GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)

Supercharge your gaming experience with 500GB of PS3 total awesomeness. This is the system recommended by gamers for its top-of-the-line hard drive. With 5400 RPM 8MB cache for big-time play, a media hub with remote control that provides up to 4 USB ports and controls Blu-Ray movies without game controllers, a charging stand that holds the system and charges 2 controllers simultaneously, and a 6-ft HDMI high-speed cable that supports 3D video and 1080p - it's the systems other systems envy.
Average Customer Rating:
7.545
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
6
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
26 out of 4459%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Comparison
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
Dale0409
Location: Pemberton, NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My household is a big Nintendo fan, and to be honest, the wii graphics suck. I'm looking at ps3's now, and this 500GB system is only $40 more than a 80GB system on gamestop. This particular bundle includes HDMI, while the other only has standard. I would highly recommend this if you are a more serious gamer like myself. On another note, the bundle isn't "Supercharged" - it's just the name of the group or company that refurbished the ps3.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
What your getting
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
jrab
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ps3 (smallest hd) = 209.00
media remote kit = 17.00
system stand/recharge = 17.00
western digital 500gb hd = 60.00
TOTAL: 303.00 without tax
What you are paying a extra 47.00 (preowned) or 97.00 (new):
HDMI CORD & a "SUPERCHARGED" ps3 skin
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
18 of 30 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Backbiter
Boones Mill Va
 
Please wait while more information about Backbiter is loaded.
Additional information about Backbiter could not be loaded.
Posted 10/6/12
i want a ps3 so badly...but cant afford one at a rental store...any ideas on to getting one cheap-ish?
Customer Avatar
CODDDsquirrels
 
Please wait while more information about CODDDsquirrels is loaded.
Additional information about CODDDsquirrels could not be loaded.
Posted 7/21/12
It's cheap, 160 GB system new is $250
Customer Avatar
Demon1198
 
Please wait while more information about Demon1198 is loaded.
Additional information about Demon1198 could not be loaded.
Try looking at the bright side.
Posted 6/16/12
You're thinking of an 80gb or so, but this is FIVE HUNDRED GB. Plus all of the other stuff.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Best buy ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
Takerfan3880
Location: Georgetown,pa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So what if it is a refurb at least I'll have the only one in pa and the only one in a 100 mile radius. Ps3 rocks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Don' t listen to others
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
Kelvinj
Location: Maryland
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I did not buy this for me its for a friend, but I do have a refurbished ps3 I have had it for 3 yrs without any problems so don't believe the hype It is true your taking a chance but that's what warranties are for btw it comes with a year warranty I also have a 500gb hard drive and please don't let anyone tell u your never going to use 500 gb if u didn't think you would you would not be looking at this one with the 70 to 80 movies 500 tv shows and 10,000 songs I only have 20gb left no one can tell u how much of your hd you will use but you also this has 4 USB ports good luck buying a new ps3 with that, this is not bad I only wish they had this 3 yrs ago so I could have brought this unit as a whole instead of piece by piece don't listen to the Microsoft fanboys or ps3 haters this is a good buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
24 of 30 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
wawo
Tucson, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about wawo is loaded.
Additional information about wawo could not be loaded.
Thanks Kelvinj but...
Posted 3/30/12
Dose the PS3 Slim play PS1, and PS2 games?
Customer Avatar
McKenzey
 
Please wait while more information about McKenzey is loaded.
Additional information about McKenzey could not be loaded.
Right...
Posted 3/30/12
I'm not bashing here or anything like that, but you really don't need that big a hdd. Not everyone stores 10000 songs, 70-80 movies, etc. on his or her PS3. Take me, for instance. I Play my PS3 games and watch movies on my system. I don't need anything more than my current 80 gig hdd. I prefer physical copies, which means I'm not downloading anything but save data to my hdd. It all depends on how you use it.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Should i sell my xbox for this ps3?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
wawo
Location: Tucson, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got a Gears of War 3 limited edition XBOX 360 that has 320 GBHD, but im getting bord of it. Should i sell my xbox and buy this Supercharged Playstation 3? or just keep my xbox?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
10 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comments (9)
Comments (9)
Customer Avatar
Tsukiumi
That's classified
 
