GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gears of War 3 Epic Edition

Gears of War 3 is the spectacular conclusion to one of the most memorable and celebrated sagas in video games. Developed by Epic Games exclusively for Xbox 360®, Gears of War 3 plunges you into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood. In Gears of War 3, fight on as Marcus Fenix, the grizzled war hero and leader of Delta Squad. Eighteen months after the fall of the last human city, the war against the Locust rages on. Meanwhile, deep beneath the surface, a fearsome new threat is infecting the planet from within. With survivors scattered and civilization in ruins, time is running out for Marcus and his comrades as they fight to save the human race. The Gears of War series is one of the most popular franchises in Xbox history, with more than 12 million games sold worldwide, a forthcoming major motion picture, New York Times best-selling novels, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
9.947
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Review 1 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Stop Complaining.
Posted on:5/30/11
GamerFoeLife
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Listen people. The epic edition is worth it. The Marcus Fenix Statue is not a toy. Its High quality. The Flag Is Folded therefore it is bigger. There is a Cog Tag Included. You get to Play as Adam Fenix in Multiplayer. You get get Custom Corrupted Omen Skins for all four guns. you get a bonus DVD
You get a Book. And Cool pictures and documents. So stop complaining. Its a great deal. Oh and Also you get a Kick butt case to hold the Game And DVD In. So Therefore. Excellent Deal. I Already pre-ordered and paid it off.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Making of Gears of War 3 Epic Edition.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Gears of War 3 Epic Edition Retro Lancer Bundle
10 out of 10(38)
 
 
 
 
 
19 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AdaptiveCaesar
 
Please wait while more information about AdaptiveCaesar is loaded.
Additional information about AdaptiveCaesar could not be loaded.
Preacher
Posted 6/13/11
Preaching to the Chior dude!!! If anyone believes themselves a true gears fan they will pick this up!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Not all that I was looking for...
Posted on:5/18/11
LIIGHTBULB
GEARSCON announced all the alternate skins for different regions where pre-orders are available. They announced Commando Dom, Savage Grenadier Elite, Savage Kantus, & Mechanic Baird. But us U.S. buyers only get Adam Fenix for now. Hopefully that will change in the future & we, the U.S. will get more, better alternate skins.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Good deal for Hardcore Gears fans
Posted on:8/4/11
MarkusC
Location: New York
I personally have the limited Edition on pre-order but was considering upgrading to the Epic Edition. What the Epic Edition ultimately comes with is
1. Gears of War 3 game
2. Infected Omen Weapon Pack
3. Fenix Family Mementos
4. Zinc alloy replica of the Octus Service tag belonging to Adam Fenix with a code to unlock him in the metal
5. Fabric COG flag
6. The Marcus Fenix Statue
The Limited Edition has all of this except the Weapon Skin Pack and the statue.
The statue is pretty much just that. A statue. But it was expertly crafted for the Epic Edition. It captures every detail from the dings in his armor, to having actual fabric textures on his skull cap. They confirmed that they were trying to stay as far away from making it look like a toy or action figure as possible, for those of you worried your just buying a toy. They were trying to make a museum quality collectible, as stated in the Vidoc.
Other than that, the Epic Edition doesn't come with much that would appeal to someone who just wants the in game stuff. The only in game object this comes with is the Infected Omen Weapon Skin Pack, which features an animated, throbbing Infected Omen Symbol as seen from the beta on your 5 starting weapons. The pack can also be acquired by buying the controller separately which may be more money spent than saved (Limited Edition being $80 plus another $60 totaling $140 not including the tax.).
Die hard Gears of War fans will definitely find nothing but enjoyment with this edition of the game. Unlike other collectors editions, this one gives you the most for your money and Epic has put their time in making each and every statue. So if your worried you'll get one with a bad paint job, don't worry about it. The Epic Edition is only about $80 more than the Limited Edition and seems to be a good deal. After the Gears of War trilogy is over, this statue could very well earn you some pretty good money as the years go on and Gears of War becomes a collectors prize. Each edition also still comes with Commando Dom as well as the system.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Xbox 360 Gears of War 3 Wireless Controller
9.6 out of 10(53)
 
 
 
