GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)

The Nintendo DS Lite is a high-powered handheld video game system in a sleek folding design - loaded with features for a unique gaming experience. The color screens are now even brighter - and the lower touch screen provides a totally new way of playing and controlling games.
Average Customer Rating:
7.263
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
4
8 stars
8
7 stars
2
6 stars
5
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
25 out of 3866%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Review 1 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
NINTENDO'S GETTING BETTER!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
ringu217
Location: mt. pleasant, SC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After I traded in my GameBoy Color, I thought gaming was all over for me - then I met the Nintendo DS lite. This little handheld system is great for children and adults. There is such an incredible variety of games including all levels of ratings (E-M), a nice touch screen on the bottom and a duel screen on the top, and really incredible graphics and sound. This system keeps track of time and dates including your birthday. It has Wi-Fi on the back of the system especially designed for battling your friends. The system also warns you by flashing a red light on the side for you to charge your system before it dies. This recharged/refurbished system includes one stylus, one AC adaptor, and one console. The AC adaptor may or may not be USB compatible, so you may have to dish out a few extra bucks for a USB cable if you want to download games from the internet. I recommend this system over anything the PSP has to offer. Worth the buy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Excellent concept, even if it's a little old.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/11
WaffleEatsYou
Location: Albany, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The first thing you need to know is that this system is old and outdated. The second thing you need to know is that the small group of people who will tell you not to buy the system are mostly PSP loyalists. Despite that, there only two real flaws in the system overall (that I can think of). The first is that the graphics are poor compared to other handheld systems right now, and that's due to the fact that it isn't compatible with memory cards. All memory has to be stored on the same SD card-sized game cartridges that contain the rest of the game. There's just not enough memory space to have a high-detail game like the PSP has. That said, good graphics aren't integral to a good game. There are plenty of games for this system that are well worth your time, and you'll enjoy them a lot regardless of what genres you like. The second flaw is that sometimes the games seem to go out of their way to get you to use the touchscreen when it might not really be necessary. The touchscreen, as an option, ought to be taken advantage of by games rather than forced. It's a great concept, one being further taken advantage of by other systems, and incorporated into countless other tech gadgets. While the Nintendo DS is now an outdated handheld system, and has nothing that the 3DS and the DSi don't have (besides GBA backwards compatibility) it's now much less expensive than those systems, and a great choice for a non-hardcore gamer. Those seeking any more than entertainment for the backseat in a long car ride might want to look elsewhere to the PSP and the newer Nintendo systems for a more intensive experience. Despite the minor flaws with this system, it's still an excellent one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
28 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
NDSL reviewing system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
Horsecrazy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this gaming system. It is easy to run and fun to play. I would recomend it to anyone who is looking for a good system. It holds up well and is very compatable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Do your research. You may run into issues!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/12
nengracio
Location: Miami
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
If you want to enjoy this DS Lite, make sure you do your research. Multiple things can go wrong because Gamestop has applied the "refurbish" tag onto this product when in reality all they did was repackage the system. Refurbished gives us, the buyer, the idea that this was a used system, brought back to almost perfect condition (or mint). But that wasn't the case with my purchases.
I bought the my first system (a black DS Lite) and it had multiple dead pixels on the top screen. I thought, "No big deal, I'll just get return it and get another one." When I returned it i was forced into buying a white one because they only had one system of each color.
The second DS looked like it was handled by a 6 year old and was not taken care of or put into a protective case. It has scratches all over the place, including a series of scratches that stretch along the top of the upper screen.
You should also call ahead to make sure they have the color system you want. My local Gamestop only had one of each color which included a black one, a white one, a pink one, and a red one with a HUGE Transformer sticker that they didn't bother to remove. Because of their shortage of colors, I will need to go to another Gamestop to find a better "refurbished" console.
I will continue to look for the best console I can find, but I would recommend everyone to kindly ask your Gamestop employee to let you take a look at the system, and let you turn it on, just to make sure everything is up to your expectations.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mskillz
philly
 
