GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 12

Be the next legend in hockey with NHL 12. As the sport's next superstar, earn every shift on the ice with stellar play, big hits, and spectacular goals and prove you have the toughness and skill to lead your team to the Stanley Cup®. Take to the ice in all-new interactive environments where bone-crushing hits, glass-shattering collisions, and bruising checks along the boards are always part of the action. Experience the intensity, speed, and physicality of authentic NHL hockey with NHL 12.
Average Customer Rating:
8.906
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
7
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3291%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 12
Review 1 for NHL 12
Amazing and soo realistic! EPIC! <3
Posted on:6/26/11
PhillyBoi28
Location: Philadelphia,PA
Ive been doing alot of research and watching videos on youtube... its so realistic the way the puck moves and bounces, the ice, the players! They even added the winter classic and new LIVE goalie features!!! Amazing! I love it soo much i just bought a PS3 instead of using y xbox360! I bought a new PS3 with built in wifi, headset, contollers, blue tooth and alot more just to play nhl12 online and against others from around the world! Gamer tag j2012gamer! See ya on the ice!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Amazing Video of the new features!!!
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 12
Fan of the series, but this is my least favorite
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/13
B1NGA
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Two major gripes. In an effort to make the game more realistic, they force you to sit out a shift every so often and watch. I prefer no line changes and always having my created player on the ice at all times but turning off line changes is no longer an option. Sure, it is more realistic, but less fun. Stinks having to sit out either a powerplay or a penalty kill and watch the action unfold. Secondly, the AI teammates are awful. Even if you are wide-open and breaking down the ice they won't pass it to you, and to get them to you have to "request" a pass which causes your player to tap his stick on the ice, wasting valuable time. Lame. I think i'll go back to the "less realistic" NHL 10, where my player can stay on the ice, actually get passed to, and score 5-10 goals a game. Isn't that supposed to be the point of the game, to be un-realistically that much better than the rest of the NHL? Glad I bought this game used, and didn't spend a full $60
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 12
Maybe it'll be a reason to play ps3 again?
Posted on:8/27/11
HawksInChicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Well I really hope that this game lives up to my expectations. NHL 11 was pretty good in my opinion. Some of the added features made the game flow better than 10. I really hope the new full contact physics engine is what i expect it to be. In 11 it was way too easy to get to the net so I'm hoping this will negate that. I also hope the goalie interaction lives up to expectations as long as its not overly interactive. The last thing I want is BS goaltender interference calls. I also think the winter classic will be pretty awesome too and i hope the wind and weather do play a role in the games. I'm really hoping this game will bring me back to my ps3 :)
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 12
No bad surprises
Posted on:9/12/11
realismisimportant
Location: san diego
NHL11 disappointed me in the beginning due to Manny teams not having the arena name around the center ice circle. Please no more bad surprises. I know NHL12 has team specific intros but don't let the important areas of presentation suffer due to new features though. Presentation is just as important as making the players do what their real life counterparts and their equipment do. Remember EA the game is representing the game to the casual and new fans of the sport and that means you have to put 100% into every aspect of the game. Bad presentation like no arena names at center ice take away from the game play improvements. Most want to feel like we are watching the real thing in simulation.Not playing a arcade game. I would suggest the face off style intermissions like the game from 989 sports. Maybe better with time because it is 2011 and that was done in the early 2000's when 989 did it. for NHL13 that would be cool if it isn't in NHL12. the Intermissions are unrealistic. they don't press a button and the ice is automatically fresh in real life.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 12
The funnest sports game out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
king718
Location: new york
I have more fun with this game than any game I own. The gameplay is really solid and realistic. I think its the best sports game out there and hockey isnt even my favorite sport. Its very fast paced and takes alot of strategy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 12
Should be fun
Posted on:7/24/11
grantisbeast
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game will be awesome. Nhl 11 was really fun and realistic and this one will be too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 12
Great as usual but flawed AI (as usual)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
NJDevil
NHL 12 has a number of improvements from last year (presentation mostly) but I am still NOT a fan of the physics engine. Regardless of your sliders, playing the computer on anything above All-Star is behond challenging and flirts with downright frustrating. The AI controlling your own players is just plain stupid. From not picking up pucks to players taking rediculous routes up ice on breaks, etc etc... it just takes away from the user experience. But still a great game like its predecessors.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 12
This is the best sports game of 2012.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
Tpsniperman99
Location: Beaverdam, Va
I've had this game for a couple of weeks now and i'm still in love. Two things that could be improved upon. The fighting still could be better as in the bench is empty and no one is on the ice except for the two playerxs fighting. The other thing that could be improved on is shattering glass. It dosn't happen as often as depicted in the game. One last thing, does anyone know how to get in a goalie vs. goalie fight?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 12
love nhl games needs 1 change
Posted on:9/12/11
Bigmike529
As Big of a hockey fan as I am. I would love to see 1 change to the NHL series. I would like to see all the real life refs and linesmen in the game and base the penalty calls and offside calls on how they officiate in real life. that would make this game truely authentic
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 12
Awesome.....Except
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
SportsFan1627
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
NHL 12 is an awesome game that is really enjoyable no matter what your age (rating +10...oops) or if you even like hockey (which you should) it is a great overall game great graphics and everything else like gameplay and lastin appeal are great.......Except the sound is not that great, they still have sucky announcers and also there is a late or never at all reaction to different plays, such as calling for a pass or hitting the post, but also even the crowd, for example if you NAIL someone and your at home the crowd sound comes in like 20 sec. later. Other than that no major glitches except for some very minor clipping. Overall an Awesome game that everyone can enjoy (Ovi rules!!!)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 12
Awesome But Be Need a PC Version
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/12
Goalie88
Location: Lynn,MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was a total blst! I loved it since the minue I picked up the controlloer with my buddy. I loved everything about it. Especially the goalies. The only thing is, we need an NHL game for the PC. I admit the 09 sucked but that doesn't mean you should stop making them. Hopefully by next year ( even this year ) we will see a PC version. BTW ifany one knows EA SPorts who is reading this please do suggest it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 12
Enjoyable Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/11
caliri4
Location: Northern Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Although this game is far from perfect, it is the game I play most out of all I have including the FPS games I have. One problem it has is playing on any level above PRO is downright frustrating and unreal. Another thing is several times per game, I have commands that are ignored or delayed til it's too late. Or, it stores a pass command too long that I may have inadvertantly inputed and a second after the puck hits my stick, the physics engine sends the pass...usually to the opponent's waiting stick.