 
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
I cannnot wait to join my brothers! :)
Posted on:8/8/11
DEMOLion
Location: Schererville IN
This is really gonna be epic! Played the beta an I cannot stop talking about this last chapter in a great game that me & my brothers online played for countless hours! DO WORK SON! :)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Gears Of War!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/8/11
JhonnyThizzlam
Location: CA
Played the EpicMealTime out of the beta and they fixed everything that was wrong with the multiplayer in gears of war 2. The game is gonna be so sick and i hope That they have the Cole Train statue from the gamestop preview video in the epic edition.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Super Meat Boy - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
8.7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Content review only
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/11
sprig
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, only get this if you are a FAN of Gears of War. The extra content is awesome!! The statue is amazing sculpted by the crew at Triforce, and the paint apps are top-notch! (except for Marcus's tattoo- way too small) The case the game comes in containing the replica of Adam Fenix's Octave Medal is very well crafted. The medal itself is solid and very well crafted. When you open it up you feel like you're getting an actual prestigious award from the government, it is that well made! The pics and letters/certificates are nicely done, as well. The book was OK. Not near as cool as the one that came with GOW2 limited edition. It's more information on the development of the GOW franchise from the 1st game up to this one than it was about game content, but still cool. My only complaint is that the COG flag was way smaller than what they were showing it to be in pics.
So like I said, if you're a big fan of the Gears universe, definitely grab this while you can. You will not be disappointed!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Gears of War 3: Season Pass - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 2400 Points
9.2 out of 10(23)
 
 
 
 
Gears of War 3 Limited Edition Official Strategy Guide
8.5 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Beta tester
Posted on:5/15/11
Juggernautdee
Location: Seattle,wa
For the people that haven't played the Beta I must say you have missed out this beta of gears of war 3 has been great. The game play is awesome I am happy to say that the gears of war 3 beta may have redeemed the franchise. There was a lot of problems with Gears of war 2 gears one was solid for the first of the franchise. With this installment the game play has been improved it doesn't take a lot of bullets to actually kill your opponents. People favor the new double barrel shotgun. I love the unlocking factor of weapon skins, finishing movies, and characters. I love the medal system, there are achievements with in each weapon category that you have to kill a player a certain way. I have to say with these additions the game has been wonderful to play, gives me something to do rather then repetitive running around and shooting someone sitting on corners. I can't sum up all of things that are great about the additions and explain the game play in depth. For today is the last day of the beta and I have to say I am pre-ordering the Epic edition since the game feels and is all around better.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
r3ap3r
looking at the gears 3 beta screen in tears saying it has ended :(
 
Please wait while more information about r3ap3r is loaded.
Additional information about r3ap3r could not be loaded.
beta tester
Posted 5/17/11
Gears 3 is by far the best multiplayer game thats coming out. Having dedicated servers was the best idea for this game for multiplayer,it does away with the host and makes everyone equal on the playing field. It brings out peoples true skills. I love the fact they fixed the gnasher shotgun. On gears 2 they screwed it up and made the two piece combo unbearable, especially the pop shot having a 2 second delay. It was wack! So far as i can tell gears 3 is going to be the game to have this year,worth buying the epic edition fo sho!! What i would like for epic to do is to change the retro lancer. My opinon is that it doesnt have good accuracy but is a much more powerfull weapon than the chainsaw lancer and also please save Clay Carmine!! - DxDgearsreaper-
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
More Cow Bell!
Posted on:3/13/11
bewitness
Location: Washington DC
There are few things that can be included in a collectors edition which I feel can justify a $99 and up price tag. Being a huge batman fan, I was amped to purchase the collectors edition of Arkham Asylum, only to be disappointed as I opened up the box to see a very cheesy looking replica batarang. When I went to pick up my collectors edition of Killzone 3, I quickly decided to get the standard edition when I saw that I would be paying $130 for a replica Helghast helmet which looked like a huge bobble head. Though I must have to admit I do have high hopes for a Gears of War 3 collectors edition. There are things that must and most likely will be included with the game. 1. A 100 page art book. This has become as complimentary to collectors editions as airplane peanuts, and it usually gives you the same level of fulfillment. These books usually offer little insight into the creative process. 2. Bonus multiplayer maps and or characters. 3 .Now this is what will leave me drooling and what HAS to be included, and that is....A REPLICA CHAINSAW BAYONET! Similar to what Cliff Bleszinski carries around, let's keep our fingers crossed.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JeffS
 
Please wait while more information about JeffS is loaded.
Additional information about JeffS could not be loaded.
Posted 3/16/11
A 1:1 scale replica Lancer produced by NECA (chainsaw bayonet you mention) came out with Gears of War 2. It was an Amazon Exclusive bundle for about the same price as this Epic Edition. NECA has confirmed that they are making a 1:1 scale Pendulum Wars-Era Lancer this year (knife bayonet instead of chainsaw), so all signs point to this being included with this bundle.
Customer Avatar
maaly81
Cali
 
