GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA 2K12

With over 5 million copies sold worldwide and over 20 Sports Game of Year awards, last year NBA 2K11 allowed you to BECOME THE GREATEST with MJ & the Jordan Challenge mode. This year the NBA 2K franchise is back and bigger than ever, providing fans with the opportunity they've always dreamed of - to finally END THE DEBATE as to who are the best teams and players of all time with the ALL-NEW NBA's Greatest mode. Featuring 15 legendary players such as Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and Dr. J, NBA's Greatest let you relive some of NBA's most celebrated careers and rivalries, painstakingly recreated in historical detail. In addition, several innovative gameplay features have been added putting fans center court of an unprecedented basketball experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.949
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (346 reviews)
10 stars
94
9 stars
40
8 stars
27
7 stars
5
6 stars
7
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
14
168 out of 21479%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA 2K12
Review 1 for NBA 2K12
NBA 2K12 WHO IS ON THE COVER
Posted on:6/17/11
LG13
Location: 545 W 126 ST 16F
Like in my earlier statement everyone knows who's going to be on the cover of NBA 2k12 this years MVP Derrick Rose.Not only is he MVP but he was rookie of the year and led the bulls to their first playoff appearance last year since the Michael Jordan era. He could be the next big thing and he has potential to be a megastar.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA 2K12
the cover
Posted on:7/21/11
AndyO
Location: New York, NY
Larry Bird, Magic Johnson, and Jordan are on the cover. I saw it on Game Informer check it out! It will be cool to see Larry Bird on the cover and Magic to play the Celtics-Lakers rivalry game. Jordan is on the cover again!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA 2K12
Derek Rose will not be on the cover...heres why.
Posted on:7/10/11
CBro
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Derek Rose has already been on a 2K cover. Their is a "arcade" title on Xbox Live. Ussully company's do not like repeat covers. Its the NBA 2k10 Draft Combine. (pic below). D-Wade will not be on the cover either. He was on NBA Live 06. I hope Dirk is not on the cover because i dont think he has enough fans to make people go buy it. If they stick with the legends, i could see them doing a double cover with Magic Johnson and Larry Bird. If they come back to modern day basketball, i think LeBron, Dirk, MAYBE J-Wall, possibly Blake Griffon.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PLAYBOYNATL
Atlanta, Ga.......Currently Doha, Qatar.
 
Please wait while more information about PLAYBOYNATL is loaded.
Additional information about PLAYBOYNATL could not be loaded.
Legends or Hall of Fame?
Posted 7/18/11
I want to sound like a bitter but a Hall of Fame Edition or Legends Edition would be a nice change of pace. I miss playing with the greats of the 50's & 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's and today. Matter fact how about putting in the all time great squads of each team. Bench included.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for NBA 2K12
Not Better Than 2k11
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
SniperJOSE
Location: Miami,FL
There is many things about this game that sucks. The animation is the one that aggravates people the most. Layups,passing, and shooting. If you do not believe it when I say shooting there are two things about it. First of all, you do an A+ shoot and you still MISS!! Second, when you shoot the ball you notice that the mid-range shot is different from the 3pt shot. The mid-range jumps higher than the 3pt range. HOW DUMB IS THAT! There are more things about this game that gets you mad, but there is too much to say.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA 2K12
D ROSE on the cover
Posted on:5/15/11
LG13vsgordon
Location: new york,ny
2010 to 2011 mvp derrick rose should be on the cover of NBA 2K12
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA 2K12
Cant wait for game. hope lebron is on the cover.
Posted on:7/18/11
Chevyjd2007
Location: Miami, Fl
the heat had a great season, i think they should be on the cover of nba2k12.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
8 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JA18
Miami,Florida
 