Please wait while more information about Tsukiumi is loaded.
Additional information about Tsukiumi could not be loaded.
Well it depends
Posted 8/25/12
reasons for The system is awesome the games are great it has more and better exclusives then the 360 (just not as well known as the overlly hyped 360 exclusives) the graphics are way better(most companies only release 720p on there games because that makes them the same as the xbox's 1080p in terms of looks) the system wont break on you easily, it is way quieter, it almost never over heats, hard drives are upgradeable with almost any hard drive you can find, you can copy movies and shows from your computer and play them on the system. and those who complain about the controller only complain because there hand had to go through the same thing to get use to the xbox's controller in the first place and they were use to it buy the time the 360 came out. Reasons against it no cross gameing chat and thats the only negative i can think of
Customer Avatar
LovinOurPS3
Kearney, NE
 
Please wait while more information about LovinOurPS3 is loaded.
Additional information about LovinOurPS3 could not be loaded.
Heck ya
Posted 7/22/12
We hate da xbox360 all we hear frm ppl at wrk is how it's always getting hacked! We have never had a problem with ours!
Customer Avatar
PumaCommander
Joplin, MO
 
Please wait while more information about PumaCommander is loaded.
Additional information about PumaCommander could not be loaded.
Dude you really shouldnt!!!!!!!
Posted 5/20/12
Now see i as well have both Xbox 360 and PS3, im a collector of sort, and i would have to say... the xbox all of the way.. dude dont get rid of it, if you really want a ps3 then look for a cheaper model.. I only use my ps3 for ps3 exclusives, and i mean yeah the graphics are pretty but the xbox is the same if not more due to the fact that 99% of all xbox games are produced in 1080p, and the ps3 is pumping 720p on most of there games. Okay and yeah you have to pay the 60$ a year for live but think of it this way, you are getting what you paid for. Great service, the best online community around, and extreamly awsome exclusives like, HALO, Gears of War, Call of Duty map Pack first before any other system, and Forza. So will that being said I implore you to reconsider about the big decision of trading in the awsomeness of the xbox. I guarantee to you that you will enjoy the xbox so much. But like i said if you really want a ps3 then like i have said try to find a cheaper one and get that so you can enjoy the sony product as well.. But DO NOT GET RID OF YOUR XBOX 360!!!!!!
Customer Avatar
undeadsith666
gravette,AR
 
Please wait while more information about undeadsith666 is loaded.
Additional information about undeadsith666 could not be loaded.
DO IT
Posted 5/19/12
the only thing the xbox has over the ps3 is it can play music while ur playing a game
Customer Avatar
Takerfan3880
Georgetown,pa
 
Please wait while more information about Takerfan3880 is loaded.
Additional information about Takerfan3880 could not be loaded.
The best reason
Posted 4/9/12
Well the best reason to get rid of the 360 and get the ps3 is that you don't have to pay 60 bucks a year to play online and it has better graphics and faster DL time aswell
Customer Avatar
NightmareTiger
Knoxville TN
 
Please wait while more information about NightmareTiger is loaded.
Additional information about NightmareTiger could not be loaded.
of course NOT!!
Posted 3/29/12
I'm not hateing on ps3 but xbox is the way to go. I have both an 360 and a ps3 (so i can tell you from experice) I would choose the 360 over ps3 any do. Now with that said if you really want a ps3 please i beg you, dont get rid of the 360 to get it!
Customer Avatar
ImmortalGamer
Wenatchee WA
 
Please wait while more information about ImmortalGamer is loaded.
Additional information about ImmortalGamer could not be loaded.
Totally
Posted 3/25/12
The ps3 runs much quicker then the xbox, free online multiplayer, and generally has better games. Also you don't need to worry about the red ring of death.
Customer Avatar
Raccooncityboss
 
Please wait while more information about Raccooncityboss is loaded.
Additional information about Raccooncityboss could not be loaded.
I wouldnt...
Posted 3/21/12
i like 360. faster graphics. better design. also my friend has a ps3 th controllers make ur hand cramp. with GoW3, id keep ur Xbox
Customer Avatar
Karma6
Pulaski, wi
 
