GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: The Run

It's called The Run. Three-thousand miles of unforgiving asphalt from San Francisco to New York. No speed limits. No rules. No allies. Armed with just his guts and instinct, Jack battles a field of the most notorious drivers ever assembled. Dense city streets, icy mountain passes and narrow canyons push his driving skills to the limit. Relentlessly hunted by the police, as well as the men who want him dead, Jack is racing for his life.
Average Customer Rating:
6.368
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
12
8 stars
13
7 stars
3
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
11
50 out of 8757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: The Run
Review 1 for Need for Speed: The Run
Worst Need For Speed of ALL.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
NeedforSpeed16
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
EA Black Box is back into the driving seat for "The Run". At first I was excited because for the first time ever you were outside of your vehicle. However it wasnt all good, when you leave your car it is interupted by dumb quick time events which arent quick at all, time slows down and they tell you what button 2 press. The cars are great and there are many of them but its not the same Need For Speed we always loved for being fast. Car handling is tedious, AI is rubberbaned, and you can't replay a single event you have to do the WHOLE STAGE OVER! EA Black Box did a poor job if Criterion helped them maybe it would have been better.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: The Run
Must Have For Racing Gamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/12
Funn12
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Story Mode is well Done not to complicated and and it makes you feel like you are actually in the RUN racing for your life. Challenge Mode is intereting and well designed with diverse challenges and with the implementation of Autolog Speedwalls it makes it more interesting racing to beat your rival friends best times. Online mode is FLAT OUT FUN,go online and show off your skills with drivers around the Globe makes for loads of fun Although the biggest draw back i would say is the fact that you occasionally get kicked off line in online mode which makes it frustrating at times and causes a loss of interest at times in online play. I would like to have seen a little better graphics and a better soundtrack for the game and also would like to have been able to invite more than 4 friends into a playgroup in online mode. Otherwise i highly reccomend this game for any Racing Enthusisist as it is realatively easy to drive and the more that you Race the more you want to race.I find it hard to put down at times. If you're a Racer Go out and get your copy you won't be disappointed .
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Need for Speed: The Run
Absolutely Atrocious
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
JCF3
Location: Boston
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Graphics - 10/10, Sounds 10/10 - And that's all the recognition this trash deserves. Do not buy this title, waste of money. Every car handles like a boat. There are so many unreasonable resets when driving on a dirt shoulder and sometimes you can crash into a bus going 200 and no "rewind", you just keep going. Not sure what's up with that. Whoever took over the NFS series after Most Wanted has continued to fail on a yearly basis to put out any sort of comparable title to what the Need for Speed series was in the past. Seriously, you people at EA have made an embarassment out of the NFS franchise ever since ProStreet and you continue to deliver failure titles yearly to true NFS fans and probably will never put out a great title again. Apparently the guys at EA choose to ignore the garbage ratings that get delivered each and every single year to their awesome newest installment in Need Fail Speed series and do nothing about it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: The Run
AVOID AT ALL COST! SAVE MONEY on a better game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
Guitarjojo
Location: Dallas,Tx
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Bought the game Saturday Night 11/19/11 - 4 hours later I am watching the credits screen. The game was too short. The resets are set so bad that on turns that you should be able to make resets and makes you start over again, The ending race you could literally sit idle for 5 minutes straight for the first part of game and then pick up controller the game makes the racer slow down so you can catch up...there is not control of when you get out of the car . Just too much hype and not enough done for the game...for a game you pay 60.00 for you would think you could trade this game toward something worth playing but This Store GS will literally only give you 21.00 for trade..we are talking 48 hours after purchase people!!!! this game sucks beyond belief DO NOT BUY! You will cost yourself more money than you spent.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Need for Speed: The Run
Awesome With One Flaw
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/12
johnnie117
Location: Oakland, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome gameplay wise and graphically as well as with sound... Its a very good game but i myself am more for games where i can actually customize my car to make it my own... Usually i lose interest very quickly in a game where i cant but this game kept my interest to the end...So if you like racing games id say give this one a chance
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: The Run
Resets and Limitations
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/11
nygamer1
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved Need For Speed Hot Pursuit! I loved it so much that I pre-ordered this one, hoping that it would be better...its not, its worse.
Driving a car in the game is fun. The handling is unique and is a mixture of the arcade-style and simulation. However, it can be very frustrating. If you get off-road by a few inches, you will need to reset. And the fact that the roads are very slim and you need to avoid traffic while trying to pass opponents, doesn't help. Often times, you will crash because you don't want to slow down in a race just to avoid obstacles. Not to mention, your opponents will magically withstand any collision and will continue while you will simply wreck your car, only to reset. During police chases, it gets worse. The police seems to only care about catching you. In Hot Pursuit, it was much more even with a little more emphasis on your car. However, in this game, the police seem oblivious of all of your opponents. They push your car off-road and what does that mean? That's right, reset. Did I mention, resets take way too long to load? That's another minor issue.
