GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 12

Be the next legend in hockey with NHL 12. As the sport's next superstar, earn every shift on the ice with stellar play, big hits, and spectacular goals and prove you have the toughness and skill to lead your team to the Stanley Cup®. Take to the ice in all-new interactive environments where bone-crushing hits, glass-shattering collisions, and bruising checks along the boards are always part of the action. Experience the intensity, speed, and physicality of authentic NHL hockey with NHL 12.
Average Customer Rating:
8.906
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
7
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3291%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 12
Review 1 for NHL 12
Great Hockey Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
DrZa1us
Location: Northport, NY
NHL 12's be a legend mode was fun but it was also time consuming and difficult in order to unlock the players in legend mode. All in all though this is a great hockey game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for NHL 12
great game...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
dambra661
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
thisd is just your classic ea nhl title does a great job only complaint would be how dumb ai is even on pro mode and all-star. the other thing that is totally unable to do in real hockey is the ability to complety have
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 12
Fan of the series, but this is my least favorite
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/13
B1NGA
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Two major gripes. In an effort to make the game more realistic, they force you to sit out a shift every so often and watch. I prefer no line changes and always having my created player on the ice at all times but turning off line changes is no longer an option. Sure, it is more realistic, but less fun. Stinks having to sit out either a powerplay or a penalty kill and watch the action unfold. Secondly, the AI teammates are awful. Even if you are wide-open and breaking down the ice they won't pass it to you, and to get them to you have to "request" a pass which causes your player to tap his stick on the ice, wasting valuable time. Lame. I think i'll go back to the "less realistic" NHL 10, where my player can stay on the ice, actually get passed to, and score 5-10 goals a game. Isn't that supposed to be the point of the game, to be un-realistically that much better than the rest of the NHL? Glad I bought this game used, and didn't spend a full $60
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for NHL 12
A Solid, Fun Sports Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
undercoverracer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not much of a sports gamer, so I only get one game for each sport about every 5 years (Except for madden, I get that one every other year.) The last NHL game that I got was 06, so to me this is laughably a major improvement. The game play mechanics are pretty good, with a few glitches here and there, but it is solid and definitely still playable. The graphics weren't top-notch, which surprises me since EA is going crazy over graphics now. The sounds were average, more sound glitches here and there, such as shooting the puck was sometimes a complete second late. The lasting appeal was a total 10, because it is always addicting to play through a season to see how well you play the game. I gave this game an 8 because of its lasting appeal and game play, it is a good solid hockey game and I recommend this to any casual and/or sports gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for NHL 12
good but not flawless
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
dasa
Location: san fransisco,CA
I love this game but it has two problems, 1. sometimes in a fight you could fight with one person but be another one like i was fight with tim thomas once and he was wearing a marchand jersay. also i lost tim thomas and i cant find him in nhl 12 i checked if any team had him but they don't also he is not under my contracts or a free agent and he did not retire.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 12
AMAZING!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
VancouverCanucks12345
Location: Canada
This game is perfect for: party gamers
GETS BETTER EVERY YEAR! I love it soo much it is a must buy for an NHL-Er!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there are soo many new modes its amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 12
Better and Better Every Year
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
docbaby80
You may think that buying the same game every year is pointless, but the NHL series continues to have major changes made that greatly alter the gaming community's experience. With the addition of new game modes, goalie fights, the WInter Classic, and the return of the Ultimate Hockey League and the EA Sports Hockey League, NHL 12 is a spectacular game. My only issue is that the soundtrack is somewhat limited.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for NHL 12
Awesome But Be Need a PC Version
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/12
Goalie88
Location: Lynn,MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was a total blst! I loved it since the minue I picked up the controlloer with my buddy. I loved everything about it. Especially the goalies. The only thing is, we need an NHL game for the PC. I admit the 09 sucked but that doesn't mean you should stop making them. Hopefully by next year ( even this year ) we will see a PC version. BTW ifany one knows EA SPorts who is reading this please do suggest it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 12
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
Jessekiller3
Location: Calgary, Alberta
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Very fun game, for all hardcore and people just looking to have fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 12
i love this game but the hitting was a little off.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
snipshow
Location: taylor, michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
