GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: The Run

It's called The Run. Three-thousand miles of unforgiving asphalt from San Francisco to New York. No speed limits. No rules. No allies. Armed with just his guts and instinct, Jack battles a field of the most notorious drivers ever assembled. Dense city streets, icy mountain passes and narrow canyons push his driving skills to the limit. Relentlessly hunted by the police, as well as the men who want him dead, Jack is racing for his life.
Average Customer Rating:
6.368
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
12
8 stars
13
7 stars
3
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
11
50 out of 8757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: The Run
Review 1 for Need for Speed: The Run
The Run
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/13
L069
Location: Norfolk,VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Need for Speed The Run is not a terrible NFS game. It is just not good. The main problem with this game is the story. It is not in an open world so the game get boring. Plus, the lower tiered vehicles weren't involved with it. The other two issues were the loading times and online. The loading times were ridiculously long. This played a role in the horrible online system. Online would put you into races in progress and you would lose and the loading times made it worse. The three pros in the game was challenge series which I was happy EA brought back, the graphics and the vast car selection. The graphics are especially great when you get to the east coast on your way to NY where the autumn looks almost life like.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: The Run
Intense Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/13
masterMDW
Location: westerville, ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has some of the best racing and a great story line that you wouldn't expect from a racing game, and if you like racing this is the game for you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: The Run
This a good overall game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
Justm3
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would recommend this for people that are more hardcore, because at parts this can get hard and be hard to pass certain levels. I liked this game, but I was disappointed about the lack of free run. I would keep playing if there was free run. The graphics are not the best, but they are good. The sound is pretty good. The game-play is action-packed and I would say this is pretty good. I thought there would be a twist like in Need for Speed: Undercover unfortunately no.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: The Run
Worst Need For Speed of ALL.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
NeedforSpeed16
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
EA Black Box is back into the driving seat for "The Run". At first I was excited because for the first time ever you were outside of your vehicle. However it wasnt all good, when you leave your car it is interupted by dumb quick time events which arent quick at all, time slows down and they tell you what button 2 press. The cars are great and there are many of them but its not the same Need For Speed we always loved for being fast. Car handling is tedious, AI is rubberbaned, and you can't replay a single event you have to do the WHOLE STAGE OVER! EA Black Box did a poor job if Criterion helped them maybe it would have been better.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: The Run
Don't listen to the bad reviews
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
Petepat97
Location: warminster,pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I can admit the story is dull but that's not why I bought this game I bought this game for the cars and races just like any other true need for speed fan. This game is a great buy
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Need for Speed: The Run
POO
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
HAZEEN
THIS GAME IS NOT FUN. SOME PARTS ARE TOO HARD. SOME PARTS ARE JUST DUMB AND MOST OF IT IS TRASH. JUST GET MOST WANTED
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: The Run
Just not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
AppleMan09
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was just horrible. I excepted more from this. It doesn't even have free play were you get to drive around the city on your own. What kind of car game is that? I am highly disappointed in NFS. I returned this game the very next day.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 8 for Need for Speed: The Run
amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
jemster
Location: 07017
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i would prefer buying this game than getting nfs most wanted limited edition because in nfs most wanted you cant play online like a regular online game u neeed a online pass i dont want to go through trouble getting a online pass
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Need for Speed: The Run
Amazing game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
TheReverend
Location: Sandover Village, Haven City
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the Run the day it came out. I played it, and loved it from the start. But I stopped playing after a week or two, and got a little irritated and bored. Irritated - because, I was played on Extreme Difficulty, how hard it is to drive cars in the Run, and the Online servers suck. Bored - because it doesn't have any customization or free roam. I love the game though. It has a good story, outstanding graphics, & the soundtrack is absolutely amazing. I see many people hating on the Run, and I can see why - since it's not a "true" Need for Speed game. I don't blame them, but still, I don't hate the game. It's very fun, although it gets irritating on some moments. I'd say it's worth the money, so go out and buy the Run if you have the extra cash!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: The Run
game play
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/12
matt90
The game is great except for actually playing it. The graphics and sound is good. Even the story line is alright. But you can't do the whole race your actually racing about 20% of it. Then when you get in to playing there is no customization to parts to tweak it. When you try drifting around a corner it does a 180 degree turn on you. Which can be frustrating when you are getting shot up by the MOB. Then when you go off the road just a little bit it resets the game automatically and its very slow to reset itself. So overall if you want to be pist off the whole time your playing, you definitely should get this game. Would not recommend, definitely not one of the Need for speed games I am used to.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed: The Run
AWSOME GAME,GREAT GRAPHICS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
Kendo
Location: Newark,nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is realy good, and fun. It realy kills your boring time and entertains great when you play and it has awsome graphics and sound thats like the most i like about it, it needs an ofline multiplayer thats the only problem i think everyone would love that and the fact that it cost 29.99 is a great price i payed around 50 two weeks after it came out ... But still if you have not got it and looking for a great car racing drifitin game this is the one ighte
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Need for Speed: The Run
This game has horrible car design
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/12
RAC98
Location: Wheeling, WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my third game for my PS3, and it is awesome. It is on the edge of your seat racing game it is like a movie. But when you are driving, the cars rear end looks rounded, like the Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 It looks horriable. The places that you drive through like Yosemite National Park It Looks AMAZING! Overall a really fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Need for Speed: The Run
Might have been fun if....
