GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

3DS Charge Kit

Average Customer Rating:
8.923
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
7
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 out of 2688%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3DS Charge Kit
Review 1 for 3DS Charge Kit
This product is a miracle!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/11
Muffin52992
Location: Connecticut
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is easy to install and gives your DS 2-3 times the battery life it had when I got it. It also makes the system easeir to hold because it adds about 1/4 of and inch of thickness. I love this and am thankful I can now play longer. I highly reccommend this product!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3DS Charge Kit
Perfect Solution
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Strokes
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I installed the battery (5 min max) and left it charging in the cradle all day. I came home from work yesterday and played Zelda 3DS on it for 4 hours and only saw the battery lose 1 slot (There are 4 Battery slots in the meter at the top right of the 3DS homescreen to show how full it is). So here were my playing conditions - Brightness at 4, Power Save On, Wifi Off, 3D all the way up, and Speakers all the way up (no headphones). That is pretty freaking good. Totally makes me confident to take my 3DS on a trip or whatever. Battery size essentially creates another "layer" to the cake, but whatever. If it takes away to concern about having to recharge every 2 1/2 hours on the stock battery I am fine with that. Only thing better would be a similar capacity battery that fits in the original casing of the device and doesn't add any bulk, but until that comes out I am very happy with my purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3DS Charge Kit
A must have accessory
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
Mstewart827
Location: Virginia Beach
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you're like me getting tired of having to charge your 3DS every 3-4 hours or so then look no further. this battery enhancer gives your 3DS about 50-75% more than the built battery. I got about 9 hours of it with 3D on and on the highest brightness setting. installing it is easy especially since it comes with easy instructions and a screwdriver. I would've given this 10 if it didn't make it so much thicker. This is the one accessory you should have. It'll let you're 3DS last through long car rides and airplane flights.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
29 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
undeadjuanfe
Chile
 
