GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cave Story 3D

Having received tremendous acclaim in its previous releases on PC and WiiWare, Cave Story, an indie side scrolling 2D    action game, now makes its way into an all new dimension with Cave Story 3D for Nintendo 3DS. At once both a throw back to classic 2D action platformers and also the potential future of the genre, Cave Story 3D blends tight controls,      superb level design, and excellent story and presentation to deliver a memorable, addicting retro experience
Average Customer Rating:
8.714
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cave Story 3D
Review 1 for Cave Story 3D
I am stoked!
Posted on:5/3/11
Scubaduderich
Location: NY
I was introduced to Cave Story through the DSiWare version of the game and (to say the least) it was AMAZING even though it was like 8-bit, but that just adds to the style. The funny dialogue and charcaters combined with the action and fiction just creates the perfect blend for a game like this. This game is going to be AMAZING-ER. I heard there's going to be a mode where you can play as other characters such as Curly and King, but I'm not sure yet. Anyway, I'm totally stoked about this and I have been ever since Nintendo Power magazine announced it in their March 2011 issue game forecast. Long live Cave Story!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Cave Story 3D
no excuse not to pick this up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/11
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cave Story 3D is Cave Story unencumbered. It's Pixel's dream realized on a new platform for the masses, and in a form anyone can appreciate. While the new graphical style might lack the charm of the original's it's in no way bad – just different and, in a way, more appropriate. It's the definitive version of the game, with more content than ever before (even if it's only just barely more), leaving you no excuse not to pick up one of the most charming Metroidvania-style games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cave Story 3D
Yes!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/29/11
wulffman
Location: Rogers,Ar
I love cave story! I bought it for my 3ds when I got the eshop and it was awesome! This will be so much better and it won't be a download. I am going to get this.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cave Story 3D
Easily The Best Remake on 3DS to-date
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
StudioMeow
Location: Cos, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cave story is one of my favourite games of all time. It is also one of the best indie and metroidvania style games ever made. Seeing it in some of the early trailers had me worried about how good it was actually going to be, but i was proved wrong when i picked up a copy! The new music is incredible and suits the new graphics style. They made full use of the Nintendo3DS's graphics capabilities (however limiting they might be). I find this game to be very short however, and i constantly replay it, because it takes only 4-5 hours to beat (the long way around, too). But dont get me wrong, I fully enjoy replaying it, as it is fun to get different combinations of weapons and take an alternate path here and there. The 3D effect is incredible, but at times, too iincredible, and sometimes just bad. When you collect exp of take damage in 3D mode, the number hovers in measurable distance in front of you because they dont use the 3d effect. In the bush lands stage, one tree is put so far in 3d, that it hurts my eyes to look at it, because it pops about 2-3 centimeters off the screen. But despite is occoasional glitches, this is the best game I've bought on 3DS so far, and its got a nice lenticular box cover as well. Great job Nicalis!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cave Story 3D
A Fantastic Adventure!
Posted on:5/14/11
Megamanx50
Location: California, CA
Cave Story 3D is the 3DS incarnation of the cult 2004 PC freeware game Cave Story, starring a character named Quote, who has amnesia. He finds a village occcupied by creatures called mimigas, creatures being hunted down by "The Doctor". This version of the game contains brand new 3D graphics, of course there is the option to switch to the retro style of graphics from the PC/Wiiware/DSiware games. It will also feature modes from the Wii/DSiware games, including new modes! If you're having a hard time deciding whether or not you should buy the game, try the PC game, it really is fantasic. A possible must-buy game!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cave Story 3D
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cave Story 3D is Cave Story unencumbered. It's Pixel's dream realized on a new platform for the masses, and in a form anyone can appreciate. While the new graphical style might lack the charm of the original's it's in no way bad – just different and, in a way, more appropriate. It's the definitive version of the game, with more content than ever before (even if it's only just barely more), leaving you no excuse not to pick up one of the most charming Metroidvania-style games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cave Story 3D
Great
Posted on:4/28/11
MarioMan139
Location: California, CA
Hi my name (NICKNAME) Zack and if I could summerize Cave Story up in about one word...EPIC! I would highly reccomend this game to anyone who likes Kirby (for the walking feature), Zelda (The heroic story), and mabye a little Call of Duty (But only because of the graphic weapons so dont get the wrong ideas parents its not like every second you see blood. Its a very kid freindly game and it rocks!)
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YoshiFan34
 
