GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)

The Nintendo DS Lite is a high-powered handheld video game system in a sleek folding design - loaded with features for a unique gaming experience. The color screens are now even brighter - and the lower touch screen provides a totally new way of playing and controlling games.
Average Customer Rating:
7.263
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
4
8 stars
8
7 stars
2
6 stars
5
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
25 out of 3866%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Review 1 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Do your research. You may run into issues!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/12
nengracio
Location: Miami
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
If you want to enjoy this DS Lite, make sure you do your research. Multiple things can go wrong because Gamestop has applied the "refurbish" tag onto this product when in reality all they did was repackage the system. Refurbished gives us, the buyer, the idea that this was a used system, brought back to almost perfect condition (or mint). But that wasn't the case with my purchases.
I bought the my first system (a black DS Lite) and it had multiple dead pixels on the top screen. I thought, "No big deal, I'll just get return it and get another one." When I returned it i was forced into buying a white one because they only had one system of each color.
The second DS looked like it was handled by a 6 year old and was not taken care of or put into a protective case. It has scratches all over the place, including a series of scratches that stretch along the top of the upper screen.
You should also call ahead to make sure they have the color system you want. My local Gamestop only had one of each color which included a black one, a white one, a pink one, and a red one with a HUGE Transformer sticker that they didn't bother to remove. Because of their shortage of colors, I will need to go to another Gamestop to find a better "refurbished" console.
I will continue to look for the best console I can find, but I would recommend everyone to kindly ask your Gamestop employee to let you take a look at the system, and let you turn it on, just to make sure everything is up to your expectations.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mskillz
philly
 
Please wait while more information about mskillz is loaded.
Additional information about mskillz could not be loaded.
refurbished
Posted 10/28/12
refurbished is different from what they sale as "pre-owned" and "used" . pre-owed and used are items brought into the store and sold as is. refurbished items are sent to the factory and "repaired" then sent back and sold with a free 3-12 month warranty but used/pre owned systems can be returned within 7days for cash back. gstop is funny with their wording though so buyer beware... ie ask questions about what you are buying...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Budget-tight gamers BEWARE= Total addiction
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
myphoneisrad
Location: Murrieta, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This console is amazing. Just amazing. Nice work on the repairs. It works great. Bought it with Pokemon black and is working amazingly.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
good if you are 4
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
dannyx1
Location: New york NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this when i was about 5 and it was fun but when i got to be about 7 this got to kiddy for me. I never sold my ds it has bean in the attic for about 5 years collecting dust. the one good thing about the ds lite is that it is realy duribal. One day i left my ds out in the driveway and left it out their for 2 days during a rain storm and after the rain storm i finally rembered that i left out side. I got it and it was soaking wet but it still turned on after being in a rainstorm for 2 days. after about a day the watter in the screen evaporated. A bout a year lator i left it in my pocket and it went through and entire wash/dry sycle and the darn thing still worked.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Something's up
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
PokeBattler
Location: HI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was hoping that the DS Lite would be at normal condition, but it seemed like every time the DS would shut down suddenly even if it was fully charged and wont turn on for a while.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Great system for avid gamers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
Sigmatic
Location: Alpha Phi Omega
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Okay, if you're looking for something to play while on the go, the Nintendo DS line is your best bet. Yes, you could go get a PSP, but Nintendo DS has a better library and more accessibility for those just getting into handheld gaming. Very user friendly and portable, what's better than that? Overall, I enjoy using my DS Lite, DSi and 3DS. A lot of the games are pretty good. The Nintendo DS Lite is a great investment and one of the best choices I have ever made. I will admit that the graphics for the DS Lite can be on the bad side, but graphics don't make a game great. What does matter is the gameplay and replay value. If you want something that is readily available whenever you want to get a little gaming in, go with a Nintendo DS Lite or a later model. You won't regret it. My DS goes everywhere with me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Better Save a Little More Cash for a DSI.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
THEGAMER423
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My DS lite was a great system. After a fatal (for the DS Lite) fall I got a DSI for Christmas. Let me tell you right now I am really glad the DS Lite took that fall. The DSI has much more functions and is really easy to grip onto when compared to a DS Lite. DS Lites' are a thing in the past and the only reason you'd ever get one is because it has backwards compatibility with game boy games. But, i recommend you take back those game boy games because they aren't going to be sold very much longer. I say check out the DSI.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BeeSan
AZ
 
