GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster

Join your favorite Sesame Street characters and friendly new monsters on a journey fi lled with discovery, learning, and fun! Each chapter is full of life lessons, including friendship, sharing and conquering fears.
Average Customer Rating:
7.667
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
Review 1 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
This is great
Posted on:9/13/11
Tubby
Location: La Habra, CA
Most of the people writing the previews below probably do not have kids. I have a 4 year old son and love the idea of a Sesame Street game. It will give us a game to play together since he's in the age group this game is geared for. Games for younger kids aren't the easiest to come by on the 360 and I'm glad that Double Fine has decided to make one that kids and parents can play together. I will definitely be picking this up to play with my son.
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
One of the best KINECT games for kids
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
TheJesusNinja
Location: Gilbert, AZ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is fantastic for kids! This is not about just moving around, it's about learning to interact with people in the game. I have 3 sons (5, 4, 2) All three of them loved the demo. My middle son has Autism and he absolutely loves it. Have cookie monster and elmo in the game is a great motivator for kids. They really enjoy it, and the controls work VERY WELL, compared to a few other KINECT games I've played. I highly recommend this game for kids. It's fun, funny, and engaging.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
Awsome for kids
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
TorisMom
Location: Fresh Meadows
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
My daughter is 5 and a total gamer. She absolutley loves this game. She harrasses me day in and out so that she can play. I'd def reccomend it to parents with younger children who they want to get off the sofa in order to play. It's fun for all of us. She tries to convince us to take the xbox to school so her friends can play too. We might do an elmo xbox party for her upcoming birthday.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
You Go ELMO!
Posted on:5/25/11
dolphinboy
When I was a kid Sesame Street was and is my favorite baby show! I'm glad that there making another game to teach kids about numbers, the ABC, and etc. Anyway I hope little kids wii enjoy this and that parents buy more Elmo games like Elmo ABC Zoo adventure or something like that. But I hope little kids Elmo games like I did when I was a toddler. AND ELMO RULES!
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
Absolutely horrible controls
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
NotSoGrownUp1
Location: Southern, NJ
Honestly this is my first review ever after almost 40 years of gaming. I have a 3 and a just turned 5 year old and after playing the demo I went out and bought the game as soon as it was released. I figured this was a great way to get the girls to learn how to use the Kinect. After only one hour I have all but given up on it. The tracking is horrible and unforgiving. My kids are still stuck at the birthday party trying to pose as the monster. (The very beginning chapter..) It does not seem to allow much room for error in how you stand or move. The instructions on screen may be great for older 5 year olds but are not expressive enough for my eldest to understand what to do half the time. To make matters worse I have had to restart the game multiple times trying to adjust the tracking on the profiles for the girls and each and every time you restart you have to watch the several minute long starting movie without a way to skip it.
Just a warning to anyone looking to buy it, so far it honestly does NOT work anywhere near as fluid as the demo did. I might as well just have let them play the demo repeatedly and saved the money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
Perfect for young children!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
sahm2my3
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have a 6 and 4 year old, as well as a 23 month old and they all love playing this game. it's easy for them to do by themselves and keeps their attention. I highly recommend this game to families with young children.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
ok game but could be better
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
lilmama2512
Location: raleigh nc
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i got the game for my daughter for christmas and she loved the first page but after that it became too hard for her to do. my daughter is 5 1/2, i know their are kids out there that dont have a problem with it, but my daughter does, she gets bored and stops playing. after a while it becomes hard for the kinect to follow her moves, and some of the things they want you to do are too hard for her. i think this is a game for older kids. i play it for her, and even i have to keep going back to some of the chapters to get the achievements i missed during it, you have to be right on the money to get them, lol im just now on 21 of 46 achievements and i started playing a week ago. so its overall an ok game but for it being elmo i figured it would have been better. once i get the achievements done it will just sit around and never get played again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
good game
Posted on:9/27/11
Benderisgreat143
Location: o.c. ca
Played the demo with my 3 year old and she loved it. it was easy for her to by herself and it actually kept her attention! I will def. be buying this game.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
Elmo and Cookie Monster are back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
troymadcow
Location: northfield nj
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
lol i m 14 years old and i still LOVE Elmo i m a hardcore gamer and i will get this game it perfect for little kids it get a 8.5 for Game Informer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
the game looks great job elmo and everybody
Posted on:6/3/11
tyler2
Location: yorba linda ca
i can wait i want to play the game it looks great thanks
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
Wait.....WHAT?!
Posted on:6/1/11
99lucario99
Location: Azeroth
I did not see this coming...
SERIOUSLY! Sesame Street for Xbox360?!
Why would they do this?! I would think it would be for the Nintendo Wii but Xbox360?!
5 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
New low
Posted on:9/10/11
LILHURK
Location: San diego CA
okay im a total kinect fanboy and its hard to say otherwise with great games like the gunstringer coming out but this is a new low for xbox. this is not a game it is a virtual story book do NOT buy this "game"
2 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Suicidecannibal
 
Please wait while more information about Suicidecannibal is loaded.
Additional information about Suicidecannibal could not be loaded.
well duh
Posted 10/8/11
its a game for little kids duh what else is it supposed to be it's a sesame street game for kids to learn
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
OK...
Posted on:6/27/11
SimonSays
I don't really know what to say. It's gonna either be a childish EC game, or a really cool E game that is underrated. I won't get it immediately, but look at the reviews. So, that's about it...we will see...
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
I love this
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
RedBloomAngel
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This iS perfect for my little cousins to play im babysitter so this will be good to keeping them preoccupied and to have fun to play with them Definetly getting this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
An Amazing Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
Gameman99
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is amazing! My favorite part of the game is chapter 2 because I like throwing the trash in the trashcan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Sesame Street: Once Upon A Monster
BUNNIES VERY USEFUL SCIENTIFIC FACT: BAD GAME #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
kirbyfan2
Location: naugatuck,ct
THEY MADE MOST OF THE SESAME STREET GAME FOR WII BUT NOW THEY ARE RUINING THE KINECT.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 44 found this review helpful.