GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Generations

Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognizable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and the Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favorite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game.
Average Customer Rating:
9.315
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (161 reviews)
10 stars
59
9 stars
21
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
90 out of 9298%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Generations
Review 1 for Sonic Generations
FUN! AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
GottaGOFast
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
(LATE REVIEW) I love this game. Sega is doing great and i have hope for Sonic yet. Classic sonic stages are so nostalgic. They re-implement everything from Classic Sonic games.. and make them better! 3D Sonic is a blast also! Ive never really like 3D Sonic but they just make it so fun! The graphics and scenery are just amazing <3 Another reason i love this game is because of the graphics and gameplay. While youre charging at 5000 mph you are given enough time to admire the scenery. (Green Hill Zone especially) If youve played classic sonic games, you will LOVE this. If u want to get into the series, you will fall in love!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Sonic Generations
out standing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/13
benny7089
Location: New york, Ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
MY sister loves this game and so do I. I cant say it is the best but this game is really really cool.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Sonic Generations
BEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
Sonicthehedgehog1998
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
BEST GAME EVER!!!!Modern gameplay is cool,Classic cool,the stages are incredible,the music incredible,all this game is incredible!combine perfectly the 2d with 3d gameplay,and much extra missions and unlockables,my favorite stage is Crisis City Modern,awesome game!10/10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Sonic Generations
Such an Addicting but Almost Unknown Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/13
GamerToTheMaximum
Location: Green Hill
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I remember when I was young, I would always wake up to playing either Mario or Sonic. That's mainly why I own a Wii and an Xbox 360. When I heard about Generations, I was on a hot tail and waited for a reasonable price drop. I always rented the game before finally purchasing a copy. The game is almost perfect! The graphics look better than ever, the gameplay is addicting (except when I'm going too fast and I bump into a block very frequently, UGH), and you will be on the time trails for hours to come after you beat the game. I recommend this to mainly party gamers, but also everyone else who has an Xbox. TRY IT!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Sonic Generations
cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
renfindzl187
Location: carson city
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is awesome cause of the good graphics and the game play cause im a sonic fan and everybody should play this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Sonic Generations
Fun, Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
Ninjadoggy101
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game a while back, and it is awesome. Short, but still very fun to play over again. When I bought this game new, it worked perfectly fine, and it always worked!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Sonic Generations
sonic generations is a perfect game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
zjmiazga
Location: angier nc 27501
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Perfect for hardcore sonic fans the gameplay is amazing best sonic game since sonic unleashed i hated sonic unleashed. they should have stuck with regular sonic all the way through not that stupid warehog.
sega really screwed up in 2008 when they launched that stupid game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Sonic Generations
UMM!THATS ALL!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/12
nickolodoen
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
THIS GAME WAS A WASTE OF TIME I FINISHED THIS IN 3-4 HOURS OF CONTINOUS PLAY.I RATHER PLAY SONIC ADVENTURE 2 LOL! BUT ANYWAY IT WAS GOOD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Sonic Generations
this brings back so many memories
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
lordpit
Location: birmingham,alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awesome sauce even classic sonic has a good control now and in modern sonic boost a remix of a song comes th graphics are gret and sega keeps coming up with these graet soundtrack this is also in my opinion this is the best sonic game ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic Generations
Great Job, Sega!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
Tazilla1
Location: North Carolina, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really looking forward to this game. I had a feeling that it would be a good Sonic game. Boy, was I right! Finally a good Sonic game! The graphics are beautiful. Almost all of the levels are designed perfectly and are playable. The best thing about this Sonic game is that you can play as classic AND modern Sonic! Another great thing is that most of the old Sonic levels we know and love are back in HD with remixed music. The only downside is that the story isn't so great, and the game is short overall, but hey, atleast that doesn't effect the gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonic Generations
Great but pretty short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/12
hottycleod
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Generations is a awesome game,but the game wasn't what I thought it would be like. For the past few years Sonic games didn't have characters like Tails, Knuckles or Shadow playable. Also, multiplayer Sonic games made the game fun.Now the games are just single player.I also like Sonic games were they have big hub worlds like Sonic 06 and unleashed. I even thought Sonic Generations was going to have classic characters like classic Knuckles and Amy.I love Sonic, I'm a huge fan so i'm not critisizing him or anything.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonic Generations
Blew our collective minds.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Unboundilms