Please wait while more information about BeeSan is loaded.
Additional information about BeeSan could not be loaded.
Hmm...
Posted 5/28/12
Well, in my opinion, the entire reason that you get GBA games is because you like them. So really, in that case, it wouldn't make sense to take them back. In my case, the GBA games are 99% of the reason I don't just jump and get the 3DS now. I might just get a $50 GBA SP, and buy the $150-$170 3DS also- That way I can play every Nintendo handheld game available. But I also might just get the DSLite now, and save up for a newer console later, because the DSL is only $70 refurbished. If you have money, great. If you don't, you have to consider these things. :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Won't charge properly
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/12
sofi
Location: Gilroy, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My cousins broke my old DS that I'd owned for several years, so their mom bought me a refurbished one (it was in better condition than my old one at least). When I plugged it in to charge it for the first time, the charging light turned on for a second but then turned off...I figured it was the outlet so I figured I'd try somewhere else later on. When I did, the same thing happened...at every plug... Now I have to hold the charger half-in so it'll charge... It's sooooooooo annoying!!! Other than that though, it's pretty good.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BeeSan
AZ
 
Please wait while more information about BeeSan is loaded.
Additional information about BeeSan could not be loaded.
Charger?
Posted 5/28/12
I bet you the charger has a short. Buy a new one, and your DS should charge just fine. :) Hope I could help!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Dead pixels
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
Dekar930
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought a refurbished DS Lite from gamestop, and at least 40% of the screen pixels were dead. I would not buy anything refurbished from gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Good, except for small problems.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/12
ToASTalex910
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's a great system! The only problem is the L and R buttons stop working. Also if you run into a pole while you are walking and playing pokemon Pearl version the hinge breaks. It has a lot of wonderful games. Buy a lot of styluses though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
NDSL reviewing system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
Horsecrazy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this gaming system. It is easy to run and fun to play. I would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a good system. It holds up well and is very compatable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
This is a great system for everyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
TheSpartaKiller
Location: new york
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There are so many ds games you will always have many games that you enjoy!! I don't think anything is wrong with it. I have had my ds for 3 years and it's still in perfect quality. In conclusion I would highly recommend this system to anyone!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
I LOVE IT!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
dhampir15
Location: redmond,WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love the nitendo ds lite, yes it has its flaws but what game system doesen't? i've personally only had 3 ds systems break on me (one original and two lite) i dont remember how the first one broke but the second one still worked fine after it broke the top screen was just way loose and one of them continued to work years after it had been dropped into a river (not reccomended) my little sister (age 8) has also had one for years and hasnt broken it yet. over all i find this system very reliable and ive found games that keep me entertained for hours (mostly pokemon and harvest moon) i definately reccomend it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Stupid and not cheap either
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
juddbud7
Location: utah
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is really horrible along with all of nintendo I played the wii once and thought it was the worst thing to do with all videogames. It is not good at all every game has bad graphics and are not fun at all. I go with the psp it is truly one of the best game systems.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 99 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Great product for a great price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
NyteRider
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This was a gift for our 5 year old and it is a huge hit. No issues at all with the used systems from Gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Good, kids break them..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
JuliaDream
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Good, but my 5 + 6 year old broke 2 in less than a year. They need something more durable and they outgrew the Leapsters. I will buy another one though they keep my kids occupied in a car and we travel everywhere we go since we live in the country. Constantly lose the stylus's.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
matlock
Salem, Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about matlock is loaded.
Additional information about matlock could not be loaded.
DS lites
Posted 5/23/12
I am a grandmother who has bought 5 DS lites within the past 3 years. They all freeze! The grandkids love them, but get so,so frustrated! I won't buy the DS lites any longer. It seems like it is a real problem of whether you get one that lasts more than a year without freezing, after talking to many, many DS lite owners. Why can't you make them more durable????? Please???!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
ok
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
bobby43773
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i liked the ds but but stuff is some games are bad but some games are good most games ive played sucks the atachment that hooks the screen will break unless you never play it over all i would requmend this if you like mario games
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Awesome especially for the price I paid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/11
amay0687
Location: Englewood, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I must say this is an amazing little product. There is so much packed into just this one device and to mention I didn't pay the price listed, I got it for a lot less combining coupons and trade in credit!!! Can't wait to play more with it after Christmas!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
A Fantastic System Upgrade!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
Archfeind2
Location: Devon, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I used the original Nintendo DS and the DS Lite versions and I like them both. The DS Lite is constructed very nicely and can take a few drops here and there. But because it is a thinner version of the DS, it is obvious that the LIte will break easier than the original, but if you want a brighter screen and something more lightweight and thinner, go with a DS Lite. I wouldn't go for a DSi, personally, because I won't be able to play my GBA games! I would recommend the DS or the DS Lite to anyone who would like a simple gaming experience with the new DS games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Great While It Lasts
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
NintendoGamerII
Location: Denver, Colorado
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is great for younger kids but begins to loose it's effect later on. Although the gameplay is impressive the fun eventually fades. The Ds Lite is basically starts off fun and excititng but gets boring and dull later on. It was only fun for a week or two before it got boring pretty quick. If you are planning on buying this handheld i strongly recommend that you save up your money a while more to be able to pay for plenty of games to keep it from getting boring.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
4thgrader
Location: California
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
THIS THING IS AWSOME ITS TOTALLY WORTH LIKE $90.00!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>