GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

Dead Rising® 2: Off the Record, sees photojournalist and original hero of Dead Rising's Willamette incident, Frank West take center stage as players experience a reimagining of the Fortune City outbreak. Forget what you know about Dead Rising® 2,"Frank West is back in the game!" The new, "Off the Record" storyline means an all new Dead Rising 2 experience. Frank will face off against more twisted enemies, build more outrageous combo weapons, follow his own unique mission structure and explore brand new areas of Fortune City to get his biggest scoop yet. Frank's come back means the return of his trusty camera, with players able to earn Prestige Points (PP) for specific photo opportunities that are graded against criteria such as horror, drama, erotica and brutality. In addition to the new scenario and gameplay enhancements, Dead Rising 2: Off the Record offers a suite of technical updates including load time optimizations, improved network performance and a host of system upgrades to deliver a more satisfying Dead Rising® experience.
Average Customer Rating:
8.412
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
6
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1788%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Review 1 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
The Best Yet !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
Zombify29
Location: Red Lion, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am addicted to all of the Dead rising series games and this one is my absolute favorite so far! The storyline is very creative, credits go for the writer. The game is very addicting as you crave more and more of revealing the truth of the whole story as you keep your eyes glued to the TV. Even if you get bored from playing the storyline you can get on a new feature from all of the past games didn't have, THE SANDBOX MODE! This mode gives you a chance to get an idea where everything is before, after, or during the storyline. You basically have the privalige to go or do whatever you like in this mode. It even gives you enimies that you will soon face in the game and get a chance to earn some money. I'd play a little bit of the sandbox mode before playing the storyline because the money you earn on the sandbox mode will put it on the storyline as well. I reconmend you buy this game A.S.A.P. !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Frank West Is Back!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
Anonymous
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Right off this is basically what would happen if frank west was in the story rather than chuck from the orig. DR2, He's Here to once again to get the scoop, After the first story he was called the hero and really let the fame get to him and some how ends up in fortune city,Where a zombie outbreak happens once again, the Area in where you put in is bigger with a brand new theme park added Uranus Zone, There is plenty of more extras goodies as well weapons, Weapons combo cards and bosses! A new addition is a mode called Sandbox where its non stop zombie killing, you don't have to worry about time or Zombrex! and all the pp is carried on to the story and psychos run loose everywhere, so its really great especially if you haven't played the original dr2, Its a Deal for the price that is a given and if your a zombie fan or just want to Hack everything in sight its a Must. F.Skyy Outt
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Gets better every time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
google911
Location: Greenville, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have never played Dead Rising, its a game that all you do hack zombies. The Xbox version is a bit better, but it's the same gameplay throughout. You're a guy named Frank West who's a fat photographer that likes to kill zombies. You can use pretty much anything you see. My favorite is the fire ax, but, as I said, you can use almost anything to slice and dice zombies. There are two modes you can do. Campaign mode, and Sandbox mode. Campaign you have 72 hours to get all the survivers you can and just, well, survive. Sandbox mode is a fun mode where you can just do anything you want. I read a comment that said, "how do you switch clothes?" and simpley, all you have to do is go up to, say a cowboy hat, and it will say something like," put on clothes" and, for PS3, press circle. Well, I'm going to play the game right now and I hope you liked this, so, peace out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dead Rising 2 Official Strategy Guide
8.5 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
I Love Dr2 But This Might Take The Gold
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/11
DeadrisingFan342
This game is amazing.one new sandbox mode no time limits and you have to fight bosses and do challenges. also the new uranus land is amazing plus if you have a dr2 save file you get chucks jacket for frank.only things is might slow down at times but other than that this game is amazing plus watch out for chuck in the game but everything else is amost the same as dr2 just with frank and a few other things.so if your looking for a good zombie killing action game I Recomend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Loved Dead Rising 2.
Posted on:8/18/11
AlecDawesome
Location: Massachusetts
This is one of my most hyped games of the year, plus only 40$! They're adding so much content, plus improving the load times. I want Dead Rising 3!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AquaGamesXL
Beaumont Texas
 
