GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: The Run

It's called The Run. Three-thousand miles of unforgiving asphalt from San Francisco to New York. No speed limits. No rules. No allies. Armed with just his guts and instinct, Jack battles a field of the most notorious drivers ever assembled. Dense city streets, icy mountain passes and narrow canyons push his driving skills to the limit. Relentlessly hunted by the police, as well as the men who want him dead, Jack is racing for his life.
Average Customer Rating:
6.023
6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
9
8 stars
9
7 stars
9
6 stars
5
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
8
46 out of 8852%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: The Run
Review 1 for Need for Speed: The Run
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
DJ27
Location: Auburn, Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is so awesome i think everyone into cars should get this game sooner or later. i love this game so much
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Need for Speed: The Run
Should be good
Posted on:4/30/11
Psych
Location: Woodstock, GA
ok first of all, the Need for Speed series is pretty cool. The Hot pursuit was pretty good but wasnt has i had hoped. In this latest installment, the cops will actual shoot at you. this is amazing! take the good customization of the need for speed series and then add gunfire and you will have a killer game
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Need for Speed: The Run
Best Racing Game I've Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
DaDawg
Location: Raleigh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The only reason I think this is because I don't play a lot of racing games. I do think it is better than what most people rated it, but that's their opinion not mine. I really do like the cars they put in this & other NFS games.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Garage
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: The Run
WE DONT GET EXCLUSIVE CARS!?!?!?
Posted on:8/22/11
xLeMoNNaDeSx
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
I just looked at Playstaion 3's version and it said that they will get 7 exclusive cars along with the limited edition content! Including a Lexus, a Bugatti, a Koenigsegg, and much more?!?! And we dont get them! The Lexus L-FA is my favorite car and it would make me very upset if I never got to drive it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
assent
SD
 
Please wait while more information about assent is loaded.
Additional information about assent could not be loaded.
Underground 3 Please EA
Posted 8/24/11
EA need's to pull there heads out of there donkey butt and make Underground 3. Everywhere I go I see people say hey, EA make Underground 3 or Most wanted 2 but we all know that carbon was a sequel to MW. Anyways all we are saying is give underground 3 a chance. cause John lennon would if not for us for him ea thanks. And take of the stupid online codes to play multiplayer please just stop being greedy STOP!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Need for Speed: The Run
Great idea but please
Posted on:8/20/11
2k12Phenom
Location: Lamar, Ar
This need for speed game looks like a great idea. And i will say that it cool how they added the little mini games and stuff. Uk like in the gameplay footage where your running on top of buildings with guns going off next to you and your in a race for your life. But with all that said im still disapointed. Need for speed franchise has basically been a letdown for a while now for one reason. You cant customize your car no more. Need for speed need to do like the old Midnight club 3 game did. You could get any kind of car from cadillac to hummer to ferarri and trick it out however you wanted. You could make it a speed demon. Or you could make it for looks. I had a hummer on that game one time with 22 in wheels bright pink with purple body and green tint windows. Hidrolics. all that fun stuff. And ya it was all pointless. But it was entertaining. Now in racing games all you can do with cars is buy them and race them. And thats it. Then once you finish the story your done. I want customization. And so does the rest of your fans. Please
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: The Run
Inside story
Posted on:11/8/11
MaqDiesel
Location: Columbus, OH
With Micheal Bay helping EA on this title you may expect a more in-depth storyline. EA bought out Porsche licensing, and the Frostbite engine to improve the graphics. With gameplay much like NFS: Hot Pursuit. It will be a title much like that, just with a different car selection, realistic map(s), and a storyline. The Autolog feature is back in this title, for rival modes. EA is trying to deliver the edge in racing, as they do arcade-style racing better than simulation racing. This will be another title I rent before buying as NFS: HP, became really boring and dull, really fast. Not hating on EA or NFS, but they don't have the edge they once did with the "tuner" racing games, i.e. carbon, most wanted, undercover, underground and underground 2. In this title you will be racing from Cali to New York in an attempt to finish first, having the cops on your tail, along with heart racing roads to keep the edge and deliver a "good" racing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: The Run
Not Even a Rental
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
BurstTRX
Location: Corning, NY
I have been a need for speed fan since the series started. Ive played every entry in the long standing racer and as it stands, the runs is in last place. My first issue with this game? The control. Not the control scheme, thats fine, its how the cars handle. There like tanks! I own a 1998 Durango that tirns corners better than most of the purpose built RACING MACHINES! Speaking of racing machines, why can mob suvs loaded with ticked off gunmen out race my Audi R8? And for that matter, how does a nissan 370Z keep up with a pagani? The ballance issuse are not that big of a deal, i mean how exiting would it be if you could just blow away all the competition, but the horrible handling is not at all excusable. The second problem i have is how short the game is. I beat this game in three hours. THREE! I guess its probably a good thing due to the fact that if it was longer It would have just prolonged my suffering. In conclusion, unless you are such a massive NFS fan that you cant possibly miss a single title in the series, NFS the runs is best avoided.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: The Run
UNDERGROUND 3
Posted on:5/17/11
bigdaddy2929
Location: Portage, Mi
Yawn... bring on NFS. Underground 3 thats what i want large amounts of parts,cars,neons,bodykits that dont come in a whole set i want interchangeable everything,Races on streets NO more pro,BORING.
