GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 12

Be the next legend in hockey with NHL 12. As the sport's next superstar, earn every shift on the ice with stellar play, big hits, and spectacular goals and prove you have the toughness and skill to lead your team to the Stanley Cup®. Take to the ice in all-new interactive environments where bone-crushing hits, glass-shattering collisions, and bruising checks along the boards are always part of the action. Experience the intensity, speed, and physicality of authentic NHL hockey with NHL 12.
Average Customer Rating:
7.821
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
15
8 stars
7
7 stars
5
6 stars
2
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
52 out of 6778%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 12
Review 1 for NHL 12
Go Jets Go
Posted on:7/25/11
mariofan4life
Location: pembroke, canada
I know I will get this game and if they add in the new Winnipeg Jets I'll be the happiest Canadian in the gaming world
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
flyerfan717
 
Please wait while more information about flyerfan717 is loaded.
Additional information about flyerfan717 could not be loaded.
updated
Posted 8/2/11
will this game be updated like roster wise cuz the flyers made alot of moves and i would love toplay with jagr
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for NHL 12
Best Game
Posted on:6/29/11
Sango29
Location: Sanborn, Ny
This is the best NHL game on XBOX 360 so far i hope it is better than NHL 11 and stamkos does allow to be on the cover.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamelover25yrs
 
Please wait while more information about gamelover25yrs is loaded.
Additional information about gamelover25yrs could not be loaded.
the 1994 staney cup champions
Posted 8/1/11
if they wont put boston on the box, put lunqvist. or even better. THE GREAT ONE should come back and be put on the box
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for NHL 12
cover
Posted on:6/19/11
WaterTribeMen
Location: the moon,milky way
I think someone from the Boston Bruins should be on it because they won the Stanley Cup.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 12
cant wait for nhl 12
Posted on:6/21/11
HockeyIsDBest
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
its gona be the best game finally the goalies arent computers any more and the winter classic to finish it off
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 12
Just another EA classic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
PhillyKid
Location: Philadelphia
Let me start by saying that anyone who says this game is exactally like NHL11 obviously doesn't know what they're talking about. They massively improved the gameplay which feels much faster and flows a lot better. Your passes aren't intercepted everytime and the overall speed feels better. Shooting and scoring is more difficult because they spent this year improving the goalies, and it worked. The Be A Pro is what has the most noticable changes. You can begin your career as a CHL player and play an entire season or just play the CHL playoffs and win the Memorial Cup. The biggest change is earned ice-time. You can no longer keep pressing B and play the entire game like you could in NHL11. Depending on what line you're playing on and how good or bad of a game you're playing will determine your total ice-time. Be A GM mode is basically the same which is good because I saw no problems that had to be fixed. NHL12 is one of the greatest games of the year and probally the greatest sports game of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 12
Trash.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
JuiceSqueeze
Location: MD
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game in hopes of upgrading my very old NHL 2k5. I never should have bothered. After trying this unplayable piece of regurgitated EA garbage a few games into my season, I booted my ORIGINAL Xbox back up and stuck with 2k5. That's pretty sad. The mechanics of this game are utterly terrible, the controls are a completely unintuitive mess, and the frame rate is about a whopping 15fps. Body checking feels like you're all 4 year olds bumping into each other, puck control is about as effective as wizzing into a wall socket, and the whole game relies on pinning on the boards for 60 minutes. Passing is horrid, one timers are nearly impossible, your skaters move at senior citizen speeds (even when you supposedly can make them "hustle"), and overall it makes me want to rip my hair out instead of delve deeper into my game. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from EA garbage and hope ESPN breaks back into the monopoly on terrible sports games.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 12
Great game; cheap disc
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
M1234
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall this game is great; I mainly play the 'Be a Pro Mode' which is new to me (the last NHL game I played was 07 which didn't have it) and I must say that it's probably the best feature for me. The gameplay is great, graphics are really good, announcers are fair (but that's always the case with sports games I think). My only problem with this game which is why I gave it such a low review is that after having the game for about a month, I now can no longer play it due to an 'unreadable disc' error. This is the only game I get this for and I've had it happen on multiple discs. I've checked online for a solution but there are none. What's worse, this appears to have been a problem over the past few years for this franchise. I'm not sure what the issue is with them, but someone should explain to them that using cheap discs is not good for business. Needless to say, I will be trying this one more time; if I receive the same error this will be the last EA Sports game that I buy.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 12
Cover of Nhl 12
Posted on:5/14/11
BunnyBoy47
I think nhl 12 should do the same thing as madden 12 did vote for the cover man... But as a hockey fan I think In memory of Derek Boogard I think EA should put him on the cover...
