GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack

Bring your toys to life!Bring your toys to life in the new innovative adventure game, Skylanders Spyro's Adventure, where players collect and use real-world interaction figures that are teleported directly into the game by placing them on a magical Portal of Power.'
Average Customer Rating:
8.878
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 out of 4185%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Review 1 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
THE BEST VIDEO GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
TherealPichu
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Skylanders Spyro's Adventure is THE BEST GAME EVER 10 OUT OF 10 GAMEPLAY 10 OUT OF 10 SOUND 8 OUT OF 10 GRAPHICS 8 OUT OF 10 LASTING APPEAL 10 OUT OF 10 THE GAME IS SO GOOD THAT IT IS BETTER THAN NEW SUPER MARIO BROS. Wii SUPER SMASH BROS. BRAWL SUPER MARIO GALAXY 1 AND 2 but unlike most people i dont like the galaxy games that much BETTER THAN EVER OTHER SPYRO GAME EVER MADE EVEN DAWN OF THE DRAGON i didnt play that much of The Legend of Spyro Dawn of the Dragon and if i did i think i would think that you would think that i think that dawn of the dragons better becuase i think i would think that dawn of the dragons better BUT STILL BUY SKYLANDERS BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT OR YOU WONT KNOW WHAT A GOOD GAME IS SO JUST BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i know im realy addicted.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
SUCH A BEAST-MODE GAME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
Yorp
Location: Auburn, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I was bought this game, I was at the store not particularly wanting any one thing. I bought it because I just happened to have that money in my wallet, and I thought it looked cool, and I just wanted to buy something large. I started playing it and it was AWESOME!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dman1140
 
