GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Intercooler STS

Utilize Nyko's cutting edge TempSmart technology to keep your Xbox 360 S console running at optimal environmental conditions with the Intercooler STS. The Intercooler STS' brand new design provides increased air flow away from the 360 which allows the console to perform in a cooler, better ventilated environment, ideal for cramped entrainment centers. No internal modification of the Xbox 360 is required. Nyko's TempSmart technology automatically powers on the Intercooler's fans when needed, and continue to cool the console even after the system has been powered down till a proper ambient temperature has been reached. The Intercooler TS is powered by a sleek USB cord that easily plugs into the back of the Xbox 360 S console. The design of the Intercooler STS blends seamless with the design of the Xbox 360 S console, and works in both the horizontal and vertical position.
Average Customer Rating:
8.443
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
10 stars
68
9 stars
18
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
6
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
6
92 out of 11580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Review 41 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
it good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
bigboy13
Location: michigan
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it keeps the xbox cool its not bad for $20 gamertag zig zagmam14
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
lanebad
Location: ABQ, NM
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this yesterday and thought that I just wasted my money on something that didn't work.I thought that this intercooler was like the last one. I got home and put it on, the look of it is awsome in my opinion, and when the xbox started to get overheated it turned on. It has a temperature sensor, awsome, and its soooo quite. I recommend this product for everyone with an xbox, why? It will extend the life of your xbox and it adds a cool look to it. P.S, read the directions so you don't think you broke it like I did.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
it burns your device and voids the warranty
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
persianboy
Location: arlington,tx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its awesome, and well designed. but did u all know it voids the warranty and actually burns out the device? just lay down your system and find the difference.... thats it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
PsychoM3rc3nary
 
Please wait while more information about PsychoM3rc3nary is loaded.
Additional information about PsychoM3rc3nary could not be loaded.
Posted 2/19/12
think about this, it will NOT void your warranty, how will microsoft know you used one without u telling them, keep the 360 in the open and not crammed and get some air duster and clean it, thats why xboxes over heat bc you let dust build up inside it and it suffocates it
Customer Avatar
Lukario45
 
Please wait while more information about Lukario45 is loaded.
Additional information about Lukario45 could not be loaded.
Warenty
Posted 8/23/11
It will not 'void' ur warenty if microsolft made it
Customer Avatar
Taramir
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Taramir is loaded.
Additional information about Taramir could not be loaded.
So does it make your divice better or worse???
Posted 7/6/11
Does it burn your xbox 360 or like it makes it stay longer, this information got me thinking about it and I'm worried it might be a waste of money...
Customer Avatar
Jrah
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about Jrah is loaded.
Additional information about Jrah could not be loaded.
Wrongo
Posted 6/24/11
Actually you are reffering to the old intercooler for the old xbox 360. It was made by Nykko and there were claims that it overheated and melted to the back of the system and caused loss of warranty. The new intercooler STS does not melt to the system and uses a completly different configuration than that of Nykko. This one will not melt to your console it is in a completley different area than the one made by Nykko. The one made by Nykko was in a area that contained alot of heat causing the plastics to bond together. That is no an issue with this one. This one is perfectly designed for the 360S.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 44 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Intercooler is Worth It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
JMAC1989
Location: Aberdeen, Ms
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this intercooler for my slim around April, and still, it worked like charm. I played Halo Reach for over 4 hour and it not really hot, but a little warm when I feel the side of the Xbox. I really, really, really recommend for hardcore gamer playing over 4 hour, and don't want their system to mess up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Great Product, Worth the Money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
FractiousCrab9
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had to get one of these for a portable Xbox 360 suitcase I built. With the cramped area that my Xbox sat in I knew that before I ran it I had to have something to help displace the heat. Not only is the cooler slim enough to fit with the Xbox in the suitcase but I also had a 22" LCD TV in there too. it pulled the all the heat out and I am able to play for hours without worrying about over heating issues.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 46 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Causes Extreme Overheating when Fails
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
HardLuck
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had the Intercooler STS for a couple of months. The other night during my normal game play my XBOX started to make some weird noises. I went over to my console to try to figure out where the noise was coming from. Well come to find out it was the internal fan in the console itself working over time to try to keep from overheating. When i put my hand over the Intercooler STS unit it was so hot I had to use a towel to help take it off. Once the unit was removed the unit started to cool down and the noise subsided. I called Nyko and they told me that sometimes dust gets caught up in the unit us compressed air if that didn't work out you could send yours back via the address on their website with a note affixed with the issue.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
very good product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
brownie602
Location: Avondale, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
great product for the money will keep your xbox cool, i bought this yesterday and i played for about 3 hours straight and xbox didnt get hot it stayed cool and i love the design if only there was a non glossy version to match the xbox since i have the 4 gb version but as long as it keeps my xbox from over heating then i really dont care, easy to install took about 40 seconds
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Perfect Ten
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Arionex
Location: Puerto Rico
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Overall, between the minimal design, the low profile sound-based fan and the product placement, I'd recommend this item to any Xbox 360 S owner.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Not needed
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
Axel54
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1. the slim cannot red ring. 2. you can play your xbox for 24 hours continuously without anything bad happening. I've done it. 3. Don't keep your xbox in an entertainment center. 4. the reason for the red ring was inside the xbox where the fans wouldnt reach
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Scuba89
 
