GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Strategy Guides or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide

Return to the world of Tamriel to battle the resurgence of dragons, in the highly anticipated sequel to Morrowind and Oblivion.
Average Customer Rating:
8.929
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
It will be Well worth the money
Posted on:10/28/11
Shane35007
Location: Flushing, MI
I used the Oblivion guide so often. The character building help alone was fantastic. Even when I wasn't playing the game, it became my primary bathroom reading material.
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tehblindman
BathRoom
 
Please wait while more information about Tehblindman is loaded.
Additional information about Tehblindman could not be loaded.
Agreed
Posted 11/10/11
Man i agree comletely, and i used it exactly for the same reason.. that's funny, i'm not the only one.. lol.. That aside, this guide will help immensely, with the quests, especially with defeating the dragons, which probably won't be easy.. THEY"RE dragons.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
I am so going to get this.
Posted on:8/4/11
Griever2112
Location: Hamilton, NJ
While I do agree walkthrough can be found in mass abundance online and such, but I remember getting the guide for Oblivion and was SOOOOOO happy I did, I've gotten guide before and barely used them, but my Oblivion guide was used on a constant basis, mainly as a where can I start this, or where is that place. So I am going to get the guide for Skyrim and it will be worth it.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Should be worth the money
Posted on:6/13/11
Dcon
Location: Columbia, SC
Now let me make my stance on guides clear: I use guides after I have beaten the game before to find stuff I have missed. By find stuff I mean find where quests start and then close the book. The main reason I know I will be buying this guide is that the Oblivion guide was a great guide because it was fun to read even after I had done almost everything in the game. I think this will be completely worth the money, just to have a good read.
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Official Strategy Guide
6.4 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Benji12
 
Please wait while more information about Benji12 is loaded.
Additional information about Benji12 could not be loaded.
Going to be useful.
Posted 8/16/11
I bought the strategy guide for oblivion soon after it came out it made playing the game a whole lot easier so I would would recommend getting this.
Customer Avatar
GuruMcCoy
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about GuruMcCoy is loaded.
Additional information about GuruMcCoy could not be loaded.
Skyrim Strategy Guide
Posted 7/12/11
Most times I get Strategy guides for my second play through but for a game with over 300hrs of just quest, Not to mention the hours we are just out exploring or waiting for stores to open. Its games like this I get Strategy Guides for, For what I heard from some my local gamestop guys, This guide is over 1000 pages and pretty comprehensive, Piggyback is a great Guide company so it was so worth the $20.00 I bought this guide for.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
It's so worth it
Posted on:8/20/11
Bizaker
Location: Bellingham, WA
If you're going to get Skyrim you have to have to get the strategy guide, it's going to be 300 hours of total content minimum, and you don't want to get lost in the huge world.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
MUST GET
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
sneekyfieldmouse
Location: rimersburg, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
if your a gamer like myself your gonna want this guide.. it was probably the best thing i put my money into for a while besides the game of course. the book is so helpful, if you get stuck or need to know "anything" you can look it up in the guide. i would advise anyone that has skyrim to buy this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
8.9 out of 10(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Really helpful and fun to read!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
BIGP51
Location: Campbellsville, KY
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'm not that big into strategy guides, but after i bought the game i saw this. This thing is HUGE! Its really helpful during the game, but i do recommend buying it when you DO BUY THE GAME. Its also fun to read when your board!
 
My Product Recommendations
Xbox 360 The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Strategy Guide Bundle
10 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Must have in the early going
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
killmaven
Location: Casper, WY
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As I type this the game is only 3 days out. There are no player created guides or comprehensive Wikis yet. You're going to need this if you're like me and have the PC going while you play to do some quick research on a game concept or sticky point in a quest. Get the bundle and use your power up card for additional $ off. It's well worth it. The map is epic. Good quality and as thick as a phone book for a mid-sized city.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
epic
Posted on:11/7/11
Ozworld
Location: Denair, CA
after using the oblivion book every time i played the game even if it was for something tiny i feel as if this will be a must have. CANT WAIT TO WASTE MY LIFE ON THIS GAME USING THIS BOOK
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
A Great Ally
Posted on:7/24/11
DarthMetalHope
Location: Greenbelt, MD
99.99% of the time guides are not needed for games.......but western RPGs like Skyrim and Oblivion I feel they are definitely needed/fun to have during your second playthrough. These games are extremely vast and the chances of you finding everything and every quest the first time around (or even the second time) is very very unlikely. If this guide will be anything like Oblivions i cant wait to have it! Oblivion's guide is the only guide i own for any game and its a helpful ally in finding all the fun little bits and pieces throughout the game, so I know this one will be the same (if not better!). Cant wait!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Correction to previous comment.
Posted on:10/27/11
Mogray
Location: Berkeley, CA
According to Amazon the book now has over 656 pages. More than enough to satisfy your needs when this game comes out.
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition Strategy Guide
10 out of 10(16)
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
A fun read
Posted on:7/23/11
KingKongthe3rd
Location: Westminster, Ca
I don’t buy strategy guides because I have a computer with internet access but I do buy The Elder Scrolls Official Strategy Guides they are a grate read. I would recommend anybody who is a fan of The Elder Scrolls series to buy them even if you don’t use them it is a fun read.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Best Guide to the Best Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
Khoury
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the must-have to go along with Skyrim. It's detailed, but can be a little confusing at times. But, if you are wondering, go ahead and get it, you'll need it. Trust me. :]
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
length
Posted on:10/10/11
fuzzyhippo23
Location: phoenix, AZ
it is 592 pages long... enough said. you will need this to fully enjoy this game
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Best review guide yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/12
Zkyrim
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game guide is amazing! i usually don't buy game guides but this one called to me, i was reluctant because of the price but if you want the most out of this game then this guide will do it. it has EVERY unique item and quest. the thing i love most about it is the index... it is massive. this is a must buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
already paid for
Posted on:8/6/11
tag62001
Location: iowa
with the size of the game you cant go wrong without this
 
My Product Recommendations
 
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
8.9 out of 10(24)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DoVaHkIiN86
 
Please wait while more information about DoVaHkIiN86 is loaded.
Additional information about DoVaHkIiN86 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/8/12
is this guide good for all platforms? or is there 3 different guides?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
aweasome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
yert
Location: Willis,TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
even all my buds love it and the game should have in parenthesis (aka: awesomeness) so yeah i would recommend this to everyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
It's freaking Awesome!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
Tanton2550
Location: buna, Texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It tells you every thing you need to know......from how to beat missions(which there is alot of) to where treasure chest are.......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
Alot of Information......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
DarkMatrix
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Even tho the price of this guide is a little high, there is a lot of information and detail. This is must have for anyone who is new to the Oblivion Series. Oh Ya....have fun in with the game too!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
The best game on a disk.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
sonicgem
Location: FL
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When my coson got this game and once he started playing I saw how epic it was, so I asked my dad if I could get it and he said yes so we started looking for cheap prices and I found this one for $26.99 and we both said it was the best one we saw.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vengeance
 
Please wait while more information about Vengeance is loaded.
Additional information about Vengeance could not be loaded.
Posted 3/19/12
this is the strategy guide not the game....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Official Strategy Guide
It's one of the most helpful strategy guides ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
GoldSand
Location: PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bout it for my self, Even though i know skyrim in and out. I love buying strategy guides even after i beat a game. Sometimes i go back and find things i had no clue existed. I love it... Definately reccomend to someone that's having alot of trouble. It's in great detail just like the oblivion strategy guide. 10 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>