Please wait while more information about AquaGamesXL is loaded.
Additional information about AquaGamesXL could not be loaded.
Amazing
Posted 10/28/12
I really loved the game and the gameplay and graphics.But dont take my word,go buy it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
The Better Alternative to DR2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/13
PredatorRock
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I remember seeing DR2 and freaking out over the new combo weapons. When I got the game I thought it was fantastic except one thing: the difficulty of some parts. The psychopaths were very difficult to fight early on and I had to grind to level up just so I could attempt to fight them. After a while I gave up and just played for fun. Then a miracle happened: DR2: Off the Record came out. This was the answer for people who didn't think DR2 could get any better! Frank West's return, new combo weapons, the awesome sandbox mode, the story twist, Uranus Zone, but the most important thing to me was the slightly dumbed down difficulty which made this game playable for anyone who practiced fighting and killing zombies in clever ways. The best part was the generous $39.99 launch price. I love this game and still continue to cherish it's easy to grasp but devilishly fun gameplay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Best Dead Rising Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
PsychedelicJesus
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love all the new things they added in this game, and they have the new sandbox mode. They made changes in the gameplay, that make it more smooth. Chuck Green is awesome. but so is Frank West. It's great playing Dead Rising 2 with Frank West or Chuck Green. I have both games and I love them both. This one is better though, because of the smooth gameplay. If you love Dead Rising, buy this game, it rules.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
another one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:4/13/11
heymanfive
Location: harrison,n.j.
im glad they have another one that i like so cool now franks back
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChicagosVeryBest
 
Please wait while more information about ChicagosVeryBest is loaded.
Additional information about ChicagosVeryBest could not be loaded.
Posted 5/7/11
THis game will be awesome like the first one. i hope its free roam and co-op :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Frank is back, with a vengeance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
frankenboy101
Location: Kentucky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gameplay: gameplay is basically what you find in the other DR titles, which composes of grabbing anything in the environment and beating the crud out of a zombie. Old veterans to the franchise should feel right at home with the bloody combat system. The best thing about Dead rising 2 Off The Record is the upgrade system. I always felt like I was being rewarded with a new move to try on a zombie. Another great feature is Frank's trusty camera which was tossed aside in DR 2. This feature let's you take pictures of zombies/people and get rewarded points (upgrade points) to beef up your frank. What really saves the game is a new mode called Sandbox Mode. Similar to Infinity Mode in DR 1 but without your health being stripped away from you, AND you unlock it at the very beginning of the game. In sandbox, you basically have no time limit but challenges to complete which are a blast. Story: Frank West ( guy from DR 1) is a hero due to the first scoop. Now he's washed up and goes to fortune city to uncover the truth about these pesky zombie outbreaks. Now, your probally wondering why this game is 40 bucks. Off the record is basically a remake of DR 2 but with frank west instead of stiff chuck green. That was one of my problems about DR 2. Chuck. He was so boring and stiff that his stupid aura made the game feel stiff and boring. Frank is the opposite. He makes fun of pysychopaths, always has something funny to say, and he feels less stiff. This makes the game a LOT more enjoyable in every way. Since your wondering when I'll finish this review, I'll end your pain. Buy this game, DR veteran or not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Cash Grab for Capcom...Still Entertains
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
GamerOmega
Location: Decatur, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Basically a carbon copy of Dead Rising 2 without the wussy main character. The addition of the sandbox mode is the best part of this rehash, allowing for endless zombie killing fun. The added combo cards also entertain. In the end, what stands out to me is that this is the version of Dead Rising 2 that should have been originally released.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Willie1994
sc
 
