GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Intercooler STS

Utilize Nyko's cutting edge TempSmart technology to keep your Xbox 360 S console running at optimal environmental conditions with the Intercooler STS. The Intercooler STS' brand new design provides increased air flow away from the 360 which allows the console to perform in a cooler, better ventilated environment, ideal for cramped entrainment centers. No internal modification of the Xbox 360 is required. Nyko's TempSmart technology automatically powers on the Intercooler's fans when needed, and continue to cool the console even after the system has been powered down till a proper ambient temperature has been reached. The Intercooler TS is powered by a sleek USB cord that easily plugs into the back of the Xbox 360 S console. The design of the Intercooler STS blends seamless with the design of the Xbox 360 S console, and works in both the horizontal and vertical position.
Average Customer Rating:
9.356
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
10 stars
86
9 stars
0
8 stars
21
7 stars
0
6 stars
8
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
92 out of 11580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Review 21 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Very "cool" liittle device!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/11
Archangel4890
Location: Lost in the Woods up in Maine
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had an Intercooler for my 2007 Fat and it worked great and so I already believed in the quality and performance of Nyko's products. I purchased my Slim this past October and it didn't get nearly as hot but I game anywhere from 1 to 12 hour or more, depending on the day and that baby can heat up. I experienced a freeze only twice in the 7 months I've had it and they occurred after hours of Red Dead and hours of Crysis 2. I don't know if it was just a bug in the games because it did it with no other, on any of my "marathon" gaming days. I just figured better to be safe than sorry and have to deal with a return to Microsoft like I did with my 2005 Fat. This thing keeps my Slim very cool in all areas you can touch, even after hours of play with no breaks. You MUST follow the directions, Getting it seated properly so it can do its job the right way can be a little tricky and I'm wondering if that wasn't the problem for the people who gave bad reviews. I agree that it is just a tiny bit louder than the Slim on its own but that's a small price to pay for something that will add longevity to your system. I highly recommend this to anyone with a Slim, no matter the location of the box. Play on!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
teef
 
Please wait while more information about teef is loaded.
Additional information about teef could not be loaded.
question????
Posted 5/15/11
will this work for a 4 gig console thats a refurb
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 22 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Not a necessity but keeps the system cooler
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
artyart
Location: CT
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this product because I have heard of previous versions of Xbox have overheated with the red ring of death. So with the slim, I thought it wouldn't hurt to install this fan to keep the system from overheating. Its pretty cool, it is controlled by temperature so the fan doesnt stop running until the xbox cools down. I would recommend this to others.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
blew my mind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/11
gamestop8monkey
Location: georgia,atlanta
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
every day i would come home from school and play my xbox. usually it would heat up in about an hour to two hours and i would have to wait about 3o minutes until it cooled down.not anymore!with this,u can play all day and your xbox will feel cooler than room temp.also it has a unique design making it look better.i have already suggested it to five of my friends and all of them have got it.if u dont get this for your xbox your crazy
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Vietnam DLC - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
9.8 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Great if you need it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
Thewease47
Location: Greeley,CO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For me i needed this intercooler. I keep my xbox in the middle shelf of my entertainment center so it did get very hot at times. With this thing it rarely gets hot. But I woul ONLY recomend this product to someone who needs it. If you are the type to leave your xbox out in a well ventilated spot than DON'T waste your money. If you keep in a confined space like i do. Please pay the 20 bucks and buy one. It is well worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
iiPwNuZZ
Location: Apopka, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Usually I am skeptical of reviews and don't always trust others opinions, but when I read that this would keep my XBox at room temperature, I became very interested. When I got home and set it up I instantly turned on my XBox to play for a few hours, usually 10 minutes in my XBox is HOT, but with the intercooler it stays cool!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bigdaddt
idaho
 
