GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Generations

Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognizable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and the Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favorite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game.
Average Customer Rating:
9.319
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (163 reviews)
10 stars
60
9 stars
22
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
92 out of 9498%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Generations
Review 1 for Sonic Generations
2 Sonics= 2x the fun
Posted on:6/26/11
NintenFreak88
This game is looking AMAZING. I would pre order this right now, because this is gonna sell VERY fast when it comes out!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Sonic Generations
Awesome Trailer
Posted on:8/28/11
KevlaR760
Location: Oceanside, CA
If you guys wanna get hyped you should check out this fan trailer I found. It DEFINITELY makes me want to buy the game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Check out this Sonic Gen Trailer
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic Generations
OMG I WANT SOOO BAD!
Posted on:10/19/11
mastercheez
Location: FL
I have been a sonic fan since the release of sonic the hedgehog 3 an i am defiantly getting this game! Some things you you didn't know about sonic generations: there are 3 eras, megadrive, dreamcast, and modern. The rival in the megadrive era is metal sonic, and the main boss is the Death egg. The rival in the Dreamcast era is Shadow, and the main boss is Chaos with all the chaos emeralds. In the Modern era the rival is Silver, and the main boss is new to the series and if you ask me it looks like a mechanical dragon.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hiro666
Moorpark, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Hiro666 is loaded.
Additional information about Hiro666 could not be loaded.
Egg Dragoon
Posted 10/21/11
It's Egg Dragoon from Sonic Unleashed.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sonic Generations
Sega just take my money!
Posted on:10/23/11
Anonymous
This game looks like it will be the best in the series. The modern section are not "boost to win" anymore there is actually some fun looking platforming, as for classic sonic... I think he can speak for himself!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
seaside hill looks amazing!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Sonic 4 Episode 1
7.8 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Generations
THE TRUE BLUE SONIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
NickThePick
Location: Charlotte,NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
20 years ago Sega created the beginning of an era. And 20 years later along the way Sonic has been the biggest success along the way. This video game is what shows the true color of Sonic. As this video game gives a blast through the past. And now Sega collides two generations to one epic adventure.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gameman99
Los Angeles,CA
 
Please wait while more information about Gameman99 is loaded.
Additional information about Gameman99 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Wrong Trailer
Posted 1/24/12
The trailer at the beginning and the end is wrong.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sonic Generations
Sonic Generation
Posted on:10/15/11
ninetailedfox63
Sonic Generations is going to be awsome! I am going to preorder it and run like the wind!!!!!!!!!!! But the money is totally worth it so get a going! God Bless you all!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic Generations
You must preorder
Posted on:7/23/11
123supertoasty
Location: North hampton, NH
This game looks great and preordering it sounds cool because you get a dlc pack. By sega's news this game so far includes sonic tails and metal sonic.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Sonic 4 Episode 1
7.8 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GitaClu
 
Please wait while more information about GitaClu is loaded.
Additional information about GitaClu could not be loaded.
Sonic rulz!!!
Posted 9/17/11
I love sonic games but i have a question.... how come the other countries get the good stuff like the special edition of Sonic Generations but america doesn't? What is so special about other countries getting the best editions and we don't? That sucks!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sonic Generations
sonic & sonic
Posted on:6/22/11
silver23
Location: puerto rico
cant wait sonic generations is going to be the best sonic game ever but ther i sonic generations 3ds and ps3 silver rulez
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonic Generations
sonic best game
Posted on:9/7/11
esonic23
Location: huntsville,ala
i'm glad sonic best game 20 years games long time i want play it. but find it new sonic special colletion check pic.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SonicPokemon
United States of America
 