Please wait while more information about Scuba89 is loaded.
Additional information about Scuba89 could not be loaded.
It can get damaged
Posted 10/1/11
The only reason it can't get red rings is because microsoft put only green LED's in the console. It still can overheat. some of the more custom consoles have put better cooling systems in the xbox, so if you buying a gears of war 3 console you might check out if it comes with a upgraded cooling system. if not it would be a good idea to get the fan, its only 20 bucks. i have my xbox in a pretty well ventilated area and it still gets pretty hot some days.
Customer Avatar
MRStorm
 
Please wait while more information about MRStorm is loaded.
Additional information about MRStorm could not be loaded.
STS
Posted 9/18/11
Wait really it cant get red rings? cant get overheated or anything? Im getting the gears console in two days so should i get this or its rlly not needed?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 50 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Looks Great but breaks down in about 30 to 60 days
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
TheBone41
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had read all of the reviews and had bought into the idea that this intercooler would help in reducing the heat on the xbox 360. I was very impressed when I put this intercooler STS on my xbox 360. It did what was published by removing the heat away from the enclosure my xbox was in. Well it did for the first month until it the intercooler quite working. I emailed NYKO and they told me to take it back to GameStop the I must have recieved a bad intercooler. The Manager at GameStop took it back with out question and gave me a replacement. I place the second intercooler on my xbox 360 and what do you think happend about a month later the second NYKO intercooler failed again. I would not recommend purchasing this product due to the intercooler failing shortly after 30 to 90 days.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 51 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Intercooler STS with and with out temp gun
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
xBSxDanELITE
Location: Port Orange, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
with out the Intercooler STS it runs arond 83F arond the fan and on the fan i get 127F. and with the Intercooler STS i get 83F arond the fan and the air off the Intercooler STS is 118F after it running arond 20 to 30m. and the fan is not that loud at all. :-)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Works Great....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/12
canoer9322
Location: PA, USA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
You can really feel the heat being pulled away from my Xbox. Seems to have fixed some of my crashes and freezes, although that may just be a coincidence. Works great, only down side is it takes some time to get it to latch onto the Xbox.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Horrible Product and LOUD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/11
chrmat15
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this thinking it would help keep my 360 much cooler considering I keep it on a carpeted floor, but I was very wrong. Instead, the system gets much hotter than normal and the Intercooler product is EXTREMELY LOUD!!!! It's so much louder than the Xbox 360 itself. I can barely hear my system running without the Intercooler, but when the Intercooler is hooked up, it is loud as can be. I don't recommend this product to anyone even though the price is rather low. Avoid at all costs unless you like having to blast your TV volume just to drown out the sound of this product.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Nismo
Hampton, VA
 
