GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games

Arriving on Nintendo's new handheld system for the first time ever Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games contains over 50 original Olympic themed events playable in both single and multiplayer modes. Bringing a whole new dimension to the Mario & Sonic universe, the glasses-free 3D visuals and the unique control systems mean there are plenty of new and exciting ways to compete for a coveted gold medal!
Average Customer Rating:
7.571
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1457%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Review 1 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Great for a week then boring
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
BlackPlumb
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I got this game a week ago for free. At first I wanted to sell it but I wanted to try it out. I played some events and it was fun. Certain characters you can only be for certain events, like you cannot be shadow for all events just a few. it has a story mode, its not bad the story does kinda suck but you get too see a lot of characters. If you try hard enough you can beat story mode in less than a day, when you do beat it theres extra story Bowser Jr. It does not interest me though. It has multiplayer local and download play no online.
The bottom line is if your looking for a game to keep you entertained for a couple weeks to months this isnt your game. Its cool for a week and a half then boring. I never played multiplayer but it would be fun with it. I would not get this game if you have no one to play with.
Its not a bad game it just gets highly boring after awhile and i'm going to trade it in alone with sticker star.
BTW the story is cheesy. Don't expect a good well though story.
I would recommend if your looking for a good party game to play with people but other than that you wont last long.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
BORING
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/14
0123456
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is okay, but way too boring. The controls are dumb, too. I was expecting WAYYYYY better from SEGA.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Stick with M & S at Beijing.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
Diarrhea
Unless you really like minigames, I'm not sure you'll like this game. This was a huge disappointment. I loved the 2008 and 2010 games, and I thought this one looked great because of all the events it has. But, I found that they are basically just minigames. The marathon is just a water bottle-grabbing minigame, and badminton is just a minigame of how well you can judge if the shuttle will go in or out of bounds. Every event seems like it should go alongside with something bigger, but there wasn't anything bigger. Character selection was also limited. There are classes of characters, like "Heroes", "Wild Ones", etc. Each event only allows a certain class of characters to participate. I was totally bored with this game after trying each minigame only once or twice. If you want to play a Mario and Sonic Olympic Game, stick to the Beijing and Vancouver versions on DS.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
mario and sonic 2012 olympics 3ds, WHY???
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Mario and sonic at the london 2012 olympic games was very fun, for the wii, the 3DS version however is not fun at all. remember those full sport events and amazing dream events the wii version had? well, this version has none of that, instead we get weak events and a terrible story mode. The 3ds version had more events than the Wii version, but these events are mostly just mashing buttons, like the 100 meter sprint event, here's all you need to do to win first place in the 3ds version, hold the A button until the race starts, then mash the A button until the race ends. also the boxing event, all you need to do is hold the a button the let go of the button before your opponent does then, you win. also remember how you could select any character you want including you mii in the wii version, say goodbye to that, here there are 5 teams of characters set for each event and that is ridiculous, who wants to see bowser and the other 3 power type characters playing tennis? also the absolute worst part,in the weightlifting event, you have to YELL AT YOU 3DS MICROPHONE, WHY... just why? also this game is not very portable at all, because a lot of games involve using the 3DS gyroscope, you move and tilt the system and this can be fun, but this game really doesn't know it's limits with it. almost half the event's involve using it, the only half decent events are the ones that use only the buttons and stylist. but they are so overshadowed by all of these other events. now to the story mode that I mentioned earlier, what happens is Bowser and doctor Eggman are mad that they didn't get invited to the Olympic games so use a fog machine to cover the city in fog. WOW!!! that's probably the worst video game story I ever heard. my two favorite villains in video game history team up and the best they can come up with together is covering the city of London in fog, that's really sad. anyway you find evil fog versions of mario and sonic and other characters and you must defeat them all, now how do you defeat them? you play against them in Olympic events this makes no sense, so eventually you make it to Bowser and Eggman and instead of an epic final boss fight, you play against them in regular olympic events. WOW that's the most pointless thing i have ever seen. so if you want to play this game get the Wii version, you will have fun with the wii version way more than the 3DS version.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Nice game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
spongedude
Location: maryland
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was the first 3ds game I ever played and I enjoyed it a lot. The game has amazing 3d qualities and an excellent story its also really fun with it having Mario and sonic in it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
gr8 game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
Twitterfan356
Location: aurora,co
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game's grapics pop out at you and have a very large and fun seletion of mini games and competions.I have to say this game is the best when played with 1 -3 other people i luv it sooooo much really
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
mario and sonic at the london 2012 olympic games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
rockstar321
Location: fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is amazing. it is better than the wii version. but there are some times where to win an event you have to do something foolish (blowing into the microphone, shouting at your 3ds, etc) also in those events you have to bend your 3ds and it will sometimes go back down. but this should not be a problem if you have the 3ds xl. so overall it is fun. and it realy is the only phisical game for the 3ds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