Please wait while more information about Karma6 is loaded.
Additional information about Karma6 could not be loaded.
yes yes and yes
Posted 3/19/12
its a great ps3, large amount of hdd space, free internet, and comes with hdmi cord and controller chargeable stand, worth it definitely
Comments (9)
Comments (9)
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
even if refurbished
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/12
Karma6
Location: Pulaski, wi
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i see no problem here with this system, its probably know as a refurbished because of the hdd swap to a 500 gb scorpio, which in its self is a 80-90 dollar hdd (at best buy), it also comes with a good hdmi cable and a stand for your ps3 that has controller chargers built in, for 350 dollars i think this is worth the buy especially for someone who is going to buy a system for a HD tv to use for downloading movies and play games in blu ray HD, it also comes with a 1 year warranty, so that way if it breaks because of a mechanical issue you get a new one. dont let others discourage you on this thing, it may not be "supercharged" but it is definitely an overhauled system
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Not worth it..
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
NemesisPwns
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The only good thing is the 4 USB ports. I hade a old 80GB ps3 that was bundled with MGS4 back in 07 and it recently died 4 days ago which is not bad giving the fact that it lasted 5 years but anyways this ps3 isnt supercharged at all whatsoever my old ps3 had a 750GB 5900 rpm HDD and ps3's cant have anything higher than 5900 rpm anyways. So go buy a new ps3 cheaper and well worth it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Review 2.0: Not impressed still
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/12
TOPHINATORMAN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Here's the thing, I don't like refurbished items. They are not the same quality as a brand new console. Someone in another review tried to imply that refurbished and used are two different things; and that is simply not true. Look on this page and the only option is to buy this console "used." My recommendation is to buy any NEW PS3, and put in a 500 GB Hard Drive of your choice which costs roughly $100. Sure, this deal includes some other stuff, which to me is not very valuable. All in all, you could spend $200 on a NEW console, and $100 on a hard drive and save $50. And believe me, replacing a hard drive is a piece of cake. The only challenge is if you want to move files from one PS3's HDD onto another. Then you just need a FAT32 HDD to backup all of your files to. Afterwards, go to Playstation's site and they easily explain the process.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
14 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TOPHINATORMAN
 
Please wait while more information about TOPHINATORMAN is loaded.
Additional information about TOPHINATORMAN could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 3/17/12
You are absolutely correct: valid argument.
Customer Avatar
TheGaliant
 
Please wait while more information about TheGaliant is loaded.
Additional information about TheGaliant could not be loaded.
Refurbished>Used
Posted 3/3/12
While new is better than refurbished, refurbished is definitely better than used. Used means it was bought "as is" and sold "as is". Refurbished means it was bought "as is" and then fixed up a bit if there were any issues, THEN sold. It is listed as used because it IS used, but at least when they refurbish it, it means it is supposed to work like new, just with previously owned parts. I trust refurbished over used, even though it technically IS used...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
FAKE
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/12
Bran8
Location: Miami, Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Supercharged is a oxymoron. its a Off-brand Ps3 system Not made by sony! ill tell you why its a oxymoron, it says Supercharged ps3 right; They Want To Say Supercharged as in power wise. But they cant because its not. So They Said Supercharged BRAND!!!!! Ps3!!!!! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
7 of 50 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Dale0409
Pemberton, NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Dale0409 is loaded.
Additional information about Dale0409 could not be loaded.
"Supercharged"
Posted 11/3/12
People like you make my brain hurt. Supercharged is simply the group that refurbished this ps3. The ONLY way you could know that Supercharged isn't affiliated with Sony is if you worked for one of the other.
Customer Avatar
tazz67
 
Please wait while more information about tazz67 is loaded.
Additional information about tazz67 could not be loaded.
Fake
Posted 6/30/12
How do you know it is a Fake? Do you work for Sony? If not then don't say things to make yourself look good when you don't know for a fact!
Customer Avatar
TOPHINATORMAN
 