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: The Run
Give This one a Chance..
Posted on:6/13/11
Mitchman216
Location: Milwaukee, WI
I've only played two Need For Speed games: Hot Pursuit 2 (2002) and Hot Pursuit (2010). The reason I didn't play any NFS games between 2002-2010 is because I was just a young kid at the time, and not really a gamer. But ever since I got my Xbox 360 (2010 Christmas present) I've been real interested in gaming, and this series. But, don't give up on "The Run." Sure, from what I'm hearing the past NFS games haven't been great. But I think EA is waking up. In a producer Q&A, it was confirmed that one of the main reasons they chose Frostbite 2 was for the destruction. Hopefully we can catch a glimpse of that in upcoming trailers. Overall, I like the storyline, and the gameplay doesn't look over-the-top arcade-ish like Hot Pursuit was, but something in between arcade and sim racing. And I can see why EA and Blackbox made the decision to allow you to control your character when he's out of the car. They want to add some innovative gameplay. Hopefully EA and Blackbox don't set their focus to heavily on that feature, because without racing, its obviously not NFS. This isn't a game I would pre-order, I would wait to see reviews after it comes out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: The Run
DISSAPOINTMENT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/11
DBILLZ
Location: Connecticut
(WARNING ANGRY GAMER WRITING REVIEW) "The Run??? A race across America? That sounds fun." O WAIT!! you cant customize your car AT ALL!? U have to pull into a "gas station" to change ur car and ccan only do this one every 3 or 4 races?? The out of car free running parts are simply basic button mashing segments and there are only 3 or 4 of them?! This game felt very much like a game of high speed pinball. The driving felt very stiff most of the game and if u so much as poke another car it may send u flying in the other direction. I found my self nearing the end of the game and no longer enjoying my self. I spent the last hour of game play playing only because i didnt want to return an unbeaten game! I would not reccomend this game to my worst enemy! If u must play this game.....DONT! Good luck.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: The Run
Another Step in the right Direction.
Posted on:7/9/11
iceman0186
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Look, people, ever since the Fast and Furious movies hit the entertainment scene, the NFS series has kinda of followed their trend. And as for a couple of you saying that Underground 1 & 2 were the best of the series, you've lost your minds and obviously haven't played the NFS series from the very beginning. Personally for me Hot pursuit 2 was the best of the series until the Re-boot with the Most Recent Hot pursuit now my new series favorite. The NFS series at its core has always been about racing HOT cars, avoiding the COPS, and reaping the REWARDS from it. As far as the customization goes, lets hope they bring it back with this game. Hopefully this game plays out somewhat like FAST5, fast cars, fast women, and lots of action.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: The Run
Bring Back Customization
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
byrnes
Location: Annandale NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
E.A. Stop deciding what you think your fans will want and try actually listening to them. Yes the game looks good, awesome you got the dude from transformers working for you.. guess the unemployement factor is hitting everyone hard... but besides that you built a genre of games where fans are looking to be able to customize cars build and tune them to the way they want and race them. Half the fun of the game was unlocking the next set of power ups and turbos body kits thats what kept us hooked. Not to mention that the game is mimicked off the actual race called the Gumball 3000 when we get that 25 million at the end of the game what are we supposed to spend it on?? all the neat stuff to upgrade our cars. If i could return this I would so otherwise check out my ebay listing for it. Stop trying to make it so realistic and try to remember that your making a game for us to escape reality and have fun. I might as well be in my car drivinf from L.A. to New York. Whens the next title dropping? Can't wait for that one NFS L.A. Traffic get across down town in under 3 hours. Do not buy if your expecting a step up from the last NFS. The run is just another dissapointment
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Adventfire
On a Xbox 360 near you!
 
Please wait while more information about Adventfire is loaded.
Additional information about Adventfire could not be loaded.
Posted 11/18/11
Yes this is a cross country race just like The Gumball Rally, the movies Cannonball Run and Speed Zone but byrnes is right, no customizing, no exploring and really unforgiving physics. I think the only really fun part is in the multiplayer because unlike the AI, real people dont drive like slot cars.
Customer Avatar
robz
Brooklyn,NY
 
Please wait while more information about robz is loaded.
Additional information about robz could not be loaded.
Disappointed yet again
Posted 11/17/11
What I loved the most about NFS was that they were unlike other racing games out there. Like another person stated "you built a genre of games where fans are looking to be able to customize cars build and tune them to the way they want and race them. Half the fun of the game was unlocking the next set of power ups and turbos body kits thats what kept us hooked" Now its like NFS is falling back in the same category as Forza and DIRT. I was hoping NFS would get the picture, all the things they had taken away is what made then unique. A new engine, some big designer thats a perk but look at what the fans really want.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Need for Speed: The Run
Great Idea, Poor Execution
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/11
ICEMAN0720
Location: Baytown, Texas
Title says it all. The idea of the campaign mode is unlike any other Need for Speed game in the franchise, but the execution of the idea is horrible. The game is the most impossible/aggravating NFS yet. EA did good bringing in Michael Bay to help with the cinematics, but outside of the those, graphics and sound this game is horrible.