Please wait while more information about bigdaddt is loaded.
Additional information about bigdaddt could not be loaded.
intercooler sts
Posted 8/15/11
i bought this thinking it would cool my xbox slimejust a bit more it did not do that it made my xbox freeze and it got hoter so i say don't buy this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 26 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
I just LOVE it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
ZoMBiENeRD5611
Location: oak creek, Wi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Before i bought this, my xbox would get really hot even though its in the open there is nothing above it, i would lay it down and it did the same thing. once i installed it i fell in love, i left in on for like 32 hours and it wasn't hot at all. i would definitely recommend this to a friend, its well worth the money!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Nyko cools the competition with this fan!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
Legends4Free
Location: Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Nyko Intercooler STS is a remarkable product thats worth the money. Using Tempsmart Technology the intercooler helps keep consoles cool and keeps that hot air at bay, reducing the 7% chance of Red Ring of Death to 0%. While i wouldn't have recommended the older fans, this ones really works. The only actual downside to this fan is that it only comes in glossy, so if you have a newer console or 4gig in matte-style (not glossy) then that might be a problem (it doesn't look bad at all) The fan can be kind of hard to hook up but its really easy once you get the hang of it. This is a highly recommended product that helps protect your investment!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Excellent!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
Stratagist
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this item a couple of days ago, because my old slim broke after two years and i was forced to purchase a new one. I heard that the intercooler can help prolong the systems life by keeping it cool so i thought what the heck. Man let me tell you, this product keeps your xbox EXTREMELY COOL to the touch, after 4+ hours of hardcore gaming! It also stays on after you power off the xbox untill it has cooled the entire system (usually 10 seconds for me). The only problem i have with it is that it can be a little tricky getting it to "Snap" on to the Xbox. Other than that It is an EXCELLENT product! Well worth the $20 i paid for it!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phenke
 