is game is great for all hockey lovers. the shooting is nice looks real. the hitting was weird at first but once you get used to it you learn who you can hit with and how fast you need to be going great job to the creaters!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for NHL 12
Not for fans of the actual game of hockey
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
wonttakeanythingelse
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game if you like individual hockey players and you love learning a ton of dual shock controls to be able to deke; however, this game has little to nothing to do with the game of hockey. It is nearly impossible to set up plays in an intelligent fashion. Just about every time I try to cycle the puck down low, someone comes and pokes the puck away. This happens for real in hockey, but fourth line rookies should not be as good as first line starters. In addition, trying to kick it out to the point to blast a slap shot almost always leads to a turnover. Players get bumped off the puck too much, it’s too easy to poke check the puck away, play is too slow, players are too slow, the passing is absolutely awful, and the announcers are in love with the word ‘slot.’ The final straw for me was I was playing online the other day, I was Vancouver, and my opponent was Pittsburg. I don’t normally fight because it’s silly, but the guy went after me with Malkin, which I was happy to have off the ice for five minutes. Thirty seconds later, he goes at me with Crosby. So I have Crosby and Malkin out for a combined four and a half minutes. Imagine my surprise when sixty seconds later the guy scores with Crosby, assisted by Malkin. It could have been a glitch, but I think it's EA's love of the Penguins. Get this game if you like good graphics and basically like to learn to deke. If you love hockey, go back to NHL 10 or wait until 2013.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 12
Awesome NHL game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/11
mlbk1k
Location: San Francisco,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is awesome and has really good graphics. You would love it if you are a hockey fan or a sports gamer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for NHL 12
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
derk47
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an amazing game it has great graphics and a great gaming experience. I mainly play onlin and there is no lag in any of the games online. Offline play is fun also. Be a pro is great as always. The online experience is better than NHL 11. As you play if you meet requirements you level up and earn xp to improve your player. I have had this game for 2 months and i still play it frequently. It never gets old.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 12
Lockup Heaven
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
Mithch
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you have NHL 11, don't bother upgrading until they fix the Lock-ups. Every 4-5 games it will lock-up on you in the middle of they game, and it gets very annoying. The load time for previous saved games has increased 4 fold, which is also a pain. You also don't get credit for OHL goals, ect. toward your legend status, so no reason to even play the 70 extra games.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 12
NHL 12!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
nyjsd
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The be a legend mode is awesome. The graphics r so aweaome. The best thing is the NHL Winter Classic! Buy it it"s the best NHL game ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 12
Perfect for any one who likes hard hitting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
casualgamer97
Location: minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played this game and instantly I was hooked. Even though I was horrible I had a blast! As long as you like great classics you will like NHL 12. I enjoy all of the game modes and all different types of different ways to play!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 12
The funnest sports game out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
king718
Location: new york
I have more fun with this game than any game I own. The gameplay is really solid and realistic. I think its the best sports game out there and hockey isnt even my favorite sport. Its very fast paced and takes alot of strategy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 12
HAHAHAHAH I LUV IT SO MUCH
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
nhl12man
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game a few things i dont like though is when you take a slapshot even though this is a realistic thing the puck gpes off your stick like you have to get the shot off quick
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 12
Enjoyable Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
caliri4
Location: Northern Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Although this game is far from perfect, it is the game I play most out of all I have including the FPS games I have. One problem it has is playing on any level above PRO is downright frustrating and unreal. Another thing is several times per game, I have commands that are ignored or delayed til it's too late. Or, it stores a pass command too long that I may have inadvertantly inputed and a second after the puck hits my stick, the physics engine sends the pass...usually to the opponent's waiting stick.
Other than that, it is an addictive game and I really enjoy Be A Pro and the online Drop-in games. As soon as I find a team, I can't wait to play in a league! Buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 12
amazing best awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
dasa
Location: san fransisco,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Everything is great in be a pro you can play the memorial cup and in be a GM mode it is like the real experiance you can van play as your AHL team. You get a pone that says blackberry. The commentary isnt the best they usually repeat their lines but in the end i was super excited to have this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>