Other than that, it is an addictive game and I really enjoy Be A Pro and the online Drop-in games. As soon as I find a team, I can't wait to play in a league! Buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 12
Epic Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
Siev344
Location: Hawaii
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great Game lots Of fights Be A legand mode Fun I Give This Five Stars
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 12
New Year, Few Changes
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
hegwoodski
Location: Mankato, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very fun game. I have played every NHL game dating back to the Sega Genesis. NHL 12 in comparison to 11 has some pretty good improvements. The game still feels the same and it was a lot like changing over from 10 to 11. It seems that most of the improvements were to the hitting and fighting off the defender. I have enjoyed playing this game just like any other NHL, but I have run into some problems. For some reason the game glitches on certain TVs. On one it will run at full speed with no glitch and then the other two I have will be about 1 second behind on everything. Might just be my problem, but it is a problem I must make clear. Also a pretty common problem I have found is game freezes. Not a big deal, but unacceptable when I have experienced zero game freezes from NHL 07 to NHL 11.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 12
A Solid, Fun Sports Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
undercoverracer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not much of a sports gamer, so I only get one game for each sport about every 5 years (Except for madden, I get that one every other year.) The last NHL game that I got was 06, so to me this is laughably a major improvement. The game play mechanics are pretty good, with a few glitches here and there, but it is solid and definitely still playable. The graphics weren't top-notch, which surprises me since EA is going crazy over graphics now. The sounds were average, more sound glitches here and there, such as shooting the puck was sometimes a complete second late. The lasting appeal was a total 10, because it is always addicting to play through a season to see how well you play the game. I gave this game an 8 because of its lasting appeal and game play, it is a good solid hockey game and I recommend this to any casual and/or sports gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 12
Still a few things that could be done..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
shootoutloss
Location: Columbus, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game as always, but just like the past few years, there are still a few minor things they can improve on. Fighting still sucks (the ice & benches are cleared when fighting). The announcers are still horrible, and the goal horns are still horrible. Other than that, no complaints yet. (BTW, why do the Canes have the Whalers jerseys, Coyotes have the old school Jets jerseys, Avs have the old rockies jerseys, Stars have the old NorthStars jerseys, yet Winnipeg doesn't have the Thrashers jerseys? Come on EA, that's dirty.)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NHL 12
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
derk47
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an amazing game it has great graphics and a great gaming experience. I mainly play onlin and there is no lag in any of the games online. Offline play is fun also. Be a pro is great as always. The online experience is better than NHL 11. As you play if you meet requirements you level up and earn xp to improve your player. I have had this game for 2 months and i still play it frequently. It never gets old.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NHL 12
Lockup Heaven
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
Mithch
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you have NHL 11, don't bother upgrading until they fix the Lock-ups. Every 4-5 games it will lock-up on you in the middle of they game, and it gets very annoying. The load time for previous saved games has increased 4 fold, which is also a pain. You also don't get credit for OHL goals, ect. toward your legend status, so no reason to even play the 70 extra games.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NHL 12
sounds great
Posted on:6/3/11
blade1
I can't wait for this game every year to come out. The goalie fights and shattered glass sound cool, but I really hope that they did something to revamp what has become a very stale season/franchise mode. Also with this game getting more real every year... are they going to have stuff like Alex Burrows pulling hair or biting someone if he gets in a fight?
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NHL 12
Goalie Fights
Posted on:6/13/11
docbaby80
I think that the addition of goalie fights will be cool. It was hilarious in the trailer how they showed Thomas and Price drop the gloves. I'd like the $20 price drop that Madden got though. For the cover, it should be Stamkos, Crosby, Thomas, or Sharp. I'm a Hawks fan, so that's why I put Sharp there. As they always say, "third time's a charm."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>