GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: The Run

It's called The Run. Three-thousand miles of unforgiving asphalt from San Francisco to New York. No speed limits. No rules. No allies. Armed with just his guts and instinct, Jack battles a field of the most notorious drivers ever assembled. Dense city streets, icy mountain passes and narrow canyons push his driving skills to the limit. Relentlessly hunted by the police, as well as the men who want him dead, Jack is racing for his life.
Average Customer Rating:
5.942
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (162 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
8
8 stars
9
7 stars
9
6 stars
5
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
8
44 out of 8651%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: The Run
Review 1 for Need for Speed: The Run
A Decent Package Overall
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
Hof406
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Run is a fun experience overall. The PROS are the campaign is fun and varied. There is a lot of depth in the game if you take the time to do the series challenges and online modes. The graphics are nice, not as polished as say Battlefield (which also runs Frostbite 2), but the destruction is great. BEFORE YOU BUY, this isn't a racing simulator, it's an arcade racing game with a few physics engines. THE CONS are the campaign is short, the handling can be a learning curve for some cars, the game's AI always seems to catch you in balance the gameplay, and running off the road even just a tiny bit can result in a race blowing reset. OVERALL the game is solid package that can provide a lot of good racing entertainment. I personally enjoy racing online now. 7 OUT OF 10.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: The Run
too hard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
theian
Location: newcomerstown,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the graphics are perfect. the sound is great. the story is amazing!!!! the way it plays out is perfect. this game would be a very easy 10, if there was not one very big problem. it is WAY TOO HARD!!!! can't even finish it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: The Run
the title speaks for itself
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
dondread26
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
compared to the other need for speed games this one would be the best. actually doing some driving then hit circuits laps. the cars are much better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: The Run
Not good.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
Shamus
My first review on The Run described how much I loved the game. My first impressions were genuinely good. The first mission was really good, but when you enter Stage 2, it gets really bad. The controls are horrible. One tap of the brakes will have you spinning out of control. The graphics and sound are still good, but the gameplay is ruined by atrocious controls. I still loved the beginning of the game, but I got a serious reality check. I would not recommend this game, and I consider it to be one of the worst, if not THE worst in the Need for Speed series.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: The Run
Awesome!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
Shamus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Run is the one of the most underrated games I've ever played. I know a lot of people would disagree, but I personally love it. I like the graphics, the storyline, the sound, everything. Some cars are a little hard to control, and the missions do get a little repetitive, because you're always trying to gain race positions, and make up lost time, and stuff like that, but the game is great nonetheless. For NFS fans, race fans, and hardcore gamers alike, I strongly recommend this game. If you give it a try, you won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: The Run
Not just a racing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
ftw365
Location: canaseraga,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is beyond a racing game.
This has haction and it's a non stop thrill ride
I hate racing games but i'm glad I gave this a chance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: The Run
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
MaqDiesel
Location: Columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
As the NFS Series has done well and bad, for the right price I figured I would give this game a try. As it was NOT done by Criterion like Most Wanted and Hot Pursuit, this game lacks.
Not only does the "story" mode lack, but the car list, the gameplay, the feel and look of NFS. This game puts a sham on EA's name having it under their belt.
Now I loved Carbon, Pro Street, UG, UG2, Most wanted, and Hot pursuit, but this game isn't worth the $16.19 I paid for it! Even with $15 worth the free DLC on the Limited Edition buying it new, it still is a hard bargin to pay 19.99 new for! And if Limited Editions are still around this long after the games release, what does that say about the game??
Now if you still wanna consider the game after my warning, here is the run down. You are Jack, he is wanted by the Mob, nearly escaping death, he manages to get away. There is a "cannonball run" from San Fran to NY and the winner gets 25mil, that would settle the debt and then some. That is the story not much of one but hey this is EA and NFS we are talking about.
The gameplay is easy, boring, very repetitious, I played for about an hour and made it to Sector 2 out of 10 and driving time was only about 14 minutes......... As much as I would like to say something good about this game, I honestly cannot, except the new price of $19.99 for the LE version.