Please wait while more information about TOPHINATORMAN is loaded.
Additional information about TOPHINATORMAN could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 3/17/12
How is this an "off-brand PS3? All gamestop did was refurbish, and put in a bigger hard drive.
Customer Avatar
mechcanek
 
Please wait while more information about mechcanek is loaded.
Additional information about mechcanek could not be loaded.
ps3
Posted 2/3/12
my ps3 was 80gb and i putt a 320gb in the system. had mine now for 4and half years, love it. and i dont buy used consoles,your have alot of problems down the road.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
WELL...........
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
GatesVideoGames
Location: New York,NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well, to start off, i hope you giys know the difference between a REFURBLISHED PS3 and a PRE-OWNED PS3. Anyway, this deal looks pretty amazing. But everything this deal has to offer, I already have. But take this message from a professional gamer, I do recommend this product if you dont already have a PS3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RBelmont007
 
Please wait while more information about RBelmont007 is loaded.
Additional information about RBelmont007 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/16/12
Yeah, the difference is refurbished means it's been repaired and/or renovated. Pre-owned is anything to bought and returned after one use or less to being kicked around the garage floor for five years, which likely would lead to refurbishing. See how that works?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Not recommended
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
True, this is a PlayStation 3 with all its features but you are over paying. This is a refurbished Item, which means it will have a more likely chance of breaking down. Refurbished items usually are more unreliable then new and if your paying 350$ plus tax you want an item that is going to last. Another thing is that you are NEVER going to use 500GB. Think about it. If 8GB holds over 1700 songs, then 500 GB will hold over 25,000 songs! Even if you buoght EVERY game for the PS3 and downloaded them to the HDD you would probably STILL have room left. That in my opinion is being wasteful. I reccomend a 320 GB system AT MOST.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
cumquat
earth
 
Please wait while more information about cumquat is loaded.
Additional information about cumquat could not be loaded.
wrong
Posted 5/27/12
first refurbished means repaired, so they are just as good, if not better, than new. second, if 8gigs holds 1700 songs then 500 would hold over 100,000 songs. and while you may only use the system for music and games, many other people like to use them for movies and tv shows as well. and third, if you bought every game on PSN, you'd need about 4TB at minimum. heck, gt5 is disc based and it requires 2gb of HDD space.
Customer Avatar
fester420
 
Please wait while more information about fester420 is loaded.
Additional information about fester420 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/17/12
Ha, I have a 500gb in my ps3 now and I am about to upgrade to a TB because I am running out of space.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
It's worth it! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
LevJohk3bo
Location: Martinsville, VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
worth every penny. Amazing.Would recommend to anyone. Killzone 3 looks great on the system. Truly a masterpiece. Good hardware. No negatives.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Not the best deal and I'll explain why.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/11
TOPHINATORMAN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The fact that it says "Premium Refurbished" is an oxymoron. Refurbished items are obviously not the best quality. And like someone said, it really isn't "supercharged." It is just a marketing technique to make it sound better than it really is. Refurbished items are known for working while they are at the store and then screwing up. My recommendation, buy a 120 GB NEW PS3 and buying a 500 GB external PS3 Digistor Hard Drive for $100 dollars.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
89 of 124 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
kl122987
 
Please wait while more information about kl122987 is loaded.
Additional information about kl122987 could not be loaded.
To be honest
Posted 10/26/12
The word refurbished does not exactly mean something is wrong with it.....it could be that somebody didnt like it and returned brand new but gamestop cant sell it new because its been opened...so dont let that make you think its gonna mess up on you and like the people above already said you do get a yr warranty so its has a backup plan
Customer Avatar
TOPHINATORMAN
 
Please wait while more information about TOPHINATORMAN is loaded.
Additional information about TOPHINATORMAN could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 1/6/12
750 GB internal for $100. Sorry, that's not gonna happen and even if it were, the quality would be horrible. Plus 500 is guaranteed to work while 640, 750, and a terabyte ALL have had problems. Go 500. Believe me when I say that is more than enough space even for the most hard core gamer.
Customer Avatar
TOPHINATORMAN
 