Please wait while more information about Nismo is loaded.
Additional information about Nismo could not be loaded.
Posted 5/28/11
Double check the way you hooked it up. When I first tried putting mine on, it didnt "click" into place. The loose fit caused excessive vibration, which in turn created a ton of noise. Once it snapped in, it became whisper quiet, to the point where its hard to tell if its even running. Good thing the air blows out, otherwise I would assume its off!
And yes, get it off the carpet. Place a small piece of wood under the front and rear of it, elevating it from the ground. Carpet fibers are almost a lethal injection to the xbox.
Customer Avatar
mrmeee
sacramento
 
Please wait while more information about mrmeee is loaded.
Additional information about mrmeee could not be loaded.
take your system off the carpet
Posted 5/19/11
before you complain you should read the INSTRUCTIONS it says it sucks the air out out of the system so with that being said it needs air flow have your system one the carpet restricts that and wold produce more heat , even the instructions on the xbox say to put in a cool place but if have no choice put something firm under it like a binder or some plywood , but to each his own
Customer Avatar
DESTROYX
 
Please wait while more information about DESTROYX is loaded.
Additional information about DESTROYX could not be loaded.
Posted 5/7/11
Get a headset
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 54 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Its not worth it....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
Bomber9530
Location: Hinesville, Ga
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At first it started out great, it worked fine, and it kept my xbox cold after several straight hours of playing. but after a couple days, my games started to freeze, and with the cooler plugged in it wouldnt read my internet connections, but with it unplugged it would read it perfectly fine. so in order for me to sign into live, i have to either have it unplugged when i first start the game, or go through 3-5 minutes of connecting to a network, honestly its not that great, but you get what you pay for right?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
it's ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/11
10GHOST10
Location: sin city
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it takes a while for the thing to work. when it does start to work the fan is not that loud which is good. one thing i don't really like is when i turn off my xbox, it turns on again then off then later it will turn on again. over all i would highly recommend getting this if you play for a long time like more then two hours or so.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WORMS87
San Antonio,TX
 
Please wait while more information about WORMS87 is loaded.
Additional information about WORMS87 could not be loaded.
I wouldn't waste my money
Posted 7/28/11
I play games for 12 hrs and my XBOX360 never gets even a little hot though i would recommend that people with those tv stands with cabinets for everything should invest but otherwise it is a waste of money and would only make i look like its better.
Customer Avatar
BLuurr
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about BLuurr is loaded.
Additional information about BLuurr could not be loaded.
This may be the reason to your xbox malfunction
Posted 7/7/11
Your xbox turning on then off then on then off again my be a internal problem or a power problem or you were downloading something as the xbox does download while in a modified powered off mode (i guess it could be sleep mode lights are on and nobody is home) or something is on the power button. The solution is to take out all variables except opening your xbox clean the power button and disc button and sync button take the intercooler off then put it on. If that doesnt work call microsoft. I hope this helped if you didnt already help your self
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 56 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
MUST BUY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/11
Rahim
Location: NYC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There is many people worrying that there Xbox360 might burn out. Not anymore! I bought this and I dont feel any warmth on the Xbox360 except the cooler! This is a must buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
Microsoft Xbox 360 Quick Charge Kit
8.2 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
PsychoM3rc3nary
Location: Smithville TN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
think about this, it will NOT void your warranty, how will microsoft know you used one without u telling them, keep the 360 in the open and not crammed and get some air duster and clean it, thats why xboxes over heat bc you let dust build up inside it and it suffocates it, and dnt play it 24/7,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
its good to keep your consle cool.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
crazyape
Location: Gerlad,Mo
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its does make a noise once in a while all i do is clean the fins on the fan and its quite after that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
WORKS PERFECTLY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/11
dannypkmaster
Location: santa ana, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was suprised that this intercooler works better than the old ones but it does my description for it is one word "AWESOME".
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Xbox 360 Intercooler STS
Awesome but....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
anoanous
Location: usa
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
looks beast it's performance is a 10 out of 10 BUT it is highly fragile and breakable so be very careful
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>