I do NOT recommend this game to anyone!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Need for Speed: The Run
it is a really good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
ryansmt
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it has good graphics and good sound and it looks like real life and it has really good fast cars in it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: The Run
Not Good
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
1PieceOfAce
Location: Maine
well..... the places that you race in the end of the game are the same as in the beginning only reversed. The people you race in the end are racers you passed much earlier in the race and somehow they get in front of you. Not to impressed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: The Run
I have NFS in my blood,but this version...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
speedfreakjj
Location: wadsworth ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am pretty sure I have played every incarnation of NFS by now,from the original hot pursuit on my gamecube,to the first most wanted on playstation to versions of underground on my psp and xbox to all the recent releases on the 360 even the new version of most wanted so I can say I am NFS. I know the history,the stories(as shallow as they normally are),and the characters(also,as shallow as they normally are),and with the total lack of the new most wanteds story it was nice to play a NFS game again that had some direction,purpose,and face to put to the game.I know,I was late to the party having just snagged this game and this weekend having beat the run 1.5 times,yes I went halfway thru a second atept till I got bored,and also played every challenge,even the dlc ones and yes even beat the toughest one in the game with a 3 min. 5 sec time. Again tho a chief complaint,the cars do not become personable or worth remembering. You never feel much connection to your car as you constantly drive different ones in the challenges and in the run you constantly pull over to try new ones hoping the grass might be greener,but you never truly love any of your cars and cant even tune them,just some visual body mods and paint options. The cars sound amazing but it is another NFS game lacking an in car camera. I have come to love the in car camera and prefer to drive any racing game from gran turismo to dirt and forza and nfs games when the option is there,but since the run lacked it,I had to drop its rating in my book,to be a real racing game,you must drive from the cockpit,not overhead like riding in a helicopter using an rc car or plastered low on the front bumper like a dead moth. Overall the game was a fun experience for a cold winter weekend in ohio and for a cheap price,but it wont stick in my memory like other racers have and it will probably never get spun in the xbox again but for those people with NFS in your blood you should give it a play,either get it cheap or rent it thru gamefly but either way it is worth some miles,but for the majority,yeah,wait for something better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed: The Run
this game is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/12
Anonymous
Location: las vegaas
First off the way you begin the run is awesome the action button sequences are great, very exciting. The way the cars handle is great . the game is very difficult on the extreme level but very rewarding to pass. the challenges are great . its a nice change up to the regular hours and hours of customizing cars and driving against loser racers. they need to make a second part.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Need for Speed: The Run
Not as good as it could've been.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/12
NFSFanforlife
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: party gamers
NFS The Run was one of the most disapointing games i've ever played, It was over hyped before its release and I felt like the NFS franchise has started to go downhill after NFS Shift was released and I thought that The Run was NFS Hot Pursuit except it had a had a few different features but overall this game isn't what it could've been.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: The Run
good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
Yomama7299
Location: mpls. mn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is good but nothing great. good animation and addictive makes you want to play again and again. It bad part is no two player and somtimes it feels like you flip out and crash a lot. It can get annoying at times and the runs 2 hours so not long at all. Overall its just good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed: The Run
All graphics and no game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
DisneysBlam
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The title really says it all. Bad story, bad gameplay, amazing graphics tho I wouldn't be surprised if that was the main focus in development. I bought this game new at Walmart for 40USD one evening, played it, beat it, and took it back the next morning (yes the story is also very short). Unfortunately, since Walmart can't refund games that have already been opened, I traded it in at GameStop. I assume it got alot of sales since I got $29.95 in store credit. Luckily this happened around Christmas time, and GameStop were doing a "buy 2 get 1 free" sale. With that, I managed to get 3 older games of the same genre; Split/Second, Blur, and Test Drive Unlimited. Check these games out. The're definitely more worth playing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: The Run
Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
activnightmare
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Very good for 20 dollars any day . Good gameplay but short but that is why there is challenge series and online .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: The Run
WASTE OF MONEY
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/12
dunkman
Location: colorado
i got this game for about 60 $ when it got out and WOW i regret it !! this game sucks the story mode is stupid you can even pimp out your own ride and its jst boring !! i passed it in like not even 2 days !
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: The Run
Fun but not that great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
becoolio
Location: shaker heights,ohio
i got this game when i got my Xbox 360 and i liked it alot cuz im not used to racing games. Then i played forza 4 and realized this game is only okay. only buy it if you are a hardcore fan of nfs
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: The Run
Game was very bad, don't even try.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/12
GoodDog4
Location: Creedmoor, NC
The idea of the game was pretty good. "Yay, 250 racers that I get to race all at once." I was wrong, just 6 racers per 7 miles of the entire race. There's nothing like getting bumped, over correcting, running off the road 3 feet and having to restart the entire race. Pretty good graphics, but when you take a sharp turn, brakes are basically useless and you run straight off the road if you're going over 50 mph.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: The Run
Okay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
becoolio
Location: shaker heights,ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is very fun but after about 2-3 hours it get very boring/repetitive. the graphics are really good but the cars handling is pathetic. overall pretty good
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 20 for Need for Speed: The Run
great premise, terrible execution
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
USArevenge
Location: Maryland
The idea of the game was a 250 person race from one end of the country to the other. sadly. if they didn't tell you that you wouldn't realize it.
every race has a set number of racers.
Going in I was hoping 250 racers meant if I did really good I could end up in first place earlier on in the story, and If i did bad It would be harder to because I would have to make up lost time. Unfortunately everything is scripted. if your mission for the race is "pass 6 people" then there are only 6 racers in the entire map. and if you only pass 5 you get to restart.
the driving is ok and easy enough to do, crashing into AI is pointless though as they seem to get back in the race very fast.
the story is nothing really either. basically u owe the mob money so you are racing to pay off the debt or something.
nothing in the game stands out as special, the sad thing is it could have been. if you actually raced from 1 side of the country to the other in a massive 250 person race it would have been great but its nothing more then another arcade racer, you just happen to move west to east in terms of where your next race is.
Value $15 tops.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>