Please wait while more information about TOPHINATORMAN is loaded.
Additional information about TOPHINATORMAN could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 1/6/12
I should correct part of my review, do NOT buy an external HDD if you need space for game installs. Buy an internal. And if you don't deserve to return a PS3 after you've bought it, plus that's not how a warranty on this kind of thing works.
Customer Avatar
yllwflash47
 
Please wait while more information about yllwflash47 is loaded.
Additional information about yllwflash47 could not be loaded.
disagree
Posted 12/10/11
why because it gives you a 1 yr warranty so if u dont like it return it back
Customer Avatar
cumquat
earth
 
Please wait while more information about cumquat is loaded.
Additional information about cumquat could not be loaded.
alternitively
Posted 10/21/11
the same $100 can get a 750 gb internal hdd.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
This ps3 is cool for serious gamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
Spex805
Location: Santa Maria California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This ps3 seem cool for hard gamers looking for much more memory than the other ps3 and awesome value of stuff include i would buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SgtThumper1
Evarts, Kentucky
 
Please wait while more information about SgtThumper1 is loaded.
Additional information about SgtThumper1 could not be loaded.
SgtJ
Posted 10/3/11
this does look great but all you have to do is buy a $60 PC hard drive and put it in there and u have the same thing for hundreds less...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Don't get
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
jeral2334
Location: hammond
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I would not get this one this system sucks I reccomen a ps3 160gb over this piece of junk
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 43 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
great better than xbox360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
gangster5023
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
better than xbox 360 better graphics free internet use and great quality on games for ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 54 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Only a 5400RPM?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/11
annoymoose
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Hurray? a 500 GB, you can do that with any ps3 heck you can put a 1 TB drive in them. You could do it when the ps3 was first released.
The title says supercharged? why is the hard drive only 5400 RPM? that's slower than the basic Computer Hard drives which usually run at 7,000 RPM. Super Charged usually means 10,000 RPM or 15,000 RPM.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
58 of 97 found this review helpful.
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
AdamTheWalker
Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about AdamTheWalker is loaded.
Additional information about AdamTheWalker could not be loaded.
Posted 9/22/11
My thoughts exactly. Some of the other comments leveled some fairly valid arguments, but whichever way you slice it, it is too much money for what amounts to another HDD upgrade and some nifty extra parts. The comment on overheating was a good thought though.
Customer Avatar
Hidden
PA
 
Please wait while more information about Hidden is loaded.
Additional information about Hidden could not be loaded.
Posted 8/29/11
This PS3 is without a doubt supercharged. A 10,000 rpm hard drive can be installed but its already been done before and what happens is the ps3 does not the cooling power to keep it from over heating, then the hard drive goes bad. Even if you installed a 10,000 rpm hard drive it wouldnt make much of a difference, just load times would be a little faster but i wouldnt risk it to ruin my ps3. While most ps3 standard hd's run at 1.5gb/s this one runs at 3gb/s which will also decrease load times. just having a big hard drive itself makes load times faster. The more space you have ona hd the better its preformance. i believe this deserves a better rating however it is way over priced. for 299.99 you get a new 320gb and infamous2, so this is used and should be about that same price.
Customer Avatar
zeroCool
New York
 
Please wait while more information about zeroCool is loaded.
Additional information about zeroCool could not be loaded.
Meh
Posted 8/24/11
5400K is definitely the lower end. I would expect it to be more so the 7500K and better for a gaming system. I think I'll just tack a TB drive onto my system and call it a day if possible. However the comment about SSD, possibly there is no performance gain if the OS of the system is not running on SSD. My Desktop OS is running on a SSD and the difference is exponential, however if that were just used for some storage and not as the location that the OS code sits and runs from, you wouldn't see a big diff AFAIK.
Customer Avatar
Blueriver
Columbia, MD
 
Please wait while more information about Blueriver is loaded.
Additional information about Blueriver could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 7/31/11
I think this is way too overpriced and has to be avoided. But FYI, I put 120GB SSD on my PS3, but the difference is minimal. 20% faster at best on loading times I'd say. I don't think you will really notice any difference between 5400RPM vs. 7200RPM.
Customer Avatar
Jukoro
 
