GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bit.Trip Saga

BIT.TRIP SAGA is a compilation of all 6 award-winning BIT.TRIP games: BEAT, CORE, VOID, RUNNER, FATE, and FLUX! BIT.TRIP SAGA introduces 3D functionality to the series, giving the environments radical depth. Experience the crushing difficulty of arcade-style action over a rockin' Chiptune soundtrack and follow CommanderVideo's journey home.
Average Customer Rating:
7.875
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 875%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bit.Trip Saga
Review 1 for Bit.Trip Saga
This will be awesoooome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/22/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
I loved the entire Bit Trip series, that's why I will love this game. For those of you who don't know what Bit Trip is, watch the video. But remember each game is a totally different unique experience.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
Super Meat Boy - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
8.7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MCfacepalm
 
Please wait while more information about MCfacepalm is loaded.
Additional information about MCfacepalm could not be loaded.
Posted 7/28/11
Yes, these games could be released by themselves on the eShop. However, they have been going for around $10 a piece on various online gaming outlets (Steam, WiiWare ect), so $40 for 6 games is a good deal. Plus I feel that having these games in one cart on a portable system will be the best "On The Go" series since Wario Ware inc.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bit.Trip Saga
Nintendega's Review for Bit.Trip Saga
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
nintendega
Location: Clock Town waiting for the moon to fall!
SHORT REVIEW AT THE BOTTOM. I honestly don't understand why there is any hate at all on this game. I mean sure this version doesn't have all of the bonus content that Bit.Trip Complete has for the Wii. But if your looking for bonus content go for that version I bought this verison for the portablity. The 3D effects in the game are really wonderful as well. For those of you who are light of knowledge on the series the series has 6 games in all, originally released on WiiWare, these titles are like a tribute to the old Atari/NES days of gaming. All of the game have a sort of style of rythym in it, for example, in the fourth game, Runner, you jump, kick, spring, slide, and block to the beat of the song. One pro to buying this version, the series on WiiWare costs $40 in all so there is a major price difference. The first game in the series is Beat. This game has the style of "Pong". As the song plays squares come out and you hit them back to the rythym of the song with the Pong style paddle. The second game in the series is Core. In the middle of the screen there is a cross like such, +. Squares come out from all directions and you hit the corresponding direction on the d-pad and press the A button when it gets to the line. Its kind of like Dance Dance Revolution only using the D-Pad and it's also kind of like Guitar Hero with the style of matching the beat with the line. As you can tell it's a lot simpler than it is to explain. The third game in the series is Void and it's a lot easier to explain. You start out as a black, sort of blob, one can call it an 8bit circle. As a song progresses black and white squares or "beats" come out and you must collect the black beats and a"void" the white ones. When you get too big you can pop the circle and grow again. The fourth game in the series, and my personal favorite, is Runner. It's an ode to classic platforming in the 80's and early 90's. Commander Video runs along to a song, you cannot controll if he stops or goes faster, he'll only stop if you run into an obsticle without sliding under it, kicking it, jumping over it, blocking it, or springing over it. All of this you do to the rythym of the 8bit chiptune song playing. The fifth game in the series is Fate. Once again Commander Video himself saves the day by moving along a line called the "Vibe" as enemies jump on to the screen you shoot them before they shoot you. This game is a lot like some of the early arcade shooters. The sixth and final game in series Flux returns to the roots of the Bit.Trip series. Again with the Pong inspired gameplay as beats appear you block them back with the paddle to the rythem of the song. SHORT REVIEW: The series in entirety has amazing visuals, great chiptune/8bit inspired music, great gameplay and really good nostalgic styles to the games. I personally love the series and I can't wait for Runner 2 and I hope it comes out for the Wii U. If you love the glory days of gaming you will love this modern take on the 8bit days. Pick it up.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bit.Trip Saga
Nintendega's Preview Buzz for Bit.Trip Saga 3DS
Posted on:8/1/11
nintendega
Location: columbus, oh