Please wait while more information about SonicPokemon is loaded.
Additional information about SonicPokemon could not be loaded.
Why not in America
Posted 9/28/11
My special needs grandson is so looking forward to this game coming out. But he is so happy about the bonus. Not the stupid stuff that I just found out about but the Sonic collection that I now understand is only coming out in Europe. Not fair, not fair at all. My guy will be heart broken. He has already picked out a spot on the shelf for the Sonic toy. So sad they didn't tell us that when we pre ordered the game. Thanks for letting us know on here.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sonic Generations
Can't wait!
Posted on:5/1/11
BoyScout54
Location: Mankato, MN
Being a Sonic the Hedgehog fanboy since I was born, I am personally looking forward to this game. 20 years and still going strong! I like the idea of bringing the old Genesis style gameplay/design and mixing it with the Next Gen gameplay and HD graphics. It really blows my mind.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Sonic Generations
2 sonics one game one cause
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/12
keyon1234
Location: philadelphia pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
in this awesome game its been 20 years of sonic the hedgehog and this was made to celebrate it . this game has stages from all the other sonic games such as { sonic the hedgehog 2 sonic and knuckles and sonic colors and many more}
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Sonic Generations
Truly amazing for anyone who like Sonic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
Aeiric
Location: New Pal
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is by far one of the best I have ever played. Tails doesn't have an annoying voice, Omochao is optional, the levels aren't too challenging with the normal routes, but some of the optional and faster routes are pretty well hidden. The game is, however, very short. There are 18 acts not including the challenge maps. The controls feel very responsive, and the action is fast, but it's not purely a racing game. There are plenty of platforming sections, with both classic and modern sonic. Classic Sonic doesn't feel exactly like he does in his genesis days, but that's fine because he still controls really well, and he is just as fun as he was back then. You can also buy the original Sonic the Hedgehog, with unlimited continues optional. There are also plenty of skills you can buy, and plenty of replay value, because the more you play the better you learn the maps, and the more you learn the maps, the faster you can beat them. I had fun on every level except the last (possible spoilers) planet wisp. Thanks for reading, and this game is amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Generations
Sega has finally listened to their fans!
Posted on:4/25/11
mariogamer45
I like sonic games just as much as I like mario so for them to come out with a gorgeous looking sonic game where you can play as classic sonic and modern sonic in 2D and 3D levels is amazing. Lately though I have been disappointed with the 3D sonic games, as they have been horrible and off track on what made sonic adventure and sonic adventure 2 so good. I think that sonic adventure 1 and 2 are the best 3D sonic games. If you haven't played sonic adventure 2, go rush over to gamestop and buy a pre owned copy because it's amazing for the gamecube. I also thought that sonic colors was horrible as well as sonic unleashed, except for the day stages. Sonic 4 was okay, but still not the best retro revival. There are plenty of other 3D sonic games that I have not mentioned that are horrible too, but hopefully Sega will get it right this time.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
legalamerican
 
Please wait while more information about legalamerican is loaded.
Additional information about legalamerican could not be loaded.
Posted 5/15/11
i love sonic and all its games, but i feel there needs to be another game with the chaos, those little guys were the best
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sonic Generations
Better late than never
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/11
hrdcrgmr
Sonic gameplay should have been like this for quite some time now. In the 1990s after the release of the N64 and games like Mario 64 and Ocarina of Time, I imagined Sega would make a console with a 3D Sonic game like this one to compete, just like they did in the Genesis era. They didn't really come through, though. I really did like Sonic Adventure, which came later, and I even liked Sonic Adventure 2. But after that Sonic took a really awkward turn. A lot of people, including myself, will say this is the game Sonic fans have been waiting for. Good old-fashioned super high speed Sonic action.
In this game, there are nine levels, taken from past Sonic games and re-created to fit into this game (three of which are from Genesis games, which makes me really happy). There are also only four bosses. There are two ways to play each level. Classic 2D Genesis style is one way. It's what some call "2.5D", where the gameplay is entirely two-dimensional, but the graphics give it depth. The other is style 3D. The 3D gameplay is linear, it resembles that of a race track and it's really well implemented. You have to beat both ways in order to progress through the game, but once you complete it you can replay any way you want at any time. Also, you collect the chaos emeralds in this game, and you can transform into Super Sonic during a stage after collecting 50 rings, just like the old days. Awesome!
There was ONE act that I really hated. It was taken from Sonic Colors. I know Sonic Colors received well in ratings, but I personally did not like it. This act, to me, felt like a ditch in an otherwise excellent game. It felt more like a puzzle game with barely functional controls than it did a platformer. But you only have to complete it once, so at least I didn't have to go back to it.
There are also "challenges", you can do them after you complete a level. Each level has there own set of challenges, and you can do them in either 2D or 3D. You have to do at least one challenge for each level to progress in the game. They're not THAT hard, but hard enough to make you try. I don't really like the challenges, but you don't have to do them after the game is beaten and all you want to do is play through the levels and beat your records.
Now the story... yeah there's a story to this whole "generations" thing. It's pretty... strange. I don't want to spoil anything, but basically past Sonic and Robotnik (that's right Dr. ROBOTNIK. I've missed that name) got time transported into the future. That's pretty weird to me, but at least all the gameplay feels just as it should, and that's mostly what matters.
**Overall, A+ material. Very good level design, very good camera angling, great music, great controls and super fun. I seriously hope that Sega continues to make games with gameplay like this one, I've been wanting 3D Sonic gameplay like this since the 90s. Also, if they do make games like this one, I hope they include multiplayer and the option to choose Tails.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic Generations
Great Game for everyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
Anonymous
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The games is very exciting to play. It brings back the old and new things that sonic has to offer. Sonic is back and better than ever i just got it yesterday and must i say thank you sega for listening to your fan. Even though many new fan doesn't like it for some unknown reason doesn't have to give a bad rating. At least it not as bad as the superman game on N64. Back to the matter at hand the game is very crisp and refreshing. I think everyone will love playing this game as it got a good rating by everyone except the moronic magazine cover of game informer. Anyways sonic generation is a good game for everyone and anyone to enjoy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonic Generations
perfect for those who want a great action/platform
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
helixo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is so amazing! it sounds great, it looks great, and it feels great! really, this is the best game i've ever played. i reccomend it to almost everyone. do yourself a favor and buy this game. BUY IT! you won't be dissapointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Generations
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
supersmash34
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Generations jumps in right at the start. Before any cutscene, you play act 1 of green hill zone as classic sonic. After that, the plot really takes off. You have nostalgic acts and bosses, and the cutscenes are really good. Even though the controls are difficult to master at first, you can really get the hang of it. This is one of the few sonic games that lets you play as super sonic in any level. He has a better jump, unlimited boost, is invincible and looks really good. But he is not anything different from past super sonics. in fact, minus the boost, he is a lot like super sonic from sonic 4. Sonic 4 stunk, but the super sonic was pretty sweet. Now lets look at sound track. This game has every soundtrack you could hope for and lets you switch from default music to great songs like"His World, Endless Possibilities, Reach for the Stars and Knight of the Wind" among many others. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys sonic. No matter how long you've been a fan, (in my case, 4 years. Yeah, I know, failure) you can really enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sonic Generations
This is why I love Sonic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
Berserk
Location: Dallas, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Thank you SEGA and Sonic Team for another good Sonic title. Sonic games were excellent in 2010 with Sonic and Sega All-Stars Racing, Sonic Colors, and Sonic 4. Although I heard Free Riders was pretty bad. Sonic Generations brought back the wonderful Classic Sonic and wonderful levels. All the levels are remade and music is remixed which makes you want to play them over and over again. I also love how they brought back the main characters from the modern Sonic games like Cream, Silver, and Rouge that you haven't seen in a while. They also added Challenges which makes this game even better! I also love the Collection Room. That room brings back lots of memories! This game is a perfect Sonic title. This hedgehog had some rough titles through the years but the good thing is Sonic is still alive. Happy 20th Anniversary Sonic the Hedgehog!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonic Generations
Mario's gonna HATE this...
Posted on:8/12/11
RythmicReaper
Location: Boston, MA
Holy cow! This game looks INSANE! SEGA, you're looking good!
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
sonic in 3D!
Posted 9/30/11
i agree mario is a nice guy he,s sonic,s fraend now. but this game looks sweet but il than the 3DS one is better!
Customer Avatar
SR388E102
WA
 