Environments are great as well. But there is no free-drive. If you want to play a certain race over again, you need to play an entire stage. In other words, once you complete the cross-country race, you have major limitations as to where you can race again...unless you try the challenge series, which is mediocre.
Cars are also an issue. There are many cars to choose from (some of which, I have no idea why they are in the game) but there is no organization in the game. You are severely limited in what car you can use and when. Often times, if you unlock a car, you are not notified and if you want to use the car in the run, forget about it.
Since there is no free-drive, you cannot choose a car and simply drive. In the challenge series, you can choose only certain cars for a race.
The game had an awesome idea but failed to pull through because of several limitations for the player.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: The Run
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/23/11
Mathison029
Location: Butler, PA
This game looks really good and looks even better than Hot Pursuit. I really like the car list of this game and finally they put my favorite car manufactur of all time back in the serise Pontiac. I'm also happy that they finally put in the 1977 through 1978 Pontiac Firebird Trans-Am. Also the PS3 excluive cars are cool too 2011 Lexus LF-A, 2005 Porsche Carrera GT, 2006 Koensigg CC-X, 2010 Bugatti Veyron Super Sport, 2011 Hennesy Venom GT. Hopefully this game wont be a major dissapontment like Hot Pursuit was. Anyway can't wait only 2 more months ^^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: The Run
would look good without getting out of the car
Posted on:6/11/11
yonugtan1020
Location: none
i think this game will be great but i think they couldve done away with the getting out of the car doesnt seem traditional like need for speed usually is. they shouldve made a game where you start in san fran and drive straight to new york but you could take anyway you want highways, interstates, etc. and have police trying to stop you along the way but along the way you have to buy gas and repair your car if it gets damaged but when that happens then your competition would have a leg up on you and you would have to find ways to beat them but they also can have obstacles that inhibit them but thats just my ideas lol sorry
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: The Run
NFS MOST WANTED
Posted on:9/1/11
Thismonkeyiscool
Location: oklahoma
Hopefully this game will go back to be like NFS most wanted the greatest NFS up to this date
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: The Run
Worst NFS in the history of the NFS franchise
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
Mathison029
Location: Butler, PA
This game was fun at first but after having too reset all the time when you go off the road was really annoying. Another annoying thing was that you can't even use 2 of the 6 Limited Editon cars like the Bugatti Veyron Super Sport and the Hennesy Venom GT I mean whats the point of having 1200 horseporwer if you can't even use it. It was one my most annticpated games last year like Uncharted 3 and I kept checking the games website every Thursday since July and It was a complet let down. Also the button pressing cutsenes were very annoying too I only like those in Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5 I don't like them in racing games!!!!! So don't waste you $40 dollars on this garbage get something better like Shift 2, Gran Turismo 5, and Forza 4. This game is just a complete waste of time and money if you want a NFS just get one of the older titles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: The Run
Can't wait!
Posted on:7/30/11
Demonslyr23
Location: Rantoul, IL
I preordered this game today seeing as I am a HUGE need for speed fan. I have purchased every need for speed game since need for speed underground. I hope that they dont ruin the series by adding the cinematic on foot sections but I still want it. Heres hoping its as great as the others!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: The Run
One Of The Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
AJBOOMER1
Location: CALI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
1st off let me start off by saying this is one of the best Need For Speeds games ever just got it on 3/3/12 this is coming from someone that has and has played all of the Need For Speeds games from day one DICE / EA have down a great job 10/10 for me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N1gamer
Tennessee
 
Please wait while more information about N1gamer is loaded.
Additional information about N1gamer could not be loaded.