I only got the chance to play Runner, Core and Flux and all of those are amazing. Its a good thing I found this page because I was about to go and buy a couple wii points cards so I can buy the other 3 that I haven't played on WiiWare but I'm just going to wait and get this when it comes out. If you don't have any of the games on WiiWare and you are thinking about buying them all seperatly, don't. Wait until this comes out. There is no price difference between buying the 3DS version and buying them on WiiWare (all 6 are 6 dollars a piece exept for Fate and Runner which are 8 dollars a piece, which adds up to 40 dollars) but if you buy them on WiiWare then they stay on whatever Wii you downloaded them to. You can not bring them to another Wii what-so-ever. With this you can take them any where you go. So any way I can't wait for this to come out and I will be buying it on the day it comes out. Can't Wait.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bit.Trip Saga
Great!!
Posted on:6/29/11
Zeldagamer
Location: WI
I own bit trip beat, and it's a blast. The gameplay is precise, and the graphics are fantastic. Yet the sound is my favorite part because I love music. Anyways, judging by bit trip beat, I am confident that the other games in the series are excellent too, so I would love to see them in 3D. I recommend this game to your average gamer. :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bit.Trip Saga
Why Is There So Much Hate? It's Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
MrTimotei
I don't understand why so many people are hating this version of the game. You bought it on a handheld, so you could play it on the go. It doesn't have to have HD graphics, and have the best speakers to play the music through. It just has to have it's standard gameplay. And the sound, as long as it's not downgraded, is fine. If you want the ultimate visual/audio experience, go buy Bit.Trip Complete, for the Wii, so you can play it on your HD Widescreen TV, with it's 7.1 Audio Channel. But, back to my point, the game is fine for a handheld. There is nothing wrong with it, graphically, or audibly. (Unless, you count the slight lag there is when you turn the 3D on.)
When it comes to the game itself, I like the old graphic style. It reminds me of the Atari days. And it let's new gamers know what the Atari graphics were like, without it completely being downgrading and making everything boring. Plus, the music to this game is awesome. If you happen to have pre-ordered it, like I did, then you got the Soundtrack Sampler, which let's you experience the music by itself.
The only minor complaint I have of this game, is the fact that in "Bit.Trip Fate," the controls have been made only for right-handed people. (You use your LEFT thumb to move the analog stick, and your RIGHT hand to aim, and shoot.) I, unfortunately, am not right handed. But, I'm glad I'm not. I liked having that extra challenge. I still managed to beat it using my right hand to shoot, even though I'm a lefty.
In conclusion, if you want the better audio/visual experience, go buy Bit.Trip Complete on Wii. But, if you want it, just so you can play it on the go, then this is definitely worth $40/$20.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bit.Trip Saga
looks like a fun game
Posted on:6/19/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
I haven't tried the Series yet, but this does look like a fun game. I will try this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bit.Trip Saga
Simple, challenging, addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
DreadPirateJuJu
Location: Royal Oak, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is simple, yet addicting. The graphics are cool and old-school, but the 3D gives it an interesting punch, so to speak. People keep complaining about the sound quality, and I really don't know what they're talking about, as I'm enjoying it just fine. This game is a welcoming break from most of today's selection. No heavy story line to bog you down, no complex controls. And yet, despite it's lack of complexity, it's still fun. This game is perfect for someone who still loves to play the classic 8-bit games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bit.Trip Saga
Awesome
Posted on:8/26/11
Maurel
if people dont understand about the bits and all that, i think the 3d will only be used to make the bit person in the front and the objects/stage/enemy or somewhat will be just 3d, i guess.. cant wait for this game to come out
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KEWB
Tipton, Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about KEWB is loaded.
Additional information about KEWB could not be loaded.
Posted 9/13/11
From what I saw of some gameplay videos, it looks like there are some background effects and stuff that would look great in 3D. One reason why I chose to get this game was because I was interested to see how the retro style of these games would look with the 3D effect.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Bit.Trip Saga
Just Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/11
Mpart
From someone who has played these games before hand on my Wii I am pleasantly surprised just how well this compilation is put together. The music and gameplay remain intact with some new control options (thank you stylus controls for beat and flux). If you are interested in truly fun and challenging games give this a try (or bit trip complete if you prefer).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bit.Trip Saga
Thinking about pre-ordering this
Posted on:5/25/11
Canine
Location: houston
I am thinking about pre-ordering this but would really like to see what others have to say about it before I do. I never played any of the wii ware games but see where they reviewed well......
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Osaka1337
Oklahoma
 
