GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spider-Man: Edge of Time

Spider-Man: Edge of Time is a focused, action-packed adventure set in two connected and evolving timelines, from the contemporary times of the Amazing Spider-Man to the corrupted future world of Spider-Man 2099, against the backdrop of a rich, tightly crafted narrative by acclaimed Marvel veteran Peter David (co-creator of the comic book series Spider-Man 2099). The game features all-new "cause-and-effect" gameplay, where players will see how the immediate and sometimes unexpected effects of their actions as one Spider-Man changes the timeline of the other Spider-Man.
Average Customer Rating:
8.21
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1979%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Review 1 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Pre-Order Bonuses!
Posted on:7/15/11
ajax0014
The only reason I am just now pre-ordering Spider-Man: Edge of Time is because I was waiting for the inevitable and much appreciated pre-order bonuses! As soon as I saw that the Identity Crisis outfits had become the pre-order bonus, I went straight to my local Gamestop to pre-order. This game is going to be so sick! I am extremely happy that Spider-Man games are finally getting the justice they deserve. Thank Beenox for creating a wonder Spider-Man game and then not falter to deliver a new and even better one! The Spider-Man gaming community thanks you! Activision better not let Beenox go, that would be one of their biggest mistakes (just a little below their Infinity Ward issues). Can't wait! Holiday 2011 will be the best Holiday yet for gaming!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
This could be the second best comic game ever made
Posted on:8/9/11
NCIS
Location: MN
Ever since spider-man 2 the video game Spider-Man games have been substandard sand-box hero games (excluding Friend or Foe whitch was only substandard) until BEENOX gave to us Spider-Man Shattered Dimensions witch was easily the best Spider-Man game ever made with minor set backs like the wall craling, repetive first-person combat, Sandman tornadoes, Scorpian level and all the Norie levels. Yet you should check it out anyways and if you don't beleive me check the reviews. In any case the game starts as the amazing Spider-Man is killed by Anti-Venom (mind contoled by an evil scientist from the year 2099 to create a science empire in present day and to sucseed he must destroy the two things that can stop him... the amazing Spider-Man and in effect stoping 2099 Spider-Man from ever coming to be) who has the power to cure diseases and mutations in short 'cureing' Spider-Man of his Radio active mutation. The story has been made by comic book legend and co-creator of the Spider-Man 2099 comics Peter David so that gives me even more confidence. Voice overs are as good as ever and grapics have seemed to have improved from their last game greatly. Gameplay is the same the as last game for the two charaters with needed adjustments as I could tell by playing at E3 and Comic Con. I proudly predict that I will give this game nine out of ten stars to four out of five stars with perfect sound, gameplay, and graphics with an iffy lasting appeal unless they give a lot bonus content or not. Please vote weather this preview has been helpful or not.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Two spider-men, one great adventure.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
mdf1998
Location: ky
Spider-man edge of time gives you two spider-men to play as, the game's story is great, sometime in the year 2099 a man named Walker sloane created a time machine and sends Anti-venom to kill the amazing spider-man, but the spider-man of 2099 named Miguel o'hara stumbles in on Walker's plan but he's too late to stop him, Anti-venom then kills the amazing spider-man thus creating an different 2099, so spider-man 2099 goes in the time machine to warn the amazing spider-man that he's going to die. The gameplay is good too, you have to get to the room spider-man dies in to save hostages, to do that you have to go room to room fighting enemies and solving puzzles, the combat gives you a wide selection of moves to choose from for each spider-man, but unlike in shattered dimensions there is not a lock on system so that can cause some trouble in some cases, the puzzles are simple, you have to unlock a door by killing an enemy or finding a button and so on, the biggest complaint I have is that it can get repetitive, and the bosses are lame. But if you love spidey as much as I do then you will love this game, even if it's not as great as shattered dimensions.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mdf1998
TN
 
Please wait while more information about mdf1998 is loaded.
Additional information about mdf1998 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/18/13
I have changed my mind on my review for this game. Just like with The Amazing Spider-Man, I let my love of Spider-Man get in the way of how I feel about this game. I now give it a 6.5 out of 10. I am sorry about my old review, it was not accurate about the quality of this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
THUMPS UP IF YOU AGREE!!!!