Please wait while more information about dman1140 is loaded.
Additional information about dman1140 could not be loaded.
Portal
Posted 12/3/11
I have the 3DS version of the game and it is great. But i had a question. Does the portal change colors in the wii version. I'm getting it for christmas and i would like to know.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
A game EVERYONE should at least try out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
ninjamon
Upon receiving this game I had high expectations for Skylanders. When I started playing I found myself surrounded by a cast of likeable characters and some awesome music. As I progressed I found areas I couldn't access without a certain Skylanders figure. Unfortunately the first time I went out to buy a new figure everyone was sold out. That is what I call a successful moneymaker. The more Skylanders you have the better time you'll have playing. I would recommend this game to kids and some gamers who like MMOs because Skylanders is kind of like that. I'm trying to set some money aside to buy more figures and the extra levels. It might take a while but I know it will be worth it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Check out my review!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
lkelman
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoy this game. The only con I have for it, is the fact the skylanders are so expensive. The game you buy comes with three, but its way to tempting to not buy more. Check out my video that I posted below. Many un-boxings and reviews! Thanks, its a more in depth review/unboxing.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
my review of skylanders
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
It was OK, for a while.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
MysteryDude2
Location: Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The video game: Skylander, Spyro's adventure was OK, for a while. I first saw it on a TV commercial, and it looked fun. I got it later and it was awesome! So then, I invited my friend over, (who didn't have skylanders) and we all had loads of fun. That week, he moved to a new state so my brother and I are the only ones who play it. A week later, we beat adventure mode. And nothing happened after, no reward in game but a "congrats." After that, the game got so boring and we cannot return it. So, I thought it was a BIG waste of money!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Great Game, lots of features
Posted on:10/13/11
WiiGamer22
Location: Arizona
I was chosen for a study which involved this game and they sent out this game and all the characters, so ive gotten to play it. It is a fun game, not much how i remember the old spyro games though. Some of the things in the game are not explained well, so you have to sit and think before doing something. You can buy upgrades for each character with gold that it earned, and each character has its own amount of gold, so it doesn't stay with every character. I played it for about 4 hours and am halfway done with the game since i have all the characters. There are a few things i don't like. Spyro cannot fly in this one unless you buy the upgrade. But once you buy the upgrade, you press Z on the unchuck, but spyro just hovers a few inches off the ground. You cannot even fly over mines in one of the levels. So that was a big let down. Id have to say, use the Tree stump character (forgot name). It is the strongest one. Mine is completely upgraded and i have used it on most of the levels because its the strongest. There are some other good characters. If i was to rate this game from 1-10, i would give it a solid 8.
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/14
kodalucky10
second best skylanders
so far features awesome story line and great everything this game is a game that is one those games that you want to play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/12
OldSkoolGGamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bought this game after Christmas for my 5 year old son and the whole family loves it. Yes, this game is pricey that's why I bought it after Christmas. My wife, son, and I split up the figures you get with it and we all play and enjoy the game. The figures you get with it have a chip that stores your xp, money and collectibles in it, so if you plan on letting your child play you don't have to worry about them erasing your files or playing your game and messing stuff up like my son does. This game is great for all ages its a cartoony RPG that is fun to play especially with another person. I think I will be spending alot of money on extra characters (already bought Boomer, would have more but that was the only one I found) and batteries, but that is alright because everyone is happy and entertained with this. I recommend this game to everyone of all ages. Don't forget this game takes batteries in the base that reads your character!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CookieMonster242
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about CookieMonster242 is loaded.
Additional information about CookieMonster242 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
It was ok but after a while it got boring
Posted 3/10/12
When I got this for cristmas I was thrilled!!! I would plat it day and night. I wouldn't stop collecting them.But when I got to the point were I finished the game I would still play it but after a while I stopped collecting them and stopped playing.It was a really good game but when you finish the game the only thing you can do is battle and review chapters. They should make a Skylanders 2.They should also make more chapters,new moves,and new Skylanders.Because if they don't, no one will by skylanders anymore.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
My son can't wait
Posted on:10/2/11
gamermama
Location: GA
My son is so absolutely excited about this game. I love that it's interactive and allows for co op and battle play. With his birthday and Christmas only 2 months apart we preordered the 3DS version and the Wii version as well as all the other figures. We'll end up with 2 doubles (as the starter packs are the same with the exception of the 3DS it comes with Dark Spyro). Having two portals will allow for one to remain at home and one for travel. We also ordered the Skylander Tower to tote around his characters. This is going to be the go to gift for this Christmas season.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/11
Joebot800
Location: Earth
I know how a lot of people feel like this game is terrible even though they haven't tried it. But I'm here to say that it's actually a great game! First off, I love the concept of toys coming to life and the fact that experience and money is saved to your toy. But, the game itself is great! It has good gameplay, a pretty good story, the music is good but can be annoying at times, but if you're a gamer who thinks what makes a good is its graphics then first of all get a life and second the graphics are very good for Wii but not the best I've seen for this system, other than that I really enjoy this game. Oh, and the multiplayer is cool too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SidewaysTurtle
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about SidewaysTurtle is loaded.
Additional information about SidewaysTurtle could not be loaded.
AMAZING GAME!!!!!!
Posted 12/30/11
Wow! I played this game with my cousins and it was amazing! I couldn't stop playing! One thing I didn't like though was that Spyro couldn't fly until you upgraded him. Once you upgraded him he could only hover a couple feet off of the ground. I love how you can power up your characters though. I just wish that the starter pack came with more characters. But overall, it's an amazing game and I can't wait to go pick it up!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Batteries! Budget this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
Basharama
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is fun if you liked the old gauntlet genre- but the Wii interface requires 3 AA batteries- NO USB cord-wireless! Now do the math- $70.00 game (average) plus 34 possible characters x $8 minus the first 3 included = $70+$272(-24) plus batteries after the first 10 hrs gameplay. Wow that's more than an MMO for 3 years...I recommend planning a 'team' of your favorite toons- 1 air, 1 fire, etc...and the expansions are great as gifts and the characters are super fun! C'mon-a "dirt shark"? He's awesome! 2 players at a time and I barely made it through 9 levels with only 11 characters. Lev 10 is the cap. Loving it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Awesome
Posted on:10/9/11
lillewie
Location: cleveland ohio
This game looks amazing! This is a cool new way to play video games. Its really expensive if you buy all the characters but the creators were smart and made it so you only need one character from each catergory to completely beat the game AND you already start out with three characters all from different catergories.This is definately a game I want!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/11
SpyroTehDragon
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Has to be 1 of the best games ive ever seen its sooo fun and its awesome how u can just put characters on the portal thing and play as them and the story line is epic!! ive been waiting so long 4 another spyro game now that i see wat the spyro game is it is soooooo worth the wait!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Pack
8.3 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
Skylanders Spyro's Adventure 3 Character Pack
7.2 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Official Strategy Guide
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
I love spyro!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/11
Yoshi808
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
My best skylander is spyro. I have 7 skylanders. All of my friends want to come to my house and play. The game is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
very fun epic for kids all ages
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
fishiegoboomboom
Location: california, ca
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
the game has lots of action and stuff has lots of charters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
describe likes and dislikes
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
caoslord7
Location: Gorman,Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is perfect for collectors and people who want a fun time and hard times. On the wii I think the controls are easy to use. I loved it how you could play as more than 1-4 kinds of players, you had a variate of people. you could stop playing in the middle of something and quit ,come back, and it all the stuff you collected previously was there.But what i didn't like, it seems to short for me but the thing about that is that, you can go do challenges and or get those idols with places and go collect and do everything for a three star reward.Things i didn't like was that the characters you bought after playing the game were level 1 while the others were like lvl 7.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Its worth its price!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
videogamesmaster15
Location: Setauket,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is a great come back for spyro! The other games that spyro was in were not the best! But they brought some classic characters from spyro's old games like of course spyro and cynder! I love all of the exotic new characters! My personal favorite is Trigger Happy! I love how they give you 3 Skylanders to start with! its worth 69.99 and you will never stop playing this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
Skylanders Spyro's Adventure 3 Character Pack
7.2 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
Skylanders Zap Character
10 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
Skylanders Hex Character
10 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
How Cool!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
Hackki
Location: Brighton, IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
My 6 year old son just bought this game and he loves it. He loves the fact that he can control everything and everyone on this game. My three year old will sit and play with the skylanders not in use so both kids are happy. I just wish I knew which characters were the best so I know which ones to buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
NO NO NO
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
Sam99
Location: Rochester, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like people are calling this the game of the century. Cause its not. This game is just a huge cash grab. If you look at what you spent on the game (probably about 30-40 bucks) and what you spent on the skylanders (50-100 bucks). A games assesories should not out total home much the game costed. I can understand like maps in cod or skins in batman but seriously people you are using your hard earned cash on something that doesn't exist. Instead get a good game like batman arkam asylum (if you don't know what this game is it is one of the best games of all time). I absuloutly hate this game but it is kind of fun to duel with your friends. I know I will get Hate for this like 10,000 people hitting that not helpful button on the side but if you look at the things I just stated you will start to get why I hate this game so much.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
10 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Skylanders Spyro's Adventure Starter Pack
Wow, all 30 characters!
Posted on:6/15/11
dolphinboy
There is a lot of Spyro characters but 30 characters! This game is going to be great! Plus Spyro hasn't made a great hit in a while so this should be a great bundle. 69.99 seems fair enough, plus this is the ultimite game for Spyro fans. And I love Spyro games so this should be good. Can't wait for this to come out!
13 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gggggggggg
baeumont
 
Please wait while more information about gggggggggg is loaded.
Additional information about gggggggggg could not be loaded.
Toys
Posted 10/11/11
Do you need to buy the toys.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>