Please wait while more information about Osaka1337 is loaded.
Additional information about Osaka1337 could not be loaded.
If you have an Wii
Posted 5/26/11
They do have demos of games from the bit.trip saga. Though I think most of the games would be much more awesome on 3DS.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bit.Trip Saga
I CANT WAIT
Posted on:5/21/11
0pecentbad
I cant believe it, i played the first game, now i can play them all
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Awsome
Posted 9/7/11
i love the bit Trip games this will be fun! if u dont kown wat fun thay are to u play it ur selfe! master peace rilly im sife and fun master peace well made. i love wiiware games!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Bit.Trip Saga
8-bit 3D?
Posted on:6/15/11
nionu21
Bit Trip never sparked any interest in me, but it's critically acclaimed. I guess the whole 8-bit 3D thing will be cool. I don't know why these games can't be released through the 3DS eShop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bit.Trip Saga
look out here comes comander video
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
brinkley
Location: flordia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
bit trip is a popular game that was on wii ware now its on 3ds play all 6 bit trip games that are bit trip beat bit trip core bit trip void bit trip runner bit trip fate and bit trip flux the only one i played was bit trip runner the others i dont know what you have to do bit trip runner i think was the best you help comander video jump slide kick and more and if you dont have a 3ds check out bit trip complete for wii so buy bit trip saga or bit trip complete today
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bit.Trip Saga
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
hunter328
The things that makes these games great are the gameplay and the music. Take away one of those though, and the other can't hold up the experience on its own. Unfortunately for this collection the 3DS hardware takes the music out of the picture.
Headphones are a must for this game, not because it's the best way to hear the game, but because it's the only way to hear the game. Even then the music and beats never have much force behind them, and for a rhythm based collection of games, that's a killer.
If you have a Wii, go for the Wii collection. I wish I had.
If you don't have a Wii, than just pass on the 3DS version. I wish I had.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Alameda
 
Please wait while more information about RayTheUlitimateGamer is loaded.
Additional information about RayTheUlitimateGamer could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Alright, thanks.
Posted 9/16/11
You sir just saved me $40. Thank you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Bit.Trip Saga
Trouble Pre-Purchasing The Game
Posted on:9/10/11
KBAS1986
Location: Gainesville, FL
First off -- these 6 games are amazing, ive played them all on wiiware and i want this on day one
however, i'm having difficulty buying it -- 3 of my friends and i have all tried pre-purchasing it and it isn't letting us buy the game? is anyone else running into the same difficulty?
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Luvinthisgame13
NY
 
Please wait while more information about Luvinthisgame13 is loaded.
Additional information about Luvinthisgame13 could not be loaded.
YES
Posted 9/14/11
yes yes it happened to me and im in new york. so odd. its a pretty simple port too
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Bit.Trip Saga
Old School
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
BigBarry333
Location: Manalapan, NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I had great expectations about this game. Maybe I thought it would be better than it looked. I was wrong.
Who in their right mind would pay $40.00 for an Atari game? That's exactly what it is. Atari age gaming. Please, We are in the year 2011, not the 1970's . When I buy a game, I would like to blown away by the graphics and/or Sound. This game missed the mark by 30 years.
I am not saying that the game was easy, the levels got harder and harder but it was still 6bit,,I mean 8bit gaming. If you like repetitive games that keep going, by all means, this is for you, but not for players expecting great graphics or sounds.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 74 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
soulblud
Westlake Village, CA
 
Please wait while more information about soulblud is loaded.
Additional information about soulblud could not be loaded.
Ignorance is bliss
Posted 1/11/12
If only you knew the error in what you have said. Bit.Trip is a beautiful series, but this knavish speech sleeps in a foolish ear.
Customer Avatar
Executioner22
 
Please wait while more information about Executioner22 is loaded.
Additional information about Executioner22 could not be loaded.
Just Sad
Posted 12/31/11
I guess some people don't know what the word "tribute" means. The bit.trip games are original and unique, unlike most of the rehashed junk that most companies put out. Cutting-age graphics don't make a game good. You should try Call of Duty.
Customer Avatar
VinceVaughn
OHIO
 
Please wait while more information about VinceVaughn is loaded.
Additional information about VinceVaughn could not be loaded.
Posted 12/6/11
This is why you should look into games instead of randomly spending 40 dollars on one.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 17 for Bit.Trip Saga
Beyond my Expectations
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/11
joetheepicperson123
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is quite well, the game had all bit trip games and it was great, the graphics is identical to the wii, the controls were easy to use and last the music is freaking amazing specially bit trip runner
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bit.Trip Saga
CANT WAIT
Posted on:7/31/11
OREO12
Location: washington, wa
I cant wait I've played them all and my favorite is bit trip runner : )
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.