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 12
Excellent game but one annoying flaw
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
GreenBstard207
Location: Fernley, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't had a hockey game since NHL09 and was very excited to play with the Winnipeg Jets. Now if you don't have an online account than just going to give you a heads up that only the Jets jerseys on the game will be the old school ones from the 80's. Granted they are going to get the new ones on there in the jersey update which is suppose to be late October-early November. Also very irritated that if I play a "rivalry" game with the Jets, the commentators still say Atlanta. Just feels like they rushed the Jets together almost like someone who moves a franchise in Madden. Overall the gameplay is awesome, very addicting and fun. People who complain about the passing and shooting obviously have not seen the practice mode on the game. I have also seen some reviews about the game freezing and I have not had a game freeze on me yet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 12
Awesome
Posted on:7/20/11
GuywithaBNR
Location: Ohio
NHL 12 is gonna be epic, and would everyone quit hating on stamkos, i know he didnt win the stanley cup but hes still one of the best players in the whole NHL.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 12
More improvements make it better than last year
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/12
Gamersean
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am breaking my tradition of reviewing only games on Nintendo consoles to review a XB360 game (the only other non-Nintendo system game I reviewed was "Call of Duty: Black Ops") that I really like. The game has improved from last year. The physics engine allows for better checking, which to me is key to the game. As there may be glitches, it doesn't bother me, for there are rarely any. The dynamic goalies are my favorite additions, which added making the contact with the goalies, and the battles for position in front of the net provide good screens while being realistic. Now here are the negative parts of the game: Sometimes on face-offs in drop-in games in the EASHL, it may glitch by lagging and making you take the faceoffs multiple times or in another zone where it shouldn't be. Another thing is breaking the glass. It's not a big deal, but the glass breaks unrealisticly; the glass should break into two or three pieces, but in the game it shatters into hundreds of pieces. And another thing is the goalies can't fight more than once. :(
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 12
Better Than NHL 11
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
ItalianStallion327
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great. I enjoyed playing NHL 11 but it was to easy, with a few hours playing i was able to score 5 goals a game. After a little more playing i was able to score 10 goals a game. NHL 12 is the complete opposite! Its challenging, you can't just skate around the guys with a little move of your stick like in NHL11. it takes real skill to score NHL 11 was all about the scoring, NHL 12 is more about being a team player and passing the puck. Its a great game with the best logic and technology that NHL has showed us so far. i would highly recommend this game to anyone who loves the NHL and who loves the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 12
ai is terrible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
bwils927
Location: boston,ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have to start off on a positive note about this game the graphics are amazing i cant believe how awesome they are. now to my huge criticism the a.i. controlled players are never in the right place and it doesnt look anything like a hockey game. also the referees are terrible and totally one sided against you. even when you set post whistle rules to authentic they never call anything on the other team, just you. lastly there is a major difference between the pro and roookie levels. this is the first time i have gotten an nhl game so i started out on rookie. i got relly good and in mid january of my season mode with the bruins i was leading the league so i moved up to pro. even with shot aim on auto the most goals you will score is 3. you can never set up for a one timer because your wingers are never in the right place. on rookie the defenseman dont even try and u can go straight up the middle shoot and score but on pro u cant go 2 seconds without someone ateempting to poke check. after a while i will probably get used to it. the graphics amaze me and if the horrible gameplay continues i will just put games on spectator mode and watch them. the end.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 12
Great Game, But Some Flaws
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
DerpyGames
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game I had it forever and people still play it in 2014! Online gameplay is awesome, I don't find it OP in anyway.