GOOD GAME BUT WON'T LAST YOU LONG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
hello gamers and welccome to my next review which is mario and sonic at the london 2012 olympic games. if you choose adventure mode it starts when bowser and eggman strike again. they have built magical fog machines that will ruin the olympics for everyone. the fog also creates these fog clones of the main characters and you must beatt them in various olympic events. there are 5 main stories. heros girls wild ones and villans. heros are mario luigi tails and sonic. girls are peach daisy amy and blaze. wild ones are knuckles DK vector and bowser. the villans are wario waluigi eggman. the other group of people are shadow bowser jr silver and yoshi. even though there are over 60 events the game won't last long. you can also make your own medley. the 60 events are fun to play and use a wide variety f controls to use. from track and field and water events to contact sports and shooting events. so overall this game is pretty good and I recommended it to a 3ds owner
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Needs more events
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
3dsbum
Location: Conroe,TX
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The events are accurate, and the storyline is neat, but the events get old real quick. As for the 3d, beware all you 3d freaks (I am not one). The 3d is probably the WORST i've EVER seen. Some abilities are neat like the online score chart, but some are missing like online gameplay. You can only pick from four characters per event, and to make it worse, the game decides which four. Finally, the only reason I would recomend it to everyone is because you can play with four friends via local wireless.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Great!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
bobbyflabby
Location: bloomington il
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Mario sonic at the londen 2012 olympic games is an excellent game, great graphics just as were on the wii version, very good story and has many excellent sports. All most no flaws except for one thing, for certaint sports you can only play certaint characters, like on judo you an only play walawigi, wario, eggman and metal sonic, but other than that the game is perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
silver54
Location: Honolulu,HI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love this game so much that I might don't trade this!If you're a fan of Mario&Sonic,get this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
Rockfancy
Location: Maryland,MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game has a great story mode, a multiplayer mode, and great 3d effects. The graphics are really good for a 3ds game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Bad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
Mariosonic
Location: Zionsville,IN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played the first game for ds and then I got this game which you get a choice from 4 random characters. If I want to be sonic while riding a horse you can't. It makes the game really annoying. The directions are confusing and the games have no point.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
5 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
not bad, not bad at all
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
nikkimel56
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This isn't a bad game after all. I bought it on valentine's day and It was pretty fun. I wish they would have mii's in the game though. The story mode is pretty cool. The 3D animations are ok, they're not really 3D like, but they're kind of 3D. The sports are really fun too. First, I thought this game would be bad, but I've learned a lesson. Always try the game to see what you can experience about it. So, if you like mario and sonic, you should get this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Looks fun and awesome
Posted on:2/10/12
MLBChris
Location: Fayetteville, NC
I downloaded and played through the demo like 10 times already, and couldnt stop. And that was only 5 of the games! there are many more in the full version. the M&S at london is one of the only or first 3ds games that really does take full advantage of the mic and tilt feature of the 3DS. All together, this game looks much better than the other ones for DS, and will be fun to play with friends through download play. Cant wait to get it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
silver54
Honolulu,HI
 
Please wait while more information about silver54 is loaded.
Additional information about silver54 could not be loaded.
Great for Mario & Sonic fans!
Posted 2/19/12
If you're a fan of Mario & Sonic,get this game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
GOING TO BE GREAT!!!!
Posted on:2/7/12
knucklestheechidna
Location: New York, NY
this game is going to be great. i have played the demo on the nintendo shop and have loved it and am looking forward to getting it. it has over 30 events great sonic characters and great mario characters. the wii might be more enjoyable but the 3ds is portable. i am not shore that it is online but that won't really matter. i am looking forward to playing as knuckles
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
DEMO
Posted on:2/3/12
Le99killa
Location: Maryland,MD
The Demo is awesome. I cant wait for the real version. For all those who have a 3ds, go to nintendo e shop and get the demo. ITS FUN
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Will be Kinda Dispointing
Posted on:2/2/12
nikkimel56
This game in my opinion will be disappointing. I even saw the trailer and first I thought that it would be good game and it'll be fun, but then i thought of all the ds versions of mario and sonic and how they were really not that fun. They were OK but then they just got boring. The trailer was disappointing too because all you basically do is just move the 3ds around and press random buttons. The wii versions of mario and sonic were the BEST!!! So if im disappointing alot of people that want this 3ds version of mario and sonic, sorry to disappoint you, but this 3ds version of mario and sonic will be terrible.
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Demo is Awesome
Posted on:2/1/12
jking340
Location: Marietta, GA
I tried the demo from the nintendo eshop and the game seems amazing. I have Mario and Sonic at the Olympic winter Games for my wii and I love that too. The demo of this game is awesome with the tilting, buttons, circle pad, and stylus ways to control. I have also watched some videos for it and I am surely going to buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mario and Sonic: London Olympic Games
Demo
Posted on:1/26/12
VolleyKing12
Location: Virginia, VA
There's a demo on the Nintendo EShop, and I really like the demo. I'm definatly pre-ordering this game.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>