Please wait while more information about undeadjuanfe is loaded.
Additional information about undeadjuanfe could not be loaded.
Posted 8/17/11
hey dude please could u tell me how this works? because i´m getting a 3DS and i wanted some kind of accesory that could make the battery life longer is it a portable charger?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for 3DS Charge Kit
Extended playtime
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
Buttertoth34
Location: TInley Park, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So i bought this for my 3DS because we all know the original 3ds battery is just bad.... So i picked this bad boy so i can actually enjoy my games for more then 2.5 hrs when 3d is fully on.. This thing delivers a amazing extra amount of playtime. I haven't completely depleted the battery yet to see how long it can last but so far i have ran LOZ: OOT on full 3d for 3.5 hours and i still had over 3/4 of my battery. for regular DS games you can probably push about 11 hours out of this bad boy. This extended battery does the make the handheld a little bigger but it still feels comfortable in your hands. I highly recommend this product to anybody who owns a 3ds simply becasue you will be able to play your games on 3d for a much longer, enjoyable time. (getting this battery on is a little bit of a pain. The dock that comes with it is pretty cool)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3DS Charge Kit
A must have for the 3ds
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
pokemon26
Location: Ayer Ma
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this a couple of wks after the 3ds launch I will say this is most def worth the money. As we all notice the poor battery life of the instock battery that comes with the 3ds I charged the battery last Friday and today it went Red and needed to be recharged It is def worth it to buy this the battery lasts a lot longer than the battery that came with the handheld console its a little bit thicker on the back of the system but it still fits in the case I brought for it I enjoy the 3ds more now that I have a longer battery life those buying the 3ds need to consider this battery for it its well worth the money to keep your gaming sessions going longer go buy it its worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
21 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Waco
question for this reviewer
Posted 5/3/11
can u give me a link to what case ypu bought that fit with this battery!! i would be very interested! thanks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for 3DS Charge Kit
Amazeing with one warning
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
tech
Location: United states
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A must have product only one warning i can give. leave your 3ds pluged into the charge cord while you switch out your battery. otherwise you will have to reset your system to fix the issue loseing power causes with street pass.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
19 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3DS Charge Kit
Looks good, Feels good, & More power!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
creator2456
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A great design for both the battery and the dock. Dock lights are on the bright side, but can easily be turned off via the power button. As another review states, the battery adds just enough thickness to make the 3DS much easier to hold. Only thing that I can think of that would make this better is if the battery was the entire size of the new cover and not just double. It would give 4-6x the battery life then, but probably cost an arm and a leg. As it is, this was well worth the money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3DS Charge Kit
Awesome Battery life but at a cost....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
SuperSonic237
Location: Torrance,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This was given to me as a Christmas gift and I say its worth your money. But there's a catch, its difficult to install into the back of your 3DS because of the screws being a bit fragile. It still gives me about 6 hours of gameplay so I don't have to keep bringing my charger everywhere I go and even with full brightness and full 3D it is still awesome! But luckily for me my uncle helped me with this and I was able to put it in. It's awesome though but... its not worth your money if your not good with screws. I recommend the other thing that in the reccomendations collem if your not good with screws. STILL IS AWESOME THOUGH!!! AND THE FIRST COMPANY TO MAKE A EXTERNAL BATTERY PACK NOT BAD NYKO!!! KEEP ON MAKING AWESOME STUFF!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Portable Power Battery Pack for Nintendo 3DS
9.3 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3DS Charge Kit
All Around Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
Jenski
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I swear it tripled my battery life. I play for a few hours every night and now I can go around 3 days without having to charge it. It's fantastic. Well worth the $30. The charging dock is really nice too. I know people are complaining that it makes the 3DS a little bigger and yes it does BUT it doesn't make it so big where it's uncomfortable. I can still fit my 3DS in all my soft cases without a problem. I actually like the improved grip from the bigger battery. If you own a 3DS it should be required that you buy this accessory. FANTASTIC!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3DS Charge Kit
Fantastic, but there is a better value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
NintendoFanboy1235
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As you can read in my title, there is a better value, at least in my opinion. it's made by the same company, it's the same accessory, but instead of coming with the charging dock, it comes with just the battery for $9.99. I looked for it at GameStop, but couldn't find it, but i found it at Best Buy. I had enough for the $19.99 one, but I decided to just get the battery extender for half the price. I think it was worth saving 10 bucks to have to plug in my 3DS with the AC adapter rather than drop it in the dock. But it works incredibly well and easily doubles, if not triples my battery life! i get around 8-9 hours on full brightness with 3D on, and about 13-15 hours with full brightness and 3D off! it's phenomenal, and if you would prefer to pay the extra 10 bucks to get the charging dock, then go for it. I promise you won't be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3DS Charge Kit
Awesome Take the time to read the instructions
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
johnodd44444
Location: kent wa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Awesome product i had no issues with this product what you need to understand is the battery not displaying correctly was because of nintendo hadn't updated the 3ds firmware yet to support this product now it is updated and supported i love mine it added 12 hours of game time to my 3ds and no thats not with the wifi turned off or the 3d turned off thats with both on no issues as for screws if you read the manual that comes with this kit they explain to lightly turn the 3ds's screws not hard turn or you strip the screws this is why the unit comes with replacement screws for the real 3ds cover which i thought was really nice of nyko the charger glows red when charging and then green when finished.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3DS Charge Kit
Does exactly what it's supposed to.
Posted on:4/8/11
Bentai
Location: San Jose, CA
The battery life is my main issue with the 3DS. It only lasts around 3-5 hours depending on your wifi, sounds level, 3D setting, and screen brightness. This battery does indeed extend the battery life by a good amount. However, you should be warned that this battery is pretty thick. A local store already has the battery only version, and the battery adds on like another 1/3 on the 3DS' thickness, so if you bought a case, it most likely won't fit anymore. But if you're like me and carry your 3DS in a large and deep pocket, it should be much of a problem.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3DS Charge Kit
Preorder it Now
Posted on:3/20/11
videogameguru4evr
Location: marion,ia
If you already have a 3ds(import) or are getting one on march 27th getting this is a must.
This will double the battery life of your 3ds and is very simple to put on. It comes with the screwdriver,battery and charger. There is no reason not to get this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3DS Charge Kit
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
Caveman04
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
was kinda dissapointed by the severly low battery life on the 3DS to where I would have to charge it every day (even without using 3D all the time). after getting this i can go about 2-3 days without a charge with the wireless turned on and and average to low use of the 3D. for long trips with 3D use I would also suggest getting the USB charge cable and a Durocell LI-ION battery with USB port. would be nice if the battery actually took up the whole space instead of just part of it. The better grip also helps for playing on the system
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ForgottenAura
Richmond, VA
 