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
yermom
Location: Omaha, NE
If I didn't have to sit through all the movies. I didn't buy a GAME to watch movies, I bought it to play the GAME. I took it back within 1 hour.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed: The Run
good and annoying
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
Boodles97
Location: lake worth, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its fun until you get online. theres to many glitches. youll be in first place then a car will spawn and youll have to look at your wreck for 5 hours. in that time youll lose about 5 spots.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: The Run
Kinda Good/Bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
aDMiiin3421
Location: Geoegia,GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game Is Good I like all the cars they put in it. but the only thing i hate about is deres no quick race i mean no free roam at least quick race & challenge series is not like quick race were u pick da track & Car!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AC3Assassin
Birmingham, Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about AC3Assassin is loaded.
Additional information about AC3Assassin could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Correct
Posted 7/31/12
That is all I ever want from a NFS Game, I have a lot of their games but in this one, I really thought wow this looks good, but when I bought it it turned out to be a big disappointment, Free Roam and Quick Race are the main thing people use in their NFS Game but they took it out, Really?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Need for Speed: The Run
NFS, Is This Really Worth It?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm Sorry but I personally disliked the game, to me it wasn't fun I know Need For Speed is about Street racing and all but this truly didn't appeal to me, I loved NFS: Underground, NFS: Carbon, and I went out and spent 40 Dollars on a game I thought would be fun but turned out disappointing. It isn't the very worst game I have played, I don't hate it enough to return it I just feel it isn't worth it. My expectations were high but were crushed after I saw how bad the Gameplay can be, Some might not agree with me but I personally never liked it. I would however suggest the Assassins Creed Series, That series is my favorite series and I will always love it, they never disappoint me,
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Need for Speed: The Run
how disappointing this game is
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
udn2km
this is the worst game i ever played made by ea. they should start making the old nfs they r messing up the new ones
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Need for Speed: The Run
Very unique!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
TheReverend
Location: Sandover Village, Haven City
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got it when it first came out cause it looked so amazing, but it wasn't AS amazing as I thought it would be. I mean, the story is killer! It's just fantastic. It really is. Just...when you first play the story, don't go for the hardest difficulty. That's what I did, it's pretty easy for me, but at the same time, not too easy. You have to be good at racing games. Real good. The game was put together greatly, the graphics are gorgeous! It has an amazing picture capture system. Example: When you pause the game when you're playing solo, you go to the picture capture option and move to the angle you want the picture to be taken...if your car has damage in the picture and makes it look bad, you can turn the damage off! (Only for the picture) So it's pretty cool! The online mode? No, terrible. It's like Call of Duty multiplayer...when you try to join a lobby, not all the time, but most of the time, it puts you in a match that has already started. It's almost impossible to get to first. It puts you in one of the last positions! Also, the servers are bad. The other online options are pretty cool, though... So if you like unique racing games, get The Run. It has an interesting story.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Need for Speed: The Run
Don't Listen To the Other Reviews.. LISTEN TO MINE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
KP17
Location: someplace.. uhh lets see.. hmm.. idk?!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Run. An amazing game with extreme action. People criticize it because they either hate Need for Speed or give it such a negative review. Think about it.. when there is a game with a plot to go from San Francisco to NYC, is there really going to be OPEN WORLD?! Most Wanted is out in October or just get Midnight Club (extremely good open world racing game)! C'mon people! It's a straight out race from San Fran to NYC. So enough hating by me to other reviewers, let's get straight to the point. This game is very fun from start to finish and you get trophies for each stage finished. The sound is so amazing that when the chopper does shoot at you, it feels like a Hollywood blockbuster right in front of your face! You constantly have to be on watch in the game because it (at times) can be very easy to hit oncoming traffic (in which I did in Aspen a lot on the Hard difficulty). I played this game a lot, but it got boring after a month or 2 in which most games I get bored with much quicker than that. The only reason I gave it a nine was that it froze and all of my data was gone! Normally, I would've been annoyed, but, I was playing other games more frequently so it didn't bother me to much. I imagine it was the PS3, not the game. And yet, the other thing that is so good about this game is that there is a HUGE CAR SELECTION W/CUSTOMIZATION! THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!! BUY IT! I PROMISE YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED! :) you don't have to be a diehard nfs fan anyway. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: The Run
They could've done better :L
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
Tehstreetrac0r
(I got Limited Edition). So when I got this game I couldn't wait to play it. It looked so awesome! When I played it and got to the spot to pick my car, I was going to pick the Camaro. But it said "LIMITED EDITION" I was highly confused. I mean the box actually SAID Limited Edition (duh), and I know what you're thinking. "You didn't look at the disk did you?" Well I did it WAS Limited Edition Disk. So I just picked a car. Anyway, Everything else was fine while I was playing it. It wasn't too bad, nor it wasn't too good. :L I kinda freaked out when I saw you had to buy an online pass, when I DID HAVE THE LIMITED EDITION. So I wasted the online pass and I'm waiting for a PSN Card pretty soon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>