GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rocksmith

Introducing the next stage in the evolution of the music game. Rocksmith, the first and only game where you plug into any real guitar.Nothing plastic. Nothing fake. Just an authentic guitar experience. By plugging into your console, you'll develop real skills and styles while playing absolutely real music.Featuring gameplay that automatically adjusts to your personal ability and innovative game design that makes reading music visually intuitive, Rocksmith will engage experienced musicians as well as those who have never picked up a guitar in their life.Nothing compares to playing a real guitar. Except playing Rocksmith.
Average Customer Rating:
9.613
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
8
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocksmith
Review 1 for Rocksmith
The best game for a beginner or expert guitarist.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
Skullsurfer
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is an another amazing creation by Ubisoft. When I first purchased the game, I was anticipating the songlist. I started to play and instead of selecting a skill level (such as an average guitar game), it adapted to my playing ability. It has a chordbook of the songs and a Standard/ Drop D tuner. Personally I've been playing guitar for at least 2 years and I can honestly say this game is fun, accurate, and helps you learn with fun challenges. Parents, if you have a child that wants to learn to play, and if you love them, buy this game for them. It's a great way to learn guitar, spruce up your skills, and dust off the guitar you've had in your closet since you were 13.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocksmith
looks good.
Posted on:9/1/11
BewbzRockDude
Location: a room with 1 window and no door.
this game looks like an amazing teaching tool 4 guitar players where they can learn some cool songs that they've actually heard before. (hopefully) sure it costs a lot but its like $20 more than any other new game out. if u own more than 1 call of duty game or gta or whatever u obviously know they all cost the same. this 1 gives u a cable to plug into the system and it looks pretty long (thats what she said) so that answers the "y $20 extra" question. if u dont have a guitar already u should probably get 1 before u get this game. u dont want the game just sitting there because u thought u would use a stupid plastic thing on it. try and learn the basics of guitar also before trying to jump into the hardest song in the game. u might look at the guitar neck a lot but i'm sure u know how to multi-task. anyway, the game looks great, i plan on getting it, and an idea on how to use the $25 off coupon. buy a pedal.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocksmith
Low price point, all things considered.
Posted on:10/15/11
ProgenyGuitars
Location: Omaha, NE
When I put my preorder in, the game was only listed at $70, if i recall correctly. Extra $10? Whatever. No biggie. Once you consider the cost of a decent 1/4" to usb starts at $30, $80 is $10 less than the average new game and cable separate. Given the interface (which all the hands on previews I've seen from non-Ubisoft folks had NO timing issues), I can see new players having issues looking between the display and neck. However, there are some VERY easy songs to help the transition along, especially with adaptive difficulty. As far as the gift card to GC, parts, pedals, music, etc aren't outwardly excluded. I could use a few spare sets of strings...
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocksmith
Expensive, high expectations but not sure
Posted on:9/22/11
DomTheMuscian
Location: youngstown, Ohio
I am really looking forward to this game but im not so sure about it. I played guitar for over 10yrs and when i look at the videos it looks like they are just playing one note at a time, not playing cords at all. but one note would be good for solos but i hope it has chords to like on an expert level or something. but i like the whole real guitar thing just wish it was cheaper... and if i pre-oreder u get 25 dollars to get a new guiar? but i already have 6 guitars i dont need more so that isnt going to help me...
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hammer81tn
 
Please wait while more information about hammer81tn is loaded.
Additional information about hammer81tn could not be loaded.
Posted 9/27/11
It says "any real guitar". You don't have to buy another one. Read the description
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rocksmith
The best Game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
nganga
Location: colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you want to know or are trying to get better at guitar get this game. I am not someone who posts reviews. I have been trying to get better at guitar for so long and this visual game makes the difference. I can almost say that anyone who gets this game and has the drive can learn to play. I have learned so much in the 72hrs I have had the game. There are modes that are based on the guitar, a great variety. Challenges that test each part of playing and plus the songs. Rock band and Guitar Hero should have thought before this game came out. This is the best game I have ever played. Beyond Mario kart 64 and COD 2 together and plus a little. They never taught me anything. This game is amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocksmith
Saw this at E3
Posted on:6/15/11
evildoer
Location: Ohio
I saw this at E3, I was told it'll have around 50 songs and it includes a 1/4" to USB cable which is probably the extra $30.00 attached to this game. This means that if you like Native Instruments or Amplitube you can probably use this cable as a guitar interface as well, which is worth $79.99 for a good interface. I can tell you the game ships with a virtual amp (likely powered by Amplitube or Native instruments) so you can thrash out and tunes it's difficulty to your playing style. As a guitarist, I am absolutely, 100% going to buy this game. I was so curious I waited outside of the Rocksmith bus at E3 for probably an hour. Definitely worth it. You WILL be able to play guitar and most importantly get the FEEL of playing guitar with this game. Something Rock Band was not able to do.