Please wait while more information about JA18 is loaded.
Additional information about JA18 could not be loaded.
Good Review
Posted 7/20/11
hey. nice job on the review. i believe the same lebron and heat deserve the cover. they #1. i was born in Miami and i also live in miami. go heat.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for NBA 2K12
NBA 2K11 Cover
Posted on:8/2/11
SwIsH27
Location: Florida, FL
I am a HUGE fan of michael jordan but sometimes its to much. It would be great to have mike on the cover again but i think it would be better if they put like LeBron James vs. Dirk Nowitzki for the NBA title. Like the picture i have:)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NBA 2K12
shaq should be on the cover!!!
Posted on:7/1/11
djsmoove15
Location: North Carolina, NC
after shaq's long career of success he deserve it!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
8 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA 2K12
Very good game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
SloppyJoee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best basketball that I have ever played it is really realistic I am very impressed with it. The only thing is sometimes the computer makes ridiculous shots that shouldn't go in but whatever
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NBA 2K12
Buy NBA 2k12 if you like basketball
Posted on:5/16/11
ThatGameReviewer
Location: Peru, IL
I was blessed with the liberty of talking with the games Lead Productions designer and i have secured the cover for NBA 2k12 from yours truly ,ThatGameReviewer
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
loganpj
 
Please wait while more information about loganpj is loaded.
Additional information about loganpj could not be loaded.
I love this series
Posted 6/3/11
i think the NBA 2K series is awesome this years 2011 addition was awesome and if they step it up on nba 2k12 i wont beleive it and also if Derrick Rose is on the cover i am definatly going to buy
Customer Avatar
YoungLebron23
 
Please wait while more information about YoungLebron23 is loaded.
Additional information about YoungLebron23 could not be loaded.
My Player Mode
Posted 5/20/11
i love the 2K series. I definitey loved the my player mode. my only issue with the gameplay was that the game time was too short they should atleast let you modify the times. Also they should change the view type for My Player mode should be the same view for regular games but you can also change it if you want. but all in all i cant wait to play 2K11!!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for NBA 2K12
Can't Wait This Long!
Posted on:5/3/11
BlAcKoPsEsCaLaTiOn
Location: London,England
I Love The 2K Serise And I already Pre ordered It!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
gggOOOfffEEErrr
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Call of Duty: Black Ops Escalation Map Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
8.1 out of 10(129)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
silkysmooth
brooklyn,NY
 
Please wait while more information about silkysmooth is loaded.
Additional information about silkysmooth could not be loaded.
D rose
Posted 5/21/11
I think derrick rose is a good choice he had the best year of his career. i think either the mvp of the regular season or the finals mvp should be on the cover.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for NBA 2K12
dirk
Posted on:6/17/11
mavsfanforlife41
Location: dallas tx
dirk should be on the cover the mavs did win the championship
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NBA 2K12
The king of games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
EliteGamer123
Location: Georgia Atl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game really out did it self nice looking characters some character are a little of whack but its good so far and the modes are amazing legend with 15 of the greatest. 3 choices of cover this is even better. Association mode online and off. my player has got outstanding i mean money donations and even retirement to hall of fame. blacktop hasn't changed that much but its still alright. you get a online rank and u get to make a 2k account on he game don't worry about the rookie problem i have a friend that has already stared making all the rookies even they will be released october 21 so look out for rookies
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rezz
Cape Cod, Mass
 