Please wait while more information about ForgottenAura is loaded.
Additional information about ForgottenAura could not be loaded.
Clarification
Posted 6/29/12
What did you mean by "would be nice if the battery actually took up the whole space"?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for 3DS Charge Kit
I have no regrets now!
Posted on:3/18/11
Ibiexplorer4
As I looked for information, my only major gripe against the 3ds was that it had 3-5 hours of battery life. Now with this add on that takes care of that issue, it's seems great. I'll wait the week to get this.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3DS Charge Kit
This Will Improve the 3DS's Battery Life
Posted on:3/19/11
wiigamer
This looks like a good accessory, because people who have the 3DS have tested the 3DS's battery life. Sadly, according to the tests, its battery dies after 3-4 hours. This will help people play their 3DSes on long car trips.
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3DS Charge Kit
A Must have
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/12
Whitewolfe313
Location: New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This was the first battery pack I found. Since I have seen many others but they all are snapped onto the back. I know I saw an Energiser battery one the other day but that one was very bulky.
This is the best one I have found. It comes with a tiny screw driver so you can unscrew the 4 screws underneath the 3Ds and take off the back case. (Don't worry, both the back panel and this product have the 4 screws mounted on so that when they are off the 3Ds the screws stay mounted on the back panel/battery. You will not lose tiny screws.)
This battery does add some thickness to the 3ds but this is the lease bulky of all the possibilities.
My 7 year old and I both have a 3ds and I have added this to both of our systems. It is still very ergonomic and almost better to hold for larger hands but my son has never complained about it.
The only drawback is not about the battery. The Nyko dock is better than the included 3dS doc, but when you place the 3Ds on it the lights are RED to indicate battery is not charged. Once you get to near full charge the Light turns greed. The only reason I gave this a 9/10 and not a 10/10 is because I am rating this with the dock. The batery is 10/10. The dock is 8/10 because once battery has near full charge the light will stay green for a few minutes, then flip back to red and so on. You can never be sure if the battery is fully charged or the base is not making contact.
What I do is just plug the cord into the back of my 3ds. You do not have to use the dock for charging.
The battery life is great!!! It feels much more like my first DS now. Pre-battery add on battery life seemed feeble. After it is AWESOME!!!!!
This set is great, but you may want to just buy the battery alone which is only $9.99.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lonegamer
 
Please wait while more information about lonegamer is loaded.
Additional information about lonegamer could not be loaded.
Posted 12/25/12
I have this for my son, seeing as he broke his charging port by wiggling the cord out. My concern now is a protective case for his 3DS that can fit this also. Or perhaps one that does both. Again, the charging port is inoperable and cannot be used to charge the system.
Do you have any suggestions?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for 3DS Charge Kit
Very Good for long play sessions
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/11
Yewdiel
Location: Agua Prieta
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a very good product. Since I bought my 3DS, I would only play on 3D when at home, plugged to the charger, because I spend a lot time away from home, and so I just didnt want to run out of juice. But with this, I am finally able to play brighter, with wireless and 3D and still get about 6 hours of gameplay, more than before with everything off. Plus, the charge base looks better than the original 3DS one, with a red led for charging and green for charged, and just looks cooler. Only problem I found is removing the 3DS's screws. Ok with the first 3, but last one was a pain. Had to find a different screwdriver, but now works perfectly. (Comes wth an extra screw, in case you ''screw'' one. BTW, might not fit most cases with this on
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3DS Charge Kit
Must have for 3DS owners
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
Collective
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The battery pack fits smoothly on the back of the 3DS no problem, adds very little weight/bulk and fits nicely in your hands. The stand replaces the one which comes with the 3DS, but it is equally aesthetically pleasing. The charge lasts drastically longer than the original 3DS battery, and installation is no more difficult than changing a cell phone battery.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3DS Charge Kit
It was good, for a few months.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
Wynd
Location: Bethlehem PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this with my 3DS, and it was a good idea for a little while. It worked perfectly. Then, the power bars gave the wrong reading. Then, the dock ended up only charging when at the perfect angle. Then,it would stop charging after 30 minutes. Then it stopped working altogether. I ended up switching back to the original battery.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>