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocksmith
Best music game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
AllOutWar
Location: NY
This review is coming from someone who actually owns Rockband 3 with the real fender pro mode guitar. I am 35, I have played games since I was 4. Never has a game kept my attention like this game since I was a kid. This game blows out RB3 pro mode. This game adapts to your playing style, I have never seen anything like this. If your playing good they start throwing in more notes and if it becomes overwhelming the game automatically tones it back down. There are tons of mini games included to help you perfect your techniques, lots of videos, training drills and over 50 songs out of the box. Don't let the price tag discourage you this game is the best money I ever spent on a game. And to the reviewers who eventually will start posting about the lag all you need to do is switch HDMI audio to your AV wire audio NOT COMPONENT! If you play with an analog signal you will get no lag!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocksmith
Great for everyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Ryasis
Location: Savannah GA
Not sure you think you learn how to play guitar? Than this game is for you. Rusty and have not played since the garage days? This game is for you. Want to fine tune your skills and learn some cool songs? Than this game is for you!! I got this game with my leftover gift cards and I am somewhat of a guitar player, been playing it more off than on for a few years. This game gave me excatly what I wanted. A good way to learn and fine tune guitar skills. Some people critizie the game for its lack of graphics. Lets face it this is not an intense FPS or RPG. This is a good game to let everyone young and old try something they may have always wanted to do, while still maintaining an idea that "you have a teacher". This game adapts to all skill levels in real time, and this beats the heck out of the cheap Rock Band games. Learn the skill and have tons of fun!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocksmith
Worth the $80
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/12
ItsJustaPhrase
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rocksmith is a pretty good game for people who want to learn to play the guitar but, you have top dedicate the time to learn. Not for people who are easily frustrated and are looking for a story type of gameplay. Its like buying a really fun guitar teacher.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Rocksmith Guitar Bundle
9.3 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocksmith
Frickin sweet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
placecoolnicknamehere
Location: some where out there.
I'm giving this game the highest level of recommendation, but i am going to aim towards the crowd of skeptical, ornery, self absorbed and narcissistic premadonnas who are just like me. In other words: My fellow musicians. Every guitarist knows: learning guitar (or any instrument, for that matter) is boring. Its BEYOND BORING. We study the SAME scale or mode HUNDREDS of times a day, play to a metronome at 60 BPM to develop our timing, and then the DREADED theory and sight reading lessons. The guys who made this game have really thought it through and have done their best to make guitar engaging. All things considered, this game is an excellent SUPPLEMENT to our daily routines. Notice I say SUPPLEMENT. Personally, my goal is to have my guitar with me at all times and to constantly be playing it, (my fellow aspiring session musicians can understand) and insted of getting sucked in to a game where your productivity goes to zip, this is a better way to step away from the metronome and give yourself a break. Learn a song, get in pocket with a recording the fun way and with the game honestly telling you if you're not and maybe shoot some birds, go over some techniques. Seriously, minigames, lessons, leaderboards (for those of you who have a little bit more time on your hands than you should) a chance to hear yourself play AND BE IN POCKET WITHOUT HAVING TO DEAL WITH OTHER MUSICIANS? (you know what i mean) 80.00 is a steal. Get it. Now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocksmith
Best Interactive game ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great. I was very curious of how this would work because there have been plenty of failed attempts with games of this sort such as pro mode on rockband 3 and the other lame one. I was worried on how well it would pick up the notes but its absolutely amazing. The creators of this game are brilliant, to say the least. This will teach you the fundamentals of guitar and you pick up a few songs on the way. The best feature to help learn though is by far the mini games. They challenge even the best guitar players to the limit. Get this now while its down on price, you will not regret this purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocksmith
Awesome helped my guitar skills
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
frozenshockwave
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game for christmas and i was really excited. I already take the guitar(lessons) and i started playing this game. I was struggling with my picking, but this game really helped me. You can feel yourself improve!!! The song builds and lowers the difficulty based on how many notes you play and how many times you play the song, which is awesome. Lots of the songs are great including Use somebody by Kings of Leon. Overall i love this game and it really helps you build your skills, while having fun playing! A lot better then guitar hero!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rocksmith
A game with a Purpose, not just to rot your mind..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/12
R1bcage