Please wait while more information about SR388E102 is loaded.
Additional information about SR388E102 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Mario's gonna love this game.
Posted 8/19/11
I thought mario and sonic are friends now. But great preview! :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Sonic Generations
The Epic Return Of What Made Sega #1
Posted on:7/24/11
Review1
Location: New york,NY
Listen....you may hate me for this but...Im not really much a Classic Sonic fan...Yep...I just said that.The only two Classic Sonic games I ever enjoyed were Sonic 3 & Knuckles,and Sonic CD.I never knew about Sonic Adventure untill 2008.But before those years I always used to play Sonic Games.Modern Sonic Games.Like Sonic Adventure 2,Sonic Heroes,Sonic & The secret rings, Sonic The Hedgehog (2006),Sonic Unleashed,And a lot more!After those years I have noticed two new hedgehogs have joined the Sonic The Hedgehog Series.Shadow The Hedgehog,And Silver The Hedgehog.I have enjoyed those characters while playing the game...even if they were not playable...I enjoyed to see them in the game.The characters were Some what special to me...It felt comfortable for them to actually make an apperance in games.But as years went on...I did not see them in A LOT of games.Sonic Unleashed,Sonic Colors,Sonic and the secret rings,Sonic 4,ETC.I heard that Sonic And Classic Sonic will be the only playable characters.That worried me.I thought that they wont make a apperance in ANOTHER game.But then I noticed Something.All of the Sonic characters lost there voice actors...except for Eggman.But In Sonic free Riders...They reaveled there new voices.So I still had hope for them to at least make a apperance in the game.I was right.Shadow and Silver will be two bosses in the game.And other wise this game should definitly be a game fro Classic and Modern gamers
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
battlewarfare3
 
Please wait while more information about battlewarfare3 is loaded.
Additional information about battlewarfare3 could not be loaded.
YES!!!!!!
Posted 9/25/11
saga i loved sonic the hedgehog-adventure battle 2 the new ones i hated but after sonic colors you are going in the right direction.everyone will love this game preorder it NOOOOOW!!!!!!!!!!
Customer Avatar
SR388E102
WA
 
Please wait while more information about SR388E102 is loaded.
Additional information about SR388E102 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
There's good news!
Posted 7/26/11
In the June issue of Nintendo power, in an interview with franchise producer and Sonic Team head Takashi Lizuka. He said that "the console versions of Generations will feature a large cast of characters, but the N3DS version will only have the ones who are integral to the story."
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>