Please wait while more information about Phenke is loaded.
Additional information about Phenke could not be loaded.
Posted 8/11/12
It doesn't create any problems from blowing dust and debris inside the system peoplke have told me that this product causes more problems then it is worth ? Have you ever tried downloading your games to the hard drive this helps with the normal wear and tear of a hardcore gamer I've had my X-box for 5 years and put roughly 40-70 hours per week.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 29 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
It's an investment
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
Rob45FL
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you value the money you spent on your console and the enjoyment you get out of gaming, then you should not hesitate to purchase this product. It is quiet, efficient, and I love the temperature sensor feature built in. It's streamlined design blends in awesomely with the console, unlike the other console I own. And the price is the best feature of all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Got it for my Brother for Christmas
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
XDemonOfChaosX
Location: Oahu, HI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Well like I said I got it for my Brother for Christmas when I also gave him the MW3 Edition Xbox 360S. The area that he lives seriously gets to hot for most electronics so I was worried at first until I came back about a month later and noticed the Xbox was working great and it stayed cool no matter how hard or how long me and my brother played it thanks to this little device. however my only complaint is that it was not apparently designed to work hand in hand with any customized Vault and that is the only truely disappointing thing about it. other then that it works great!! ^.^ 2 thumbs up truely
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Great Product, Worth the Money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
FractiousCrab9
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had to get one of these for a portable Xbox 360 suitcase I built. With the cramped area that my Xbox sat in I knew that before I ran it I had to have something to help displace the heat. Not only is the cooler slim enough to fit with the Xbox in the suitcase but I also had a 22" LCD TV in there too. it pulled the all the heat out and I am able to play for hours without worrying about over heating issues.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 32 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
VERY IMPRESSED!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
HalfDemon
Location: Northampton, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I for the most part bought this not really beacuse my 360 is in a cabnet or confined area but i figured its a fan and would help even with normal operating temps. to extend the life of my xbox. i was very impressed by the ability of the fan after i started useing it. my xbox console itself is never even warm it stays perfectly cool. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY1. its great for if ur xbox in in a cabnet like area but just amazing for an xbox in general. its keeps it 100% cool and will definatly extend the life of your xbox. and even looks amazing on it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Design 100% Flawed
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
LouisXXXVIII
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was excited for this product. When I took it home, I tried to install it and ran into some trouble, but it went on eventually. After a couple days of use, it occurred to me that it was not aligned properly, yet that was the only way it would snap on in the first place! After repeated failed attempts to get the product on in proper alignment, I finally had to give up. Now the only thing I have to show for my $20 investment is little dents in the air vent of my 360 where the hooks from the fan were. Considering how much the cosmetics of my Xbox matter to me, I am EXTREMELY disgruntled and angry that such a product could even be released. My only solace is that the Xbox still works, but it would have been nice if my attempt to merely take good care of my things hadn't backfired so badly and caused irreversible damage to my favorite console. Absolute bull. DON'T BUY THIS!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
EPR21
Location: USA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have the new "Slim-Cooler Running" XBOX 360. Had it for about 6 months, well every once in a while the screen would freeze so I thought I would give this a try because it only costs $20. Works very good, no screen freezes and is quiet! I'm very picky when it comes to my XBOX 360 and like to keep it cool and this little unit does the trick. I really like how it keeps running AFTER you turn off the XBOX 360, I unhook it after its cooled down to let the rest of the heat escape the console. BUY IT IF YOU WANT YOUR CONSOLE TO STAY COOL!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Cool to have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
KiddKold
Location: Tucson
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Found this on internet and I thought why not? Fair price, slick look. Expels a lot of hot air. When I took it off and felt the little propeller fan at the bottom, wow was it was hot! But I think its still a little too new to write something like... "OMG OMG ITS AWESOME" I've always been skeptical especially about Xbox 360's and their accessories. I'm still waiting to see of it does more damage then good. But so far it seems like it does its job right. Sucks out the hot air even when the console is off but it's not like I can't still hear it when I'm playing something. I don't believe in whisper quiet... But hey Its pretty to look at and seems like it has some purpose. Go for it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Interercooler STS is cool.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/11
Mercohaulic
Location: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this after repeatedly touching the side of my 360 Slim and fealing how hot it got. I figured hey I can try anything once. Well I hooked it up and let my 360S sit idle for a bit and the fan was whisper quite. Put my hand on the side of my 360S and it was cool not warm like the 360S would be at idle. Next I figured I would put a load on it so I played Portal 2 for an hour or so and then put my hand on the side of my 360S and yet again it was cool. The Intercooler STS draws the hot air out of your 360S very well and keeps it cool. As a computer Technician I know how heat can effect the performance of a system and this will definitely help. Yeah its made for a 360S that's in a cabinet or tight area but i have mine on an open shelf and I can see the benefits of using it no matter where your 360S is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
You need this for Skyrim.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
Hannibal
Location: Florida, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Reason in being, Skyrim's going to drain over 200 hours of your life. If you want to play for more than 3 hours, Then get this. I have no problems with it what so ever. My Xbox used to get hot in the bottom when I was done playing. Now, it doesn't with this device.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Works very well
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/11
Darknight811
Location: Murrieta, Ca.
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
While the new Xbox 360 does not get as hot as the older version, it does get warm. The internal cooling fan does a fair job; however, this fan makes a tremendous difference in the temp of the system. The game discs do not wear out from the heat. It was a worthwhile investment to extend the life of the system and my games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Whisper Quiet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/11
j1parrao
Location: Edinburg, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first got my Xbox 360S it was as said it be "whisper quiet" and "always cool." But since then it's started to be heard and now heats up. That is until I bought the cooler, now my Xbox sounds the same as it did when I first turn it on "whisper quite."
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kewl2bwild
mississippi
 
Please wait while more information about kewl2bwild is loaded.
Additional information about kewl2bwild could not be loaded.
Need to know!!
Posted 4/22/11
Will this STS cooler work on the Final Fantasy XIII Limited Edition XBOX 360? And if so,will it work in any position?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 40 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
ericbmx2k4
Location: tucson
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ive played my xbox for 12 hrs straight and no problems with over heating! great product, i recommend it to anyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>