GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Record of Agarest War Zero

Long before Summerill and the gods of darkness were defeated in Record of Agarest War, another battle was fought across generations to save the world from evil. Record of Agarest War Zero takes you back to that ancient time.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Record of Agarest War Zero
Review 1 for Record of Agarest War Zero
agarest war zero looks pretty good
Posted on:4/6/11
Jones101
Location: Allentown, PA
this game looks hot, i just hope it get a good rating.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
agarest war zero trailer
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Record of Agarest War Zero
A worthy prequel
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Leonhart66
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well if you haven't played the original you might not know what your getting yourself into like some of the other people who wrote a review for this game. This is a hardcore strategy rpg where the story spands multiple generations of main characters based on which female counter part you chose. The gameplay is solid and the story is there but I guess some can't see beyond the fact that the voices are not in english. Honestly you probably wouldn't want the subpar english dubs they would of provided anyway. This game is NOT for kids by any stretch as it is not appropriately themed and is slightly difficult if you don't put time into developing characters and equipment which is really the heart of the game. If you liked the original or titles such as Cross Edge this game is for you. Gameplay and graphics do kind of remain unchanged from the last one so I did have to take points off there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Record of Agarest War Zero
best JRPG I have ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/11
Tsukiumi
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its a great animated RPG that spans over generations. It has a great combat system that allows you to link your charictors and do powerfull combonations. Its sound track is fun and unique. the voices are in japaniness but if you dont mind reading its not bad. And if you play in plus mode you get most of the first game for free and get to play the charictors in the second one. It also gives you free stuff if you have beat the first game (wich is nice and can help you out at the begining of the game) and the picking your wife for the next gens main charictor is awesome because there differences make it worth playing it at least twice.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Great Game Killed By Gameplay Speed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
TJReviews
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, I really have to commend the game on a few things. The graphics are very nice (for a game of its kind) as well as the music, both are fairly top notch. The combat system is unique and as much as I saw of character creation seemed very in-depth. My problem that ultimately brought me to return it, however, lies with the core gameplay element of the turn-based battles
I grew up playing games like Disgaea and Fire Emblem so when I took a look at RoAWZ I was giddy with excitement the whole drive home. My excitement quickly turned to frustration and boredom, however, as I began to play the game. The uniqueness of setting up multiple attacks for each character (and the sheer level of strategy involved in positioning characters properly) drew me in at first, but as I got past the "intro" section, I just found it unplayable. Having all the units move at the same time can ruin attack strategies you have set up based on character positions and the overall time it takes for you to select actions and then have them go off took battles that should have lasted a scant few minutes into 15-20 minute ordeals.
Admittedly I didn't get far before frustrated with it so I can't comment on how later battles evolve from those in the beginning of the game, but I honestly can't see things getting too much different (or much better for that matter) based on what I was seeing. So if you like Strategy RPGs like Disgaea and the like, you might want to give this one a pass (or at least buy it used to make sure you can return it) because the speed of the battles compared to other TBS games is really lacking. On a side note the 2D/3D models that move and breathe look really... out of place and surreal (aside from not matching the dialogue properly with their facial movements).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ryoku11
Oakland
 
Please wait while more information about Ryoku11 is loaded.
Additional information about Ryoku11 could not be loaded.
BEST RPG EVER!
Posted 4/5/13
I love Agarest War Zero, story is awesome and I love the gameplay, I hope Aksys continue the series because I'm enjoying this game a lot.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Awesome turn based strategy game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
Rocknrolldude
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is very good! Anyone who likes final fantasy tactics or spectral force 3 will love this!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Record of Agarest War Zero Finally in the U.S
Posted on:3/3/11
Joshinator
Location: Waterford, WI
I'm SOOO Stocked for that game to come in america in june. And i'm REALLY stocked that it's Rated T for Teen and not Rated M fot Mature. So, can't wait til' june to get it!! The Normal Edition was cool, but kinda like get a game tyhat has Limited Edition or Special Edition. I Don't know. Whatever it is I'm getting it.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jing
 
Please wait while more information about Jing is loaded.
Additional information about Jing could not be loaded.
Hmmm
Posted 3/10/11
wellz I hope they change the battle system a bit to like ff tactics or something, because I found the battle system for the older version to be really boring and disappointing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Pretty awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/11
PandaSasu
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now that I think about it awesome doesn't really give this game justice. This game is above and beyond awesome. The story is well thought out, gameplay is fluid, and character design are amazing, especially the girls. Definitely a game to get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Too Much Talk Not Enough Action
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
swadez
Location: Yorktown VA
Talk about a slow intro with way too much talk and a tutorial that will put you to sleep...however if you like turn base strategy, multiple characters, some crafting, you may enjoy this game, no gurantees thou.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Oh Yeah!
Posted on:3/17/11
dolphinboy
This looks spactacular and like a real bestseller! I can't wait till this comes out!
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Record of Agarest War Zero
Not worth the price
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
GamerRater101
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
A game for Kids. Not worth the price. Not in English
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 60 found this review helpful.