It's an OK game
Posted 6/2/12
This game is OK, but not really good. You never really play after the story mode, which had a very weak ending. I was very dissapointed that it did not have a freerun. This game had alot of potential . EA knows better than this. This felt like a stepback for the franchise. I got very frustrated at some places. This was VERY dissapointing
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Need for Speed: The Run
Oh yeah this is what i'm talking about
Posted on:5/3/11
dee1356
Location: south carolina sc
Man this new need for speed the run is gonna be off the chain and i would like to say thank you black box from ea for creating the need for speed the way it should be this is gonna be the best ever since hot pursuit 2 and most wanted.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: The Run
Don't Listen To the Other Reviews.. LISTEN TO MINE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
KP17
Location: someplace.. uhh lets see.. hmm.. idk?!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Run. An amazing game with extreme action. People criticize it because they either hate Need for Speed or give it such a negative review. Think about it.. when there is a game with a plot to go from San Francisco to NYC, is there really going to be OPEN WORLD?! Most Wanted is out in October or just get Midnight Club (extremely good open world racing game)! C'mon people! It's a straight out race from San Fran to NYC. So enough hating by me to other reviewers, let's get straight to the point. This game is very fun from start to finish and you get trophies for each stage finished. The sound is so amazing that when the chopper does shoot at you, it feels like a Hollywood blockbuster right in front of your face! You constantly have to be on watch in the game because it (at times) can be very easy to hit oncoming traffic (in which I did in Aspen a lot on the Hard difficulty). I played this game a lot, but it got boring after a month or 2 in which most games I get bored with much quicker than that. The only reason I gave it a nine was that it froze and all of my data was gone! Normally, I would've been annoyed, but, I was playing other games more frequently so it didn't bother me to much. I imagine it was the PS3, not the game. And yet, the other thing that is so good about this game is that there is a HUGE CAR SELECTION W/CUSTOMIZATION! THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!! BUY IT! I PROMISE YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED! :) you don't have to be a diehard nfs fan anyway. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Need for Speed: The Run
Very unique!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
TheReverend
Location: Sandover Village, Haven City
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got it when it first came out cause it looked so amazing, but it wasn't AS amazing as I thought it would be. I mean, the story is killer! It's just fantastic. It really is. Just...when you first play the story, don't go for the hardest difficulty. That's what I did, it's pretty easy for me, but at the same time, not too easy. You have to be good at racing games. Real good. The game was put together greatly, the graphics are gorgeous! It has an amazing picture capture system. Example: When you pause the game when you're playing solo, you go to the picture capture option and move to the angle you want the picture to be taken...if your car has damage in the picture and makes it look bad, you can turn the damage off! (Only for the picture) So it's pretty cool! The online mode? No, terrible. It's like Call of Duty multiplayer...when you try to join a lobby, not all the time, but most of the time, it puts you in a match that has already started. It's almost impossible to get to first. It puts you in one of the last positions! Also, the servers are bad. The other online options are pretty cool, though... So if you like unique racing games, get The Run. It has an interesting story.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: The Run
RUN, good name, but is it a good game?
Posted on:6/14/11
PilotSalem7687
Location: North Bergen, New Jersey
Need for Speed the Run is basically one big huge race across America. The maps look amazing with extremely good detail according to where exactly you are in the country. This big race is good because America is very big and you experience snow, rain, dessert, tornadoes, microbursts, humid areas, and just about any kind of climate and driving conditions from Arizona to NYC. NYC has many roads that are very busy with a city driving experience. Arizona has straits in which you may find a snake on the highways, which are not as busy and are very few lanes compared to NY. this makes you really travel in places you want to drive in and never get bored of the driving experiences. also the cars in the RUN are a whole new level. amazing car graphics with real licensed cars. The Police cars look really cool. But the best part of the RUN is YOU CAN GET OUT OF YOUR CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HOW COOL IS THAT!!!!!! while you are out of your car there may be shots from a helicopter at you and you might get in to a fight with the cops and steal their police car at the end of the fight if you don't get arrested. its kind of like GTA4 but with much better graphics when you are out of the car. also there is no guns or weaponry when you get out of the car. that is my favorite part, getting out of your car.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: The Run
one breathtaking trip to spend ur nite on
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
Katamari
Location: Astana, KZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I guess people who wrote negative reviews don't own the game. Only the owner can appreciate all goodies the game reveals to you mile by mile, location by location and opponent by opponent.. The only disappointing thing is underdeveloped RPG part, where some location-based navigation for the character could be added for better understanding of controls. Anyway RPG part is not long, so you can get used to it like in some scenes of Mirrors Edge. Well, the overall after-taste for the game is a taste of realities in which you lived during this amazing trip. Thank You NFS RUN team!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: The Run
Not too sure
Posted on:7/22/11
Barracudakid68
Location: Chicago IL
Well Im not to sure how this game will be. I like it old school. Need for Speed Underground. I like to customizing and the actual street racing. Most wanted was good but the cops go to be too much of a pain. I think they need to come out with another Underground just a newer version. That was about the street and no exotics. I liked that.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Need for Speed: The Run
Good but could have been better.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
Cobra24
Another reviewer said it best, "too much limitations on the player". Pre-ordered the game just to take the Aventador for a spin, turns out that car is not available until the very end of the game and can only be used until the very end of the game. Certain tracks are very fun and don't pose much of a problem as they are very open and makes dodging very easy while others are fraught with frustration. Do not buy this game, however it is worth a rent.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: The Run
Looks great!
Posted on:10/29/11
Mepher7
Location: Vermont
I dl'd the demo for this and was astonished at the gameplay. The graphics were awesome! I will be buying it, but at a later date seeing as MW3 comes out a week prior to NFS.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>