The only flaws I find is the fact when you fight, the no one is on the benches it looks weird as if they all glitched out, but it doesn't bother me. The only other flaw is some of the calls on goaltender interference are so stupid, I don't touch the goalie and I get a foul. Other then that, I love the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 12
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
EASTOCKER
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What a great game! I think EA hits home every year with their "NHL" games! The only problem is you get lots of goaltender interference penalties so beware!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NHL 12
Demo was great, can't wait for game.
Posted on:8/23/11
lebronfan6
Location: tampa, fl
I love this game so far. I got the demo this morning. The only minor is the hitting isn't very realistic. But other then that, it's great!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NHL 12
Best Hockey game: NHL 11 and NHL 12 are the best!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
CeeJ
Location: Northwest Indiana
This game is perfect for: party gamers
NHL 11 and 12 are the best ones. NHL 10 is not bad. GREAT GAMES. a must have for an NHL fan. looking forward to NHL 13
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 12
Another year, more additions and more problems.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
Selkies
Location: Virginia
I've been playing the NHL series since its debut on the 360 with NHL 06, so I have quite a few years under my belt in the franchise. With each new year comes a new game, bolstering a new iconic front cover player and new additions. For the most part the additions are welcomed, working well, adding all new kinds of play styles and approaches to the game. If you've played any of the previous NHL series games, then this is pretty much the same thing with a few new features and modes. I personally only play EASHL, which is your BE A PRO character online in online team play or club. Most of the controls are tight on your character, but there's some pressing concerns I still have. THE AI, my god... could the devs have possibly programmed a more worthless bunch of pickles? Passing is pretty much hit or miss. My character has 99 passing overall and he throws the puck where ever he pleases. Club is still riddled with guys looking to pad their stats with non-stop glitchgoaling that never ceases to amaze me. I personally think they are adding to much to this game. I love realism, but when you add something that's based on realism then back it with outrageous possibility factors it makes those additions tedious and not worth it. It's not the greatest hockey game in the world, but it's the only hockey game in the world. It's not bad at all, and I play it all the time, getting groups of guys together to do some drop-in is a blast. But there's still a lot of kinks that need to be fixed to push this over the top in my opinion. If you like hockey, pick it up and give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 12
Another step further from simulating NHL hockey
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
Flyers83
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
They added new features that do nothing to improve game play while ignoring problems that have existed since NHL 09. The Winter Classic is not playable online nor in either Be a pro or Be a GM modes. Broken glass rarely happens and I almost never notice it exist .Goalie fights online cause the Right wing to sit for 5mins (Unless RW is in box then someone else must take the penalty). The game is more arcade than simulation. Players can endlessly skate in circles without losing speed or puck and can stop on a dime. Stick collision is horrible, sticks going through legs, bodies, and pads of goalies.
Offense is far too easy while Defense struggles because of poor game mechanics. Things that happen once a year or once every 5 years in NHL, happen in every game. Not to mention Lag, game freezing, cheese goals(goals that go in 95% of time and are always taken from same spot), and certain game functions not working properly. I'm honestly left regretting not per-ordering MW3 instead of getting this game. Younger crowds might enjoy this game but I was looking for more of a real hockey experience. ( My review is based on online play.)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dieablo17
 
Please wait while more information about dieablo17 is loaded.
Additional information about dieablo17 could not be loaded.
best ea game yet
Posted 12/28/11
this game is by far the best sports game yet and this coming from guy that only plays sports games
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for NHL 12
CAN' COME SOON ENOUGH!
Posted on:6/2/11
Po0568
Location: Boston
sooo pumped that the goalie will have more authentic moves not just be a robot, and the best part being you can finally drop gloves as a goalie!! EPIC! AND! THE WINTER CLASSIC!!!??? EA really stepped it up this year fan-freakin-tastic. I vote either Tim Thomas or another Vezina Trophy finalist to be on the cover, Tim Thomas did make history this year though.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>