Please wait while more information about Willie1994 is loaded.
Additional information about Willie1994 could not be loaded.
dr3 otr
Posted 8/7/12
Hey yall. Im thinking about going to buy this game today. And i dnt want to buy it n playing it by myself. So if yall have this game for PS3 add me. Psn name is W-I-L-L-I-E-18
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
So awesome then you think...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/12
rechnyVideoGames
Location: Beaumont Texas,BMT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
DR2:OTR is the best game you could have (maybe) It is perfect if you love to play online(I only trust friends)You wouldnt believe what you could do in so much time.To be honest I killed 3215 zombies,If you like to level up and take on Skills before story mode You should do it online.The cheats are amazing and helps alot,If you have this game(Or plan on buying it) then maybe I could give you some tips and we could cause chaos at Fortune City! -rechny7412
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
GOOD
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/11
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you’ve never played a Dead Rising game before, Off The Record is just about worth its budget price tag. But if you’ve already spent considerable time with Dead Rising 2, however, there’s little new content on offer to justify another visit to Fortune City. You’d be better off investing in the downloadable instalments.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
deadrising
 
Please wait while more information about deadrising is loaded.
Additional information about deadrising could not be loaded.
coustumes
Posted 10/14/11
how do i change costumes on this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
JohnP
i can say for certain when i played dead rising 2 off the record i thought it would be like dead rising 2 but it is not the sandbox mode is a lot better than terror is reality and on the story it is like dead rising 2 but then again it is not and i like the co-op also
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
endless sequels will start to wear
Posted on:5/5/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
while I'm sure this will turn out great, they should just go and make the third game in the series and just wait a few years before the next comes out
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bribot7
OHIO
 
Please wait while more information about Bribot7 is loaded.
Additional information about Bribot7 could not be loaded.
Awesome
Posted 8/28/11
Sweet, Frank is back and so is Dead Rising! Great game, and even better with a new adaption to play again!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
AWESOME FOR PARTY!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Anonymous
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
TRY IT FOR A PARTY ITS KINDA SICK!!:P OH AND ITS ALSO AWESOME FOR PLAYING CO-OP AND SANDBOX MODE....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Meh...
Posted on:6/27/11
Jagerman
Location: Latham, NY
Well Dead Rising 2 had it's moments and was fun, I'd avoid this and pick up Dead Island on 9/6/11. Dead Island has a Endless Wave Blood Bath Arena (Preorder or DLC), over 1000+ weapons and 4 player Drop in/Drop Out...
 
My Product Recommendations
Dead Island Limited Edition
9.9 out of 10(114)
 
 
 
 
 
9 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
morduskilla
 
Please wait while more information about morduskilla is loaded.
Additional information about morduskilla could not be loaded.
Posted 10/22/11
dead island is lame in comparison.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
Frank West Is Vastly Superior
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
Niggles
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is essentially the same as Dead Rising 2 more or less. It has a few new quirks but it's basically Dead Rising 2 but with Frank Instead of Chuck. This is honestly the Dead Rising 2 game they should have made cause it's way better than Chuck Greene's. If you haven't played DR2 than I deff recommend playing this game. However if you did than you will prob hate this game cause it's the same exact thing you played and already have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
dead rising off the record
Posted on:8/5/11
wiille
Location: new york ny
i can wait this game will come out so i go crazy on that game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
What should have been.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
BaronVonWafflestein
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yeah, this is the Dead Rising that should have been put out, but we got stuck with Chuck who isn't terrible, buuut is nowhere as likeable or as charismatic as Frank. This game gives you all the fun that was Dead Rising 2, without the daughter with Zombie AIDS and it adds the fan favorite protagonist with sandbox mode. If you haven't played DR2 yet then get this version, if you have still pick it up used because it's cheap enough without hurting your wallet.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Rising 2: Off the Record
looks awesome
Posted on:9/24/11
Darkwind
Location: owosso,MI
i played dead rising and dead rising 2 and they were great games but they look lame compared to this one cant wait till october 11
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheMisfits
 
Please wait while more information about TheMisfits is loaded.
Additional information about TheMisfits could not be loaded.
Feels like a demo
Posted 10/11/11
I like Dead Rising BUT I wish they would get rid of the timer countdown in the game so I could enjoy killing the zombies and do everything fun this game has to offer and not feel rushed but other than that if you haven't played it you should.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>