Posted on:8/28/11
Ferni655
Location: Los Angeles, CA
PEOPLE ARE SAYING THAT THIS GAME WONT BE GOOD, BUT I DISAGREE WITH THEM, BECAUSE IF WE LOOK AT THE TRAILERS WE CAN SAY THAT IT WILL BE GOOD, MAYBE EVEN AS GOOD AS ARKHAM CITY BECAUSE SPIDERMAN DESERVES A GOOD GAME AND IM SURE THIS IS THE ONE, THE BEST SPIDERMAN GAME YET...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
17 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
AWESOME SM GAME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
cooldudeman64
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really like this game, And you will too! There is the amazing spiderman and the 2099 spideman. The story line is Amazing! If you get this game, you'll see why i recommend this game. GET THIS GAME SM FANS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Spider Man Edge Of Time, unfinished
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/11
doomtrooper14
Location: Denver,CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start out by saying this, Spider Man EOT, is a fun game, but i feel as if the game was rushed, and Beenox could of done a lot more. Now, Spider Man EOT has an engaging story line, in my opinion, but it's not as strong as Shattered Dimensions. If you are a Spider Man fanatic, of course you're going to like the story, which is basically the world of Spider Man 2099 and the world amazing Spider Man has merged together, and everything get's a out of hand. That's it. Now the gameplay has remained the same from shattered dimensions, except there is little improvements in how you upgrade throughout the game. It's nice to transition from 2099 spider man and the amazing spider man, but that dosent mean that keeps things fresh, it actually starts to get a little boring. the graphics have also remained the same as well, it's not he best, but it's also not the worse. Beenox have taken everything that made shattered dimensions great, and have reduced it to a smaller version of it, only focusing on 2099 spider man and the amazing spider man, which resulted in a game that lacks in depth, and dosent keep things fresh throughout what's so ever, and very rushed in my opinion
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Sounds cool
Posted on:4/8/11
BanesRage187
last time Beenox handled a spiderman game it turned out pretty desent lets see what they do this time
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Better than i expected...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/11
Soulman2Beaucoup
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So i figured in would review this game because, like most people who will be looking for one, i was uncertain if i wanted this game or not. The story looked good, and intreged me into checking out the gameplay vids. Plus the pre-order bonus was 4 costumes from The Infinite Crisis series, pretty slick looking skins.
I'll start by telling you all that i had this pre-ordered, but cancelled it and moved my money over to RAGE.
I had previously bought a preowned copy of Shattered Dimensions a week before, and liked it but didn't love it, so returned it before 7 days were up.
However the more i looked at Edge of TIme the better it looked to me, so i figured ok, stuff it i'll buy it. When i got home i put Spidie in first (fully intending to spend a night on RAGE). But i couldn't get off of Edge of Time. Unlike Shattered Dimension, that had no real story, this has a realy good one. I actually feel more driven to play through the game to see what happens next. The graphics are in my opinion way better than Shattered Dimension, especially as i didn't like the animated look of Classic Spidey in Shattered Dimensions. Both 2099 and Classic have new powers and moves that make fighting fun and challenging.
The only negatives i have is that it's so addictive, you won't put it down easily,and its not the longest game (about 6-8 hours solid playthrough), and other than that, when web crawling the camera can still be a little frustrating. Although in Shattered Dimensions this only bothered me in Noir because of the Dark game play.
In conclusion i would say if you wait for a price drop (inevetable) or a preowned copy, you might be better off. However if like me you love Spidey, and this game looks fun to you, i assure you you'll enjoy it alot.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
Spiderboy123
Location: Mason,OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best Spiderman game ever besides web of shadows. The gameplay was awesome and it was an intresting game. You should buy this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
A Step In The Right Direction
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/13
Cataclysm1993
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I recently bought "Spider-Man: Edge of Time" because I am a die-hard fan of the Spider-Man franchise. After playing the game, I was not disappointed. The merging of two separate Spider-Men into one action-packed story was definitely a welcome change, and the plot and certain twists were especially something to behold. The gameplay was quite creative in it's use of different abilities and combat techniques depending on which Spider you would be playing, which gave the game more power of customization in terms of fighting style. I was overall happy with the game, but my only disappointment was that there was a lacking of more characters or "Boss fights." I would have definitely loved to see more of the classic Spidey villains and characters. But it's a small complaint when compared to the overall game. I definitely recommend this game for any Spider-Man fan!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Anti-Venom?
Posted on:7/5/11
Iceman87GT21
Location: Lilburn, GA
Looks cool, but I'm interested in how they will explain why Anti-Venom/Eddie Brock is a villain (hopefully they aren't just treating him and Venom as interchangeable being)
I really enjoyed Shattered Dimensions, and I'm glad they are keeping the same looks (comic book feel for Amazing, futuristic look for 2099), I'm a little disappointed Amazing won't be done by NPH, but Josh Keaton did a terrific job as Spidey in Spectacular Spider-Man and as Ultimate Spider-Man in Shattered Dimensions. It also makes sense as he will be the voice for the next animated series. I guess I'll be using my Christmas funds to purchase this and X-Men Destiny, it will be a MARVELous new year.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alexrose
lawton, oklahoma
 
Please wait while more information about alexrose is loaded.