Please wait while more information about maaly81 is loaded.
Additional information about maaly81 could not be loaded.
NEVER
Posted 3/15/11
only way I pay $150 for this is if I get all the dlc maps, plus special weapons and different clothes for characters, and a life size lancer, and a printer....
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Quit whining and play the game!
Posted on:5/2/11
BuzzBomberOSG
Location: NSB, FL
First off let me just say Gears 3 just from the beta acess is absolutely hands down the best Gears ever. Nice balance of weapons and plenty to choose from. Secondly let me address the whining bunch saying they are speaking for everyone about the sawed off shotgun. Shut up and play the game. There is more skill needed with the sawed off then those of you running around shooting at long range with the gnasher. To time a perfect shot with the sawed off you have to be point blank and even better timed to get a multi kill. The reload takes 5 times longer than any other weapon and if your not skilled enough to kill someone with a sawed off then maybe you should go back to COD and leave Gears to those of us that enjoy it for it's originality and truly genius gameplay and wide variety of weaponry. Gears 3. Totally awesome.
39 of 67 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wyrmser
Jerzey
 
Please wait while more information about Wyrmser is loaded.
Additional information about Wyrmser could not be loaded.
JUST "SAWED-OFF SHOTGUN"???
Posted 5/10/11
I totally agree with Buzz, but the name of the weapon is kinda bland dont you think? How about "THE VIOLATOR"...reason being...every time I turn into cranberry sauce from a sawed-off blast, I feel absolutely VIOLATED!!! Cant wait for September 20 and I'm really hoping Epic does something sneaky...like keep the beta going AFTER the announced end date!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Epic Announcement
Posted on:5/16/11
D4RKN3551NC4RN473
Location: Parts Unknown
Epic Edition includes:
A Limited Edition Marcus Fenix Statue – Designed by Epic Games Art Director Chris Perna and expertly crafted by the artisans at Triforce, this fine PVC statue collectible makes the ultimate living room centerpiece for any true “Gears” fan.
The Art and Design of Gears of War by Tom Bissell – Through unprecedented access to the Epic Games team, acclaimed author Tom Bissell (Extra Lives) gives readers an incisive behind-the-scenes glimpse into one of the most celebrated sagas in video game history with 96 pages of interviews, photos, concept artwork and more.
Infected Omen Weapon Pack — Custom multiplayer skins for the game’s five starting weapons; Lancer, Retro Lancer, Hammerburst, Sawed-off Shotgun, and Gnasher Shotgun.
All the contents of the “Gears of War 3” Limited Edition.
An Octus Award Box and Octus Service Medal – Replicas of the honors bestowed on Adam Fenix, Marcus’s father, for his work on the Hammer of Dawn.
Exclusive Unlockable Adam Fenix Multiplayer Character – Each Octus Service Medal replica is engraved with a unique Xbox LIVE code that is the only way to unlock Adam Fenix in multiplayer.
A fabric COG Flag – Proud colors that once flew above the House of Sovereigns.
The personal effects of Adam Fenix, including his “Last Will and Testament,” the initial Hammer of Dawn schematic, and other Fenix family mementos.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
What's the difference?
Posted on:3/17/11
Stuffguy
Location: New York, NY
What is the difference between this one and the one that's $60?
19 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Madclaydog
Here
 
Please wait while more information about Madclaydog is loaded.
Additional information about Madclaydog could not be loaded.
Epic
Posted 3/27/11
Go to Epic's website and join their Gears of War forums. They have been asking the members what to put in the Epic Edition for a while now. I was hoping they would release a Cog Edition Console and game like Halo Reach.
Customer Avatar
boomerbuddy
 
Please wait while more information about boomerbuddy is loaded.
Additional information about boomerbuddy could not be loaded.
what comes with
Posted 3/22/11
im not sure that epic games has told gamestop what each edition comes with yet at least that was the case when i preordered it
Customer Avatar
Adalwulf
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Adalwulf is loaded.
Additional information about Adalwulf could not be loaded.
Difference
Posted 3/21/11
They havent listed any details between the 2/3 editions the epic edition will probably have a steelbook case, art book, possibly dlc or something of the sorts a bonus dvd and something big like the black ops rc car reach statue or ac2 statue
Customer Avatar
xBambiraptorx
Keller, TX
 
Please wait while more information about xBambiraptorx is loaded.
Additional information about xBambiraptorx could not be loaded.
I'm not 100% sure...
Posted 3/20/11
I'm imagining this is like Halo Reach Legendary Edition
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 12 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Super excited.
Posted on:4/3/11
MacabreSoliloquy
Location: The United States of America
I Pre-Ordered this game a while back and paid it off in full upon ordering. I'm not gonna lie, I'm a huge fan of the GOW games. Being a girl gamer, my best friend told me I would probably hate it due to the lack of femininity in the games, but they're totally AWESOME.
September 20th, you can't come soon enough.
>=D
16 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
richie92
 