Location: Statesboro Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Buy this game, just do it. One of the most pleasent surprises of 2011. Coming in just behind Rayman Origins. If you've ever been a Sonic fan, you owe it to yourself to buy this. Pure. Gaming. Bliss.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Generations
A Sonic Fan Must Have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
SheaDocShadow
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game has levels from arguably the greatest courses in Sonic history. I preordered this game last summer, and when I play it, I'm just taken in awe of what a great comeback Sega has pulled out. I've been a Sonic fan since birth, and this is a great game to make up for the less popular games such as Unleashed and Colors. I loved this game, a must have for true Sonic fans
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Sonic Generations
Great Game But Needs to be Longer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
FoxBro
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I played Sonic Generations for the first time I thought it was great but as I was finishing the final boss I thought I could have been a little longer. But overall it is a great game. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Sonic Generations
Sonic Makes a Comeback
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
MCFunkmasterFlash
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Generations traces key moments in Sonic's history. In Sonic Generations, you will revisit great stages from Sonic's past, such as Green Hill Zone and Chemical Plant Zone. You also get to play levels from Sonic's more infamous games such as Crisis City from Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) or Rooftop Run from Sonic Unleashed, but these levels are incredibly crafted. You get two acts for each stage, where you choose to play as 'Classic" Sonic and play 2D, or as "Modern" Sonic and play 3D that changes into 2D and back. The sense of speed is incredible, just as it should be in a Sonic game. The Boss battles are memorable boss battles from previous Sonic games. Sonic Generations also includes outstanding remastered versions of original music, which will bring nostalgia to any Sonic fan that's been with him since the beginning. The graphics are so vibrant and colorful that you will probably die a couple of times looking at the detail of the environment in the background than the enemies right in front of you. There are rivals to battle, side missions, and "hard mode" versions of boss battles to keep you occupied after the main game is completed. The stages are fun to play over and over to try to beat you best score. There is also bonus content to unlock, such as concept art and more music that you can play during the action stages. Although this is an outstanding game, it has a few cons, such as some of the side missions seem pointless and can be frustrating. Other than this, Sonic Generations is a wonderful Sonic game that makes Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) almost forgivable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Sonic Generations
Best Sonic Game Since SAB2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
Velli
Location: 12590
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game really is great. I would've put 8.5 if I could've though. Only because the story is kind of short and not that deep. But the levels are so fun, and have plenty of replay value. There are little extras to collect and such, of course. But I would replay them purely for the scenery and gameplay overall, Sega really got it right with this one. They spared no details when designing the levels.. everything is beautiful in the game. And the music is amazing as well. This is an excellent game for all Sonic fans. I'm a long time Sonic fan so this game really brought me back, had me saying wow, and was quite nostalgic. Now, I just hope Sega can top this.. something that can rival Sonic Adventure 2's epic story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Generations
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
Hamburger
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The game is great. If your a fan of sonic get it. I've played the computer version of sonic before.This is way better. The game is fun but if you don't play E or E10+ games any more and think there boring the games not for you. Honestley I don't get that many E or E10+ games any more but I do get some like sonic genarations and lego games. The games great though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Sonic Generations
one word, AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
keyon1234
Location: philadelphia pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game brings me back to the classics as i am a classic & modern fan but it gives give you that modern feeling for the both classic and modern sonic,as the game brings you back to everything that was in the past for sonic the hedgehog fans. for the more classic gamers modern sonic will also be an okay feeling but mostly in the side scrolling sections,because you are pressing the forward button and not the right button. so this game gives you that reminicent feeling in the lasting apppeal....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonic Generations
Great!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/12
UltraManiac9000
Location: Planet Reach
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was an amazing flashback of the classic sonic games, mixed with modern Sonic as well! any die-hards dream. Being a die-hard fan myself, I always loved Sonic, mainly for his speed, attitude, and, of course, the gameplay. Sonic Adventure 2 Battle is my all-time favorite, so I was pumped up about City Escape. I have a few problems with the game, though: 1. Didnt last long. 2. I really wished they didn't have 2-D in the dreamcast era, for it would of been just like the old times. (same gameplay mechanics.) 3. They added too much in my favorite levels, so it didn't feel right. For me, those were minor problems. One of my favorite parts was the challanges. I did them mainly for the songs. Getting your favorite song in the challenges gives you a great feel of accomplishment. It was a great game overall, and I storongly reccomend you get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Sonic Generations
okay game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
tozdog
Location: pittsburgh pa
well i bought it at midnight launch and i went home and played it and it kinda woke me up of how bright it is i think its a great sonic game but it was really hard at 3 section of worlds
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>