Please wait while more information about mskillz is loaded.
Additional information about mskillz could not be loaded.
refurbished
Posted 10/28/12
refurbished is different from what they sale as "pre-owned" and "used" . pre-owed and used are items brought into the store and sold as is. refurbished items are sent to the factory and "repaired" then sent back and sold with a free 3-12 month warranty but used/pre owned systems can be returned within 7days for cash back. gstop is funny with their wording though so buyer beware... ie ask questions about what you are buying...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Budget-tight gamers BEWARE= Total addiction
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
myphoneisrad
Location: Murrieta, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This console is amazing. Just amazing. Nice work on the repairs. It works great. Bought it with Pokemon black and is working amazingly.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Great product for a great price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
NyteRider
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This was a gift for our 5 year old and it is a huge hit. No issues at all with the used systems from Gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Dead pixels
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
Dekar930
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought a refurbished DS Lite from gamestop, and at least 40% of the screen pixels were dead. I would not buy anything refurbished from gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Awesome especially for the price I paid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/11
amay0687
Location: Englewood, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I must say this is an amazing little product. There is so much packed into just this one device and to mention I didn't pay the price listed, I got it for a lot less combining coupons and trade in credit!!! Can't wait to play more with it after Christmas!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Great system for avid gamers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
Sigmatic
Location: Alpha Phi Omega
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Okay, if you're looking for something to play while on the go, the Nintendo DS line is your best bet. Yes, you could go get a PSP, but Nintendo DS has a better library and more accessibility for those just getting into handheld gaming. Very user friendly and portable, what's better than that? Overall, I enjoy using my DS Lite, DSi and 3DS. A lot of the games are pretty good. The Nintendo DS Lite is a great investment and one of the best choices I have ever made. I will admit that the graphics for the DS Lite can be on the bad side, but graphics don't make a game great. What does matter is the gameplay and replay value. If you want something that is readily available whenever you want to get a little gaming in, go with a Nintendo DS Lite or a later model. You won't regret it. My DS goes everywhere with me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
A Fantastic System Upgrade!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
Archfeind2
Location: Devon, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I used the original Nintendo DS and the DS Lite versions and I like them both. The DS Lite is constructed very nicely and can take a few drops here and there. But because it is a thinner version of the DS, it is obvious that the LIte will break easier than the original, but if you want a brighter screen and something more lightweight and thinner, go with a DS Lite. I wouldn't go for a DSi, personally, because I won't be able to play my GBA games! I would recommend the DS or the DS Lite to anyone who would like a simple gaming experience with the new DS games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
This is a great system for everyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
TheSpartaKiller
Location: new york
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There are so many ds games you will always have many games that you enjoy!! I don't think anything is wrong with it. I have had my ds for 3 years and it's still in perfect quality. In conclusion I would highly recommend this system to anyone!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Reasons why to buy a NintendoDS Lite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
CoDeeDedmon13
Location: Wilburton,OK
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well all of you who think that the 3DS is amazing. In a gameinformer a couple of months back it says that the NintendoDs sold more than the 3DS and the 3DS charge lasts 5 hours so yo can get eShop on 3DS. Now the dsi,and dsi xl. the charge doesnt last as long and you can only play ds games on it well I like GBA games like pokemon saphire,ruby,fire red,zelda that kinda stuff but i accidentally sat on my dsi and it has a crack in it now so ds lite is the strongest but your GBA games in it can get broke very easily so watch out and if you really want it to last get a nerf case for the ndsl and it lasts a long time I dropped my ndsl off a 3 story building without it and it broke but with the nerf case on it it landed and worked perfectly in one piece so get the ndsl
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Pretty darn good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
Sheilmeil
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great game system. Just make sure you buy games you like, otherwise you'll be bored with it, kinda like I am.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pokemonfan111
Martinsville, Il
 
Please wait while more information about pokemonfan111 is loaded.
Additional information about pokemonfan111 could not be loaded.
so much fan
Posted 11/25/11
I just got my DS and I love it! its a lot of fun and im glad my mom bought it for me
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Great system
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
graw2
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the Nintendo ds lite is a great little system and very fun it is not going to have like 360 or ps3 graphics but i would say on some games a little better than the game cube but this is a very fun thing to have on the road my 2 and 4 year old nieces love to play super Mario 64 on it or even Lego rock band i like how the ds lite can play gba games because before i got this i had the the gba Sp and so all my old games work on here in i also like how they put in a second screen and how it is a touch screen it is a great system to have for your self or for your kids and family because my mom and sister play it too GO BUY ONE
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kkll
newalbany
 
Please wait while more information about kkll is loaded.
Additional information about kkll could not be loaded.
awsome
Posted 12/18/11
they are awsome why do they sell the new ones ?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
I LOVE IT!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
dhampir15
Location: redmond,WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love the nitendo ds lite, yes it has its flaws but what game system doesen't? i've personally only had 3 ds systems break on me (one original and two lite) i dont remember how the first one broke but the second one still worked fine after it broke the top screen was just way loose and one of them continued to work years after it had been dropped into a river (not reccomended) my little sister (age 8) has also had one for years and hasnt broken it yet. over all i find this system very reliable and ive found games that keep me entertained for hours (mostly pokemon and harvest moon) i definately reccomend it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Something's up
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
PokeBattler
Location: HI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was hoping that the DS Lite would be at normal condition, but it seemed like every time the DS would shut down suddenly even if it was fully charged and wont turn on for a while.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Its pretty good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
THEMASTEROFGAMING
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I play this every once in a while and it is good, even though all i have is the 2 zelda games to play on it. it's is a good system overall if you like Nintendo.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Better Save a Little More Cash for a DSI.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
THEGAMER423
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My DS lite was a great system. After a fatal (for the DS Lite) fall I got a DSI for Christmas. Let me tell you right now I am really glad the DS Lite took that fall. The DSI has much more functions and is really easy to grip onto when compared to a DS Lite. DS Lites' are a thing in the past and the only reason you'd ever get one is because it has backwards compatibility with game boy games. But, i recommend you take back those game boy games because they aren't going to be sold very much longer. I say check out the DSI.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BeeSan
AZ
 
Please wait while more information about BeeSan is loaded.
Additional information about BeeSan could not be loaded.
Hmm...
Posted 5/28/12
Well, in my opinion, the entire reason that you get GBA games is because you like them. So really, in that case, it wouldn't make sense to take them back. In my case, the GBA games are 99% of the reason I don't just jump and get the 3DS now. I might just get a $50 GBA SP, and buy the $150-$170 3DS also- That way I can play every Nintendo handheld game available. But I also might just get the DSLite now, and save up for a newer console later, because the DSL is only $70 refurbished. If you have money, great. If you don't, you have to consider these things. :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
Good, except for small problems.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/12
ToASTalex910
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's a great system! The only problem is the L and R buttons stop working. Also if you run into a pole while you are walking and playing pokemon Pearl version the hinge breaks. It has a lot of wonderful games. Buy a lot of styluses though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DS Lite System (Recharged Refurbished)
a great gift idea
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
Arayashi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
my entire reason for buying the ds lite was to simply give it away to a friend, the large game library gave many options for picking out a game, its easy to find something for everybody when dealing with a ds. performance wise the charge will last you much longer then you expect, me being a psp owner i admired the battery life, touch screen and over all design. wide rarity of games and style of play will get you hooked right away, young or old,casual or hardcore the ds works great for any type of gamer out there.
 
My Product Recommendations
DS Lite Write & Protect Pack
7.2 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
DS Lite Skin Assorted
5 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>