Please wait while more information about Rezz is loaded.
Additional information about Rezz could not be loaded.
This is just horrible
Posted 12/17/11
the graphics are totally amazing and they lured me in... but the gameplay kills it. you cannnot take it to the hoop like u could in 2k11... also i went up for a dunk with lebron and was swatted from behind by earl watson... i also tend to miss uncontested jumpers a lot and if i turn on game sliders.... it doesnt really make it fun knowing im hitting every shot.... just a awful game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for NBA 2K12
Great Game But Gets Boring!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/12
SmithJacobo
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game it is very challenging. The my player mode is really fun but challenging also. I am a huge basketball fan and when i can't go outsid to shoot hoops for some reason I usualy play this. But this game can get boring after a while.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NBA 2K12
Im so ready for this game to come out!!!
Posted on:7/16/11
yaboislim
I hope they put lebron james on the cover even though he didnt get his first ring last season he as well as the heat had a amazing season.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zergmare
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Zergmare is loaded.
Additional information about Zergmare could not be loaded.
one word everyone........ Epic!
Posted 7/19/11
This game will be the best game to come out in 2011 PERIOD!
I want to settle a topic that everyone is talking about, and that is the cover of NBA 2k12.
As much as I would LOVE to have one of my Portland Trail Blazers on it, It should be the best overall player of the year, regardless of what team the player is on. It shouldn't be anyone who has already had a cover, we need new faces on the cover. It could be a member of the Dallas Mavericks, or Derrick Rose for being MVP, but what about the players that are overlooked and deserve it just as much? Give that a thought.......
reply to my post with who you think it should be on the cover.....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for NBA 2K12
This is gonna be beast
Posted on:6/4/11
momobay25
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Nba 2k12 is going to be beast I just know it. I got 2k11 and I love it. Come on 2k put LeBron on the cover not D-Rose. Lets go heat we can beat the mavs.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NBA 2K12
My True Un-Bias Opinion of the Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/11
Makeufamous
Location: ATL, Jawja
As you may have read from previous post on this site, I also feel this game under achieves on so many levels. There are a lot of smoke and mirrors when it come to 2K12. When you first put it in you are wowed by the graphics and presentation. Which is quite possibly the best in any sports game, but soon after you begin to play you will notice that the gameplay is far from stellar. The CPU cheats quite a bit this year, even more than last year. Cherry picking full court passes, physic cpu defenders (which plagued last years game as well), terrible pass logic, and GOD awful defense makes the experience frustrating for most. Not to mention the suspect online servers that are constantly down. And My Player....OMG!!!, what a joke!!!
The game need a serious patch to repair the issues that plague NBA 2K12, and there is no telling when that will be. As a person mentioned in their review the game seems rushed and incomplete. It is almost like an early build of the game, still in the early stages of development. And that is not good @ all.
In my opinion, if you don't already own this game just wait until a patch is released for it to see if the experience has improved. Or either just stick with 2K11 for now. Trust me many people are not liking this game this year. Just look on 2K sports forum and read the complains, or either look on YouTube. I bought this game on Oct. 4th the release date and best believe I have buyers remorse. I want to love this game but I just can't!!!! 2K dropped the ball on this one!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Me speaking on some of the issues with NBA 2K12
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 18 for NBA 2K12
2K12 :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
Bent
Location: Trenton,Nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I personal do not like this game because i dont have as much fun like i doo with 2k11 and down..Dont get me wrong this is a very good game great graphics good gamplay..IT is worth the money but 2k11 is better if u anna have a little more fun! Cant wait for 2k13!!,.......ADD ME ON XBOX LIVE...LAVATION 420
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for NBA 2K12
A thriller like no other
Posted on:7/11/11
MrSportsSpectacular
Location: Atlanta,GA
2k12 has it going for them and 2k12 will rock the house i hope my player has new options and 2k12 meets most of my needs in a regular game but 2k12 overall will be a thriller like no other
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chain123
florida
 
Please wait while more information about chain123 is loaded.
Additional information about chain123 could not be loaded.
lil post
Posted 7/17/11
man it shold be derrick ros e lebron jamrs dirk nowtiziki dwayne wade chris paul
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for NBA 2K12
What A Sports Game SHOULD Be.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/11
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There is no game that is without flaw...maybe Super Mario Bros. 3. That's close. This game is also close. Very, VERY close. It's perfect for just about everybody. 2K as a series has only been getting better. Player models, gameplay, game modes, layout, presentation, just about everything is pitch perfect. It's only getting better. This year's mode of "Who's the greatest" pits classic teams against each other and let's you put the debate once and for all. That alone could take up a decent chunk of time. My player is back and better than last year. Tweeks just about everywhere make it a MUST PLAY. The season mode is also beastly. The only downer is no rookies, but I can overlook that as the rest of the game is spectacular. I'm not good at this game. Quite far from it, but I know a good game when I see one. Pick this one up. You will not regret it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>