Please wait while more information about YoshiFan34 is loaded.
Additional information about YoshiFan34 could not be loaded.
Gonna be Epic
Posted 5/15/11
At first I was a bit iffy about this game (yea I know all you cs fans are like, HOW DARE YOU) because of the terrible boxart. I know it's a little thing but cmon Quote and Curly looked like (lets face it) toys. But now they fixed the boxart, and even gave us some more pics. And it even comes out on my birthday!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Cave Story 3D
Easily the best remake on 3DS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
Ubernuber
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok so, I am a huge fan of cave story, ever since I downloaded the original on my computer, still in Japanese. It has come a long way since then. It has had ports on both wii and DSi they both were very good ports. But this one takes the cake! The environments are stunning in 3D, they tell you more of the story behind everything, the way the maps now curve around a plane or take shots from different angles is awesome. The sound is great, the way that all the classics are revamped and cool sounding. My only gripe is on the controls... They switched the shoot and jump buttons. I grew used to playing the original as A jumps while B shoots, it's really confusing going from that this morning to B jumps and A shoots tonight. But that's small. This game is great! Buy it if you want an awesome game for your 3DS
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Cave Story 3D
Finally a classic reboot. What? This early?
Posted on:7/18/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
Usually with great classic reboot they wait a whole 4 years at least to make it. A few examples, Pikmin. I loved this game. Everyday I waited for the sequel. It was 1160 days of waiting. Then 2 other games I really like, Monkey ball, and Chibi-Robo. But finally a company decided they only had to wait a few months! THANK YOU NINTENDO AND NICALLIS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
catwithhat25
 
Please wait while more information about catwithhat25 is loaded.
Additional information about catwithhat25 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/1/11
cave story came out back in 2004 as a freeware game for the pc, then it came to wiiware and dsiware, now they're remaking it in 3D with update graphics.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Cave Story 3D
Have high hopes!
Posted on:7/9/11
goomba
Location: Indianapolis,IN
I have played cave story on the computer and have played the demo on the wii. I have very much liked each of them. For any who have not played this yet, ( Shame on you.) get ready for a awesome platformer that has a great story, awesome worlds and huge bosses. If you like mario or metroid games, preorder this game right now. You won't be dissapointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cave Story 3D
Buy it, seriously
Posted on:6/24/11
agameprincess
Location: New Rochelle, NY
When I first saw this game in the dsiware, i thought it would entertain me for about a day. I was WRONG. The game has depth, unlike most of the games in dsi ware. There is a good plot, its kinda hard on easy mode, but its really fun. Out of the 15 dsiware i have i wold reccomed it to everyone.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cave Story 3D
AMZING!
Posted on:9/22/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
Cave story on wii was awsome in ever way! it is super fun u shode downlode it but this One looks even better i whant it ok. this game is going to be super! fun levils Nater insired Levil and Creater and power ups LOt off fun! it is Heavenly awsome Must have it! PS I want to do video reviews some day!
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cave Story 3D
A 3D Adventure by Pixel
Posted on:6/20/11
nionu21
Daisuke "Pixel" Amaya is the developer of games like Cave Story and Ikachan. All of his games are 2D, which is where his nickname "Pixel" comes in (if you want to know more about him, see the Power Profiles section of Issue 262 of Nintendo Power). This is the third time Cave Story has hit a Nintendo console. Because the world of Cave Story is so beautiful, this will be great, because you'll be able to see it in 3D. I'm not as excited about this as Super Mario 3D, but I'm sure this will be another must-have title for the Nintendo 3DS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cave Story 3D
I pre-ordered this one today
Posted on:5/25/11
Canine
Location: houston
I love metroid, my favorite game and series by far so felt I needed to pick this one up as seems it is being compared to that game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cave Story 3D
Pretty awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
Fionyx
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I haven't finished it yet, just got in fact. The game plays pretty well, and is pretty much like the original, except for the fact that it is BEAUTIFUL!
The graphics are amazing.
The game itself is insanely great as ever, but the incredible graphics and upgraded sound just makes the game so much more enjoyable.
If you liked the original Cave Story, you will love this.
If you've never played Cave Story, you will love this.
Play it. Now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Cave Story 3D
Perfect game,perfect story,perfect evrything
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/13
Rikumei
Location: Alabama,AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Three remakes already and it all started with one guy.I can't put the game in words it's AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Cave Story 3D
The dark visuals killed it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Tiro
Location: charelston, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Due to the new graphics, it makes the game very hard to see, especially in 3D. I would very much reccomend skipping this and purchasing cave story + on the dsi store this fall.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cave Story 3D
Can't Wait!
Posted on:5/13/11
NamineAndRoxas
Location: Boston, MA
Geez I LOVE Cave Story. I have the Nintendo DSi version and im only 1/2 way through but its awsum! Need money, but when I get money, I'll be driving straight to Gamestop!
Review 19 for Cave Story 3D
i think it will be asome
Posted on:6/30/11
fallafeman
Location: syacuse NE
i loved it for dsi were so i cant wate to se how it turns out
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lol33
 
Please wait while more information about lol33 is loaded.
Additional information about lol33 could not be loaded.
i cant wait
Posted 7/5/11
i heard about it in a game informer magazine and wanted to get it . i got it on dsi ware and loved it. i cant wait!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)