of the few games where a controller is actually fun and intuitive), and the people are incredibly nice and inviting. It's the first good MMO in ages.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tera Online
Great change from traditonal mmo's
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
Tivoo
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great graphics, awesome combat system. open world pvp. Its a good change from traditonal mmo's including making it harder for casters to hit targets by making YOU aim the cross hair at the target of your choice and having ot keep it there inorder for your attacks to hit. also being able to use a ps3 or xbox 360 controller is a great solution for gamers not use to using a keyboard and mouse. also found myself competing for healing spots in dungeons which has never happend to me before. good character balance including 4 melee, and 4 ranged classes. including 1 pure tanking class. I would definatly recoment this to all mmo fans
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tera Online
Best MMORPG since WOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
hadfjadjadfjad
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its starts out... well AMAZING! best graphics i have seen so far in an mmo. it does take alittle time to get use to becuz you cant click to turn, but its no big deal. everything around you looks amazing, and you cant forget the best combat system ever! its like God of war MMORPG, pure gore fighting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tera Online
Most fun in years
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
SmokinBarrelz
Location: Chattanooga, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up Tera as a skeptic more than anything, and I have been amazingly proved wrong. When I first heard of Tera I just thought it would be another Korean port with nothing but boring as grind fest, over complicated/cluttered UI, etc.. However on launch day I had enough guildmates in SWTOR trying it to warrant a buy, and tbh it completely tore me away from SWTOR and I have currently canceled my subscription (this is not to say that SWTOR isn't good just still needs a lot of additions). Back to Tera, this game brings something fresh for me in an MMO, the real action gameplay. When I saw them advertising it I thought it was just another ploy to try and coax in buys, but once I played it I saw the light and am addicted. You actually have to physically dodge or block (depending on class) abilities thrown at you so PvP fights are crazy fun with lots of movement and action. Ranged have to aim spells and arrows (and no it doesn't gimp range in fact they are some of the better classes in game) and melee have to light up their abilities and keep moving. The guild system is fantastic you can look up all guilds on the server with member counts with an easy search on the guild menu, and starting wars with guilds, which you can wage 4 at a time, is amazingly fun. It creates that old-school competitive pvp environment that I've been missing for so long, and with the amount of in game politics in terms of holding provinces and such at end game there will be some crazy guild on guild politics making endgame very dynamic. Overall at this point I can't put it down, and neither can my girlfriend who after 30minutes of watching me play bought it and is now hooked as well. It is ABSOLUTELY worth buying and at least giving it the free month, I would suggest this game over any other MMO out there if your going to try one.
Look at it this way you spend 60+ dollars on a 360 game and beat it in 3 days, so why not spend $10.00 less and get a guaranteed month worth of playtime and content. Just a thought :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Tera Online Collector's Edition
8.3 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>