Please wait while more information about richie92 is loaded.
Additional information about richie92 could not be loaded.
u still play gow 2?
Posted 4/11/11
add me if u want richard1026. i like to play gow
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
where is the console
Posted on:3/7/11
cartmansentme
I really hope they release a console bundle because i mean MW2 got one Halo 3 and Reach got one for the last saga in a epic trilogy. make it shinny gloss red give it 2 red controllers and a copy of gears trilogy and gears 3. = epic win and if the epic edition is boss too might as well get it if you are a gears fan
18 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
What Happened to the Adam Fenix playable character
Posted on:7/20/11
N1NjaD3athBlad3
Location: Nashville, TN
Nothing happened to the Adam Fenix in game character. He is still included with the Epic Edition and the Limited Edition. The cool thing about the code for his character is that it is engraved on the alloy Cog medal you receive with either the Limited or Epic Edition. So there is your answer.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bloody
willimantic ct
 
Please wait while more information about bloody is loaded.
Additional information about bloody could not be loaded.
CANT WAIT !!!!
Posted 7/23/11
I PRE OREDED THIS GAME WEN I HAD THE FIRST CHANCE
Customer Avatar
BossBryan
 
Please wait while more information about BossBryan is loaded.
Additional information about BossBryan could not be loaded.
:o
Posted 7/22/11
Does it contains the game too? o just the books and the little toy? can anyone tell me plz :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
EPIC INDEED!!
Posted on:8/9/11
Anthunny
Location: Tucson, AZ
Cant wait best game series ever!!! Showed ppl 3rd person online gaming can be just as fun as 1st person. Most money I ever spent on a single game and proud of it!!! CANT WAIT!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Xbox 360 Gears of War 3 Wireless Controller
9.6 out of 10(53)
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
What's the difference?
Posted on:3/12/11
SgtSpud
Location: Denver, Colorado
My question is: what's the difference between the Epic, limited, and the original. I don't want to spend extra $$$ on stuff that I don't know what it is.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
September 20th can't come soon enough !
Posted on:8/18/11
Snalcaraz
Definitely picking up the Gears 3 Epic Edition at midnight launch. Hopefully Gears 3 will go out with a bang and deliver on all cylinders. Just sad to know that this is the last Gears game going to be made. Definitely going to be worth the wait and looks like a lot of fun with the the previews and videos that are being shown of it. Hurry and and be September 20th. The wait is killing me already !!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
T360
Pittsburgh. PA
 
Please wait while more information about T360 is loaded.
Additional information about T360 could not be loaded.
Wont be the last
Posted 8/30/11
It wont be the last of the series but it will be the end of the story. Even Cliff said it would be dumb to stop the gears franchise their is too much money in it. Believe me when I say this but within the next 3 years we'll see a gears of war 0 or something that will cover the first days of E-DAY
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
Gears brings the best at the end!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/11
badmutha4ker
Location: Peoria, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the Gears of War I've been waitibg for. I am a huge fan of the first 2 gears, but I was always left with a longing for more. I never felt fully satisfied. Gears 3 quenches that longing. It delivers at every level. The single player is amazing, but the multiplayer is hands down the best part of the game. Nothing like sneaking behind an enemy with a shotgun out ready to send them to respawn land, but in the last second change my weapon to a lancer, and having the last thing they hear is the reving of my chainsaw before I dice them up. Awesome just doesn't do this game justice.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
The King is back!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/11
Hognut
Location: New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It would be really nice if we knew what the contents for the Epic Edition were!! Otherwise, come on - it's the conclusion to the best series on the Xbox 360!! If you haven't heard of Gears of War, just keep playing your Super Nintendo!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
22 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Blue
 
Please wait while more information about Blue is loaded.
Additional information about Blue could not be loaded.
Just wait for Contents
Posted 3/21/11
The contents for this game in May or June. Just My guess.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Gears of War 3 Epic Edition
EPIC!!!!!!!!
Posted on:4/11/11
Harvey3Face
Location: San Francisco, CA
Gears one and two were simply amazing, thank you epic games for those great games. I've already preordered the epic edition and the limited edition guide. I'm sure this game will make game of the year nominations, (at least). The storyline sounds amazing so far, and the graphics look good as usual. So excited can't wait for the beta on the 25th or the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Gears of War 3 Limited Edition Official Strategy Guide
8.5 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
12 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hiiiiiiiii
 
Please wait while more information about hiiiiiiiii is loaded.
Additional information about hiiiiiiiii could not be loaded.
hi
Posted 4/13/11
Best game everrrrrrrrrr
I wish I wasnt in college to I could be Number 3 all time like in gears one :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>