Please wait while more information about Jukoro is loaded.
Additional information about Jukoro could not be loaded.
Posted 7/21/11
well first off most computers dont come with a hard drive that is 7200RPM they normally come with a 5400RPM some do come with a 7200RPM but only some
Customer Avatar
anemicous
 
Please wait while more information about anemicous is loaded.
Additional information about anemicous could not be loaded.
Posted 7/17/11
Sure you can swap out the PS3's hard drive for a 7200 RPM hard drive, but all PS3's come with a hard drive that is 5400 RPM. That's the speed by default. I believe the "Supercharged" in the title, refers to it's 500GB of space. Plus for people who don't know their hard drives, 5400 RPM "sounds" fast XD
Customer Avatar
snoozbuster
Not in front of a silly PS3
 
Please wait while more information about snoozbuster is loaded.
Additional information about snoozbuster could not be loaded.
Definition of "Supercharged"
Posted 7/17/11
"Supercharged" is the name of the company that refurbished the PS3, hence, it is a "Supercharged Refurbished" PS3. If you notice, it is listed as "by Supercharged." It has nothing whatsoever to do with the speed of anything. Just figured I'd answer your question, since nobody had bothered to yet. ;D
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
CONGRATS SONY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/11
ThePS3Legend
Location: New York
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
BOYYYY SONY CAN SUREEE CREATE SOMETHING SPECIAL! ITS AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TOPHINATORMAN
 
Please wait while more information about TOPHINATORMAN is loaded.
Additional information about TOPHINATORMAN could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 10/12/11
Word up, if it's been refurbished then you should never ever ever buy it.
Customer Avatar
Lavos99z
Chapmanville
 
Please wait while more information about Lavos99z is loaded.
Additional information about Lavos99z could not be loaded.
Sony didn't...
Posted 7/18/11
Gamestop refurbished and supercharged it...Apparently you don't seem to understand...Kids these days know nothing.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
Congrats Sony, You did it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/11
BigRo
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system shocked me, because with most electronics out there today, people always have a new thing. Problem is.. is that they dont really change anything. This PS3 amazed me, in everyway. This PS3 is like the Ferrari of cars. Its just a perfect console. I DO NOT, advise you getting rid of the always great PS3 FAT. Please do not ever get rid of the FATS, they are original and people pay good money for them!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 500GB System (Supercharged Refurbished)
IT GOT HACKED
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
xxhardcoregamerxx12345
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pros: Blue ray player, paper weight. Cons: not smart enough to download the latest updates, has to download each patch ONE AT A TIME. Costs a bit more. has a vibrator as a motion sense control. got hacked. i just dont see the point in spending couple of hundred dollars to buy a blu ray player. i guess it will make a cool paper weight nice and shiny
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo Wii Refurbished System Bundle
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
22 of 324 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Shendow
Garden City,KS
 
Please wait while more information about Shendow is loaded.
Additional information about Shendow could not be loaded.
Hardcore gamer lol
Posted 1/5/12
Can't call yourself a hardcore gamer if you play Wii lol.
Don't be mad that PS3 runs better and does more, it be cheap for people to buy a hard drive from Amazon or something then doing this.
PS3 can handle up to 1TB, which is alot more then any other system out their can handle.
Customer Avatar
MizzleMonkey
 
Please wait while more information about MizzleMonkey is loaded.
Additional information about MizzleMonkey could not be loaded.
Recommendations
Posted 11/23/11
After this review, you recommend a refurbished Wii bundle. You have got to be out of your mind, yes the supercharged system is just a sell, and the 500 GB harddrive can be done on any PS3, but seriously, a Wii.
Customer Avatar
bigboy1450
non ur beeswax
 
Please wait while more information about bigboy1450 is loaded.
Additional information about bigboy1450 could not be loaded.
pay for wi-fi
Posted 11/3/11
people started telling me playstaion network was going to start making people pay for online gameplay.like xbox i see
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
1 2 3 next>>