Play the game on easy and you'll think "Wow that was way to easy" go to normal and your liable to break a controller. Constant pursuits while your in the middle of a challenge on a 2 lane road. Yeah, I understand there are going to be pursuits, but after you ram the cop car 15 times into a wall and they continue to chase you it gets annoying.
Also on normal you can forget the fact that you have NOS because it's like the 1980's Nissan with a v6 is running faster than your car with NOS.
Like I said before the idea for the game is EXCELLENT, but as usual EA fails to execute on their ideas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: The Run
it is a really good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/13
ryansmt
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
it has good graphics and good sound and it looks like real life and it has really good fast cars in it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Need for Speed: The Run
Looks AWESOME!
Posted on:10/27/11
SkillzthatChill
Location: Indiana,IN
I played through the demo and the gameplay was spectacular from start to finish. I found that playing the game through normal difficulty was challenging but nothing I'm not used to. The second level in the demo was frustrating trying to avoid the fallen boulders however when you crash it looks more natural rather than show a crashcam of you crashing and the car stoping in its tracks. I like that the ability to use NOS is included in this game (I'm a BIG NFS: Most Wanted fan and loved wrecking police cars with NOS). The graphics are unbelievable and the fact that you can get off on foot is a cool concept. Cons: Didn't like that the demo file size was over a gig however the file size made more sense when I was actually playing the game. I noticed the car handling can be uneasy at times but quickly is resolved once you slow down. Overall, looks awesome and I'm probably going to buy it along with Halo CE: Anniversary!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: The Run
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
schwazy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
What happened to NFS: Underground 1/2? What happened to NFS: Most Wanted? Even Carbon/Pro Street was better than this stuff. This NFS is nothing but cheap knock offs to the originals of counsel gaming. EA needs to remember the games that got them their buyers in the first place.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: The Run
Should have been called NFS: The Rage.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/11
DarthX
Location: Beaumont, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Once again I find myself screaming at the monitor because, apparently, every cop is concerned only with me. NFS games have been horrible about this game mechanic since I can remember. There are 10 other racers on the track, yet the cops are all huddled around me in 5th place. Opponent cars can still get into head on collisions with traffic (that also swerves out of its way to hit me and not bot racers) and keep on truckin' at 100mph, whereas if I so much as touch one, the end results include a full stop, flipping into the air (restart,) a wreck (restart,) getting busted by the cops (still huddled around me. restart.) Also, new to The Run, is the fun idea that if you slide off the road, you restart. This occurs even if you are correcting back onto the road. Sometimes, you restart just because the game feels you need to (I jumped over a barricade in the middle of the road. restart.) The games load times are ludicrous as well. Every time you restart or have to reset a race when you run out of restarts, its like the game punishes you for making a mistake with a long, long, long wait at a boring loading screen. I will beat this game but my professional advice is to wait till it goes used if you HAVE to play it. Otherwise, dont bother. Hot Pursuit was way more fun. And the soundtrack to HP was way better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: The Run
best need for speed game i have
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/14
worker
Location: krum tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have finish all of my need for speed games. I have owned. tis one gets hard wen you get to stage 7. if you have the right car It gets easer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: The Run
It's alright I guess...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/11
LilChris
Honestly, the game is okay. Its the same as NFS: HP(Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit) with a different storyline. I wasn't much of a fan of HP since you couldn't really do anything to your car. I was always amazed being able to fix up the car how I wanted in all the older Need for Speeds instead of just changing the color and kit of a car. The game takes a good 30 seconds to a minute to load between races and when you"reset" which is what happens if you go even 5 feet off the track. I also didn't like the music they put in the game. Leveling is stupid- to be able to draft somebody you need to reach a certain level. It takes like 30minutes to get the required level you shouldn't need to reach a level to use NOS and draft people, it just doesn't make sense. If your looking for a game like Most Wanted, Underground, or Carbon, your going to be disappointed in this game. EA needs to stop worrying about making the best graphics ever and worry about gameplay. I recommend this game, but not for $60. Maybe more like $40 at most. Also- You can't even free roam in this game, at least in HP you could.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: The Run
Looks Interesting, but then again....
Posted on:5/25/11
MWright
Location: Charlotte, NC
The NFS series has always looked interesting in the previews, but in my opinion they usually fall short, ever since the Underground and Most Wanted Series. I was highly disappointed by Hot Pursuit, it was a good attempt at a classic, but it felt too much like the Burnout Series, minus the wrecking. I didn't ever play shift, I was worried it was too much like Pro Street...which was dreadfully awful. I'll wait to see more previews and hear more information on this game before I think about purchasing, I would like to see them revitalize the series...but overall, EA is getting lazy.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>