Additional information about alexrose could not be loaded.
release date
Posted 7/23/11
i was just letting u know xmen destiny comes out on september 27th and spider-man edge of time comes out on october 4th
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Looks cool
Posted on:9/9/11
SimonSays
I'm not what some people would say a "hardcore" Spider-Man fan, but I like him a lot. The original Spiderman games were really cool, and I haven't really played much of the other games other than Spiderman and Spiderman 2. But, Spiderman Edge of Time is a really intriguing game for me, because I like story-driven games. It's not at the top of my list, but I'll definitely consider buying it.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
hope its good
Posted on:8/13/11
deathmonster678987654
Location: Minnisota,MN
i hope this game is better than all those other spider man games still my hopes are high for this game
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Looks Amazing...Spider-Man
Posted on:9/22/11
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Sorry. I couldn't help it. From what I've read and seen of this game it looks as if it will be pretty good. Superhero games have been nightmares in the past, but spidey was the first one to change that with Spide-Man 2. The rest of the games haven't had the same impact, but with the recent success of the last game this one should build on with solid gameplay. I'm also excited about the story. It actually sounds good! Rare for superhero games. So if you are a die hard fan of the web head or are just intrested in a good action game. Give it a shot! Remember, "With great power comes great responsiblity." So it's your duty to play good games.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Great spiderman game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/11
clear1285
Location: orlando, Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have to say i just picked this game up. and after being on hiatus from spiderman since the 2nd movie game which was one of the best free roam spiderman games ever. this game took me by surprise. the CGI cut scenes are amazing. the voice acting isnt that bad. and the combat controls play very well. even on normal some of the levels i have had to replay. you can level up your characters abilities as you collect orbs. i would say im now in about 50 % into the game and ive been playing for about 4 hrs now. so id say this is about an 8 hr game. which isnt bad at all. im happy to see spiderman is being done justice when it comes to gaming.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
none in gcyc.
Posted on:8/11/11
f3r6tr87rf798f46gfr83trr8
Location: nevada,nv
this game is gonna be legend to all the games. it has action adventure and a preaty good ending to the spiderman saga of spidermans of the two reamaning spidermans to save ney york city and the futcher and past futer and present
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
i cant wait
Posted on:4/23/11
stormchaser711
Location: colorado springs co
i am so exited for this game i cant wait when i saw the preview my jaw dropped i am going to get this game right when it comes out
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Actually sounds really good
Posted on:6/6/11
TheCritic666
Location: Jasonville,IN
Im not one to play Spider Man games but in the Mass Effect 3 gameinformer they had a story on this game the it talked about how Peter Parker had a grusome death trying to save someone.But teh future new york is run by multiple crime bosses and a massive coorperation that is making military drones.This game also features Spider Man 2099 he creates a "Phone Portal" to a few days before spiderman dies.You obviously play Spider Man's story and I think you Play as Spider Man 2099's story mode to it sounds like a really good game.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Best spidey yet but......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
XUnFocus3dX
Location: Riverhead, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to say it was the best one i played yet and ive played every one of em. I have to say all the extra combos felt like half the time i wouldnt even use them. Just to say no matter how good i felt i was i was like what are u doin spidey. Horrible gameplay in the way that i felt he just started his carrer. Godforbid anything was off the ground, it just has no good way to attack it. Very basic gameplay but best spidey game yet. Recommend to anyone who has played the rest.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spider-Man: Edge of Time
Another failed attempt by Beenox
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
BeansAndToast
Location: Rockford, IL
Yet another attempt to make a linear Spiderman game, and yet another complete disaster. I rented this thinking maybe it has improved, and yet again just like Shattered Dimensions, Beenox fails to impress with their terrible controls. Even worse camera angels and did I say linear story progression? Someone explain to me as to why as Spiderman I can only cling to certain walls, but not others? And I'll admit, I played this game all of 20 minutes, enough to get to the first speed challenge as Spiderman 2099. And that was quite enough to turn me off this game completely, trying to navigate a challenge in a narrow corridor with a camera that can't seem to stay focused or centered. Or follow the direction YOU want it to aim..theres just no excuse for it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>