Location: Spokane,WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I could see these being sold in local Guitar centers alongside the DVD's and Booklets they sell, outside a couple minor niche's I highly recommend this game to anyone who has an interest in learning the guitar. As a talent-less Shooter type gamer I enjoy plugging in and strumming a few of the songs every now and again, though it doesn't teach you how to read notes, it is excellent for form and learning finger/strum placement. I've had mine for about a month now and though I still suck, I can tell a major difference from having to pause the game for every chord, to where I can now go a full song without stopping. Overall It's like a harder version of Guitar Hero only you walk away with actual knowledge instead having just pushed a bunch of colorful buttons...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rocksmith
Amazing game and good price!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
GuitarMan2112
I already play guitar (have for about 9 years) and I was actually amazed by how well this game plays! It picks up really well on the notes (I haven't had it misread a note yet) and it doesn't yell at you and take away your points when you play extra notes, I occasionally do a short solo if there's a break in the song, and it lets me, which is nice! haha The sound quality is very good! It's also very strange/cool how it adapts to your skill level while you play. Every song starts as a couple notes here and there and if you're good enough it turns into the entire song and can turn into madness!!! lol I love it! Everything about it is awesome but I can't wait for DLC so I can get more rock/metal songs, but already it's got some really cool songs! The reason why I gave graphics a 7 though is because although the graphics are pretty good, the crowd is made up of like 4 people duplicated over and over and over haha -P.S. I very rarely play PS3 (maybe once a month or two) but I ended up playing RockSmith for 7 hours today after it arrived! Wow! Highly recommend buying it!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Rocksmith
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the most complete music game I have ever played, and with the prospects of playing real bass guitar, vocals, and drums (someday), this could turn home consoles into home studios. It’s not a perfect outing, but it’s a great place to start, and if sales are strong enough, we can expect to see an even more complete package in the sequel. While it's less of a game and more of a guitar teacher, there is plenty of fun to be had in the mini games, and simply learning the basics of an instrument. Rocksmith is an absolute must buy for anyone slightly interested in learning how to truly rock.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rocksmith
great game, but be ready to get sore
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
gutsman21
Location: richmond hill, GA
i have only played for about 4 hours but i am going to be playing for months. the only thing is you need to prepare to play it or you will get sore fingers, arms, and shoulders. the learning part of the game is great i have learned more in 4 hours than i have in 3 years. also i have a reason to use the guitar thats been in the corner of my room. i would recommend this to anyone trying to learn to play and anyone that likes to play. so far i havent seen any problems with gameplay and it responds welll. great game overall.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rocksmith
Unbelievable...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
hegwoodski
Location: Mankato, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been looking into this game for quite awhile because I had an old electric just collecting dust. I decided (stupidly) to sell the guitar 2 days before this game was released. I thought nothing of it until my buddy brought the game over. I was hooked, and very angry I sold my guitar. To my surprise, I found out my roommate had a guitar. Went and bought the game immediately (waited in line for 20 min, stupidly went on 11/7 aka COD MW3.) I got the game home and haven't put it down since. I am already getting better at guitar and its only been 2 days! It seemed like an advanced guitar hero at first, but as I got better it got harder. Started throwing in 2 string notes, and then eventually power chords. Very great game! If you want to learn guitar and you love video games like I do, this is a must buy. Don't think about it, just go get it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rocksmith
Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
SunScope
Location: Wa.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What better way to spend your time than playing a video game and learning how to play the guitar. I've been waiting for this ever since guitar hero. The 3 times I did play guitar hero I was thinking I could be spending my time learning how to play "real" guitar. Thank You Ubisoft and the makers of Rocksmith! (my fingers hurt) ;-)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rocksmith
I Can't Stop Playing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
VJay
Location: Coeymans, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All I can say is goodbye Guitar Hero...in one day Rocksmith has completly over ruled those "other" games in my mind! The only thing that bothers me is the lag, it can be corrected but not always as good as it should be...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rocksmith
Very nice...but what about the bass?
Posted on:8/24/11
H0M3RC1D4L
Location: Texas
I'm learning to play bass guitar and there is no mention of bass lines in this game. I would love to see support for the bass guitar, especially if it could tell the difference between the different techniques such as slapping which is a very different sound from plucking or strumming. I'll still probably get this as it would help with tableture and finger dexterity from the practice/play sessions.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LosPhantom
 
Please wait while more information about LosPhantom is loaded.
Additional information about LosPhantom could not be loaded.
There will be bass..... but not on here.
Posted 8/25/11
I am a guitarist but I would also like to learn bass, and so far this game seems good for me to practice. So I did some research on bass compatibility and this is what was said "For the bassists (and other assorted instruments asked about): We're focusing on guitar this time around, but since the technology measures sound frequencies we may be able to incorporate bass in future versions of the game."
Hope this helped, :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>